DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and the subject of this NON-FINAL Office Action.
Large IDS With Multiple Irrelevant References
Applicants filed 80 pages of IDS with over 1,000 listed references. First, it is impossible to search in detail through all 1,000-plus references in any reasonable amount of time. Second, this is not the first application in this family of applications; in fact, there are over 100 others. Applicants have had ample opportunity to winnow their IDS down to only claim-relevant references. Furthermore, after a random skim of the references within the incredibly limited time allotted to the Examiner, the Examiner determines that many of the references are irrelevant to the claimed subject matter, having nothing to do with the amplicon composition claimed. Which leads to the larger problem: which references are relevant, and why were these seemingly irrelevant references filed? Before filing an IDS, Applicants have a duty to examine the references themselves and determine which references are reasonably pertinent to the claimed invention. If any particular preference(s) is/are directly pertinent to the claimed invention, then Applicants are encouraged to point this out in the form of a new IDS.
Claim interpretations
Claim 1 is directed to a composition (i.e. product) with the following generic structure:
Plurality (i.e. two or more) of DNA molecules each comprising an amplicon that spans polymorphic cite (e.g. indel, SNP, deletion, etc.) and a generic universal priming sequence.
All other claim language merely recite intended uses of the composition, or product-by-process language; thus, they fail to distinguish the composition over the prior art. For example, “amplicons derived from a first individual and amplicons derived from a second individual” fails to necessarily yield any different compositional features because this encompasses the same sequences. “[O]batined from obtained from targeted multiplex amplification of 50-20,000 polymorphic loci” similarly fails to necessarily require the presence of those loci; rather, only the attempt to amplify them, whether successful or not. “[P]erformed on cell-free DNA isolated from a biological sample of the second individual or DNA derived therefrom” again only recites a type of DNA, which can have sequence added to it (e.g. primer tails), or fall within standard sequence sizes (e.g. 50-300bp). Finally, “wherein at least 80% of all amplicons in the composition map to the polymorphic loci” only states that 80% of the amplicons map (whatever this generic term means here) to amplified polymorphic loci, which can be 0-20,000, based on the success of the amplification. Even if all of these processes yielded physical features, yet they only yield generic, well-known physical features, as demonstrated by the art cited below. Thus, the broad claims encompass much prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Indefiniteness
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is confusing. First, “the DNA molecules comprise a mixture of amplicons derived from a first individual and amplicons derived from a second individual,” yet later the amplification is only “performed on cell-free DNA isolated from a biological sample of the second individual.” Is amplification required for two “individuals,” or only one? It is impossible to determine from these conflicting statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(A) A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –
(1)the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAY (US20100273219).
As to claim 1, MAY teaches a composition comprising a plurality of DNA molecules (e.g. in multiplex amplification, or pooled for sequencing after separate reactions of 50-1,000,000; paras. 0039, 0059-60, 0127, 0164, 0173, 0175, 0203, 0267-70) each comprising an amplicon and a universal priming sequence 454 (Abstract; Figs. 10, 15 & 18; paras. 0129, 0137, 0151, 0222), wherein the DNA molecules comprise a mixture of amplicons derived from a first individual and amplicons derived from a second individual, wherein the amplicons derived from the first individual and the amplicons derived from the second individual are obtained from targeted multiplex amplification of 50-20,000 polymorphic loci (50-1,000,000 loci; id.) performed on cell-free DNA isolated from a biological sample of the second individual or DNA derived therefrom, wherein at least 80% of all amplicons in the composition map to the polymorphic loci (Figs. 14 & 16, showing all polymorphic loci amplicons with at least one read).
As to claim 2, the source is immaterial to the resulting amplicon, yet MAY teaches the biological sample is a blood, serum, plasma, or urine sample (para. 0143, for example).
As to claim 3, the purpose is merely an intended use, yet MAY teaches the composition is a sequencing library (Figs. 14 & 16, for example).
As to claim 4, the purpose is merely an intended use, yet MAY teaches the DNA molecules each comprises a sequencing tag for high-throughput sequencing (Figs. 10, 15 & 18).
As to claim 5, the purpose is merely an intended use, yet MAY teaches the DNA molecules each comprises a sample index for multiplex sequencing (Figs. 10, 15 & 18; Abstract; paras. 0061, 0086, 0107, 0127-29)
As to claim 6, MAY teaches the DNA molecules each comprises a molecular barcode (id.) A generic “molecular barcode” is indistinguishable from any other “barcode” in MAY. Regardless, MAY in paragraphs 0127-29 discusses multiple barcodes, “a number (J) of first barcode primers can be combined with a number (K) of second barcode primers to create J×K unique amplification products.”
As to claim 7, the source is immaterial to the resulting amplicon, yet MAY teaches the first individual is a fetus (para. 0143).
As to claim 8, the source is immaterial to the resulting amplicon, and does not change the resulting amplicon of DNA.
As to claim 9, MAY teaches the polymorphic loci comprise SNP loci (para. 0105, for example).
As to claim 10, MAY teaches the polymorphic loci comprise indel loci (para. 0104).
As to claim 11, the intended targets and their successful amplification are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches the amplicons are obtained from targeted multiplex amplification of 50-5,000 polymorphic loci (50-1,000,000 loci; paras. 0129, 0137, 0151, 0222).
