DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 4/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 1-4, 17, and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 14-16 of the remarks, in regard to claim 1 and 17, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US 20230096178 (hereinafter “Wu”) in view of Si et al. US 20250048322 (hereinafter “Si”)
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Wu does not teach using an index or identity of a sidelink reference signal resource to determine a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel or using the received control-channel frequency resource to determine the corresponding index or identity of the sidelink reference signal resource.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), As mentioned by Wu in [0098], [0108], and [0114], Wu teaches using SCI-2 for SL-PRS resource reservation and Wu mentions SCI-2 includes "SL-PRS frequency resource indicator" which is a parameter "indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or portion thereof". In addition, Wu mentions that the UE may use "SL-PRS frequency resource indicator" to "indicate a comb index or comb offset" and "frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS". This clearly maps to "using an index or identity of a sidelink reference signal resource to determine a frequency resource of a sidelink control channel" wherein "SL-PRS frequency resource indicator" maps to "index or identity of a sidelink reference signal resource".
On page 16-17 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner kindly refer the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-18, and 21-22are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US 20230096178 (hereinafter “Wu”).
As to claim 1 and 17 (claim 1 is the method claim for the device in claim 17):
Wu discloses:
A method of a device with a configuration of a first sidelink resource pool comprising sidelink reference signal resources, the method comprising: (“Other types of messages, which may be utilized to convey data associated with SL-PRS operation/configuration are within the scope of the disclosure. The position of the object identified as the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 within the SL communication resource pool 510b, and the shape of the object identified as the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 within the SL communication resource pool 510b are for explanatory and non-limiting purposes.”, Wu [0097])
determining a plurality of candidate frequency resources of sidelink control channel in a slot in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein: the plurality of candidate frequency resources are associated with a plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the slot; (“In a second example, a first UE may reserve resources (i.e., frequency-time resources within a SL-PRS resource pool) for itself and a second UE. FIG. 8B depicts such an example. The frequency-time resources may be scheduled such that the first UE and the second UE transmit their respective SL-PRSs in the same slot at different times. For example, the first UE may reserve resources within the SL-PRS resource pool in one slot for both itself and the second UE.”, Wu [0108])
and determining the plurality of candidate frequency resources associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources is based on indexes or identities associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources; (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
performing monitoring on the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel in the slot; (“The PSCCH 406 and PSSCH 408 are each transmitted on one or more symbols 402 of the slot 400a. The PSCCH 406 includes, for example, SCI-1 that schedules transmission of data traffic on time—frequency resources of the corresponding PSSCH 408. As shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, the PSCCH 406 and corresponding PSSCH 408 are transmitted in the same slot 400a and 400b. In other examples, the PSCCH 406 may schedule a PSSCH in a subsequent slot.”, Wu [0078]) (Examiner’s Note: resources need to be monitored by the device for scheduling)
receiving a sidelink control information (SCI) using a first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel in the slot, wherein the plurality of candidate frequency resources comprises the first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel; (“In an example of sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a PC5 interface, the control region 212 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device (e.g., Tx V2X device or other Tx UE) towards a set of one or more other receiving sidelink devices (e.g., Rx V2X device or other Rx UE). The data region 214 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) including sidelink data traffic transmitted by the initiating (transmitting) sidelink device within resources reserved over the sidelink carrier by the transmitting sidelink device via the SCI.”, Wu [0063])
