DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to be directed to the limitation of determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource”. This was an alternate limitation that was not given citation in the mapping of the claims in the previous Office Action. Analogous amendments were made to independent claims 17 and 19. Accordingly, Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0135581)(hereinafter “Liu”) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2025/0234366 A1)(hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method of a device with a configuration of a first sidelink resource pool comprising sidelink reference signal resources… ([¶0030]: a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication. It may be desirable for a sidelink sync UE to multiplex an S-SSB transmission with one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in a slot configured for S-SSB transmission.), the method comprising:
determining a first sidelink reference signal resource in a slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0100]: in some aspects, the UE may transmit channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more slots via an interlaced range of frequencies. In some aspects, the UE may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS. For example, a frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pool may include a plurality of frequency instances over a frequency range, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the frequency range. The UE may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RSs.);
determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource… ([¶0100]: the UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of one or more frequency instances from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.);
transmitting, using the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool, a sidelink control information (SCI) ([¶0053]: in some examples, UE 115c may transmit SCI to UEs 115a and 115b via the sidelink control resources 220. The SCI may include an indication of resources reserved for retransmissions by UE 115c (e.g., the reserved resources 225).); and
transmitting a sidelink reference signal on the first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0058]: the UE 115a may periodically and/or aperiodically transmit the CSI-RS(s) to the UE 115c in the slot).
Liu does not clearly disclose that the sidelink reference signal resources are for positioning or determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource. However, Zhang discloses sidelink reference signal resources for positioning ([¶0108]: in an embodiment, the first information includes resource information of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) or configuration information for a sidelink measurement gap (SL MG) of a second terminal.). Zhang further discloses determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0015]: In an embodiment, in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information: [¶0016]: resource information of the SL PRS; [¶0017]: resource information identifier of the SL PRS. [¶0114]: In an embodiment, scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS includes: [¶0115]: determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS [¶0189]: in an embodiment, the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal may be configured by the serving network device for the second terminal for the second terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS reported from the second terminal. [¶0190]: In an embodiment, the resource information of the SL PRS may include one or more of the following. [¶0191]: (1) A positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS, which may be used to identify positioning resources for the SL PRS…[¶0197]: (6) A resource type of the SL PRS, for example, which indicates that the resource information of a SL PRS identifier corresponds to a sidelink channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS) resource index or a SL PRS specific signal resource index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink reference signal resources, as taught by Liu, to be for positioning, as taught by Zhang. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource, as taught by Zhang, to be based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal source, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for determining positioning between mobile terminals (see Zhang [¶0005]) and for identifying a resource within sidelink reference signal resources to facilitate resource determination/selection for use in transmitting the sidelink reference signal (see Zhang [¶0085]-[¶0086]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein: the one or more parameters of the first sidelink reference signal resource correspond to at least one of: a frequency offset of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0032]: the sidelink UE may transmit the S-SSB transmission at an offset from a lowest frequency of the sidelink BWP.); a comb offset of the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or a Resource Element (RE) offset of the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Lui does not clearly disclose that the one or more parameters are an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource. However, Zhang further discloses that one or more parameters for determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource is an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0015]: In an embodiment, in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information: [¶0016]: resource information of the SL PRS; [¶0017]: resource information identifier of the SL PRS. [¶0114]: In an embodiment, scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS includes: [¶0115]: determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS [¶0189]: in an embodiment, the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal may be configured by the serving network device for the second terminal for the second terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS reported from the second terminal. [¶0190]: In an embodiment, the resource information of the SL PRS may include one or more of the following. [¶0191]: (1) A positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS, which may be used to identify positioning resources for the SL PRS…[¶0197]: (6) A resource type of the SL PRS, for example, which indicates that the resource information of a SL PRS identifier corresponds to a sidelink channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS) resource index or a SL PRS specific signal resource index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on one or more parameters, as taught by Zhang, to be based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal source as a parameter, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for determining positioning between mobile terminals (see Zhang [¶0005]) and for identifying a resource within sidelink reference signal resources to facilitate resource determination/selection for use in transmitting the sidelink reference signal (see Zhang [¶0085]-[¶0086]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein: determining the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel is performed based on an association between the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and ([¶0100]: the UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of one or more frequency instances from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.)
