DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the following limitation, “complete internal reflection from the input coupler to the output coupler, and provide continuous internal reflection of an image from the input coupler to the output coupler”, in claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument pertaining to this limitation.
Applicant also argues that neither Zhou nor Ramdoo disclose the following limitations, “…a first face including a first viewport a second face opposite the first f, the second face including a second viewport; and an optical axis compensator enclosed within the housing, the optical
axis compensator including: an input coupler at a first end of the optical axis compensator, an output coupler at a second end of the optical axis compensator that it opposite the first end of the optical axis compensator…”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and point to the following teachings of Zhou and Ramdoo respectfully:
Zhou discloses, on Fig. 2d and 4 (Fig. 3a is referenced to point out the unlabeled elements of Fig. 4, and Zhou is explicit that the difference between them is how reflected light is captured, otherwise they are similar) [Par 56 and 68-69], a housing (housing 402), comprising: a first face (see Fig. 3a and 4: side of housing 302 facing pupil 308) [Par 57] including a viewport (See Fig. 3a for label as aperture 304), a second face (See Fig. 4: side of housing 302 facing device 410) opposite the first face, the second face including a second viewport (aperture 406) [Par 57-60], and an optical axis compensator (See Fig 3a for labels of different components, mirror 340, splitter 336 and 326, lens 342, 346, 330, and 332, microlens 328) [Par 57], enclosed within the housing, the optical axis compensator including:
An input coupler (beam splitter 326: imaging channel 412 receives light through aperture 304 that is split by 326) [Par 57] at the first end of the optical axis compensator, an output coupler (Fig. 4: lens 332 focuses light out of imaging channel 312) [Par 58] at a second end of the optical axis compensator; and a lens relay system (lenses 328, 330, and 332) [Par 57];
wherein the first view port of the housing is configured to be coupled to a manually guided vision aid (Fig. 4: all of housing 402, and thus aperture 304 can be manually guided as a vision aid, which can be seen in Fig. 2d) and the second viewport (aperture 406) is configured to be coupled to an electronic device (mobile device 410 ) having a mass and including a camera (light detector) not substantially centered in the mass (light detector is off center in device 410), such that a light incident point of the optical axis compensator (splitter 326) is aligned with a lens (lens 330, 332, and 328) of the manually guided vision aid through the first viewport (lens 330, 332, and 328 are aligned with splitter 326 through aperture 304) [Par 57-60], and the output coupler (aperture 406) of the optical axis compensator is aligned with the camera of the electronic device (light detector 408 of device 410)[Par 57].
Re claim 15, Ramdoo discloses, on Fig. 2a, a manually guided vision aid (all of the device in Fig. 2a excluding mobile device 200), comprising:
a housing (housing 204) including: a first face (left side of housing 204) including a first viewport (location of housing 204 with optical element 104) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], a second face (right side of housing 204) opposite the first face, the second face including a second viewport (region of housing 204 where light from lens 112 exits) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], and an optical axis compensator (mirrors 222 and lenses 120 and 112) disposed within the housing, the optical axis compensator including: an input coupler (optical element 104) at a first end of the optical axis compensator, an output coupler (lens 112) at a second end of the optical axis compensator that it opposite the first end of the optical axis compensator (lenses 104 and 112 are opposite each other) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30],
a lens relay system (lenses 104, 120, and 112) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], at least one optical element (speculum 210) coupled to the first face (speculum 210 is coupled to housing 204 by spacing element 206); wherein the second face of the housing (right side of housing 204) is configured to be coupled to an electronic device (mobile user device 200) having a mass and including a camera (camera 202) not substantially centered in the mass (Camera 202 is not centered in device 200) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], such that the input coupler (lens 104) of the optical axis compensator is aligned with a lens (lens 120 and 112) through the first viewport (lenses are aligned with opening on left side of frame 204), and the output coupler of the optical axis compensator (light exit point of lens 112) is aligned with the camera of the electronic device (camera 202) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30].
Therefore the rejection of Claims 1-7, and 15-20 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20160205298 A1) in view of Calafiore (US 10823887 B1).