and measuring a sidelink reference signal on a first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot, (“At 918, UE-1 902 may receive a first SL-PRS from UE-2 904a. The first SL-PRS may be transmitted in resources within the SL-PRS resource pool that were reserved by UE-2 904a at 906.”, Wu [0132]) (“Turning to FIG. 8B, by way of context, the resource grid 801 may be a snapshot of resources that a first UE (UE-1) had reserved for its use and the use of a second UE (UE-2). UE-1 is distinct from UE-2. UE-1 had reserved the first half of usable symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols 0-5) for transmission of its SL-PRS and reserved the second half of usable symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols 6-11) for transmission of the SL-PRS of UE-2. For the first half of the slot, UE-1 is a Tx UE and UE-2 is a Rx UE. For the second half of the slot, UE-1 is a Rx UE and UE-2 is a Tx UE. The transmissions of the respective UE's are back-o-back in the slot.”, Wu [0121]) (“At 924, UE-2 904a may transmit a first positioning information (PI) obtained based on the transmitted and received SL-PRSs at 918, 920, 922. For example, at 924, UE-2 904a may transmit the first PI including a first RTT between UE-1 902 and UE-2 904a. The first RTT may be obtained by UE-2 904a and based on a calculation of a difference between a known transmit time of the third SL-PRS at 922 (from UE-1 902) and a measured receive time of the 3.sup.rd SL-PRS at UE-2 904a. The first PI may also include a RTT between UE-n 904n and UE-2 902 based on a calculation of a difference between a known transmit time of the second SL-PRS at 920 (from UE-n 904n) and a measured receive time of the second SL-PRS at UE-2 904a.”, Wu [0135])
wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is associated with a first index or identity determined based on the first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel; (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
As to claim 2 and 18 (claim 2 is the method claim for the device in claim 18):
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool comprises one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot; the first index or identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to a sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot, wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the sidelink reference signal time occasion; the first index or identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to timing information associated with the sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot each of the indexes or identities associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources corresponds to one sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot each of the indexes or identities associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources corresponds to timing information associated with the one sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS time resource location 620. The SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool (similar to the SL-PRS resource pool 512 shown and described in connection with FIG. 5). According to one example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from a starting symbol or starting PRB of the SL-PRS resource pool. According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from the transmission of the SL-PRS resource reservation message (similar to SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 as shown and described in connection with FIG. 5), which reserves the SL-PRS resource(s) for transmission of the SL-PRS(s). According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given explicitly as a frame/slot/symbol index indication.”, Wu [0112]) (“However, the SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS duration indicator 622. The SL-PRS duration indicator 622 may be a parameter that indicates a duration of a given SL-PRS (e.g., where the duration may be given in the number of OFDM symbols used by the SL-PRS). By way of example and not limitation, in one example, a SL-PRS may be predetermined/pre-configured to last 13 OFDM symbols, or a Tx UE may determine the SL-PRS duration and indicate that duration using the SL-PRS duration indicator 622 in the SCI-2 format 600.”, Wu [0113]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
As to claim 3 and 21 (claim 3 is the method claim for the device in claim 21):
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first index or identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource corresponds to a frequency offset or a comb offset of the first sidelink reference signal resource; or each of the indexes or identities associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources corresponds to one frequency offset or one comb offset of corresponding sidelink reference signal resources of the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources; (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS time resource location 620. The SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool (similar to the SL-PRS resource pool 512 shown and described in connection with FIG. 5). According to one example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from a starting symbol or starting PRB of the SL-PRS resource pool. According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from the transmission of the SL-PRS resource reservation message (similar to SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 as shown and described in connection with FIG. 5), which reserves the SL-PRS resource(s) for transmission of the SL-PRS(s). According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given explicitly as a frame/slot/symbol index indication.”, Wu [0112]) (“However, the SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS duration indicator 622. The SL-PRS duration indicator 622 may be a parameter that indicates a duration of a given SL-PRS (e.g., where the duration may be given in the number of OFDM symbols used by the SL-PRS). By way of example and not limitation, in one example, a SL-PRS may be predetermined/pre-configured to last 13 OFDM symbols, or a Tx UE may determine the SL-PRS duration and indicate that duration using the SL-PRS duration indicator 622 in the SCI-2 format 600.”, Wu [0113]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