As to claim 12, the intended targets and their successful amplification are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches the amplicons are obtained from targeted multiplex amplification of 100-2,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 13, the intended targets and their successful amplification are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches the amplicons are obtained from targeted multiplex amplification of 200-1,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 14, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches at least 90% of all amplicons in the composition map to 50-5,000 polymorphic loci (e.g. Figs. 14 & 16, showing all polymorphic loci amplicons with at least one read).
As to claim 15, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches, at least 90% of all amplicons in the composition map to 100-2,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 16, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches at least 90% of all amplicons in the composition map to 200-1,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 17, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches at least 95% of all amplicons in the composition map to 50-5,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 18, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches at least 95% of all amplicons in the composition map to 100-2,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 19, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches at least 95% of all amplicons in the composition map to 200-1,000 polymorphic loci (id.)
As to claim 20, the intended results are immaterial to the actual amplicons, yet MAY teaches one or more of the polymorphic loci are located on one or more chromosomes expected to be disomic (e.g. para. 0246).
Double Patenting- Obvious Type
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Instant claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims of US 8682592, US 9430611, US 9695477, US 10227652, US 10061890, US 10061889, US 11111543, US 11111544, US 9163282, US 10017812, US 10174369, US 12020778, US 12270073, US 9228234, US 10216896, US 10522242, US 11306357, US 11408031, US 11746376, US 10526658, US 10538814, US 10557172, US 10655180, US 10731220, US 10793912, US 11519035, US 12110552, US 10590482, US 10774380, US 11339429, US 11332785, US 12152275, US 11312996, US 12410476, US 11332793, US 11939634, US 11326208, US 18/227224, US 18/243581, US 18/220183, US 18/585708, US 16/803782, US 17/529536, US 19/029107, US 18/931842, US 18/126344, US 18/243593, US 19/028937, US 16/734814, US 16/817117, US 17/868141, US 18/751175, US 18/751153, US 18/751083, US 19/327646, US 17/196659, US 18/733471, US 18/678417, US 18/733659, US 17/545881, US 17/196722, US 18/792372, US 18/747138, US 17/842118, US 18/812696, US 18/885063.
There are hundreds of Natera-assigned, and common-inventor applications and patents. If prosecution continues, not only will the claims change because it is clear they are anticipated, even more it would take an inordinate amount of time to produce detailed rejections for each of the applications and patents. Thus, the Examiner has simplified the rejections in the interest of time.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims each of the conflicting claims teaches compositions of amplicons with the same universal primer-SNP amplicon structure, or methods of making them. More specifically, demonstrative conflicting claims teach:
1. A method for nested PCR amplification, comprising:
isolating cell-free DNA from a biological sample and ligating adaptors to the isolated cell-free DNA, wherein the adaptors each comprise a universal priming sequence;
performing a first PCR to simultaneously amplify at least 10 target loci using a first universal primer and at least 10 target-specific primers in a first reaction volume; and
performing a second, nested PCR to simultaneously amplify the at least 10 target loci using a second universal primer and at least 10 inner target-specific primers in a second reaction volume to obtain amplified DNA, wherein primer binding sites of the inner target-specific primers of the second PCR are internal to primer binding sites of the target-specific primers of the first PCR, wherein at least 80% of the amplified DNA maps to the target loci.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the biological sample is a blood, plasma, serum, or urine sample.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the adaptors each comprise a molecular barcode.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the primers comprises a sequencing tag.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the adaptors each comprise a molecular barcode, and wherein at least one of the primers comprises a sequencing tag.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first PCR comprises simultaneously amplifying between 100 and 5,000 target loci using the first universal primer and between 100 and 5,000 target-specific primers in the first reaction volume.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the second PCR comprises simultaneously amplifying between 100 and 5,000 target loci using the second universal primer and between 100 and 5,000 inner target-specific primers in the second reaction volume.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first PCR comprises simultaneously amplifying between 100 and 1,000 target loci using the first universal primer and between 100 and 1,000 target-specific primers in the first reaction volume.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the second PCR comprises simultaneously amplifying between 100 and 1,000 target loci using the second universal primer and between 100 and 1,000 inner target-specific primers in the second reaction volume.
10. The method of claim 3, wherein the isolated cell-free DNA are tagged with up to 1024 different molecular barcodes.
11. The method of claim 3, wherein the isolated cell-free DNA are tagged with 1024-65536 different molecular barcodes.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of each target-specific primer of the first and/or second PCR is less than 20 nM.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of each target-specific primer of the first and/or second PCR is less than 10 nM.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the length of the annealing step of the first and/or second PCR is at least 3 minutes.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the length of the annealing step of the first and/or second PCR is at least 5 minutes.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein at least 90% of the amplified DNA maps to the target loci.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the target loci are SNP loci.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-free DNA comprises DNA from a fetus.
19. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-free DNA comprises DNA from a tumor.
20. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-free DNA comprises DNA from a transplant.
21. The method of claim 1, wherein amplified DNAs of multiple samples are pooled and sequenced in a single sequencing lane.
Thus, the conflicting claims teach the same resulting composition as claimed here.
/AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681