DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Claims Status
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15, 19 and 20 are amended. Claims 4, 11, and 18 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendment to claims 1, 8, and 15 now “-involve a transformation, in particular, relating to the generation of a logarithmic PPG signal from the one or more PPG signals generated from a sequence of images obtained from a photodector and generating the blood pressure classification using the plurality of features of the logarithmic PPG signal.” MPEP 2106(I) states:
The Alice/Mayo two-part test is the only test that should be used to evaluate the eligibility of claims under examination. While the machine-or-transformation test is an important clue to eligibility, it should not be used as a separate test for eligibility. Instead it should be considered as part of the "integration" determination or "significantly more" determination articulated in the Alice/Mayo test. Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 605, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1007 (2010).
MPEP 2106.05(c) states:
"[T]ransformation and reduction of an article ‘to a different state or thing’ is the clue to patentability of a process claim that does not include particular machines." Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 658, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1007 (2010) (quoting Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 70, 175 USPQ 673, 676 (1972)). … An “article” includes a physical object or substance. The physical object or substance must be particular, meaning it can be specifically identified. … For data, mere “manipulation of basic mathematical constructs [i.e.,] the paradigmatic ‘abstract idea,’” has not been deemed a transformation. CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1372 n.2, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 n.2 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (quoting In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1355, 1360, 31 USPQ2d 1754, 1755, 1759 (Fed. Cir. 1994)).
Assuming the argument provided by the applicant is about the practical application or significantly more portions of the eligibility determination, the Office will now address the argument itself. In this case, the PPG signal is not a physical object or substance but rather closer to data as it is the processor performing manipulations on the PPG signal data. The rejections are maintained.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that the claims as amended to include logarithmic limitations from claims 4, 11, and 18 are not taught by Lee or Wilson. Applicant also argues that taking Official Notice of the Beer-Lambert law with respect to these features is improper. Applicants argue that this law is not itself a disclosure nor a teaching of generating a logarithmic PPG signal for downstream feature extraction in a computing device as claimed. The Office Action's statement does not provide documentary evidence of such specific application in PPG signal processing yielding extracted features for blood pressure classification. The Office respectfully disagrees as the law provides sufficient evidence for teaching the claimed limitations performed by the processor of the computing device given the broadest reasonable interpretation as will be discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recite(s) extracting a plurality of features of the PPG signal and then generating a blood pressure classification using the features and a blood pressure classification model. These limitations were interpreted as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no additional limitations that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The preceding functions executed by the processor amount to extra-solution data gathering while the recitation of a processor and memory were considered mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional limitations amounted to extra-solution data gathering and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) when considered as a whole. Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 amounted to additional abstract concepts. Claims 8 and 15 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20200260956) in view of Wilson et al. (US 2022/0061676) and Official Notice taken by the Office regarding the Beer-Lambert law as is applicable to PPG signal acquisition.
