DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. According to the Amendment, filed 27 January 2026, the status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, and 16 are currently amended; and
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, 15, and 17-19 are as originally filed.
3. The objections of claims 7 and 16 because of minor informalities are withdrawn in view of the Amendment, filed 27 January 2026.
4. The rejection of claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, is withdrawn in view of the Amendment, filed 27 January 2026.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pp. 6-9, filed 27 January 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 8, 10, 17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al., CN Patent No. 113827211 A (“Wang”) (see English Translation of Wang), have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends, see Remarks, pp. 7-8, the following:
I. Wang Fails to Disclose Obtaining a Blood Pressure Measurement Result During a Nonlinear Inflation Rate
Independent Claim 1 recites, in pertinent part: "controlling the pump to perform pressurization on the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result." Independent Claim 10 contains a similar limitation.
This claim language explicitly defines a condition where the "blood pressure measurement result" is obtained while the pump is pressurizing the airbag unit with a "nonlinear inflation rate." In other words, the measurement and signal interpretation occur simultaneously with the nonlinear inflation process.
The Examiner cites Wang, paragraphs [0055]-[0056], asserting that Wang discloses this feature. However, a careful review of Wang's specification and figures reveals that Wang employs a multi-stage process where the actual blood pressure measurement does not occur during the nonlinear inflation phase.
1. Wang Separates Nonlinear Inflation from Signal Acquisition
According to Fig. 3 of Wang, the process is divided into distinct steps: Step S1 ("Inflation Phase") is followed by Step S2 ("Acquiring Signal"). This procedural separation indicates that the primary signal acquisition for measurement occurs after the inflation phase S1 is completed.
2. Wang's Measurement Occurs During Linear Inflation, Not Nonlinear Inflation
Even examining the details of the "Inflation Phase" (S1) in Wang, Fig. 4 and the specification clarify that it consists of two distinct sub-stages:
Step S101 (First Inflation Phase): Wang discloses using "non-linear inflation" (Para. [0055]). Crucially, this phase is only maintained until a preset pressure threshold is reached (Para. [0056]).
Step S102 (Second Inflation Phase): Wang discloses that this subsequent phase is a "linear pressure-increasing inflation phase" where pressure increases at a "uniform rate" (Para. [0059]).
Wang's method is to use nonlinear inflation (S101) merely to quickly reach a base pressure, and then switch to linear inflation (S102) or stop inflation (S103) for the actual measurement process. Wang does not interpret pulses to obtain a blood pressure measurement result during the nonlinear phase (S101).
However, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation, Wang teaches the claimed limitation “controlling the pump to perform pressurization on the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result”. The claim explicitly uses the transition phrase “until” separating the function of performing pressurization with a nonlinear inflation rate from the outputting of a pulse of a pressure signal to obtain a blood pressure result. Thus, the claim can reasonably be interpreted as a separation of pressurization at a nonlinear inflation rate and outputting a pulse of a pressure signal from the pressure sensor. As stated by the Applicant, Wang discloses:
Step S1 ("Inflation Phase") is followed by Step S2 ("Acquiring Signal"). This procedural separation indicates that the primary signal acquisition for measurement occurs after the inflation phase S1 is completed.
Thus, Wang teaches pressurization of the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]) until a pulse of a pressure signal to obtain a blood pressure result (see “… blood pressure measuring device controls the air pump to inflate the air bag assembly 1, between the S101 first inflation stage and S102 second inflation stage, the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is detected and judging whether the pressure value in the airbag module 1 reaches the preset pressure threshold value.” in para. [0056]).
Also, note that Wang teaches an embodiment where the measurement and signal interpretation occur simultaneously with the nonlinear inflation process (see “As shown in FIG. 5, in the charging process, the central processor controls the pressure sensor and the photoelectric sensor for signal detection. the process of detecting the acquisition signal is synchronous with the inflation process, the photoelectric sensor detects the PPG signal, the pressure sensor detects the pressure signal in the airbag module 1 obtained by the airbag module 1. In order to facilitate the processing of the signal and the calculation of the posterior blood pressure, the photoelectric sensor and the pressure sensor adopt the same sampling frequency, ensuring to obtain two paths of signal with the same length. In this embodiment, using one side while obtaining signal and processing the measuring mode, which can save the measuring time and improve the test experience.” in para. [0062]).