As to claim 4 and 22 (claim 4 is the method claim for the device in claim 22):
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the method comprises determining to use the first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot for measuring the sidelink reference signal based on a first association between the first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and the first index or identity of the first sidelink reference signal resource; the first association is at least one of configured or specified for the device; the method comprises receiving an indication of the first association; (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS time resource location 620. The SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool (similar to the SL-PRS resource pool 512 shown and described in connection with FIG. 5). According to one example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from a starting symbol or starting PRB of the SL-PRS resource pool. According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from the transmission of the SL-PRS resource reservation message (similar to SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 as shown and described in connection with FIG. 5), which reserves the SL-PRS resource(s) for transmission of the SL-PRS(s). According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given explicitly as a frame/slot/symbol index indication.”, Wu [0112]) (“However, the SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS duration indicator 622. The SL-PRS duration indicator 622 may be a parameter that indicates a duration of a given SL-PRS (e.g., where the duration may be given in the number of OFDM symbols used by the SL-PRS). By way of example and not limitation, in one example, a SL-PRS may be predetermined/pre-configured to last 13 OFDM symbols, or a Tx UE may determine the SL-PRS duration and indicate that duration using the SL-PRS duration indicator 622 in the SCI-2 format 600.”, Wu [0113]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
the first association is applied in the slot; determining the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel is performed based on a second association between the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel and the one or more indexes or identities associated with the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources;
the second association is at least one of configured or specified for the device; the method comprises receiving an indication of the second association; or the second association is applied in the slot. (“For example, with a comb having an index of six, up to six SL-PRS transmissions of six UEs may be multiplexed in a same symbol or slot. In this example, a first UE may schedule the SL-PRS resources of the six UEs such that the SL-PRSs of the six UEs were FDMed in one symbol in one slot.”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: multiple “associations” can be determined for multiple UEs)
As to claim 5:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the method comprises determining to use the first sidelink reference signal resource in the slot for measuring the sidelink reference signal based on a first association between the first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel and the first sidelink reference signal resource;
the first association is at least one of configured or specified for the device; the method comprises receiving an indication of the first association; (“In general, the data associated with the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 may be included in a SCI-2, a MAC CE, or some other data conveying feature carried within resources in the SL communication resource pool 510, and may be used by a first sidelink UE to indicate to other sidelink UEs, before a transmission of a SL-PRS, that the subset 514 of the resources within the SL-PRS resource pool 512b is being reserved for the transmission of the SL-PRS.”, Wu [0098]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS time resource location 620. The SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool (similar to the SL-PRS resource pool 512 shown and described in connection with FIG. 5). According to one example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from a starting symbol or starting PRB of the SL-PRS resource pool. According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given as an offset value from the transmission of the SL-PRS resource reservation message (similar to SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 as shown and described in connection with FIG. 5), which reserves the SL-PRS resource(s) for transmission of the SL-PRS(s). According to another example, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given explicitly as a frame/slot/symbol index indication.”, Wu [0112]) (“However, the SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS duration indicator 622. The SL-PRS duration indicator 622 may be a parameter that indicates a duration of a given SL-PRS (e.g., where the duration may be given in the number of OFDM symbols used by the SL-PRS). By way of example and not limitation, in one example, a SL-PRS may be predetermined/pre-configured to last 13 OFDM symbols, or a Tx UE may determine the SL-PRS duration and indicate that duration using the SL-PRS duration indicator 622 in the SCI-2 format 600.”, Wu [0113]) (“The SCI-2 format 600 may also include a SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624. The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof.”, Wu [0108]) (“For example, when the SL-PRS mapping is comb-based, the Tx UE may also utilize the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) to indicate a comb index or comb offset. In still a further example, the SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 (or some other indicator) may be used to indicate a frequency pattern for transmission of SL-PRS(s).”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: SL-PRS frequency resource indicator maps to “identities associated with plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources”)
