CTNF 18/227,424 CTNF 99891 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Regarding Claim 1, the examiner notes that the first and second valves in the instant application are integrated into the coolant control valve 70, see [0052] of the instant application. Therefore, Riley 108 is analogous to 70 with the 3-way valve analogous to the control valve and each path analogous the first and second valve, see also Fig. 1 of the instant application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1,11,12,13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by (US-20190214662-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Riley’ Regarding Claim 1 , Riley teaches a fuel cell system (Riley, “ A fuel cell system and a method of controlling the fuel cell system is provided ”, see Abstract) comprising: a coolant control valve configured to switch a flowing path of a coolant passing through a fluid passage connected to a fuel cell stack (Riley, valve , 108 , Fig. 2) ; and a controller configured to control a valve opening amount of the coolant control valve by performing a start sequence previously defined (Riley, “ controller 74 also determines the length of time and the amount of pump energy or speed needed to flow the coolant such that the warmest coolant in the system is adjacent to or flowing past the anode outlet vias and melt any ice formed therein. By melting and preventing ice blockages within the stack 12, the fuel cell stack may be purged of excess water even in freezing conditions, thereby avoiding ill effects from ice blockages during a subsequent startup of the fuel cell system .”, see [0037]), when a condition for normal start of the fuel cell stack is satisfied, wherein the coolant control valve is formed by integrating a first valve, which is to switch a flowing path of a coolant flowing into a first pump (Riley, pump 102 , Fig. 2), with a second valve which is to switch a flowing path of a coolant pumped by the first pump (Riley, valve , 108 , Fig. 2) (see annotated figure below)(Riley, bypass passage , 106 , Fig. 2) (Riley, “ In other examples, the system 64 may have more than one pump to circulate coolant in the system. The controller 74 may control the on/off state of the pump 102 as well as the speed of the pump, thereby controlling the flow rate of the coolant.”, see [0040]).(The examiner notes that the valve 108 controls both the flow in and out of the valve which can go from the pump through the radiator or into the pump via the bypass valve or both, see annotated figure below) PNG media_image1.png 528 362 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 11 , Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: operate the fuel cell stack, when the start sequence is terminated (Riley, see step 210, Fig. 4) (Riley, “ During operation, the stoichiometric ratio of total reactant per reactant electrochemically needed for both reactants, of the fuel cell system 10 may be controlled based on the fuel cell operating state, environmental conditions, and the like. The stoichiometry may be controlled using the valve 23 and regulator 25 on the anode side 14 to control the flow rate of fuel, or hydrogen to the stack 12, and using the compressor 48 and motor 50 on the cathode side 16 to control the flow rate of air to the stack 12.”, see [0028]) Regarding Claim 12 , Riley teaches a method for start control in a fuel cell system, the method comprising: performing a start sequence previously defined, when a condition for normal start of a fuel cell stack is satisfied; controlling a valve opening amount of a coolant control valve to switch a flowing path of a coolant passing through a fluid passage connected to the fuel cell stack; and switching, by the coolant control valve, a flowing path of a coolant (Riley, “ The fluid circuit 100 has a radiator bypass passage 106 and a valve assembly 108. The controller 74 is configured to control operation of the valve assembly 108 to control coolant flow between the radiator 104 and the bypass passage 106. In one example, the valve assembly 108 is controlled such that all of the coolant is directed from the inlet port of the valve to the radiator ,”, see [0041]), based on the control ,wherein the coolant control valve is formed by integrating a first valve to switch a flowing path of a coolant flowing into a first pump with a second valve to switch a flowing path of a coolant pumped by the first pump (Riley, “ controller 74 also determines the length of time and the amount of pump energy or speed needed to flow the coolant such that the warmest coolant in the system is adjacent to or flowing past the anode outlet vias and melt any ice formed therein. By melting and preventing ice blockages within the stack 12, the fuel cell stack may be purged of excess water even in freezing conditions, thereby avoiding ill effects from ice blockages during a subsequent startup of the fuel cell system .”, see [0037]). Regarding Claim 13 , Riley teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining that the condition for the normal start of the fuel cell stack is satisfied, when temperature of ambient air, which is measured by a first temperature sensor, is equal to or greater than a first reference temperature, which is preset, or when a coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell stack, which is measured by a second temperature sensor, is equal to or greater than a second reference temperature which is preset (Riley, “ The controller 74 may additionally use an ambient temperature sensor 76 as described above with respect to FIG. 1 .”, see [0043])(Riley, “ At step 206, the controller 74 may initiate a timer, or periodically wake up to monitor the ambient temperature. The controller 74 monitors the fuel cell system 10 after shut down, and the system may have an on-board monitor or diagnostic that periodically is scheduled to run and check the ambient temperature and fuel cell stack 12 temperature.”, see [0052]). Regarding Claim 20 , Riley teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: operating the fuel cell stack, when the start sequence is terminated (Riley, monitor temperature , step 206 , see Fig. 4)(Riley, “ During operation, the stoichiometric ratio of total reactant per reactant electrochemically needed for both reactants, of the fuel cell system 10 may be controlled based on the fuel cell operating state, environmental conditions, and the like. The stoichiometry may be controlled using the valve 23 and regulator 25 on the anode side 14 to control the flow rate of fuel, or hydrogen to the stack 12, and using the compressor 48 and motor 50 on the cathode side 16 to control the flow rate of air to the stack 12.”, see [0028]) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-4, 7-10, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20190214662-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Riley’ in view of (US-20210028468-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ Regarding Claim 2 , Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 1, further comprising: a first temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of ambient air (Riley, “ The controller 74 may additionally use an ambient temperature sensor 76 as described above with respect to FIG. 1 .”, see [0043]) a second temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of a coolant at an inlet of the fuel cell stack (Riley, “ the coolant loop 64 may have a temperature sensor 70 to determine the coolant temperature. The coolant temperature sensor 70 ”, see [0025]) ; and a fourth temperature sensor configured to measure a coolant temperature of the coolant control valve (Riley, “ coolant inlet temperature sensor 111, a stack coolant outlet temperature sensor 70, a radiator coolant temperature sensor 112,”, see [0043]). Riley does not teach a third temperature sensor configured to measure a coolant temperature in an ion filter to filter an ion of the coolant passing through the fuel cell stack. Lee teaches a third temperature sensor configured to measure a coolant temperature in an ion filter to filter an ion of the coolant passing through the fuel cell stack (Lee, “ and as a result, the ion filter 80 provided in the third line 130 may filter out (remove) the ions contained in the coolant even during the cold start. Therefore, it is possible to obtain an advantageous effect of maintaining the electrical conductivity of the coolant, which is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 immediately after the cold start, to a predetermined level or lower .”, see [0092]) (Lee, “In addition, we have found that in the related art, the filtering process by the ion filter (the process of removing ions contained in the coolant) is impossible during the cold start, which causes a problem that makes it difficult to maintain electrical conductivity of the coolant.”, see [0011])(Lee, “ As an example, the temperature measuring unit may include at least one of a first temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the coolant between the fuel cell stack and the first point (the first valve) or a second temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the coolant ”, see [0033]). Lee teaches that the ion filter allows for the maintaining an advantageous electrical conductivity of the coolant (Lee, “ and as a result, the ion filter 80 provided in the third line 130 may filter out (remove) the ions contained in the coolant even during the cold start. Therefore, it is possible to obtain an advantageous effect of maintaining the electrical conductivity of the coolant, which is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 immediately after the cold start, to a predetermined level or lower .”, see [0092]). Riley and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell as taught in Riley to have a ion filter and temperature sensor in order to improve the electrical conductivity while monitoring the temperature to prevent the negative effects of too cold fluid from entering the ion filter (The examiner notes the combination with of the ion filter would also include necessary valves from Lee). Regarding Claim 3 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that the condition for the normal start of the fuel cell stack is satisfied, when the temperature of the ambient air, which is measured by the first temperature sensor, is equal to or greater than a first reference temperature, which is preset or when the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell stack, which is measured by the second temperature sensor, is equal to or greater than a second reference temperature which is preset (Riley, “ the controller 74 may initiate a timer, or periodically wake up to monitor the ambient temperature. The controller 74 monitors the fuel cell system 10 after shut down, and the system may have an on-board monitor or diagnostic that periodically is scheduled to run and check the ambient temperature and fuel cell stack 12 temperature.”, see [0052). Regarding Claim 4 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 2, wherein the start sequence includes: a first operation for controlling the valve opening amount of the coolant control valve to open a valve connected to a fluid passage passing through the fuel cell stack and close a valve connected to a fluid passage passing through a radiator (Riley, “ In further examples, the controller 74 may control a position of the valve 108 to direct a portion of the coolant through the bypass passage, and the remainder of the coolant through the radiator .”, see [0041] and see Fig. 2) a second operation for setting, to a preset minimum value, a Revolution per Minute (RPM) of a second pump to supply a coolant to the first pump and the power electronic part (Lee, “ As another example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant) (S34).”, see [0131]) a third operation for switching a control mode of the coolant