DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 10/6/2026.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending, Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8-15 are withdrawn, and Claims 1, 7 and 16-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kitano et al. (US 5,944,894 A) in view KR20110078255A (previously cited) (machine translation attached), Ogata et al. (US 2014/0360540 A1), KR20100060094A (machine translation attached) and KR102221337B1 (machine translation attached).
Re claim 1, Kitano discloses a substrate processing apparatus (title, abstract) comprising:
a holder (col. 4 line 43 spin chuck) configured to hold a substrate;
a second processing cup (col. 4 line 43 cup CP) provided around the holder;
a first supply (col. 1 line 50 treatment solution, inherently must have a supply) configured to supply a chemical liquid to the substrate held by the holder;
a second supply (refs. 160, 162, 164, 166, 168) configured to supply a rinse liquid (water) or a drying liquid to the substrate held by the holder;
a drain block (ref. 83) provided at a bottom of the second processing cup, and selectively connected to a drain line (ref. 195 beyond valve 196) or a recovery line (ref. 110) via a line switch (refs. 194, 196; here, the control of refs. 194, 196 satisfies a line switch depending on the concentration of ammonia to drain or circulate after ammonia removal, see col. 2 lines 50-58, col. 9 lines 1-9) (To any extent “a line switch” implies a singular switch, the replacement of multiple valves with a multi-way/three-way valve is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, for the same purpose of controlling fluid flow and reasonable expectations of success.); and
a first gauge (ref. 189) provided in the drain block, and configured to measure a purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid (col. 2 lines 50-58, col. 9 lines 1-9); and
a controller (ref. 170) configured to: (ii) control the line switch based on the purity measured by using the first gauge (col. 9 lines 1-9 describing the reverse drain when it is not recoverable; col. 7 lines 49-56, col. 8 lines 60-67 describing the circulation circuit for recoverable/low concentration) while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate, and control the line switch such that the rinse liquid or the drying liquid flows into the recovery line when the purity measured by the first gauge is equal to or greater than a threshold value, and flows into the drain line when the purity measured by the first gauge is less than the threshold value.
Kitano does not explicitly disclose a singular line switch, wherein the drain line and the recovery line are configured to branch from the line switch without overlapping and a first processing cup and a second processing cup disposed inside or outside the first processing cup, and a cup switch configured to switch between a first state where the first processing cup receives a liquid and a second state where the second processing cup receives a liquid (Kitano teaches one [second] processing cup connected to the corresponding drain block) and (i) control the second supply to start supplying the rinse liquid or the drying liquid to the substrate in the first state, and control the cup switch from the first state to the second state after a predetermined time elapses from a start of the supply of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by the second supply, and (ii) subsequent to switching to the second state, measure the purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by using the first gauge while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate in the second state.
Regarding the singular drain line switch, KR20110078255A teaches it is well-known in the substrate processing art to provide a singular drain line switch (ref. 300, see fig. 2A) wherein the drain line (ref. 200, 160, 170) and the recovery line (ref. 140, 180, 190) are configured to branch without overlapping, and control the line switch (ref. 300) such that the rinse liquid or the drying liquid flows into the recovery line (ref. 140) when the purity measured by the first gauge is equal to or greater than a threshold value, and flows into the drain line (ref. 150) when the purity measured by the first gauge is less than the threshold value.
Regarding the first and second processing cups, Ogata discloses it is well-known in the substrate processing apparatus art (abstract) to provide a first processing cup and a second processing cup disposed inside or outside the first processing cup (see figs. 1 and 3-7 refs. 51, 52, 53 first, second and third cups), and a cup switch (refs. 7, 610, 620) configured to switch between a first state where the first processing cup receives a liquid and a second state where the second processing cup receives a liquid (see figs. 1 and 3-7), each of the cups connected to a corresponding discharge line (refs. 111, 121, 131), and (i) control the cup switch to switch from the first state to the second state while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate (see figs. 1 and 3-7).