the first association is applied in the slot; determining the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel is performed based on a second association between the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel and the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources; the second association is at least one of configured or specified for the device; the method comprises receiving an indication of the second association; or the second association is applied in the slot. (“For example, with a comb having an index of six, up to six SL-PRS transmissions of six UEs may be multiplexed in a same symbol or slot. In this example, a first UE may schedule the SL-PRS resources of the six UEs such that the SL-PRSs of the six UEs were FDMed in one symbol in one slot.”, Wu [0114]) (Examiner’s Note: multiple “associations” can be determined for multiple UEs)
As to claim 6:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first frequency resource of the sidelink control channel is associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource. (“In a second example, a first UE may reserve resources (i.e., frequency-time resources within a SL-PRS resource pool) for itself and a second UE. FIG. 8B depicts such an example. The frequency-time resources may be scheduled such that the first UE and the second UE transmit their respective SL-PRSs in the same slot at different times. For example, the first UE may reserve resources within the SL-PRS resource pool in one slot for both itself and the second UE.”, Wu [0108])
As to claim 7:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein: one sidelink reference signal resource in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool is associated with one frequency resource of the sidelink control channel. (“In a second example, a first UE may reserve resources (i.e., frequency-time resources within a SL-PRS resource pool) for itself and a second UE. FIG. 8B depicts such an example. The frequency-time resources may be scheduled such that the first UE and the second UE transmit their respective SL-PRSs in the same slot at different times. For example, the first UE may reserve resources within the SL-PRS resource pool in one slot for both itself and the second UE.”, Wu [0108])
As to claim 8:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first sidelink resource pool comprises the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the slot; and at least one of: each sidelink reference signal resource of the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources at least one of covers or occupies at least one of a full bandwidth of the first sidelink resource pool in Physical Resource Block (PRB)-level or full frequency resources of the first sidelink resource pool in PRB-level; the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources are multiplexed based on a comb-structure in one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot; or the plurality of candidate sidelink reference signal resources in the slot are associated with the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel in one sidelink control channel time occasion in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool. (“FIGS. 4A and 4B are diagrams illustrating examples of sidelink slot structures according to some aspects. The sidelink slot structures may be utilized, for example, in a V2X or other D2D network implementing sidelink. In the examples shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of symbols 402 (e.g., OFDM symbols); and frequency is in the vertical direction. Here, a carrier bandwidth 404 allocated for sidelink wireless communication is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 404 may include a plurality of sub-channels, where each sub-channel may include a configurable number of PRBs (e.g., 10, 14, 20, 24, 40, 44, or 100 PRBs).”, Wu [0077]) (“FIG. 8A is a portion of a resource grid 800 providing an example of a comb-6 type resource allocation for the SL-PRSs of three UEs according to aspects described herein. FIG. 8B is a portion of a resource grid 801 providing an example of a back-to-back time domain resource allocation for SL-PRSs of two UEs according to aspects described herein. In FIGS. 8A and 8B, time is illustrated along the horizontal axis in units of OFDM symbols, while frequency is illustrated along the vertical axis in units of sub-carriers. One PRB in frequency and one slot in time are depicted for ease of illustration and not limitation.”, Wu [0119])
