DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 18-21 depend from claim 1, and therefore it is irrelevant whether the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process. This is not found persuasive because the inventive groups have a different classification in the arts, a search burden would exist to search both inventions, and the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using the product as noted in the restriction requirement dated 12/18/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/17/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is directed towards the fining package of claim 1, wherein the glass composition comprises: SiO2 in an amount of 70 to 76 wt% of the glass composition; B2O3 in an amount of 9 to 13.5 wt% of the glass composition; Al2O3 in an amount of 4 to 8 wt% of the glass composition; TiO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; Fe2O3 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; BaO in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; CaO in an amount of 0 to 3 wt% of the glass composition; Na2O in an amount of 5 to 8.5 wt% of the glass composition; K2O in an amount of 0.5 to 3 wt% of the glass composition; MgO in an amount of 0 to 1 wt% of the glass composition; Cl in an amount of 0 to 0.03 wt% of the glass composition; F in an amount of 0 to 0.02 wt% of the glass composition; CeO2 in an amount of 0.08 to 0.5 wt% of the glass composition; SnO2 in an amount of 0.02 to 0.23 wt% of the glass composition; and ZrO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.08 wt% of the glass composition.
The closest prior art is Dejneka et al. (US20120252652, hereinafter referred to as Dejneka). Per instant claim 15, Dejneka does not disclose or make obvious the fining package of claim 1, wherein the glass composition comprises: SiO2 in an amount of 70 to 76 wt% of the glass composition; B2O3 in an amount of 9 to 13.5 wt% of the glass composition; Al2O3 in an amount of 4 to 8 wt% of the glass composition; TiO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; Fe2O3 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; BaO in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; CaO in an amount of 0 to 3 wt% of the glass composition; Na2O in an amount of 5 to 8.5 wt% of the glass composition; K2O in an amount of 0.5 to 3 wt% of the glass composition; MgO in an amount of 0 to 1 wt% of the glass composition; Cl in an amount of 0 to 0.03 wt% of the glass composition; F in an amount of 0 to 0.02 wt% of the glass composition; CeO2 in an amount of 0.08 to 0.5 wt% of the glass composition; SnO2 in an amount of 0.02 to 0.23 wt% of the glass composition; and ZrO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.08 wt% of the glass composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a reducing agent” however, claim 10 and the instant specification do not appear to define what chemicals constitute, and do not constitute, a reducing agent. For the purposes of examination, a reducing agent will be interpreted as meaning any chemical capable of performing any reduction unless otherwise clarified by Applicant during the course of prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dejneka et al. (US20120252652, hereinafter referred to as Dejneka).
Regarding claim 1, Dejneka discloses a fining package for a glass composition (see Dejneka at [0063], disclosing a fining package) comprising: a sulfate or a sulfide in an amount from about 0.001 to about 0.1 mol% of the glass composition (see Dejneka at claim 12, disclosing up to 4 mol% of the at least one oxidizer fining agent, which overlaps with the claimed range. See also Dejneka at claim 10, disclosing the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises sodium sulfate ... or combinations thereof) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, Dejneka discloses the fining package comprises the sulfate and is sulfide-free (Dejneka does not disclose a sulfide. Dejneka discloses a sulfate fining agent as show in the rejection of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 3, Dejneka discloses the sulfate comprises at least one of an alkali sulfate and an alkaline earth sulfate (See also Dejneka at claim 10, disclosing the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises sodium sulfate. Examiner notes sodium sulfate is an alkali sulfate).
Regarding claim 4, Dejneka discloses the fining package further comprises a multivalent compound in an amount from about 0.001 to about 1 mol% of the glass composition (see Dejneka at [0018], disclosing the fining agent, in one embodiment, comprises up to 0.5 mol % SnO2, up to 0.5 mol % CeO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 5, Dejneka discloses the multivalent compound comprises Sn or Ce (see Dejneka at [0018], disclosing the fining agent, in one embodiment, comprises up to 0.5 mol % SnO2, up to 0.5 mol % CeO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 6, Dejneka discloses the multivalent compound comprises CeO2, SnO2, or Fe2O3 (see Dejneka at [0018], disclosing the fining agent, in one embodiment, comprises up to 0.5 mol % SnO2, up to 0.5 mol % CeO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 7, Dejneka discloses further comprising a nitrate in the amount of about 0.01% to about 0.1 mol% of the glass composition (see Dejneka at claim 12, disclosing up to 4 mol% of the at least one oxidizer fining agent, which overlaps with the claimed range. See also Dejneka at claim 10, disclosing the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises ... aluminum nitrate.).