Re Claim 1, Zhou discloses, on Fig. 2d and 4 (Fig. 3a is referenced to point out the unlabeled elements of Fig. 4, and Zhou is explicit that the difference between them is how reflected light is captured, otherwise they are similar) [Par 56 and 68-69], a housing (housing 402), comprising: a first face (see Fig. 3a and 4: side of housing 302 facing pupil 308) [Par 57] including a viewport (See Fig. 3a for label as aperture 304), a second face (See Fig. 4: side of housing 302 facing device 410) opposite the first face, the second face including a second viewport (aperture 406) [Par 57-60], and an optical axis compensator (See Fig 3a for labels of different components, mirror 340, splitter 336 and 326, lens 342, 346, 330, and 332, microlens 328) [Par 57], enclosed within the housing, the optical axis compensator including:
An input coupler (beam splitter 326: imaging channel 412 receives light through aperture 304 that is split by 326) [Par 57] at the first end of the optical axis compensator, an output coupler (Fig. 4: lens 332 focuses light out of imaging channel 312) [Par 58] at a second end of the optical axis compensator; and a lens relay system (lenses 328, 330, and 332) [Par 57];
wherein the first view port of the housing is configured to be coupled to a manually guided vision aid (Fig. 4: all of housing 402, and thus aperture 304 can be manually guided as a vision aid, which can be seen in Fig. 2d) and the second viewport (aperture 406) is configured to be coupled to an electronic device (mobile device 410 ) having a mass and including a camera (light detector) not substantially centered in the mass (light detector is off center in device 410), such that a light incident point of the optical axis compensator (splitter 326) is aligned with a lens (lens 330, 332, and 328) of the manually guided vision aid through the first viewport (lens 330, 332, and 328 are aligned with splitter 326 through aperture 304) [Par 57-60], and the output coupler (aperture 406) of the optical axis compensator is aligned with the camera of the electronic device (light detector 408 of device 410)[Par 57].
But Zhou does not explicitly disclose, a lens relay system configured to provide complete internal reflection from the input coupler to the output coupler and provide continuous internal reflection of from the input coupler to the output coupler.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Calafiore teaches, on Fig. 4, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include, a lens relay system (optics 415) configured to provide complete internal reflection (by way of waveguide 320) from the input coupler (coupling element 320) to the output coupler (decoupling element 365) and provide continuous internal reflection of from the input coupler to the output coupler (waveguide 320 facilitates total internal reflection) [Col 6, Lines 5-15].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhou with Calafiore in order to provide, reduced light loss, as taught by Calafiore [Col 6, Lines 55-65].
Re claim 2, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 1, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4, wherein the optical axis compensator (wavefront aberrometer 400) further including a waveguide (imaging channel 412).
Re Claim 3, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 2, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4 (with Fig. 3a for label reference) wherein the in-coupler (Splitter 326) is located at a light incident point (light is incident on splitter 326 to enter image channel 312) [Par 57-59]; and the out-coupler (lens 332) is located at a light exit point (lens 332 focuses light onto mobile device 410) [Par 68].
Re Claim 4, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 1, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4, wherein the first face (see Fig. 3a and 4: side of housing 302 facing pupil 308) [Par 57] is configured to couple to the manually guided vision aid (Fig. 4: all of housing 402, and thus aperture 304 can be manually guided as a vision aid, as can be seen in Fig. 2d), and the second face is configured to couple to the electronic device (See Fig. 4: side of housing 302 attached to mobile device 410) [Par 68].
Re Claim 6, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 1, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4, wherein the lens relay system (interior optical components of wavefront aberrometer 400) comprises a mirror relay system (see Fig. 3a for labeling: mirror 340, splitter 336, and splitter 326).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Calafiore as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kreitzer (US 20150234149 A1).
Re Claim 5, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 1, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4, wherein the lens relay system includes (see fig 3a for analogous labels): a first mirror located a light incident point (splitter 326 also reflects light); a second mirror (mirror 340 or splitter 336 which also reflects light); a first relay lens (lens 330); and a second relay lens (lens 332).
But Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein, the first mirror, the first relay lens, the second relay lens, and the second mirror are each aligned in a lateral axis; and the second mirror is located at a light exit point.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kreitzer teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in optical system used with smart devices, to include wherein the first mirror (fold 19 is a mirror) [Par 31], the first relay lens (any lens element in zoom optical system 22), the second relay lens (any lens element in zoom optical system 26), and the second mirror (Fold mirror 20) are each aligned in a lateral axis (See Fig. 1); and the second mirror is located at the light exit point ( mirror 20 is located at the image pickup device 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhou in view of Calafiore with Kreitzer in order to satisfy small dimension limitations, as taught by Kreitzer [Par 9].
