DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 & 8-17 are pending in the application and are presently examined. Claims 1-17 were rejected in the 3/26/2026 office action. Applicant cancelled claim 7.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 6/22/2026 amendment, in response to the 3/26/2026 office action, has been entered.
Applicant’s replacement drawings overcame the drawing objections.
Applicant’s claim 15 amendment was incomplete, and failed to overcome the objection.
Applicant’s claim amendments overcame the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, except that the claim 16 rejection was not overcome.
Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
“Ohkuma fails to teach or suggest a battery pack with a base plate is provided with a receiving section, the first high-voltage connection assembly accommodated in the receiving section, the first high-voltage connection assembly comprises a high-voltage cable bundle and a high-voltage cable bundle support, the high-voltage cable bundle support forms a ceiling of the receiving section, and the low-voltage connection assembly is passed through the inner side of the arch-shaped part at above the ceiling of the receiving section.”
It is unclear, from Applicant arguments, how Ohkuma fails to teach these claim limitations. Examiner’s interpretation of Ohkuma, and how Ohkuma teaches these claim limitations, is discussed below, and illustrated in Figure A below.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Dependent claim 15 repeats independent claim 1 limitations:
Claim 1
“a battery module… comprising a first battery module and a second battery module, a gap provided between the first battery module and the second battery module”
Claim 15
“the battery module comprises a first battery module and a second battery module, a gap is provided between the first battery module and the second battery module”
This repeated claim limitation should be removed from dependent claim 15.
Claim 15 also states:
“the battery pack further comprises a control means provided in the gap, located between the the low-voltage connection assembly control means and the second battery module, and the low-voltage connection assembly located below the control means”
One “the” should be deleted from “the the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 & 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey, to one skilled in the relevant art, that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 was amended to state:
“the low-voltage connection assembly is passed through the inner side of the arch-shaped part at above the ceiling of the receiving section”
Examiner couldn’t find support for this new claim limitation in the specification. Perhaps there is support in the drawings. Examiner requests details of support. It would be helpful for Applicant to point out what the ceiling is in the drawings, and how the low-voltage connection assembly passes through the inner side of the arch-shaped part above the ceiling.
Claims 2-6 & 8-17 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention. Claim 16 states “the control means support”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-6 & 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210194086A1 (Ohkuma).
Ohkuma teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
A battery pack (Figure A below) comprising:
a housing (paragraph 90; figure 8: first case main body 33) comprising a base plate (Figure A below);
a battery module (paragraph 90; figure 8: battery modules 37) configured on the base plate and comprising a first battery module and a second battery module (Figure A below), a gap provided between the first battery module and the second battery module (Figure A below);
a low-voltage connection assembly (paragraph 90; figure 8: low voltage connector 50) provided in the gap (Figure A)…
Claim 1 also states that the “low-voltage connection assembly” is “electrically connected to the battery module”. Ohkuma fails to state that the low voltage connector 50 is electrically connected to the battery module. The low voltage connector 50 is located in the battery pack, so it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to electrically connect the low voltage connector 50 to the battery module.
Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
a reinforcement member (paragraph 91; figure 8: main body portion 50a) provided on the base plate and comprising an arch-shaped part provided in the gap and arched upward (Figure A below), the low-voltage connection assembly passing through the inner side of the arch-shaped part (Figure A below)
a first high-voltage connection assembly (paragraph 90; figure 8: high voltage connector 51), wherein the base plate provided with a receiving section (Figure A below), the first high voltage connection assembly accommodated in the receiving section (Figure A below),
Figure A: Annotated Ohkuma Figure 8
Claim 1 also states:
the first high-voltage connection assembly comprises a high-voltage cable bundle and a high-voltage cable bundle support
Ohkuma’s high voltage connector 51 [claimed first high-voltage connection assembly] supplies current to an electric motor 11 (paragraph 92), which must be done by wires, cables, or bus bars [claimed high-voltage cable bundle]. The “first high-voltage connection assembly” must be supported by something, so it must have a “high-voltage cable bundle support”.
Furthermore, EMT connectors, such as for example the one illustrated in Figure B, have been used for decades to support and protect electrical cables as they enter or exit a metal box with electrical components. This EMT connector covers the high-voltage cable bundle from above and forms a ceiling of the receiving section.
Figure B: EMT Connector1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use an EMT connector for supporting and protecting the high-voltage cable bundle.