As to claim 9:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the receiving the SCI comprises receiving the SCI, from a second device, for scheduling the first sidelink reference signal resource; the SCI corresponds to a one-stage SCI; the receiving the SCI comprising receiving the one-stage SCI, in the first sidelink resource pool, for acquiring scheduling information associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource; or the method comprises not receiving a two-stage SCI, in the first sidelink resource pool, for acquiring scheduling information associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource. (“In an example of sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a PC5 interface, the control region 212 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device (e.g., Tx V2X device or other Tx UE) towards a set of one or more other receiving sidelink devices (e.g., Rx V2X device or other Rx UE). The data region 214 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) including sidelink data traffic transmitted by the initiating (transmitting) sidelink device within resources reserved over the sidelink carrier by the transmitting sidelink device via the SCI.”, Wu [0063]) (“In some examples, sidelink (e.g., PC5) communication may be scheduled by use of sidelink control information (SCI). SCI may include two SCI stages. Stage 1 sidelink control information (first stage SCI) may be referred to herein as SCI-1. Stage 2 sidelink control information (second stage SCI) may be referred to herein as SCI-2.”, Wu [0074])
As to claim 10:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the method comprises receiving a configuration of a second sidelink resource pool with sidelink data resources; the method comprises receiving a two-stage SCI, in the second sidelink resource pool, for acquiring scheduling information associated with a sidelink data transmission in the second sidelink resource pool; or the method comprises not receiving a one-stage SCI, in the second sidelink resource pool, for acquiring scheduling information associated with the sidelink data transmission in the second sidelink resource pool. (“Other types of messages, which may be utilized to convey data associated with SL-PRS operation/configuration are within the scope of the disclosure. The position of the object identified as the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 within the SL communication resource pool 510b, and the shape of the object identified as the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 within the SL communication resource pool 510b are for explanatory and non-limiting purposes.”, Wu [0097]) (“FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating an example of a plurality of sidelink communication resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c (hereinafter SL communication resource pools) and SL-PRS resource pools 512a, 512b, 512c according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 5, time is illustrated along the horizontal axis, while frequency is illustrated along the vertical axis. A first PSCCH/PSSCH transmission 502 and a second PSCCH/PSSCH transmission 504 are identified for reference. Each of the PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions include a PSCCH 506a, 506b, 506c, 506d and a PSSCH 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d. Data is organized into transport blocks (TBs), and each TB is associated with a SCI. The SCI is transmitted in two stages. The 1st-stage SCI (SCI-1) is carried on the PSCCH 506a, 506b, 506c, 506d, while the 2nd-stage SCI (SCI-2) and associated TB is carried on the respective PSSCH 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d.”, Wu [0091]) (“The PSCCH 506a, 506b, 506c, 506d carries the SCI-1. The SCI-1 indicates resource allocation, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and priority of the associated PSSCH. The SCI-1 also indicates a resource reservation period, a time pattern, a number of ports for PSSCH DMRS, and a size and format of the SCI-2. In some examples, sidelink UE operation under mode 2 is contemplated. In mode 2, each UE schedules its own transmissions without reliance on the network for scheduling. For example, in mode 2, resource allocation may be based on sidelink sensing, which includes SCI decoding and reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement. If a future resource is indicated as being reserved by a decoded SCI-1 of a first UE, and, the RSRP measured in the SCI-1 by a second UE is higher than an RSRP threshold, the future resource may be considered as being reserved, and therefore unavailable for use by the second UE; otherwise, the future resource may be considered as available. Accordingly, a sidelink UE may transmit a first transmission of a SL communication in resources of the SL communication resource pool 510a if the resources are available. In the first transmission, the SCI-1 of the first PSCCH (e.g., PSCCH 506a) reserves resources (e.g., of the SL communication resource pool(s) 510b, 510c) for one or more subsequent transmissions. The reservation may be made based, for example, on a resource reservation period indicated in the SCI-1. All UEs may decode the respective SCI-1s transmitted by a plurality of respective UEs. Decoding the SCI-1s permits a UE to avoid transmitting on resources that another UE reserves. Accordingly, a first UE receiving a plurality of SCI-1s from a respective plurality of other UEs may determine a set of resources in the SL communication resource pool 510 that are not available to the first UE (because the unavailable resources in the set of resources have already been reserved for use by other UEs).”, Wu [0092])