control valve to an automatic control mode, when the coolant temperature of the coolant ion filter, which is measured by the third temperature sensor, and the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by the fourth temperature sensor, satisfy a preset condition (Lee, “ As described above, since the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 is controlled to be lower than a predetermined flow rate when the measured temperature of the coolant is lower than a predetermined target temperature, …As an example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the opening degree of the first valve 20 (for example, by sequentially increasing the opening degree of the first valve) and thus delaying the opening timing of the first valve 20 (the opening timing of the second port) (S32).”, see [0130]), a fourth operation for allowing a cooling fan to enter into an operating allowing mode, and a fifth operation for setting an RPM of the first pump to a specific value (w) (Lee, “ As another example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant) (S34).”, see [0131]) Regarding Claim 7 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a reference condition for performing the third operation is satisfied, when the coolant temperature in the coolant ion filter, which is measured by the third temperature sensor, and the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by the fourth temperature sensor, are equal to or greater than the temperature of the ambient air even though a specific time is elapsed. (Lee, “ As described above, since the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 is controlled to be lower than a predetermined flow rate when the measured temperature of the coolant is lower than a predetermined target temperature, …As an example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the opening degree of the first valve 20 (for example, by sequentially increasing the opening degree of the first valve) and thus delaying the opening timing of the first valve 20 (the opening timing of the second port) (S32).”, see [0130]) (Riley, “ The controller 74 may additionally use an ambient temperature sensor 76 as described above with respect to FIG. 1 .”, see [0043]) Regarding Claim 8 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a reference condition for performing the third operation is satisfied, when the coolant temperature in the coolant ion filter, which is measured by the third temperature sensor, and the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by the fourth temperature sensor, are equal to or greater than the coolant temperature at the inlet of the fuel cell stack, even though a specific time is elapsed (Lee, “ As described above, since the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 is controlled to be lower than a predetermined flow rate when the measured temperature of the coolant is lower than a predetermined target temperature, …As an example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the opening degree of the first valve 20 (for example, by sequentially increasing the opening degree of the first valve) and thus delaying the opening timing of the first valve 20 (the opening timing of the second port) (S32).”, see [0130]). Regarding Claim 9 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: automatically adjust the valve opening amount of the coolant control valve such that the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve is maintained in a target temperature range, when the control mode of the coolant control valve is switched to the automatic control mode through the third operation (Riley, “ At step 210, the controller 74 commands the coolant system 64 to operate such that coolant is circulated through the fuel cell stack 12. Step 210 is performed in response to a signal indicative of an ambient temperature being below a threshold value ”, see [0058]). Regarding Claim 10 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 4, wherein the specific value (w) refers to an RPM for draining a flow amount of a coolant circulating a coolant circulating path of the fuel cell system once for a time period, based on a target inflowing amount of coolant (Lee, “ As another example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant) (S34).”, see [0131]). Regarding Claim 14 , Riley teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the performing of the start sequence includes: performing a first operation for controlling the valve opening amount of the coolant control valve to open a valve connected to a fluid passage passing through the fuel cell stack and close a valve connected to a fluid passage passing through a radiator (Riley, “ The fluid circuit 100 has a radiator bypass passage 106 and a valve assembly 108. The controller 74 is configured to control operation of the valve assembly 108 to control coolant flow between the radiator 104 and the bypass passage 106. In one example, the valve assembly 108 is controlled such that all of the coolant is directed from the inlet port of the valve to the radiator, or all of the coolant is directed from the inlet port of the valve to the bypass passage. In further examples, the controller 74 may control a position of the valve 108 to direct a portion of the coolant through the bypass passage, and the remainder of the coolant through the radiator .”, see [0041]); Riley does not teach teaches performing a second operation for setting, to a preset minimum value, a Revolution per Minute (RPM) of a second pump to supply a coolant to the first pump and a power electronic part; performing a third operation for switching a control mode of the coolant control valve to an automatic control mode, when a coolant temperature of an ion filter, which is measured by a third temperature sensor, and a coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by a fourth temperature sensor, satisfy a preset condition; performing a fourth operation for