Claim 1 also states:
the high-voltage cable bundle support forms a ceiling of the receiving section, and the low-voltage connection assembly is passed through the inner side of the arch-shaped part at above the ceiling of the receiving section
A side or edge of the Ohkuma’s receiving section can be called a ceiling. As illustrated in Figure A above, Ohkuma’s low voltage connector 50 [claimed low-voltage connection assembly] passes through the arched part of the main body portion 50a [claimed arch-shaped part of the reinforcement member]. This will be “above” the ceiling by rotating Ohkuma’s Figure 8.
With regard to claim 2, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 2 states:
a first connection member and a second connection member provided on the base plate, the first connection member and the second connection member extending in an extension direction of the base plate, a first end of the reinforcement member secured to the first connection member and a second end of the reinforcement member secured to the second connection member
Ohkuma doesn’t explicitly describe these connection members. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used bolts or other fasteners [claimed connection members] to secure the main body portion 50a [claimed reinforcement member] to the base plate. It also would have been obvious to place these fasteners at two ends of the reinforcement member.
Ohkuma’s battery is for a vehicle (abstract). It would have been obvious to use the fasteners, as noted in the prior paragraph, to avoid relative motion and damage of the components with respect to each other as the vehicle moves.
With regard to claim 3, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 3 states:
a control means provided in the gap and electrically connected to the battery module via the low-voltage connection assembly
Ohkuma teaches a junction board 39 and a battery control device 40 in a gap next to the gap where the low voltage connector 50 is located. Ohkuma doesn’t describe the electrical connection between these components.
Low voltage is used for controls. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use low voltage with a control means for battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Ohkuma’s junction board 39 and/or battery control device 40 to be electrically connected to the battery module via the low voltage connector 50.
Although Ohkuma’s junction board 39 and battery control device 40 are in a gap next to the gap where the low voltage connector 50 is located, and not in the same gap, it would have been obvious to place these components in a convenient location, which could be the same gap.
With regard to claim 4, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 2 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 4 limitations:
the reinforcement member comprises the arch-shaped part and an upright part, the upright part extends downwards from a first end and a second end of the arch-shaped part (Figure C below)
Figure C: Annotated Ohkuma Figure 8
Claim 4 also states:
the upright part… overlaps the first connection member and/or the second connection member as seen from an extension direction of the first connection member and the second connection member
As discussed in the claim 2 rejection above, the connection members are obvious. Also, it would have been obvious for the upright part to encircle the connection members and to overlap the connection member head (e.g. head of a bolt or rivet) for securing the main body portion 50a [a reinforcement member] to the base plate.
With regard to claim 5, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 3 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 5 limitation:
the arch-shaped part is provided with a plurality of recesses (Figure D below: recesses are between the arch-shaped part and the low-voltage connection assembly)
Figure D: Annotated Ohkuma Figure 8
With regard to claim 6, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 2 as described above. Claim 6 states:
the reinforcement member comprises a secure part, and a bolt passes through the secure part and the first connection member or the second connection member in sequence and is secured on the base plate
As discussed under claim 2, the claimed connection member can be a bolt [claimed connection member] to secure the main body portion 50a [claimed reinforcement member] to the base plate. Alternatively, the connection member can be a flat washer to extend the effective head diameter of the bolt. Although Ohkuma doesn’t teach a secure part, it would have been obvious to have used a lock washer as the secure part to prevent unwinding and loosening of the bolt due to vehicle vibration. It has been common for decades to use a smooth flat washer and a lock washer together. Thus, the bolt would extend through the lock washer [claimed secure part] and through the flat washer [claimed connection member] to secure to the base plate.
With regard to claim 8, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 8 limitation:
the base plate is provided with a coolant channel (paragraphs 66-72; figures 3, 5, & 7: water jackets 36A, 36B, & 47)
With regard to claim 9, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 8 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 9 limitation:
the reinforcement member is provided over the base plate (Figure A above)
With regard to claim 10, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 & 7-8 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 10 limitations:
a part of the coolant channel distant from the centerline of the base plate is upstream along the liquid flow and a part of the coolant channel closer to the centerline of the base plate is downstream along the liquid flow, in which the centerline extends in an extension direction of the base plate (Figure E below)
Figure E: Annotated Ohkuma Figure 5
With regard to claim 11, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 11 states:
the housing is provided with a first connector and a second connector at front and rear ends, respectively;
the battery pack further comprises a power distribution unit provided over an individual battery module and electrically connected to the battery module, electrically connected to the first connector via the first high-voltage connection assembly, and electrically connected to the second connector via a second high-voltage connection assembly
Ohkuma doesn’t explicitly teach this exact arrangement of connectors and electrical distribution. One of ordinary skill in the art would have knowledge of electrical connections. Electrical connectors, such as wires and bus bars, are routed in available locations to avoid electrical interference with electronics, to avoid short circuits, and to keep the connector short for cost and material savings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to arrange connectors and distribution as claimed.