As to claim 11:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first sidelink resource pool is a dedicated sidelink resource pool for at least one of one or more sidelink reference signals or one or more SCIs; or the first sidelink resource pool does not comprise sidelink data channel resources. (“FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating an example of a plurality of sidelink communication resource pools 510a, 510b, 510c (hereinafter SL communication resource pools) and SL-PRS resource pools 512a, 512b, 512c according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 5, time is illustrated along the horizontal axis, while frequency is illustrated along the vertical axis. A first PSCCH/PSSCH transmission 502 and a second PSCCH/PSSCH transmission 504 are identified for reference. Each of the PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions include a PSCCH 506a, 506b, 506c, 506d and a PSSCH 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d. Data is organized into transport blocks (TBs), and each TB is associated with a SCI. The SCI is transmitted in two stages. The 1st-stage SCI (SCI-1) is carried on the PSCCH 506a, 506b, 506c, 506d, while the 2nd-stage SCI (SCI-2) and associated TB is carried on the respective PSSCH 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d.”, Wu [0091])
As to claim 12:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the sidelink reference signal is a sidelink positioning reference signal; the sidelink reference signal is a sidelink Channel State Information based Reference Signal (CSI-RS) for beam management; or the sidelink reference signal is utilized for at least one of localization, positioning, range, sensing or imaging. (“The method can include transmitting a first sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource reservation message within resources in a SL communication resource pool, where the first SL-PRS resource reservation message identifies a first SL-PRS resource within a SL-PRS resource pool, and the SL communication resource pool is different from the SL-PRS resource pool. The method can further include transmitting a first SL-PRS in the first SL-PRS resource within the SL-PRS resource pool.”, Wu [0006])
As to claim 13:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of: the one or more sidelink reference signal time occasions in the slot comprise a first sidelink reference signal time occasion and a second sidelink reference signal time occasion; each candidate sidelink reference signal resource in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is associated with a first bandwidth; each candidate sidelink reference signal resource in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion is associated with the first bandwidth; the first bandwidth corresponds to at least one of a full bandwidth of the first sidelink resource pool in Physical Resource Block (PRB)-level or full frequency resources of the first sidelink resource pool in PRB-level; the first sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot starts from a first symbol; the second sidelink reference signal time occasion in the slot starts from a second symbol; the first symbol is different than the second symbol; the first sidelink reference signal time occasion and the second sidelink reference signal time occasion are non-overlapped in time domain; when the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion, the one or more first parameters of the first sidelink reference signal resource comprise first timing information associated with the first sidelink reference signal time occasion; when the first sidelink reference signal resource is in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion, the one or more first parameters of the first sidelink reference signal resource comprise second timing information associated with the second sidelink reference signal time occasion; or the first timing information is different than the second timing information. (“FIGS. 4A and 4B are diagrams illustrating examples of sidelink slot structures according to some aspects. The sidelink slot structures may be utilized, for example, in a V2X or other D2D network implementing sidelink. In the examples shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of symbols 402 (e.g., OFDM symbols); and frequency is in the vertical direction. Here, a carrier bandwidth 404 allocated for sidelink wireless communication is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 404 may include a plurality of sub-channels, where each sub-channel may include a configurable number of PRBs (e.g., 10, 14, 20, 24, 40, 44, or 100 PRBs).”, Wu [0077]) (“FIG. 8A is a portion of a resource grid 800 providing an example of a comb-6 type resource allocation for the SL-PRSs of three UEs according to aspects described herein. FIG. 8B is a portion of a resource grid 801 providing an example of a back-to-back time domain resource allocation for SL-PRSs of two UEs according to aspects described herein. In FIGS. 8A and 8B, time is illustrated along the horizontal axis in units of OFDM symbols, while frequency is illustrated along the vertical axis in units of sub-carriers. One PRB in frequency and one slot in time are depicted for ease of illustration and not limitation.”, Wu [0119])
As to claim 16:
Wu discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of: one sidelink control channel time occasion is in the slot in the first sidelink resource pool; the one sidelink control channel time occasion comprises the plurality of candidate frequency resources of the sidelink control channel; or the plurality of candidate frequency resources in the one sidelink control channel time occasion are frequency division multiplexed (FDMed). (“FIGS. 4A and 4B are diagrams illustrating examples of sidelink slot structures according to some aspects. The sidelink slot structures may be utilized, for example, in a V2X or other D2D network implementing sidelink. In the examples shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of symbols 402 (e.g., OFDM symbols); and frequency is in the vertical direction. Here, a carrier bandwidth 404 allocated for sidelink wireless communication