DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/24/2024 has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-11, without traverse in a response on 06/09/2026 is acknowledged. In this Office Action, claims 12-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1-11 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (hereinafter Yamada), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0154780.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamada teaches, a magnetic component (Fig. 1) comprising:
a core (10);
a winding (1) disposed in the core, a winding end (2) of the winding extending to an outer periphery (10c) of the core;
a lead frame (3) disposed on the outer periphery of the core, at least one hole (37) being formed on the lead frame and corresponding to the winding end; and
a conductive material (41, “electrically-conductive adhesive agent” [0079]), disposed in the at least one hole, the conductive material being in contact with the winding end (id.). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0034], [0036], [0046], [0077], [0078], [0079]).
Regarding Claim 2 and similarly claims 3 and 7, Yamada further teaches, wherein the at least one hole is formed to penetrate or not penetrate through an edge of the lead frame (id.). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0034], [0036], [0046], [0077], [0078], [0079]).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamada further teaches, wherein the lead frame is connected to the winding end of the winding by penetration welding (“welding” [0065]). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0065]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamada further teaches, wherein the conductive material disposed in the at least one hole is flush with the lead frame (id.). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0034], [0036], [0046], [0077], [0078], [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada, as applied to claims 1 and 3, respectively, in view of Yan et al., (hereinafter Yan), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0007453.
Regarding Claim 4, Yamada teaches (Fig. 1), (except where italicized), wherein the outer periphery of the core has a first side (10c), a second side (10b) and a third side (10c), the first side is opposite to the third side (id.), the second side connects the first side and the third side (id.), the recess has a first segment (4) and a second segment (4) formed on the first side and the second side respectively (id.), the winding end (2) of the winding extends to the third side (4, 10c), the lead frame has a first section (first section of 3), a second section (second section of 3) and a third section, the first section and the third section are bent from opposite sides of the second section, the first section (first section of 3) is embedded in the first segment of the recess (4), the second section (second section of 3) is embedded in the second segment (4) of the recess, the at least one hole is formed on the third section, and the third section is disposed on the third side. (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0034], [0036], [0046], [0077], [0078], [0079]).
Yamada does not explicitly teach, and a third section, the first section and the third section are bent from opposite sides of the second section, and
the at least one hole is formed on the third section, and the third section is disposed on the third side.
However, Yan (Fig. 12) teaches, and a third section (bottom of 386, Fig. 12), the first section (top section of 386, Fig. 12) and the third section are bent from opposite sides of the second section (middle section of 386), and
the at least one hole (not shown, Fig. 12) is formed on the third section, and the third section is disposed on the third side (bottom of 420). (Yan: Figs. 1-12, para. [0062], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coil component of Yamada to include the first, second and third section of the lead frame of Yan, the motivation being “reduced risk of contamination issues and negative effects arising from the molding operations or other manufacturing steps as the magnetic body 404 is formed” [0066]. (Yan: Figs. 1-12, para. [0066]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 4 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yamada in view of Yan further teaches, wherein the first segment of the recess and the first section of the lead frame have polygonal shapes corresponding to each other (id.). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0034], [0036], [0046], [0077], [0078], [0079]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yamada in view of Yan further teaches, wherein the polygonal shapes are trapezoidal (“terminal clips of other shapes may be formed in the lead fabrication layer with similar effect and advantages” [0068]), the motivation being “terminal clips of other shapes may be formed in the lead fabrication layer with similar effect and advantages” [0068] to meet design needs. (Yan: Figs. 1-12, para. [0068]).
Regarding Claim 9 and similarly claim 10, the combination of Yamada in view of Yan further teaches, wherein the conductive material is a metal with a resistivity less than 15(10E-8Ω*m) at room temperature (“the solder and it is allowed to apply another filling member having electrical conductivity and, for example, it is allowed to fix approximately L-shaped members having shapes corresponding to the opening portions 37 of the terminals 3 in the insides of the opening portions 37 by using an electrically-conductive adhesive agent or the like” [0079], since solder comprising tin is an obvious choice from a finite group of solder choices). (Yamada: Figs. 1-9, para. [0079]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meguro et al. (JP2007329411A).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
8/07/2026