With regard to claim 12, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 as described above. Claim 12 states:
the high-voltage cable bundle is disposed in the receiving section
Ohkuma’s wires, cables, or bus bars must connect at the high voltage connector 51 in order to transmit electrical current, so presumably they are disposed in the receiving section.
Claim 12 also states:
the high-voltage cable bundle support covers the high-voltage cable bundle from above
As discussed under claim 1, the high-voltage cable bundle support can be an EMT connector, which would encircle the high-voltage cable bundle, and thus would cover the high-voltage cable bundle from above, no matter which direction “above” is.
With regard to claim 13, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1, 7, & 12 as described above. Claim 13 states:
a cushioning member is provided between the high-voltage cable bundle support and the reinforcement member
Ohkuma doesn’t explicitly teach this claim limitation. A “cushioning member”, such as an electrical box gasket, has been used at electrical boxes for decades at the exterior of homes and on sprinkler electrical boxes. These prevent water entry into the box. In a vehicle, this gasket would also prevent motion between the components in order to prevent damage and noise. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a cushioning member in the claimed location in order to avoid water entry into the housing and to avoid damage or noise due to these components hitting against each other.
With regard to claim 14, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1, 7, & 12 as described above. Claim 14 states:
the low-voltage connection assembly comprises a low-voltage cable bundle and a low-voltage cable bundle support, and the low-voltage cable bundle is secured on the high-voltage cable bundle support via the low-voltage cable bundle support
Ohkuma doesn’t teach this exact arrangement of connectors and support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have knowledge of electrical connections, and of the need to provide support for electrical components for protection of the components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to arrange connectors and support as claimed for protection of the components.
With regard to claim 15, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 15 states:
the battery module comprises a first battery module and a second battery module, a gap is provided between the first battery module and the second battery module
This is a repeated claim limitation from claim 1, and is discussed in the Objection section above and in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 15 also states:
the battery pack further comprises a control means provided in the gap, located between the the low-voltage connection assembly and the second battery module
Ohkuma teaches a junction board 39 and a battery control device 40 in a gap next to the gap where the low voltage connector 50 is located (paragraph 90). Ohkuma doesn’t describe the electrical connection between these components.
Low voltage is used for controls. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use low voltage with a control means for battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Ohkuma’s junction board 39 and/or battery control device 40 to be electrically connected to the battery module via the low voltage connector 50.
Although Ohkuma’s junction board 39 and battery control device 40 are in a gap next to the gap where the low voltage connector 50 is located, and not in the same gap, it would have been obvious to place these components in a convenient location, which could be the same gap.
Claim 15 also states:
the low-voltage connection assembly located below the control means
“Below” could be any direction, depending on how Ohkuma’s figure 8 is rotated; therefore, Ohkuma fulfills this claim limitation.
With regard to claim 16, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 15 as described above. Claim 16 states:
the control means is secured on the base plate via the control means support
Ohkuma doesn’t teach a control means support. Ohkuma’s battery is for a vehicle (paragraph 64; figure 1). It would have been obvious to secure the control means to prevent damage to it and surrounding components as the vehicle moves.
Claim 16 also states:
the control means support comprises a main part and a base part,
the main part is configured vertically with respect to the base plate and holds the control means, and
the base part is bent from the lower end of the main part and mounted on the base plate
This merely describes a common L-shaped bracket (Figure G below). These have been used for decades for securing two components together, particularly where one component (e.g. a shelf) has a face at a right angle to the other component (e.g. a wall).
Figure G: L-Shaped Bracket2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to mount / attach the control means to the base plate with an L-shaped bracket because these brackets are readily available and effective at mounting two such components together.
With regard to claim 17, modified Ohkuma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Ohkuma also teaches the following claim 17 limitation:
A vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 1. (paragraph 64; figure 1)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721
1 https://www.carousell.ph/p/emt-connector-screw-type-electrical-metallic-conduit-1228282004/
2 https://www.walmart.com/ip/L-Shaped-Shelf-Bracket-Wall-Mount-Brackets-Home-Decor-Layer-Board-Support-Furniture-Connectors-Heavy-Duty-Right-Corner-Code/17828314904