Next, Applicant contends, see Remarks, p. 8, the following:
3. Wang Teaches Away from Measuring During Nonlinear Inflation
Furthermore, Wang explicitly teaches against the claimed invention. In paragraph [0058], Wang warns that if the preset pressure threshold for the nonlinear phase is too large (i.e., if the nonlinear phase extends too long), "the signal quality is affected due to the unstable inflation rate during the previous nonlinear inflation"
This disclosure serves as a clear "teaching away," indicating to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the unstable nature of the nonlinear inflation rate makes it unsuitable for accurate signal interpretation. Wang deliberately switches to a linear, uniform rate (S102) to ensure signal stability for measurement.
However, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation, Wang teaches the claimed limitation “controlling the pump to perform pressurization on the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result”. The claim can reasonably be interpreted as a separation of pressurization at a nonlinear inflation rate and outputting a pulse of a pressure signal from the pressure sensor. Wang teaches pressurization of the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal to obtain a blood pressure result, as stated above.
Also, Wang teaches an embodiment where the measurement and signal interpretation occur simultaneously with the nonlinear inflation process (see “As shown in FIG. 5, in the charging process, the central processor controls the pressure sensor and the photoelectric sensor for signal detection. the process of detecting the acquisition signal is synchronous with the inflation process, the photoelectric sensor detects the PPG signal, the pressure sensor detects the pressure signal in the airbag module 1 obtained by the airbag module 1. In order to facilitate the processing of the signal and the calculation of the posterior blood pressure, the photoelectric sensor and the pressure sensor adopt the same sampling frequency, ensuring to obtain two paths of signal with the same length. In this embodiment, using one side while obtaining signal and processing the measuring mode, which can save the measuring time and improve the test experience.” in para. [0062]). Thus, Wang does not teach away from measuring during nonlinear inflation.
6. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pp. 9-11, filed 27 January 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2-7, 9, 11-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hutcheson et al., U.S. Patent No. 4,889,132 A (“Hutcheson”), have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends, see Remarks, pp. 9-10, the following:
I. The Dependent Claims are Patentable Because the Independent Claims are Patentable
Claims 2-7, 9, 11-16, and 18 depend from independent Claims 1 and 10. As discussed in detail above regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102, the primary reference Wang fails to disclose the limitation of "controlling the pump to perform pressurization... with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse... is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result."
Specifically, Wang teaches separating the nonlinear inflation phase (S101) from the measurement phase, or performing measurement only during a linear inflation phase (S102), to avoid signal instability.
The secondary reference, Hutcheson, is cited by the Examiner only to teach the additional features of connecting a slow/quick exhaust valve unit with nonlinear depressurization profiles Hutcheson does not cure the deficiency of Wang regarding the core concept of obtaining a measurement result during a nonlinear pressurization rate. Therefore, the combination of Wang and Hutcheson fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness for the independent claims, and by extension, the dependent claims.
However, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation, Wang in view of Hutcheson teaches the claimed subject matter. As discussed above, Wang teaches pressurization of the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal to obtain a blood pressure result. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness is established for the combination of Wang and Hutcheson.
Applicant contends, see Remarks, pp. 10-11, the following:
II. Wang Teaches Away from the Claimed Invention, Negating Motivation to Combine
Even assuming, arguendo, that the references were properly combined, the rejection fails because Wang explicitly teaches away from the proposed modification.
Wang's reference may be said to teach away when a person of ordinary skill, upon reading the reference, would be discouraged from following the path set out in the Wang's suggestions, or would be led in a direction divergent from the path that was taken by the applicant.
1. Wang Warns Against Nonlinear Rates for Signal Quality
The Examiner proposes modifying Wang to include nonlinear rate control features from Hutcheson. However, Wang's own specification warns against relying on nonlinear rates when signal quality is paramount.
Fig. 3 of Wang illustrates a clear procedural separation: Step S1 ("Inflation Phase") is distinct from Step S2 ("Acquiring Signal")
Paragraph [0058] of Wang explicitly states that if the nonlinear inflation phase is too prominent, "the signal quality is affected due to the unstable inflation rate during the previous nonlinear inflation".
2. Lack of Motivation to Combine
Because Wang explicitly teaches that nonlinear inflation rates lead to unstable signals and poor quality, a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (PHOSITA) would be discouraged from integrating complex nonlinear rate control mechanisms (such as Hutcheson's nonlinear profiles) into Wang's system for the purpose of measurement.
Wang advocates for a linear pressure-increasing phase (S102) to ensure the stability required for measurement.