One or more parameters of the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the association is at least one of configured or specified for the device ([¶0059]: the UE 115a may determine the frequency range 308d to transmit the CSI-RS(s) 336 based on an identifier associated with the UE 115a (e.g., the source ID) transmitting the CSI-RS(s) 336);
the method comprises receiving an indication of the association ([¶0060]: in some aspects, the UE 115a may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS); or the association is applied in the slot ([¶0059]: in some aspects, the UE 115a may determine the frequency range to transmit the CSI-RS(s) 336 based on a hashing function associated with an index of the slot 314.).
Lui does not clearly disclose that the one or more parameters are an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource. However, Zhang further discloses that one or more parameters for determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource is an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0015]: In an embodiment, in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information: [¶0016]: resource information of the SL PRS; [¶0017]: resource information identifier of the SL PRS. [¶0114]: In an embodiment, scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS includes: [¶0115]: determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS [¶0189]: in an embodiment, the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal may be configured by the serving network device for the second terminal for the second terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS reported from the second terminal. [¶0190]: In an embodiment, the resource information of the SL PRS may include one or more of the following. [¶0191]: (1) A positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS, which may be used to identify positioning resources for the SL PRS…[¶0197]: (6) A resource type of the SL PRS, for example, which indicates that the resource information of a SL PRS identifier corresponds to a sidelink channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS) resource index or a SL PRS specific signal resource index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on one or more parameters, as taught by Zhang, to be based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal source as a parameter, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for determining positioning between mobile terminals (see Zhang [¶0005]) and for identifying a resource within sidelink reference signal resources to facilitate resource determination/selection for use in transmitting the sidelink reference signal (see Zhang [¶0085]-[¶0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein at least one of:
determining the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel is performed based on an association between the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0100]: the UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of one or more frequency instances from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.);
the association is at least one of configured or specified for the device ([¶0059]: the UE 115a may determine the frequency range 308d to transmit the CSI-RS(s) 336 based on an identifier associated with the UE 115a (e.g., the source ID) transmitting the CSI-RS(s) 336.);
the method comprises receiving an indication of the association ([¶0060]: in some aspects, the UE 115a may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS); or the association is applied in the slot ([¶0059]: in some aspects, the UE 115a may determine the frequency range to transmit the CSI-RS(s) 336 based on a hashing function associated with an index of the slot 314.).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein: the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel is associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0030]: a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication. It may be desirable for a sidelink sync UE to multiplex an S-SSB transmission with one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in a slot configured for S-SSB transmission. [¶0100]: in some aspects, the UE may transmit channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more slots via an interlaced range of frequencies. A frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pool may include a plurality of frequency instances over a frequency range, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the frequency range. The UE may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RSs.).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein: one sidelink reference signal resource in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool is associated with one frequency resource of the sidelink control channel ([0030]: A sidelink resource pool is typically partitioned into multiple frequency subchannels or frequency subbands (e.g., about 5 MHz each) and a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource (e.g., a subchannel) from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein: the first sidelink resource pool comprises a plurality of sidelink reference signal resources in the slot ([¶0054]: The sidelink control resources 220 may be configured resources (e.g., time resources or frequency resources) transmitted via a PSCCH 235. In some examples, the PSCCH 235 may be configured to occupy a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a selected frequency.); and
at least one of:
each sidelink reference signal resource of the plurality of sidelink reference signal resources at least one of covers or occupies at least one of a full bandwidth of the first sidelink resource pool in Physical Resource Block (PRB)-level or full frequency resources of the first sidelink resource pool in PRB-level ([¶0054]: the frequency may include a single subchannel 250 (e.g., 10, 12, 15, 20, 25, or some other number of RBs within the subchannel 250). The time duration of the PSCCH 235 may be configured by the BS 105a (e.g., the PSCCH 235 may span 1, 2, 3, or some other number of symbols 255). Accordingly, the sidelink reference signal resource may cover the full frequency resources of the sidelink resource pool in PRB-level.);
