DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the final Office Action dated July 17, 2026 was submitted on September 17, 2026 and entered with the request for continued examination on October 14, 2026. Claims 1, 16, 21 and 22 were amended. Claims 1-26 are currently pending.
The amendments to claims 1 and 16 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-20 (¶¶ 7-20 and 25-37 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art rejections of claims 21-26 (¶¶ 25-29 and 38-42 of the Office Action) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and these rejections have been maintained as detailed below. The limitations added to claim 21 have also been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0368025 A1, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Kudo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0199732 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a mask assembly (Abstract of Kim, mask assembly) comprising: a frame (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100) including: a first lateral part and a second lateral part extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes first and second opposed lateral parts extending in a first direction); and a third lateral part and a fourth lateral part extend in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes third and fourth opposed lateral parts extending in a second direction), the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part being connected with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and defining a frame opening (FIG. 4 of Kim, first and second lateral parts connected to third and fourth lateral parts to form the frame #100 having an opening #120); an open sheet (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 which is in sheet form and which has openings #210) including: first sticks extending in the first direction and spaced apart from each other in the second direction (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes spaced first segments extending in a first direction); and second sticks extending in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes spaced second segments extending perpendicularly to first segments), the second sticks being intersecting the first sticks and defining a plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 5 of Kim, spaced second segments extend perpendicularly to spaced first segments to form openings #210); and masks spaced apart from each other and respectively overlapping the plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 3 of Kim, cell unit mask #300; FIG. 10 of Kim, masks #300 overlap mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200; [0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), each of the masks including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping a corresponding sheet opening among the plurality of sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part and spaced apart from each other with the deposition part therebetween (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200).
Kim does not specifically disclose that one of the first sticks and the second sticks is disposed above a remaining one of the first sticks and the second sticks in a thickness direction and contact the mask, and stick recesses are defined in a lower surface of the one of the first sticks and the second sticks disposed above. Kudo, however, discloses a deposition mask assembly comprising a support member #2 which includes a plurality of belt shaped members #24A having grooves #25 for insertion of belt shaped members #24B (Abstract, FIG. 14B of Kudo). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support member #2 of Kudo as the structural auxiliary mask #200 in the mask assembly of Kim since Kudo establishes that it was known to use such support members in deposition mask assemblies. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I B). As evidenced by Kim, the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. In addition, as also evidenced by Kudo, the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could also have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Kudo does not specifically disclose that the recesses are defined in a lower surface of the belt shaped members. Moreover, in Kudo the recesses are formed in an upper surface of the thicker belt shaped members and the thinner belt shaped members are disposed in the recesses above the thicker belt shaped members (FIG. 14B of Kudo). The claimed configuration is therefore a mere reversal of the configuration of Kudo and could be obtained by flipping over the support member formed by the belt shaped members. As set forth in the MPEP, the courts have held that the mere reversal of parts (i.e., the recesses on the lower surfaces of the belt shaped members rather than on the upper surfaces of the belt shaped members as disclosed in Kudo) is an obvious modification (MPEP § 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 22, Kudo discloses each of the first sticks includes first connecting portions coupled with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and a first central portion disposed between the first connecting portions and overlapping the frame opening, and wherein each of the second sticks includes second connecting portions coupled with the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part and a second central portion disposed between the second connecting portions and intersecting the first central portions and define the plurality of sheet openings (FIGS. 14A-14B of Kudo, portions of belt shaped members #24A #24B extend across frame opening and overlap sides of frame #3).
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kudo as applied to claim 22 above and further in view of Obata et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0092862 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 23, while Kudo discloses that a first central portion of each of first sticks adjacent to the first lateral part and the second lateral part among the first sticks is coupled with the first lateral part and the second lateral part ([0034] of Kudo, frame and support member joined together by spot welding), Kudo does not specifically disclose that the widths of the first sticks in the first direction are greater than widths of the second sticks in the second direction, wherein the first sticks are disposed farther away from the frame than the second sticks. Obata, however, discloses a reinforcement frame #65 for a vapor deposition mask comprising a grid of reinforcement frame members (FIG. 17c of Obata) wherein the width of the reinforcement frame members extending in a first direction is larger than that of the members extending in the perpendicular direction ([0140] of Obata). Obata also discloses spacing the wider crosswise direction grid members further from the frame than the narrower lengthwise grid members (FIG. 1a of Obata). According to Obata, using wider frame members in the first direction provides a frame with enhanced rigidity while reducing the spacing between adjacent masks and thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement frame members of different widths in each direction in the modified mask assembly. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the spacing between adjacent masks thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame while maintaining the rigidity of the structure as taught by Obata ([0139]-[0140] of Obata).
Regarding claim 24, Kudo discloses that each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding first central portion among the first central portions (FIG. 7 of Kudo, spot welds #20 between mask #1 and support member #2).
Regarding claim 25, while Kudo discloses that the second central portion of each of second sticks adjacent to the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part among the second sticks is coupled with the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part ([0034] of Kudo, frame and support member joined together by spot welding), Kudo does not specifically disclose that the widths of the first sticks in the first direction are greater than widths of the second sticks in the second direction, wherein the second sticks are disposed farther away from the frame than the first sticks. Obata, however, discloses a reinforcement frame #65 for a vapor deposition mask comprising a grid of reinforcement frame members (FIG. 17c of Obata) wherein the width of the reinforcement frame members extending in a first direction is larger than that of the members extending in the perpendicular direction ([0140] of Obata). Obata also discloses spacing the crosswise direction grid members which are wider closer to the frame than the lengthwise grid members (FIG. 17c of Obata). According to Obata, using wider frame members in the first direction provides a frame with enhanced rigidity while reducing the spacing between adjacent masks and thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement frame members of different widths in each direction in the modified mask assembly. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the spacing between adjacent masks thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame while maintaining the rigidity of the structure as taught by Obata ([0139]-[0140] of Obata).