The claimed invention involves active control and measurement during nonlinear rates (e.g., Claims 7 and 16 relate pressure levels to nonlinear depressurization rates).
A PHOSITA following Wang's teachings would seek to minimize nonlinear effects during measurement to preserve signal integrity, not to introduce the complex nonlinear control profiles of Hutcheson.
Therefore, there is no motivation to combine Hutcheson's "special test" nonlinear profiles with Wang's device, as doing so would contradict Wang's primary teaching to maintain linear stability for accurate blood pressure measurement.
Respectfully, these arguments are not persuasive. Applicant generalizes Wang’s disclosure of “the signal quality is affected due to the unstable inflation rate during the previous nonlinear inflation” (see Wang, para. [0058]) as a teaching away of the use of nonlinear rates in pump control. However, Wang does in fact teach using nonlinear inflation rates in the inflation stage of controlling the pump (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055], emphasis added by Examiner). Wang is merely silent on the use of a slow exhaust valve unit that has a nonlinear depressurization rate.
In the grounds for rejection, Hutcheson merely modifies Wang to include the feature of connecting the airbag unit with a slow exhaust valve unit, wherein the slow exhaust valve unit has a nonlinear depressurization rate. Hutcheson provides the motivation to combine (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 33-63):
… As is shown in FIG. 3, the rate of deflation of cuff 114 with time during the "linear deflate" state (iv) is linear to make measurements more repeatable and accurate. … During the "linear deflate" state (iv), system 100 periodically monitors the pressure of cuff 114 and compares it with a predetermined stored software linear deflation profile to ensure that actual cuff pressure tracks the software profile. … Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.
Wang’s nonlinear inflation profile is an example of such a special test. Thus, there is a motivation to combine Wang’s nonlinear inflation rate means of controlling the air pump with Hutcheson’s slow exhaust valve unit having a nonlinear depressurization rate in order to have a special blood pressure test that is repeatable, as suggested by Hutcheson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 8, 10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al., CN Patent No. 113827211 A (“Wang”) (see English Translation of Wang).
As to Claim 1, Wang teaches the following:
A pressurization control method (“blood pressure measurement calculation method”, not labeled) for blood pressure measurement, wherein the pressurization control method is applied on a blood pressure measurement device (“blood pressure measuring device”) (see “The invention relates to the technical field of blood pressure measurement, specifically to a blood pressure measurement calculation method based on multiple signals.” in para. [0001]; and see “As shown in FIG. 1 is a blood pressure measuring device of one embodiment of the present invention, …” in para. [0043]) and comprises:
connecting an airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 with a pump (“air pump”, not labeled) and a pressure sensor (“pressure sensor”, not labeled) (see “As shown in FIG. 1 is a blood pressure measuring device of one embodiment of the present invention, the blood pressure measuring device comprises a central processor, a storage module, an air pump control module, an air pump, a pressure sensor, a photoelectric sensor, an air valve assembly and connected with the air valve assembly of the air bag assembly 11.” in para. [0043]); and
controlling the pump to perform pressurization on the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]) until a pulse of a pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result (see “… blood pressure measuring device controls the air pump to inflate the air bag assembly 1, between the S101 first inflation stage and S102 second inflation stage, the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is detected and judging whether the pressure value in the airbag module 1 reaches the preset pressure threshold value.” in para. [0056]).
As to Claim 8, Wang teaches the following:
controlling the pump with the PWM signal, wherein the PWM has a duty cycle, and the duty cycle of the PWM signal is linearly increased upon a temporal sequence (see “… wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 10, Wang teaches the following:
A blood pressure measurement device (“blood pressure measuring device”) (see “The invention relates to the technical field of blood pressure measurement, specifically to a blood pressure measurement calculation method based on multiple signals.” in para. [0001]; and see “As shown in FIG. 1 is a blood pressure measuring device of one embodiment of the present invention, …” in para. [0043]), comprising:
a pump (“air pump”, not labeled);
a pressure sensor (“pressure sensor”, not labeled);
an airbag (“air bag assembly”) 11, connected with the pump and the pressure sensor (see “As shown in FIG. 1 is a blood pressure measuring device of one embodiment of the present invention, the blood pressure measuring device comprises a central processor, a storage module, an air pump control module, an air pump, a pressure sensor, a photoelectric sensor, an air valve assembly and connected with the air valve assembly of the air bag assembly 11.” in para. [0043]); and
a processing unit (“central processor”, not labeled) (see “As shown in FIG. 1 is a blood pressure measuring device of one embodiment of the present invention, the blood pressure measuring device comprises a central processor, a storage module, an air pump control module, an air pump, a pressure sensor, a photoelectric sensor, an air valve assembly and connected with the air valve assembly of the air bag assembly 11.” in para. [0043]), configured to control the pump to perform pressurization on the airbag unit with a nonlinear inflation rate until a pulse of a pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor is interpreted to obtain a blood pressure measurement result (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]; and see “… blood pressure measuring device controls the air pump to inflate the air bag assembly 1, between the S101 first inflation stage and S102 second inflation stage, the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is detected and judging whether the pressure value in the airbag module 1 reaches the preset pressure threshold value.” in para. [0056]).