the plurality of sidelink reference signal resources are multiplexed based on comb-structure in one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the plurality of sidelink reference signal resources in the slot are associated with a plurality of frequency resources of the sidelink control channel in one sidelink control channel time occasion in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein at least one of:
the transmitting the SCI comprises transmitting the SCI, to one or more devices comprising a second device, for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0053]: in some examples, UE 115c may transmit SCI to UEs 115a and 115b via the sidelink control resources 220. The SCI may include an indication of resources reserved for retransmissions by UE 115c (e.g., the reserved resources 225).);
the SCI corresponds to a one-stage SCI ([¶0054]: the SCI may be conveyed in one or more stages.);
the transmitting the SCI comprising transmitting the one-stage SCI, in the first sidelink resource pool, for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0054]: UE 115c may transmit a PSCCH/first stage SCI 235 (e.g., SCI-1) to each sidelink UE 115 in the network (e.g., UEs 115a and 115b) via the sidelink communication links 210. The PSCCH/first stage SCI-1 235 may indicate resources that are reserved by UE 115c for retransmissions (e.g., the SCI-1 may indicate the reserved resources 225 for retransmissions).); or
the method comprises not transmitting a two-stage SCI, in the first sidelink resource pool, for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein at least one of:
the method comprises receiving a configuration of a second sidelink resource pool with sidelink data resources ([¶0035]: a BS may configure different sidelink resource pools for slots that are associated with S-SSB transmissions and for slots that are not associated with S-SSB transmissions. For instance, the BS may configure a first resource pool with a frequency-interlaced structure for slots that are not configured for S-SSB transmissions. The first resource pool may include a plurality of frequency interlaces (e.g., distributed RBs), where each frequency interlace may carry a PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. The BS may configure a second resource pool with a subchannel-based structure for slots that are configured for S-SSB transmission. The second resource pool may include a plurality of frequency subchannels (e.g., contiguous RBs), where each subchannel may carry a PSCCH/PSSCH transmission.);
the method comprises transmitting a two-stage SCI, in the second sidelink resource pool, for scheduling a sidelink data transmission in the second sidelink resource pool (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the method comprises not transmitting a one-stage SCI, in the second sidelink resource pool, for scheduling the sidelink data transmission in the second sidelink resource pool (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool is a dedicated sidelink resource pool for at least one of one or more sidelink reference signals or one or more SCIs ([¶0060]: in some aspects, the UE 115a may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS (e.g., the BS 105 or the BS 800). The UE 115a may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RS(s) 336. ); or the first sidelink resource pool does not comprise sidelink data channel resources (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein at least one of: the sidelink reference signal is a sidelink positioning reference signal (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); the sidelink reference signal is a sidelink Channel State Information based Reference Signal (CSI-RS) for beam management ([¶0100]: the UE may transmit channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more slots via an interlaced range of frequencies. The UE may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RSs.); or the sidelink reference signal is utilized for at least one of localization, positioning, ranging, sensing or imaging (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses a device (FIG. 7, [¶0077]: user equipment (UE) 700) with a configuration of a first sidelink resource pool comprising sidelink reference signal resources… ([¶0030]: a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication. It may be desirable for a sidelink sync UE to multiplex an S-SSB transmission with one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in a slot configured for S-SSB transmission.), the device comprising:
a control circuit ([¶0078] The processor 702 may include a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a controller, a field programmable gate array (FPGA) device, another hardware device, a firmware device, or any combination thereof configured to perform the operations described herein.);
a processor installed in the control circuit (FIG. 7: processor 702); and
a memory installed in the control circuit and operatively coupled to the processor (FIG. 7: memory 704), wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code (FIG. 7: instructions 706) stored in the memory to perform operations, the operations comprising:
determining a first sidelink reference signal resource in a slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0100]: in some aspects, the UE may transmit channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more slots via an interlaced range of frequencies. In some aspects, the UE may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS. For example, a frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pool may include a plurality of frequency instances over a frequency range, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the frequency range. The UE may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RSs.);
determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0100]: the UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of one or more frequency instances from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.):
transmitting, using the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool, a sidelink control information (SCI) ([¶0053]: in some examples, UE 115c may transmit SCI to UEs 115a and 115b via the sidelink control resources 220. The SCI may include an indication of resources reserved for retransmissions by UE 115c (e.g., the reserved resources 225).); and
transmitting a sidelink reference signal on the first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0058]: the UE 115a may periodically and/or aperiodically transmit the CSI-RS(s) to the UE 115c in the slot.).