allowing a cooling fan to enter into an operating allowing mode; and performing a fifth operation for setting an RPM of the first pump to a specific value (W). Lee teaches performing a second operation for setting, to a preset minimum value (Lee, “ In contrast, when it is detected that the measured temperature of the coolant is higher than the predetermined target temperature, the opening degree of the first valve and the rotational speed of the pump 30 are adjusted to meet preset normal conditions ”, see [0136]), a Revolution per Minute (RPM) of a second pump to supply a coolant to the first pump and a power electronic part (Lee, “ As another example, the control unit 300 may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting a rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant ).”, see [0110]); performing a third operation for switching a control mode of the coolant control valve to an automatic control mode, when a coolant temperature of an ion filter (Lee, “ and as a result, the ion filter 80 provided in the third line 130 may filter out (remove) the ions contained in the coolant even during the cold start. Therefore, it is possible to obtain an advantageous effect of maintaining the electrical conductivity of the coolant, which is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 immediately after the cold start, to a predetermined level or lower .”, see [0092]), which is measured by a third temperature sensor, and a coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by a fourth temperature sensor, satisfy a preset condition; performing a fourth operation for allowing a cooling fan to enter into an operating allowing mode (Lee, “ In addition, the method may include: measuring, by a temperature sensor, a temperature of the coolant in the first line before supplying the coolant to the fuel cell stack; and controlling, by a controller, an inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack based on the measured temperature of the coolant.”, see [0039]); and performing a fifth operation for setting an RPM of the first pump to a specific value (W) (Lee, “ As another example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant) (S34).”, see [0131]). Lee teaches that the ion filter allows for the maintaining an advantageous electrical conductivity of the coolant (Lee, “ and as a result, the ion filter 80 provided in the third line 130 may filter out (remove) the ions contained in the coolant even during the cold start. Therefore, it is possible to obtain an advantageous effect of maintaining the electrical conductivity of the coolant, which is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 immediately after the cold start, to a predetermined level or lower .”, see [0092]). Riley and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell as taught in Riley to have a ion filter and temperature sensor in order to improve the electrical conductivity while monitoring the temperature to prevent the negative effects of too cold fluid from entering the ion filter (The examiner notes the combination with of the ion filter would also include necessary valves from Lee). Regarding Claim 15 , Modified Riley teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the first operation includes: closing a valve connected to a fluid passage passing through the radiator and opening a value connected to a by-pass fluid passage of the radiator (Riley, “ The controller 74 is configured to control operation of the valve assembly 108 to control coolant flow between the radiator 104 and the bypass passage 106. In one example, the valve assembly 108 is controlled such that all of the coolant is directed from the inlet port of the valve to the radiator, or all of the coolant is directed from the inlet port of the valve to the bypass passage .”, see [0041]). Regarding Claim 16 , Modified Riley teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the third operation includes: determining that a reference condition for performing the third operation is satisfied, when the coolant temperature in the coolant ion filter, which is measured by the third temperature sensor, and the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by the fourth temperature sensor, are equal to or greater than the temperature of the ambient air even through a specific time is elapsed (Lee, “ As described above, since the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 is controlled to be lower than a predetermined flow rate when the measured temperature of the coolant is lower than a predetermined target temperature, …As an example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the opening degree of the first valve 20 (for example, by sequentially increasing the opening degree of the first valve) and thus delaying the opening timing of the first valve 20 (the opening timing of the second port) (S32).”, see [0130]). Regarding Claim 17 , Modified Riley teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the third operation includes: determining that a reference condition for performing the third operation is satisfied, when the coolant temperature in the coolant ion filter, which is measured by the third temperature sensor, and the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve, which is measured by the fourth temperature sensor, are equal to or greater than a coolant temperature at an inlet of the fuel cell stack, even though a specific time is elapsed (Lee, “ As described above, since the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 is controlled to be lower than a predetermined flow rate when the measured temperature of the coolant is lower than a predetermined target temperature, …As an example, the control step may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting the opening degree of the first valve 20 (for example, by sequentially increasing the opening degree of the first valve) and thus delaying the opening timing of the first valve 20 (the opening