is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 404 may include a plurality of sub-channels, where each sub-channel may include a configurable number of PRBs (e.g., 10, 14, 20, 24, 40, 44, or 100 PRBs).”, Wu [0077]) (“FIG. 8A is a portion of a resource grid 800 providing an example of a comb-6 type resource allocation for the SL-PRSs of three UEs according to aspects described herein. FIG. 8B is a portion of a resource grid 801 providing an example of a back-to-back time domain resource allocation for SL-PRSs of two UEs according to aspects described herein. In FIGS. 8A and 8B, time is illustrated along the horizontal axis in units of OFDM symbols, while frequency is illustrated along the vertical axis in units of sub-carriers. One PRB in frequency and one slot in time are depicted for ease of illustration and not limitation.”, Wu [0119]) (“In an example of sidelink communication over a sidelink carrier via a PC5 interface, the control region 212 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by an initiating (transmitting) sidelink device (e.g., Tx V2X device or other Tx UE) towards a set of one or more other receiving sidelink devices (e.g., Rx V2X device or other Rx UE). The data region 214 of the slot 210 may include a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) including sidelink data traffic transmitted by the initiating (transmitting) sidelink device within resources reserved over the sidelink carrier by the transmitting sidelink device via the SCI. Other information may further be transmitted over various REs 206 within slot 210. For example, HARQ feedback information may be transmitted in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) within the slot 210 from the receiving sidelink device to the transmitting sidelink device. In addition, one or more reference signals, such as a sidelink SSB, a sidelink CSI-RS, a sidelink SRS, and/or a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) may be transmitted within the slot 210.”, Wu [0063])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baek et al. WO 2022139093 (hereinafter “Baek”)
As to claim 14:
The combination of Wu and Si as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 13, wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is the same as a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion.
However, Baek further teaches having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions which includes:
The method of claim 13, wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is the same as a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion. (“Considering a positioning structure in which positioning signaling and SL-PRS are transmitted through different slots, the maximum number of attempts of positioning signaling and SL-PRS may be the same or different. That is, positioning signaling can be (re)transmitted up to "X" times and SL-PRS can be (re)transmitted up to "Y" times. At this time, the "X" and "Y" values are set through SIB (System Information Block), RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, .sup.1st stage SCI (Sidelink Control Information) of PSCCH/PSSCH, and/or .sup.2nd stage SCI, etc. may be, but is not limited thereto, and may be transmitted/signaled together with data.”, Baek [page 19, line 25])
Wu, Baek, and Si are analogous because they pertain to processing SL PRS.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions as described in Baek into Wu as modified by Si. By modifying the method to include having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions as taught by Baek, the benefits of improved processing of sidelink positioning (Si [0112], Baek [page 19, line 25], and Wu [0108]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
The combination of Wu and Si as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 13, wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is different than a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion.
However, Baek further teaches having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions which includes:
The method of claim 13, wherein: a first number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the first sidelink reference signal time occasion is different than a second number of sidelink reference signals multiplexed in the second sidelink reference signal time occasion. (“Considering a positioning structure in which positioning signaling and SL-PRS are transmitted through different slots, the maximum number of attempts of positioning signaling and SL-PRS may be the same or different. That is, positioning signaling can be (re)transmitted up to "X" times and SL-PRS can be (re)transmitted up to "Y" times. At this time, the "X" and "Y" values are set through SIB (System Information Block), RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, .sup.1st stage SCI (Sidelink Control Information) of PSCCH/PSSCH, and/or .sup.2nd stage SCI, etc. may be, but is not limited thereto, and may be transmitted/signaled together with data.”, Baek [page 19, line 25])
Wu, Baek, and Si are analogous because they pertain to processing SL PRS.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions as described in Baek into Wu as modified by Si. By modifying the method to include having different or same number of SL-PRS in different time occasions as taught by Baek, the benefits of improved processing of sidelink positioning (Si [0112], Baek [page 19, line 25], and Wu [0108]) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250234366: discloses resource information that includes resource information identifier of the SL PRS
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471