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. disclose a computing device (Fig. 19, #100 and [0039]) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 20, #700 and [0040]); and
a memory storing computer code instructions (Fig. 20, #770 which stores executable instructions per [0143]), the computer code instructions when executed by the processor cause the computing device to:
obtain one or more photoplethysmographic (PPG) signals generated from a sequence of images obtained from a photodetector (device may include a PPG sensor per [0011] or an image sensor such as a camera [0018], [0128] – “an API for extracting a PPG signal from an image”; while not expressly disclosed, a PPG signal is well known to those of ordinary skill in the art as a signal that captures changes in blood volume in the microvascular bed of tissue; a light source illuminates the tissue and a photosensor detects the transmission or reflection of the light signal through/by the tissue; the transmitted/reflected light is varies depending on the amount of absorption by the tissue; pulsating blood flow through microvasculature in the area of illumination directly affects the amount of light absorption; thus the PPG signal interpreted here is just the light signal output by the detector);
generate a logarithmic PPG signal from the one or more PPG signals (at [0179] Lee et al. note that a pulse wave signal is extracted from the PPG signal, at [0137] Lee et al. disclose that “the mobile terminal 100 extracts the pulse wave signal from the obtained image by using several signal processing techniques, for example, by using an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter”; while the use of an IIR filter is a known technique for extracting the pulsative/AC component due to the pulsatile flow of blood, Lee et al. makes it clear that other techniques are possible; the Office takes Official Notice that the Beer-Lambert Law is widely used in photoplethysmography (PPG) to model how changes in tissue optical properties translate into the measured AC (pulsatile) and DC (baseline) components of the PPG signal, and it can be applied to isolate the pulsatile wave; the Beer-Lambert law relates the change in detected light intensity to changes in the optical path length and the absorption/scattering coefficients of the tissue; it is well known that the natural logarithm may be applied to the Beer-Lambert equation, and hence the raw PPG data to linearize the relationship between absorbance and concentration with allows for separation of the AC/pulsatile component, thus modifying Lee et al. to apply the logarithmic form of the Beer-Lambert law to extract the pulsatile component would have been obvious in view of the Official Notice taken by the Office);
extract a plurality of features of the logarithmic PPG signal (see at least [0109] where feature values 900 related to blood flow are determined from the optical flow images); and generate a blood pressure using the plurality of features of the logarithmic PPG signal and a blood pressure model (blood pressure is estimated from a estimation model ([0113]).
Lee et la. do not disclose that the blood pressure is then classified. However, classifying blood pressure further is taught by Wilson who teaches a blood pressure monitoring machine learning method (see Abstract). Wilson teaches that blood pressure can be classified by the into known categories (see claim 8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lee et al. to include classification functions as taught by Wilson in the model to provide further information to the user regarding health because it can alert the user to abnormal conditions. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that this only requires additional programming to recognize well known blood pressure ranges associated with cardiovascular health.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. as modified by Wilson teach wherein the blood pressure classification model is a machine learning model associated with a corresponding set of parameter variables used to determine the blood pressure classification. Previously, Lee’s blood pressure machine learning model was modified above to include machine learning options for blood pressure classification taught by Wilson. Wilson teaches that machine learning can be used to classify blood pressure, and provides modeling details in [0076], including the use of parameter values/ variables. The rationale for modifying remains the same.
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Wilson teach wherein the computer code instructions when executed by the processor further cause the computing device to train the machine learning model using labeled data to determine the corresponding set of parameter variables ([0076] in Wilson describe a training dataset). The rationale for modifying remains the same.
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified by Wilson teach wherein the plurality of features of the logarithmic PPG signal includes one or more pulse related features extracted from pulses of the logarithmic PPG signal (see at least [0079] in Wilson where feature vectors are used for the analysis of a biosignal/PPG, see also [0097]). The rationale for modifying remains the same.
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified in view of Wilson teach wherein the plurality of features of the logarithmic PPG signal includes at least one of: a systolic blood pressure estimate generated using the logarithmic PPG signal as an input signal, or a diastolic blood pressure estimate generated using the logarithmic PPG signal as an input signal (see at least [0092] where the model for analyzing PPG signal includes estimations of systolic and diastolic pressure). The rationale for modifying remains the same.
Regarding claim 7, Lee’s machine learning model for blood pressure estimation discloses wherein the blood pressure further generated using one or more demographic features of a user of the computing device (see [0016] and [0110]). Lee was modified to use Wilson’s machine learning for blood pressure classification (i.e. further analyze Lee’s blood pressure estimation for additional classification purposes). Because Lee already incorporates demographic features of the user, an eventual classification by Wilson’s methods would also inherently use demographic information.
Claim 8 is the method performed by the computing device of claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same argument for claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected using the same argument for claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same argument for claim 3 above.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same argument for claim 5 above.
Claim 13 is rejected using the same argument for claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same argument for claim 7 above.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same argument for claim 1 as it is essentially the processor and instructions portion of claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same argument for claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same argument for claim 3 above.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same argument for claim 5 above.
Claim 20 is rejected using the same argument for claim 6 above.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791