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Calafiore as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ramdoo (US 10898069 B1) and Fukuma (US 20230277055 A1).
Re Claim 7, Zhou in view of Calafiore discloses, the housing of claim 6, and Zhou further discloses on Fig. 4, an incident mirror (see Fig. 3a for label: beam splitter 326), wherein the incident mirror is located at a light incident point (beam splitter 326 is located at aperture 304).
But Zhou in view of Calafiore does not explicitly disclose, wherein the mirror relay system comprises; an exit mirror; a first concave mirror; and a second concave mirror; wherein: the incident mirror and the second concave mirror are aligned in a first lateral axis; the exit mirror and the first concave mirror are aligned in a second lateral axis; and the exit mirror is located at the light exit point.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Ramdoo teaches, on Fig. 2a, that it is desirable in optical examination apparatus to include, an exit mirror (image most side of upper mirror of mirror set 222); a first mirror (image side of lower mirror of mirror set 222); and a second mirror (object most side of lower mirror of mirror set 222); wherein: the incident mirror (upper object side) and the second mirror (lower object side) are aligned in a first lateral axis (aligned in an axis between center of mirrors along object side of optical path 218) ; the exit mirror (upper image side )and the first mirror (lower image side) are aligned in a second lateral axis (centers of both mirrors are aligned in an axis along image side of optical path 218); and the exit mirror is located at the light exit point (image side of upper mirror is located at the light exit point) [Col 6, Lines 60-65].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhou in view of Calafiore with Ramdoo in order to, to divert the optical path away from and then towards an axis extending between the first optical element, and the final image plane, as taught by Ramdoo [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30].
But Zhou in view of Calafiore and Ramdoo does not explicitly teach a first concave mirror; and a second concave mirror.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Fukuma teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in optical observation apparatus to include a first concave mirror (mirror 50), and a second concave mirror (mirror 50) [Par 73-76].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhou in view of Calafiore and Ramdoo with Fukuma in order to provide increase optical imaging view, as taught by Fukuma [Par 77].
Claim(s) 15-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramdoo (US 10898069 B1) in view of Calafiore.
Re claim 15, Ramdoo discloses, on Fig. 2a, a manually guided vision aid (all of the device in Fig. 2a excluding mobile device 200), comprising:
a housing (housing 204) including: a first face (left side of housing 204) including a first viewport (location of housing 204 with optical element 104) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], a second face (right side of housing 204) opposite the first face, the second face including a second viewport (region of housing 204 where light from lens 112 exits) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], and an optical axis compensator (mirrors 222 and lenses 120 and 112) disposed within the housing, the optical axis compensator including: an input coupler (optical element 104) at a first end of the optical axis compensator, an output coupler (lens 112) at a second end of the optical axis compensator that it opposite the first end of the optical axis compensator (lenses 104 and 112 are opposite each other) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30],
a lens relay system (lenses 104, 120, and 112) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30],
at least one optical element (speculum 210) coupled to the first face (speculum 210 is coupled to housing 204 by spacing element 206); wherein
the second face of the housing (right side of housing 204) is configured to be coupled to an electronic device (mobile user device 200) having a mass and including a camera (camera 202) not substantially centered in the mass (Camera 202 is not centered in device 200) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30], such that the input coupler (lens 104) of the optical axis compensator is aligned with a lens (lens 120 and 112) through the first viewport (lenses are aligned with opening on left side of frame 204), and the output coupler of the optical axis compensator (light exit point of lens 112) is aligned with the camera of the electronic device (camera 202) [Col 6-7, Lines 60-30].
But Ramdoo does not explicitly disclose, a lens relay system configured to provide complete internal reflection from the input coupler to the output coupler and provide continuous internal reflection of from the input coupler to the output coupler.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Calafiore teaches, on Fig. 4, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include, a lens relay system (optics 415) configured to provide complete internal reflection (by way of waveguide 320) from the input coupler (coupling element 320) to the output coupler (decoupling element 365) and provide continuous internal reflection of from the input coupler to the output coupler (waveguide 320 facilitates total internal reflection) [Col 6, Lines 5-15].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ramdoo with Calafiore in order to provide, reduced light loss, as taught by Calafiore [Col 6, Lines 55-65].