Liu does not clearly disclose that the sidelink reference signal resources are for positioning or determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource. However, Zhang discloses sidelink reference signal resources for positioning ([¶0108]: in an embodiment, the first information includes resource information of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) or configuration information for a sidelink measurement gap (SL MG) of a second terminal.). Zhang further discloses determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0015]: In an embodiment, in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information: [¶0016]: resource information of the SL PRS; [¶0017]: resource information identifier of the SL PRS. [¶0114]: In an embodiment, scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS includes: [¶0115]: determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS [¶0189]: in an embodiment, the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal may be configured by the serving network device for the second terminal for the second terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS reported from the second terminal. [¶0190]: In an embodiment, the resource information of the SL PRS may include one or more of the following. [¶0191]: (1) A positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS, which may be used to identify positioning resources for the SL PRS…[¶0197]: (6) A resource type of the SL PRS, for example, which indicates that the resource information of a SL PRS identifier corresponds to a sidelink channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS) resource index or a SL PRS specific signal resource index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink reference signal resources, as taught by Liu, to be for positioning, as taught by Zhang. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource, as taught by Zhang, to be based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal source, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for determining positioning between mobile terminals (see Zhang [¶0005]) and for identifying a resource within sidelink reference signal resources to facilitate resource determination/selection for use in transmitting the sidelink reference signal (see Zhang [¶0085]-[¶0086]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Zhang discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions, that when executed by a device with a configuration of a first sidelink resource pool comprising sidelink reference signal resources…, cause performance of operations ([¶0079]: in some instances, the memory 704 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 704 may store instructions 706. The instructions 706 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 702, cause the processor 702 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115 in connection with aspects of the present disclosure. [¶0030]: a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication. It may be desirable for a sidelink sync UE to multiplex an S-SSB transmission with one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in a slot configured for S-SSB transmission.), the operations comprising:
determining a first sidelink reference signal resource in a slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0100]: in some aspects, the UE may transmit channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more slots via an interlaced range of frequencies. In some aspects, the UE may receive a resource pool configuration from a BS. For example, a frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pool may include a plurality of frequency instances over a frequency range, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the frequency range. The UE may select resources from the resource pool for transmitting the CSI-RSs.);
determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0100]: the UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of one or more frequency instances from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication.)…;
transmitting, using the frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool, a sidelink control information (SCI) ([¶0053]: in some examples, UE 115c may transmit SCI to UEs 115a and 115b via the sidelink control resources 220. The SCI may include an indication of resources reserved for retransmissions by UE 115c (e.g., the reserved resources 225).); and
transmitting a sidelink reference signal on the first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool ([¶0058]: the UE 115a may periodically and/or aperiodically transmit the CSI-RS(s) to the UE 115c in the slot.).