Regarding claim 26, Kudo discloses that each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding second central portion among the second central portions (FIG. 7 of Kudo, spot welds #20 between mask #1 and support member #2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art is to Kim. Kudo discloses a mask assembly (Abstract of Kim, mask assembly) comprising: a frame (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100) including: a first lateral part and a second lateral part extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes first and second opposed lateral parts extending in a first direction); and a third lateral part and a fourth lateral part extending in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes third and fourth opposed lateral parts extending in a second direction), the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part being connected with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and defining a frame opening (FIG. 4 of Kim, first and second lateral parts connected to third and fourth lateral parts to form the frame #100 having an opening #120); an open sheet (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 which is in sheet form and which has openings #210) including: a body part in which a plurality of sheet openings arranged in the first direction and the second direction and overlapping the frame opening is defined (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes mask opening #210; FIG. 6 of Kim, mask openings #210 overlap frame opening); and a connecting part protruding from the body part and at least partially overlap the frame, the connecting part including: a first connecting part overlapping the first lateral part (FIGS. 5 and 6 of Kim, protrusions #224 of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlap the first lateral part of frame); a second connecting part overlapping the second lateral part; third connecting parts overlapping at least a portion of the third lateral part; and fourth connecting parts overlapping at least a portion of the fourth lateral part (FIGS. 5 and 6 of Kim, protrusions #224 of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlap the second, third and fourth lateral parts of frame); and masks spaced apart from each other and respectively overlapping the plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 3 of Kim, cell unit mask #300; FIG. 10 of Kim, masks #300 overlap mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200; [0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), each of the masks including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping a corresponding sheet opening among the plurality of sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part and spaced apart from each other with the deposition part therebetween (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200). Neither Kim, however, nor any of the other prior art references of record teach or reasonably suggest a mask assembly as recited in claim 1 wherein the first and second connecting parts continuously extend along a length extension direction of the third and fourth connecting parts. Moreover, in Kim none of the connecting parts extend continuously along the length extension direction of the connecting parts for the adjacent frame section (FIG. 8 of Kim).
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art is also to Kim. Kim discloses a mask assembly manufacturing method (Abstract of Kim) comprising: providing a frame including first lateral parts extending in a first direction and second lateral parts extending in a second direction crossing the first direction and defining a frame opening with the first lateral parts (FIG. 4, Frame #100); stretching an open sheet including a body part in which sheet openings overlapping the frame opening and connecting parts protruding from the body part are defined (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200; [0094] of Kim, mask #200 stretched); coupling the connecting parts to the frame through a first welding process (FIG. 6, [0094] of Kim, protruding parts of stretched mask #200 welded to frame #100); stretching a mask ([0125] of Kim, cell unit masks stretched) including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping one sheet opening among the sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part in the second direction and extend in the first direction (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling the coupling parts to the open sheet through a second welding process ([0131] of Kim, cell unit mask #300 fixed by welding), stretching another mask spaced apart from the mask ([0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), the another mask including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping another sheet opening among the sheet openings are defined; and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part in the second direction and extending in the first direction; coupling the coupling parts of the another mask to the open sheet through the second welding process ([0125]-[0131] of Kim, each of the cell unit masks #300 stretched and welded to structural auxiliary mask #200), wherein a connecting part having a first area coupled with the frame among the connecting parts extends in the first direction (FIG. 10 of Kim, mask #200 includes projections extending in a first direction which overlap the frame #100), and wherein the stretching the mask includes stretching the coupling parts in the second direction ([0125] of Kim, cell unit masks stretched; stretching of cell unit masks would necessarily stretch the coupling parts of the masks). Neither Kim, however, nor any of the other prior art references of record teach or reasonably suggest a mask assembly manufacturing method as recited in claim 16 wherein dummy parts protruding from the connecting parts of the open sheet are removed after coupling the connecting parts to the frame.
The prior art as a whole therefore fails to teach or reasonably suggest the totality of the invention as defined by claims 1 and 16. In the absence of further prior art guidance, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the invention of claims 1 and 16 without impermissible hindsight. For the foregoing reasons, the invention of claims 1 and 16 is deemed non-obvious. Claims 2-15 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1 and are therefore also deemed non-obvious for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. Claims 17-20 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 16 and are therefore also deemed non-obvious for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the current grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts Kudo does not disclose that the recesses are defined in the lower surface of the one of the first and second sticks disposed above (pp. 20-21 of the amendment). Kudo, however, discloses that the recesses are formed in an upper surface of the thicker belt shaped members and the thinner belt shaped members are disposed in the recesses above the thicker belt shaped members (FIG. 14B of Kudo). The claimed configuration is therefore a mere reversal of the configuration of Kudo and could be obtained by flipping over the support member formed by the belt shaped members of Kudo. As set forth in the MPEP, the courts have held that the mere reversal of parts (i.e., positioning the recesses on the lower surfaces of the belt shaped members rather than on the upper surfaces of the belt shaped members as disclosed in Kudo) is an obvious modification (MPEP § 2144.04 VI).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746