Re Claim 16, Ramdoo in view of Calafiore discloses, the manually guided vision aid of claim 15, and Ramdoo further discloses on Fig. 2a, wherein the optical axis compensator (mirrors 222, and lenses 120 and 112) further includes a waveguide (mirror arrangement 220 diverts the optical path 218) [Col 7, Lines 10-20].
Re Claim 17, Ramdoo in view of Calafiore discloses, the manually guided vision aid of claim 15, and Ramdoo further discloses on Fig. 2a, the in-coupler (lens 104) is located at a light incident point (Fig. 2a shows Light is incident on lens 104); and the out-coupler (lens 112) is located at a light exit point (Fig. 2a shows lens 112 focusing light of housing 204) [Col 5, Lines 35 to Col 7, Line 30].
Re claim 18, Ramdoo in view of Calafiore discloses, the manually guided vision aid of claim 15, and Ramdoo further discloses on Fig. 2a, wherein the first viewport (opening on left side of housing 204) is configured to be coupled to the at least one optical element (frame 204 is connected to speculum 210 by spacing element 206) [Col 6, Lines 60-65], and the second viewport (opening on right side of housing 204) is configured to be coupled to the camera of the electronic device (mobile device 200) [Col 6, Lines 60-65].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramdoo in view of Calafiore as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kreitzer.
Re Claim 19, Ramdoo in view of Calafiore discloses, the manually guided vision aid of claim 15, and Ramdoo further discloses Fig. 2a, wherein the lens relay system includes: a first mirror (object side of top mirror 222); a second mirror (image side of top mirror 222); a first relay lens (lens 120); and a second relay lens (lens 112), the first mirror is located at a light incident point (object side of top mirror 222 is at incident point); and the second mirror is located at a light exit point (image side of top mirror 222 is at exit point).
But Ramdoo does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first mirror, the first relay lens, the second relay lens, and the second mirror are each aligned in a lateral axis
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kreitzer teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in optical system used with smart devices, to include wherein the first mirror (fold 19 is a mirror) [Par 31], the first relay lens (any lens element in zoom optical system 22), the second relay lens (any lens element in zoom optical system 26), and the second mirror (Fold mirror 20) are each aligned in a lateral axis (See Fig. 1); the first mirror is located at the light incident point (object end 14); and the second mirror is located at the light exit point ( mirror 20 is located at the image pickup device 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ramdoo in view of Calafiore with Kreitzer in order to satisfy small dimension limitations, as taught by Kreitzer [Par 9].
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramdoo in view of Calafiore as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Fukuma.
Re Claim 20, Ramdoo discloses, on Fig. 2a,the manually guided vision aid of claim 15, and Ramdoo further discloses on Fig. 2a, a lens relay system including a mirror relay system including;
an incident mirror (object side of top most mirror 222), wherein the incident mirror is located at a light incident point (object side of top most mirror 222 is located at incident point), an exit mirror (image most side of upper mirror of mirror set 222); a first mirror (image side of lower mirror of mirror set 222); and a second mirror (object most side of lower mirror of mirror set 222); wherein: the incident mirror (upper object side) and the second mirror (lower object side) are aligned in a first lateral axis (aligned in an axis between center of mirrors along object side of optical path 218); the exit mirror (upper image side) and the first mirror (lower image side) are aligned in a second lateral axis (centers of both mirrors are aligned in an axis along image side of optical path 218); and the exit mirror is located at a light exit point (image side of upper mirror is located at the light exit point) [Col 6, Lines 60-65].
Ramdoo does not explicitly teach a first concave mirror; and a second concave mirror.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Fukuma teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in optical observation apparatus to include a first concave mirror (mirror 50), and a second concave mirror (mirror 50) [Par 73-76].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ramdoo with Fukuma in order to provide increase optical imaging view, as taught by Fukuma [Par 77].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Coleman (US 20130083185 A1) teaches an optical adapter for ophthalmological imaging apparatus.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872