Liu does not clearly disclose that the sidelink reference signal resources are for positioning or determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource. However, Zhang discloses sidelink reference signal resources for positioning ([¶0108]: in an embodiment, the first information includes resource information of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) or configuration information for a sidelink measurement gap (SL MG) of a second terminal.). Zhang further discloses determining a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource ([¶0015]: In an embodiment, in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information: [¶0016]: resource information of the SL PRS; [¶0017]: resource information identifier of the SL PRS. [¶0114]: In an embodiment, scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS includes: [¶0115]: determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS [¶0189]: in an embodiment, the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal may be configured by the serving network device for the second terminal for the second terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS reported from the second terminal. [¶0190]: In an embodiment, the resource information of the SL PRS may include one or more of the following. [¶0191]: (1) A positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS, which may be used to identify positioning resources for the SL PRS…[¶0197]: (6) A resource type of the SL PRS, for example, which indicates that the resource information of a SL PRS identifier corresponds to a sidelink channel state information-reference signal (SL CSI-RS) resource index or a SL PRS specific signal resource index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink reference signal resources, as taught by Liu, to be for positioning, as taught by Zhang. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource, as taught by Zhang, to be based on an identity of the first sidelink reference signal source, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for determining positioning between mobile terminals (see Zhang [¶0005]) and for identifying a resource within sidelink reference signal resources to facilitate resource determination/selection for use in transmitting the sidelink reference signal (see Zhang [¶0085]-[¶0086]).
Claims 2, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zhang and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2025/0254675 A1)(hereinafter “Guo”).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang does not clearly disclose the features of claim 2. However, Guo discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool comprises one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot (Fig. 9, [¶0181]: in association pattern #4, the maximum number of sidelink beam pairing reference signal (sl-BP-RS) occasion indicators to be reported is 1, and the UE may determine that 3 occasions (e.g., slots) within a sidelink beam pairing feedback period in a resource pool are used for transmitting sl-BP-RS). Accordingly, Gui discloses that a sidelink resource pool includes a sidelink reference signal time occasion within a slot for the transmission of a sl-BP-RS (i.e., a sidelink reference signal);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to an indication of a sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the sidelink reference signal time occasion (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sidelink reference signal time occasion, as taught by Guo, in a slot of the first sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for orderly allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang does not clearly disclose the features of claim 16. However, Guo discloses wherein at least one of: one sidelink control channel time occasion is in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool (Fig. 9, [¶0181]: in association pattern #4, the maximum number of sidelink beam pairing reference signal (sl-BP-RS) occasion indicators to be reported is 1, and the UE may determine that 3 occasions (e.g., slots) within a sidelink beam pairing feedback period in a resource pool are used for transmitting sl-BP-RS). Accordingly, Gui discloses that one sidelink reference signal time occasion is in slot of a sidelink resource pool for the transmission of a sl-BP-RS (i.e., a sidelink reference signal);
the one sidelink control channel time occasion comprises a plurality of frequency resources of the sidelink control channel (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the plurality of frequency resources in the one sidelink control channel time occasion are frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one sidelink reference signal time occasion, as taught by Guo, in a slot of the first sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for orderly allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 17 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang does not clearly disclose the features of claim 18. However, Guo discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool comprises one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot (Fig. 9, [¶0181]: in association pattern #4, the maximum number of sidelink beam pairing reference signal (sl-BP-RS) occasion indicators to be reported is 1, and the UE may determine that 3 occasions (e.g., slots) within a sidelink beam pairing feedback period in a resource pool are used for transmitting sl-BP-RS). Accordingly, Gui discloses that a sidelink resource pool includes a sidelink reference signal time occasion within a slot for the transmission of a sl-BP-RS (i.e., a sidelink reference signal);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to an indication of a sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the sidelink reference signal time occasion (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sidelink reference signal time occasion, as taught by Guo, in a slot of the first sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for orderly allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 20, Liu in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 19 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang does not clearly disclose the features of claim 20. However, Guo discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool comprises one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot (Fig. 9, [¶0181]: in association pattern #4, the maximum number of sidelink beam pairing reference signal (sl-BP-RS) occasion indicators to be reported is 1, and the UE may determine that 3 occasions (e.g., slots) within a sidelink beam pairing feedback period in a resource pool are used for transmitting sl-BP-RS). Accordingly, Gui discloses that a sidelink resource pool includes a sidelink reference signal time occasion