Regarding “(ii) subsequent to switching to the second state, measure the purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by using the first gauge while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate in the second state, and control the line switch such that the rinse liquid or the drying liquid flows into the recovery line when the purity measured by the first gauge is equal to or greater than a threshold value, and flows into the drain line when the purity measured by the first gauge is less than the threshold value”, KR20100060094A teaches a plurality of cups for separate liquids (refs. 130, see fig. 1) may feed separate discharge lines (refs. 138, 139), and the cleaning liquid cup (ref. 132, 133) and cleaning liquid discharge line may recover or drain at an independent cleaning regeneration unit based on concentration (“ The first recovery line 138 recovers or drains the cleaning liquid introduced into the first recovery container 132 to the cleaning solution regeneration unit (not shown) during the cleaning process of the substrate W or the cleaning process of the substrate support member 110. The second recovery line 139 recovers the chemical liquid introduced into the second and third recovery containers 134 and 136 to the chemical liquid regeneration unit (not shown) during the chemical liquid treatment process of the substrate W…performing concentration control”) (see fig. 2 S7, S8), after switching from the chemical liquid and chemical liquid cup (see fig. 2 S3 to S6). Here, it being prima facie obvious in the combination to thus incorporate plural cups each with separate regeneration units (as in KR20110078255A and/or Kitano) and thus at least the cleaning liquid with its respective cleaning liquid cup 132, 133 requires a first gauge (as in KR20110078255A and/or Kitano) which is prima facie obvious to be located at the bottom of a drain block of the cleaning liquid’s respective cup (as in Kitano), in order to measure the concentration of the cleaning liquid at the point of collection. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
To any extent the combination is unclear as to the location of the first gauge with respect to a cup, Examiner cites KR102221337B1 for disclosing it is known to provide a first gauge (“concentration meter is installed in waste liquid path 61 [not shown]” installed at a bottom of a second cup (ref. 61 provided at bottom of ref. 51), for measuring the purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by using the first gauge while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate in the second state (“concentration of the treatment liquid reaches a predetermined concentration or more”), and control the second supply to start supplying the rinse liquid or the drying liquid to the substrate in the first state, and control the cup switch to switch from the first state to the second state after a predetermined time elapses from a start of the supply of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by the second supply (“the cup body 51 is raised after a predetermined time has elapsed from the start of the supply of the treatment liquid”; see “also [w]hen a predetermined time has elapsed from the start of the supply of the treatment liquid C, the pure water remaining in the cup body 51 is already pushed away by the treatment liquid C, and only the treatment liquid C exists in the body 51…the cop body 15 in the lower position rises…[d]uring this movement, the supply of the processing liquid C from the nozzle 20c to the substrate 12 continues”).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lien switch of Kitano to further include a line switch wherein the drain line and the recovery line do not overlap, as suggested by KR20110078255A, in order to independently or sequentially control whether to drain, recover or recycle; and to further include a first processing cup and a second processing cup and a switch, as suggested by Ogata, in order to separately capture and discharge different processing chemicals; and to further have each processing cup feed to a regeneration unit that recovers or drains based on concentration of an implied gauge, as suggested by KR20100060094A, in order to enable each processing fluid to be recovered or drained; and to further locate the first gauge for the cleaning liquid at the bottom of the second processing cup for redirecting the liquid to recovery or waste/drain, as suggested by KR102221337B1, in order to only collect/recover liquid of sufficient concentration/purity.
Re claim 20, Regarding “wherein the predetermined time is determined based on an average of a plurality of measured times, each of the plurality of measured times being a time required for the purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid to reach the threshold value from a start of a previous supply of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid by the second supply”, this is a mental state process limitation. Here, KR102221337B1 explicitly teaches the predetermined time results in the pure water remaining in the cup body 51 is already pushed away by the treatment liquid C, is equivalent to a time required for a threshold value. Moreover, the specific predetermined time is a known result effective variable, i.e. greater time results in greater purity (at the expense of less recovery/greater waste). As such, the mere optimization of the time to achieve a desired “pushing away”/purity is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II)A) Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
Re claim 7, Independent claim 7 is drawn to a supply system wholly incorporating claim 1. Kitano discloses as shown above and Kitano further discloses a supply system (see fig. 7), a regeneration system (ref. 190 ammonia eliminator) connected to the recovery line of the substrate processing apparatus configured to perform a regeneration process on the rinse liquid recovered from the recovery line; a generation system (refs. 111, 112, 113, 110, 114, 115) connected to the regeneration system, and configured to generate a new rinse liquid from a regenerated rinse liquid obtained by the regeneration process and processed raw water (via ref. 165), and supply the new rinse liquid generated by the generation system to the second supply of the substrate processing apparatus (via ref. 92); and a raw water processing system (ref. 164, 165, 106) connected to the generation system, and configured to supply the processed raw water to the generation system.
Re claim 16, Kitano and/or KR20110078255A further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the line switch such that the rinse liquid or the drying liquid flows into the drain line when determined that a purity of the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is less than a threshold value (Kitano “the controller 170 opens a valve 196 to discharge the water with a high ammonia concentration to the outside in accordance with concentration detection signal from sensor 189” (col. 9 lines 1-9); KR20110078255A “when the measured concentration of the first densitometer exceeds the reference value (S20), the first three-way valve is opened (S30) so that the solution flows into the wastewater line (S30), or when the solution does not exceed the reference value, the recovery / reuse line Open the first three-way valve (S70) to flow to.”).
