DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action. Priority 3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement 4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 27, 2023, and July 26, 2024, have been received and considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. 6. Claim s 4 , 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 7. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the polyphenylene ether chain segment" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 8 and 12 are dependent upon Claim 4 and include all of the limitations and subject matter of Claim 4 . 8. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 9. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the polyphenylene ether chain segment" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 10. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 11. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 12. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (JP2015159069A) . With regard to Claim 1 , Tanaka et al. disclose a negative electrode sheet formed of a paste composition for battery electrodes , comprising a negative electrode current collector, and a negative electrode active material layer coated on one or both surfaces of the negative electrode current collector (paragraph 0071) , the negative electrode active material layer paste comprises a negative electrode active material, a conductive agent, a binder (equivalent to the auxiliary agent) containing a polymer containing (I) a constitutional unit derived from a (meth)acrylate monomer (A) having a hydroxyl group and (II) a constitutional unit derived from a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer (B), and a cellulose-based compound having an ammonium salt, such as an ammonium salt of carboxy methyl cellulose (CMC) (equivalent to the binder) (paragraph 0011). Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-based material (paragraph 0050). Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the auxiliary agent is selected from at least one of a compound represented by Formula 1: R 1 -R-M-R'-R' 1 , preferably (meth)acrylate monomer (A) having a hydroxyl group as an alkylene glycol mono-(meth)acrylate having a molecular weight of 150-1000, such as a polyethylene glycol mono-(meth)acrylate, a polypropylene glycol mono-(meth)acrylate, etc., where M is selected from a polyethylene glycol chain segment or a polypropylene glycol chain segment (paragraph 0012). Tanaka et al. further disclose wherein each of R 1 and R' 1 is a terminal group, and at least one of R 1 and R' 1 comprises a carbon-carbon double bond as the terminal group; and each of R and R' is a linking group comprising a cross-linking agent of polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer (B) which may be a polyethylene glycol di-(meth)acrylate and a polypropylene glycol di-(meth)acrylate (paragraph s 001 3-0018 ) . With regard to Claim 2 , Tanaka et al. disclose wherein each of R 1 and R' 1 is the terminal group, and at least one of R 1 and R' 1 necessarily comprises an acrylate having at least one of the following groups as the terminal group:-O-(C=O)-C(R 2 )=C(R' 2 )(R' 2 ) ; wherein R 2 is selected from H or an organic functional group; R' 2 are the same or different, and independently selected from H or an organic functional group (paragraph 0012) . With regard to Claim 3 , Tanaka et al. disclose wherein one or both of R 1 and R' 1 comprise one or two of the following groups as the terminal group :-O-(C=O)-C(R 2 )=C(R' 2 )(R' 2 ) ; wherein R 2 is selected from H or C 1-6 alkyl ; R' 2 are the same or different, and independently selected from H or C 1-6 alkyl (paragraph 0012) . With regard to Claim s 4, 8 and 12, because Claim 1 is met by M being selected from a polyethylene glycol chain segment and a polypropylene glycol chin segment , then a claim/limitation that further limits the alternative species which is not taught by the prior art, i.e. the polyphenylene ether chain segment , is not required to be met. With regard to Claim 5, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 has a number-average molecular weight of 150-1000 (paragraph 0012), which meets the claimed limitation of 200-3000. With regard to Claim 6, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 has a number-average molecular weight of 150-1000 (paragraph 0012), which meets the claimed limitation of 200-3000. With regard to Claim 7, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 has a number-average molecular weight of 150-1000 (paragraph 0012), which meets the claimed limitation of 200-3000. With regard to Claim 9 , Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 is necessarily a (meth)acrylate monomer (A) having a hydroxyl group, alkylene glycol mono(meth)acrylate, which is selected from at least one of polyethylene glycol acrylate and polypropylene glycol acrylate (paragraph 0012). With regard to Claim 10, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 is necessarily a (meth)acrylate monomer (A) having a hydroxyl group, alkylene glycol mono(meth)acrylate, which is selected from at least one of polyethylene glycol acrylate and polypropylene glycol acrylate (paragraph 0012). With regard to Claim 11, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 is necessarily a (meth)acrylate monomer (A) having a hydroxyl group, alkylene glycol mono(meth)acrylate, which is selected from at least one of polyethylene glycol acrylate and polypropylene glycol acrylate (paragraph 0012). With regard to Claim 13 , Tanaka et al. disclose n the electrode fabrication example (paragraph 0071), wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises components with mass percentage contents as following: 95 parts by weight of the negative active material, 3 parts by weight of the conductive agent, 1 part by weight of the binder, and 1 part by weight of the auxiliary agent, which meets the claimed limitation of 75-98 wt% of the negative electrode active material, 1-15 wt% of the conductive agent, 0.999-10 wt% of the binder, and 0.001-2 wt% of the auxiliary agent. With regard to Claim 14, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the silicon-based material is selected from at least one of nano silicon, SiO x (0<x <2), or a powder metal such as lithium, aluminum based compounds, tin based compounds, or titanium based compounds, which are capable of intercepting and releasing lithium ions (paragraph 0050). With regard to Claim 15, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises a carbon-based material selected from at least one of natural graphite, artificial graphite, amorphous carbon, etc. (paragraph 0050). With regard to Claim 16, Tanaka et al. disclose a lithium-ion battery, comprising the negative electrode sheet noted above (paragraph 0002). With regard to Claim 17, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein each of R 1 and R' 1 is the terminal group, and at least one of R 1 and R' 1 necessarily comprises an acrylate having at least one of the following groups as the terminal group:-O-(C=O)-C(R 2 )=C(R' 2 )(R' 2 ) ; wherein R 2 is selected from H or an organic functional group; R' 2 are the same or different, and independently selected from H or an organic functional group (paragraph 0012) . With regard to Claim 18, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein one or both of R 1 and R' 1 comprise one or two of the following groups as the terminal group:-O-(C=O)-C(R 2 )=C(R' 2 )(R' 2 ) ; wherein R 2 is selected from H or C 1-6 alkyl ; R' 2 are the same or different, and independently selected from H or C 1-6 alkyl (paragraph 0012) . With regard to Claim 19, because Claim 1 is met by M being selected from a polyethylene glycol chain segment and a polypropylene glycol chin segment, then a claim/limitation that further limits the alternative species which is not taught by the prior art, i.e. the polyphenylene ether chain segment, is not required to be met. With regard to Claim 20, Tanaka et al. disclose wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 has a number-average molecular weight of 150-1000 (paragraph 0012), which meets the claimed limitation of 200-3000. Conclusion 13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KARIE O APICELLA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8614 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday thru Friday; 8:00AM to 5:00PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Nicole Buie-Hatcher can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3879 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725