timing of the second port) (S32).”, see [0130]). Regarding Claim 18, Modified Riley teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the third operation includes: automatically adjusting the valve opening amount of the coolant control valve such that the coolant temperature of the coolant control valve is maintained in a target temperature range, when a control mode of the coolant control valve is switched to an automatic control mode (Riley, “ controller 74 may control the valve 108 position to blend coolant from the radiator into the coolant circulating in the bypass passage 106 and further control and reduce the temperature of the circulating coolant through the stack 12. This allows the fuel cell stack 12 temperature to be reduced to a lower average temperature than could occur simply by circulating the coolant through the bypass passage 106 and stack 12. A longer period of coolant flow may be used and coolant from the larger radiator 104 loop may be blended in to slowly using the valve 108 to reduce the average temperature in the fuel cell stack, while maintaining the temperature near the outlet vias 156 above freezing .”, see [0062]). Regarding Claim 19 , Modified Riley teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the specific value (w) refers to an RPM for draining a flow amount of a coolant circulating a coolant circulating path of the fuel cell system once for a time period, based on a target inflowing amount of coolant (Lee, “ As another example, the control unit 300 may control the inflow rate of the coolant to be introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 by adjusting a rotational speed (rpm) of the pump 30 (for example, by slowly increasing the rotational speed of the pump in accordance with the measured temperature of the coolant).”, see [0110]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20190214662-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Riley’ in view of (US-20210028468-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ in view of (US-20170062846-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’ Regarding Claim 5 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 4, wherein the coolant control valve includes: a first port connected to a second fluid passage a heater such that coolant passing through the second fluid passage flows in the first port ;a second port connected to a first fluid passage passing through the fuel cell stack such that coolant passing through the first fluid passage flows in the second port; a third port for draining the coolant flowing in the first port through the second fluid passage connected to the first pump through a fifth fluid passage serving as a by-pass fluid passage of a radiator; a fourth port for draining the coolant flowing in the second port through the first fluid passage connected to the first pump through the fifth fluid passage; and a fifth port for draining the coolant flowing in the second port, through a fourth fluid passage passing through the radiator (see annotated figure below). PNG media_image2.png 480 672 media_image2.png Greyscale Modified Riley does not teach passing through a cathode oxygen depletion (COD) heater. Kim teaches passing through a cathode oxygen depletion (COD) heater (Kim, “ The thermal management system 100 may a separate flowline including the COD heater 115 to shorten the cold-start time, and may be a cooling device that changes flow direction of the coolant by using the VDV 110 ”,see [0046]). Kim teaches that the COD allows for rapid heating of the coolant (Kim, “ The thermal management system 100 may a separate flowline including the COD heater 115 to shorten the cold-start time, and may be a cooling device that changes flow direction of the coolant by using the VDV 110 ”,see [0046]). Modified Riley and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell as taught in Riley to have a cathode oxygen depletion (COD) heater as taught in Lee in order to improve the heating. Regarding Claim 6 , Modified Riley teaches the fuel cell system of claim 5, wherein the coolant control valve is configured to: close a valve of the fifth port connected to the fourth fluid passage to block the coolant flowing into the radiator, and open a valve of the fourth port connected to the fifth fluid passage serving as a by-pass fluid passage, when the first operation of the start sequence is performed (Riley, valve , 108 , Fig. 2) (Riley, bypass passage , 106 , Fig. 2) (Lee, “ It is possible to selectively switch the flow path of the coolant to the radiator 60 or the fuel cell stack 10 by opening and closing the first port 41 and the second port 42 of the second valve 40. That is, when the first port 41 is opened and the second port 42 is closed, the coolant is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 without passing through the radiator 60. On the contrary, when the second port 42 is opened and the first port 41 is closed, the coolant is introduced into the fuel cell stack 10 after passing through the radiator 6 ”, see [0099]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEAMUS PATRICK MCNULTY whose telephone number is (703)756-1909. The examiner can normally be reached Monday- Friday 8:00am to 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas A. Smith can be reached at (571) 272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 7 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 8 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 9 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 10 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 11 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 12 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 13 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 14 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 15 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 16 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/227,424 Page 17 Art Unit: 1752