Re claim 17, KR20110078255A wherein no regeneration process is performed upstream of the line switch (see fig. 2a no regeneration process upstream of the line switch 300).
Re claim 18, Regarding “wherein the controller is further configured to continue controlling the line switch based on the purity measured by the first gauge while the rinse liquid or the drying liquid is being supplied to the substrate in the second state, until the second supply stops supplying the rinse liquid or the drying liquid to the substrate”, here, as disclosed by Kitano, KR20110078255A and KR20100060094A, the drain or recovery operates continuously for any liquid flowing thereby the gauge. Here, it being prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the controller monitor a gauge only when it is expected to have liquid supplied thereto (i.e. in the combination, when the cup is in the rinse collection position and rinse liquid is being supplied).
Re claim 19, Regarding “wherein the first gauge comprises at least one of a conductivity meter, a concentration meter, a specific resistance meter, a pH meter, or a total organic carbon (TOC) meter”, Kitano further discloses a concentration meter (ref. 189 concentration sensor). KR20110078255A discloses a concentration meter (ref. 200 concentration meter). KR102221337B1 discloses a concentration meter (“concentration meter”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that each of the five references share a common design principle: each triggers its respective switching operation, Examiner agrees in part and disagrees in part. Examiner agrees that each is concerned with the purity of the processing liquid recovered. This connection for purity makes each art relevant and provides motivation for combining the teachings and strengths of each art. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the disclosure of plural methods of refining processing liquids cannot be combined in series. Specifically, Examiner respectfully disagrees that KR102221337B1 fails to teaches a time-based rais[ing] and lower[ing].
Here, KR102221337B1 recites in relevant part “In addition, the cup body 51 is raised after a predetermined time has elapsed from the start of the supply of the treatment liquid, but the present invention is not limited thereto, and for example, a concentration meter is installed in the waste liquid path 61 and the treatment liquid flowing out to the waste liquid path 61 You may measure the concentration of and raise the cup body 51 when the concentration of the treatment liquid reaches a predetermined concentration or more” (emphasis added). That is, KR102221337B1 teaches time-based as the primary embodimeny. The use of the concentration meter for control of the cup body is an optional embodiment “may”. Here, where the primary reference Kitano and KR20110078255A teaches a concentration meter for a separate purpose of controlling a drain/recovery line switch, except as to a simple rearrangement of the location, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it prima facie obvious to look to KR102221337B1 simply for the location of the meter. The fact that the meter may have additional uses does not teach away nor discourage one of ordinary skill in the art from using its location for another explicitly taught purpose (in fact, a related purpose of separating liquids by purity).
And assuming arguendo, even if KR102221337B1 was exclusively concentration-based cup-state switch, this does not prohibit the further refining of each cup-stream of liquid, i.e. a different concentration, e.g. even higher purity requirement, for separating the downstream recovered liquid, with the understanding that the cup switch is not immediate and that residuals on the substrate or the cups and surroundings may contaminate and delay the purity required for recovery.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that each reference has a new, single-purpose without articulating a reason why a person in the art would have combined all five specifically to arrive at the particular time-triggered, two-stage switching architecture, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The fact the references have significant overlap and have minor (e.g. single) differences, is evidence that Applicant’s amendments are not to an inventive feature but to obvious variations prolific in the field of substrate liquid recovery.
Viewed differently, Applicant's arguments are against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Here, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the combined time-triggered, two-stage switching, specifically because each time-based cup-switch and the concentration-based line-switch each provide additional refinement of the purity. The use of plural separation processes in series is prima facie obvious exactly because it would provide higher purity and better refinement, not mutually exclusive functions, as argued by Applicant.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the amended claim achieves a specific benefit that runs counter to the collective teaching of the cited combination, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above, KR102221337B1 teaches controlling the cups without the drain measurement unit. And Applicant’s arguments fall short because Applicant’s claimed invention in fact requires the drain measurement unit, but for a different purpose (line switch), and thus Applicant does not use fewer components than the cited art.
Furthermore, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Here, the fact a cup-bottom concentration meter can be used to measure concentration, and that concentration can be used for a line switch (Kitano), does not teach away from accurate, high-purity recovery, as the accurate and high-purity recovery is achieved in the line switch stage.
Conclusion
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711