As to Claim 17, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the processing unit controls the pump with the PWM signal, wherein the PWM has a duty cycle, and the duty cycle of the PWM signal is linearly increased upon a temporal sequence (see “… wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 19, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the processing unit interprets the pulses of the pressure signal outputted from the pressure sensor, to obtain the blood pressure measurement result, and displays the blood pressure measurement result on a display unit (see “In the above technical solution, the blood pressure measurement adopts boosting blood pressure measuring method, namely finishing the calculation and output result of the blood pressure value in the charging and pressurizing process. the charging pressurizing part and the calculating part are finished in parallel; namely, one side boosting and obtaining signal and processing can save the measuring time and improve the test experience.” in para. [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 2-7, 9, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hutcheson et al., U.S. Patent No. 4,889,132 A (“Hutcheson”).
As to Claim 2, Wang teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Wang does not teach the following:
connecting the airbag unit with a slow exhaust valve unit, wherein the slow exhaust valve unit has a nonlinear depressurization rate.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
connecting an airbag unit (“cuff”)114 with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 (see “A conventional occluding arm pressure cuff ("cuff") 114 is connected by tubing 116 to an air pump 118 and to an air valve 120.” in col. 9, ll. 1-3),
wherein the slow exhaust valve unit 120 has a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”) (see “As is shown in FIG. 3, the rate of deflation of cuff 114 with time during the "linear deflate" state (iv) is linear to make measurements more repeatable and accurate. … During the "linear deflate" state (iv), system 100 periodically monitors the pressure of cuff 114 and compares it with a predetermined stored software linear deflation profile to ensure that actual cuff pressure tracks the software profile. … Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 33-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120, wherein the slow exhaust valve unit 120 has a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 3, Wang teaches the following:
controlling the pump via a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal, wherein the PWM has an adjustable duty cycle (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]).
As to Claim 4, Wang teaches the following:
linearly increasing the adjustable duty cycle of the PWM signal upon a temporal sequence (see “… wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 5, Wang teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Additionally, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the pump inflates the airbag unit with the nonlinear inflation rate upon a temporal sequence (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]).
Wang does not teach the following:
the slow exhaust valve unit depressurizes the airbag unit with the nonlinear depressurization rate upon the temporal sequence.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
the slow exhaust valve unit 120 depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with the nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”) upon the temporal sequence (see “As is shown in FIG. 3, the rate of deflation of cuff 114 with time during the "linear deflate" state (iv) is linear to make measurements more repeatable and accurate. … During the "linear deflate" state (iv), system 100 periodically monitors the pressure of cuff 114 and compares it with a predetermined stored software linear deflation profile to ensure that actual cuff pressure tracks the software profile. … Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 33-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 6, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the airbag unit performs a quasi-linear pressurization process upon the temporal sequence (two stage inflation with non-linear inflation and linear inflation: see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]; and see “wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 7, Wang in view of Hutcheson teaches the subject matter of claim 6 above. Wang does not teach the following:
wherein when an internal pressure of the airbag unit is higher, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is higher, and when the internal pressure of the airbag unit is lower, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is lower.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
wherein when an internal pressure of the airbag unit 114 is higher, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit 120 is higher, and when the internal pressure of the airbag unit 114 is lower, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit 120 is lower (see “Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 60-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), wherein when the pressure of the airbag unit is higher, the depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is higher, and when the pressure of the airbag unit is lower, the depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is lower, as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 9, Wang in view of Hutcheson teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above. Wang does not teach the following:
connecting the airbag unit with a quick exhaust valve unit; and
after the blood pressure measurement result is obtained, turning on the quick exhaust valve unit to quickly depressurize the airbag unit.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
connecting the airbag unit 114 with a quick exhaust valve unit 120; and
after the blood pressure measurement result is obtained, turning on the quick exhaust valve unit 120 to quickly depressurize the airbag unit 114 (see “Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 60-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a quick exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that quickly depressurizes the airbag unit 114 (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 11, Wang teaches the subject matter of claim 10 above. Wang does not teach the following:
wherein the airbag unit is connected with a slow exhaust valve unit, and the slow exhaust valve unit has a nonlinear depressurization rate.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
an airbag unit (“cuff”)114 is connected with a slow exhaust valve unit, and the slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 (see “A conventional occluding arm pressure cuff ("cuff") 114 is connected by tubing 116 to an air pump 118 and to an air valve 120.” in col. 9, ll. 1-3) has a nonlinear depressurization rate(“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”) (see “As is shown in FIG. 3, the rate of deflation of cuff 114 with time during the "linear deflate" state (iv) is linear to make measurements more repeatable and accurate. … During the "linear deflate" state (iv), system 100 periodically monitors the pressure of cuff 114 and compares it with a predetermined stored software linear deflation profile to ensure that actual cuff pressure tracks the software profile. … Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 33-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120, wherein the slow exhaust valve unit 120 has a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 12, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the processing unit controls the pump via a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal, wherein the PWM has an adjustable duty cycle (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]).