within a slot for the transmission of a sl-BP-RS (i.e., a sidelink reference signal.);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to an indication of a sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the sidelink reference signal time occasion (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sidelink reference signal time occasion, as taught by Guo, in a slot of the first sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for orderly allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zhang and Guo and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2024/0406977)(hereinafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Zhang and Guo discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang and Guo does not clearly disclose all features of claim 14. However, Luo discloses wherein at least one of: the one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot comprise a first sidelink reference signal time occasion and a second sidelink reference signal time occasion ([¶0133]: a PSCRCHS (or a PSCRCHS transmission) may be referred to as a “PSCRCHS resource”. A PSCRCHS resource (or a time domain resource corresponding to the PSCRCHS resource, e.g., a slot in which the PSCRCHS resource is located, or one or more symbols in which the PSCRCHS resource is located) may be referred to as a “PSCRCHS occasion”, a “PSCRCHS occasion resource”, or a “PSCRCHS resource occasion”. [¶0136]: the PSCRCHS resource may be configured in a resource pool. [0140]: optionally, in the time domain, one or more PSCRCHS resources may be present in one PSCRCHS slot. Accordingly, Luo discloses that a single slot can have multiple sidelink signal time occasions (e.g., a first sidelink reference signal time occasion and a second sidelink reference signal time occasion.);
each sidelink reference signal resource in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is associated with a first bandwidth (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
each sidelink reference signal in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion is associated with the first bandwidth (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the first bandwidth corresponds to at least one of a full bandwidth of the first sidelink resource pool in Physical Resource Block (PRB)-level or full frequency resources of the first sidelink resource pool in PRB-level (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the first sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot starts from a first symbol (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the second sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot starts from a second symbol (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the first symbol is different than the second symbol (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
the first sidelink reference signal time occasion and the second sidelink reference signal time occasion are non-overlapped in time domain (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
when the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion, the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to first timing information associated with the first sidelink reference signal time occasion (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.);
when the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion, the identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to second timing information associated with the second sidelink reference signal time occasion (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.); or
the first timing information is different than the second timing information (This is an alternate limitation and is not given citation in the mapping of the claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a multiple sidelink reference signal time occasions in a slot, as taught by Luo, in a slot of the first sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of Zhang and Guo and further in view of Luo discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang and Guo does not disclose wherein a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is the same as a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion. However, Luo discloses wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is the same as a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion ([¶0144]: one or more PSCRCHS transmissions and one or more PSFCH transmissions may be multiplexed on the same time-frequency resource (e.g., the same resource block in the same symbol). In view of the above, Luo discloses that the same number of one or more sidelink signals may be multiplexed on different resource occasions. Accordingly, Luo discloses that two different sidelink signal time occasions may include the same number of multiplexed sidelink signals therein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the same number of multiplexed sidelink signals in each of a first and second signal time occasion, as taught by Luo, to transmit the first sidelink reference signal of a sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Zhang and Guo and further in view of Luo discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Liu in view of Zhang and Guo does not disclose wherein a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is different than a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion. However, Luo discloses wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is different than a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion ([¶0144]: one or more PSCRCHS transmissions and one or more PSFCH transmissions may be multiplexed on the same time-frequency resource (e.g., the same resource block in the same symbol). In view of the above, Luo discloses that a different number of one or more sidelink signals may be multiplexed on different resource occasions. Accordingly, Luo discloses that two different sidelink signal time occasions may include a different number of multiplexed sidelink signals therein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a different number of multiplexed sidelink signals in a first and second signal time occasion, as taught by Luo, to transmit the first sidelink reference signal of a sidelink resource pool, as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of sidelink resources from the sidelink resource pool.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oteri et al. (US 2025/0338298 A1) – Resource Scheduling Method, Device, Apparatus, and Storage Medium.
Kumar et al. (US 2025/0106878 A1) – Avoiding Resource Conflict For Sidelink Positioning.
Ye et al. (US 2023/0300863 A1) – Avoiding Resource Conflict For Sidelink Positioning.
He et al. (US 2025/0151096 A1) – Signal Sending Method and Apparatus.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463