As to Claim 13, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the processing unit linearly increases the adjustable duty cycle of the PWM signal upon a temporal sequence (see “… wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 14, Wang teaches the subject matter of claim 13 above. Additionally, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the pump inflates the airbag unit with the nonlinear inflation rate upon a temporal sequence (see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]).
Wang does not teach the following:
the slow exhaust valve unit depressurizes the airbag unit with the nonlinear depressurization rate upon the temporal sequence.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
the slow exhaust valve unit 120 depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with the nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”) upon the temporal sequence (see “As is shown in FIG. 3, the rate of deflation of cuff 114 with time during the "linear deflate" state (iv) is linear to make measurements more repeatable and accurate. … During the "linear deflate" state (iv), system 100 periodically monitors the pressure of cuff 114 and compares it with a predetermined stored software linear deflation profile to ensure that actual cuff pressure tracks the software profile. … Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 33-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 15, Wang teaches the following:
wherein the airbag unit performs a quasi-linear pressurization process upon the temporal sequence (two stage inflation with non-linear inflation and linear inflation: see “… in the first inflation stage, the air pump uses non-linear inflation, in this embodiment by controlling the duty ratio of the PWM wave flowing into the air pump to control the boosting rate in the airbag module 1.” in para. [0055]; and see “wherein the second inflation stage is the air pressure value in the airbag module 1 is increased at a uniform rate of linear boosting charging stage.” in para. [0059]).
As to Claim 16, Wang in view of Hutcheson teaches the subject matter of claim 15 above. Wang does not teach the following:
wherein when an internal pressure of the airbag unit is higher, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is higher, and when the internal pressure of the airbag unit is lower, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is lower.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
wherein when an internal pressure of the airbag unit 114 is higher, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit 120 is higher, and when the internal pressure of the airbag unit 114 is lower, the nonlinear depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit 120 is lower (see “Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 60-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a slow exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that depressurizes the airbag unit 114 with a nonlinear depressurization rate (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), wherein when the pressure of the airbag unit is higher, the depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is higher, and when the pressure of the airbag unit is lower, the depressurization rate of the slow exhaust valve unit is lower, as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
As to Claim 18, Wang in view of Hutcheson teaches the subject matter of claim 10 above. Wang does not teach the following:
wherein the airbag unit is connected with a quick exhaust valve unit, and
after the blood pressure measurement result is obtained, the quick exhaust valve unit is turned on to quickly depressurize the airbag unit.
However, Hutcheson teaches the following:
the airbag unit 114 is connected with a quick exhaust valve unit 120; and
after the blood pressure measurement result is obtained, turning on the quick exhaust valve unit 120 to quickly depressurize the airbag unit 114 (see “Special non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles) could be used instead of the linear profile if desired to perform special tests on a repeatable basis.” in col. 21, ll. 60-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was effectively filed to modify Wang’s airbag unit (“air bag assembly”) 11 to be connected with a quick exhaust valve unit (“air valve”) 120 that quickly depressurizes the airbag unit 114 (“non-linear profiles (such as logarithmic, exponential, or periodic profiles)”), as taught by Hutcheson, in order to perform special tests, like Wang’s testing of blood pressure, on a repeatable basis (see Hutcheson, col. 21, ll. 60-63).
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 05/22/2026