Regarding claim 10, Dejneka discloses the fining package is free of a reducing agent for reducing sulfate to sulfide (Dejneka does not disclose a reducing agent.).
Regarding claim 11, Dejneka discloses the glass composition comprises a borosilicate glass composition (see Dejneka at [0026], disclosing a borosilicate).
Regarding claim 12, Dejneka discloses the glass composition comprises an aluminosilicate glass composition (see Dejneka at [0026], disclosing an aluminosilicate).
Regarding claim 13, while Dejneka discloses the glasses described herein are ... containers (see Dejneka at [0042]), Dejneka does not explicitly disclose the glass composition is used to form glass tubing or pharmaceutical packaging. However, Examiner notes the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting. Please note that where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (See MPEP 2112(III)).
Regarding claim 14, Dejneka discloses the fining package is free of at least one of Cl, F, Sn, Ce, and As (see Dejneka at [0014], disclosing the fining agent is also substantially free of arsenic).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dejneka in view of Gattermann et al. (US20110302962A1, hereinafter referred to as Gattermann).
Regarding claim 8, Dejneka does not disclose the sulfate comprises a heavy alkaline earth sulfate.
Gattermann is directed towards a sulfate refining agent … [for] refining of the glass batch melt (see Gattermann at the Abstract). Gattermann discloses barium … sulfate [is an] exemplary refining agent (see Gattermann at [0090]). Examiner notes barium sulfate is a heavy alkaline earth sulfate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when practicing the invention of Dejneka to use barium sulfate as a refining agent with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing an exemplary refining agent as taught by Gattermann.
Regarding claim 9, Dejneka discloses further comprising a redox modifier (See Dejneka at claim 10, disclosing the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises ... aluminum nitrate. A nitrate is a redox modifier as shown by the instant specification at [0017] from the instant PGPub).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dejneka in view of Dick et al. (DE102009021116A1 with reference to machine translation, hereinafter referred to as Dick).
Regarding claim 16, Dejneka does not disclose the glass composition comprises: SiO2 in an amount of 75 to 85 wt% of the glass composition; B2O3 in an amount of 9.5 to 14.5 wt% of the glass composition; Al2O3 in an amount of 0.5 to 5 wt% of the glass composition; TiO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; Fe2O3 in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; BaO in an amount of 0 to 0.1 wt% of the glass composition; Na2O in an amount of 2 to 8 wt% of the glass composition; K2O in an amount of 0 to 3 wt% of the glass composition; CaO and MgO in a total amount of 0 to 1.0 wt% of the glass composition; Cl in an amount of 0 to 0.10 wt% of the glass composition; and SnO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.2 wt% of the glass composition.
Dick is directed towards a glass batch with the addition of at least one refining agent (see Dick at the Abstract). Dick discloses a sulfate refining agent (see Dick at the third to last paragraph of page 2 of the machine translation). Dick discloses the glass comprises up to 75 wt.% SiO2 (see Dick at the first paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), B2O3 is contained … at least 5% by weight and in particular at least 10% by weight (see Dick at the first paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Al2O3 in a minimum amount of 2% by weight … the maximum amount is 9 wt.% (see Dick at the second paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Dick discloses it is possible to add … SnO2 … Fe2O3 … TiO2 (see Dick at the fourth to last paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation) which Examiner corresponds to SnO2, Fe2O3 and TiO2 being an optional component which may be 0%, Dick discloses BaO is preferably in an amount of 0 to 4wt.% (see Dick at the fourth paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation) Na2O … 5-8 wt.% (see Dick at the third paragraph from page 5 of the machine translation), K2O … in particulate 0-6 wt.% (see Dick at the third paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), CaO is preferred in am amount of 0 to 3 wt.% (See Dick at the fourth paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), MgO is preferably in an amount of 0 to 2 wt.% (see Dick at the fourth paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Dick does not disclose Cl which correspond to 0% Cl.
Examiner notes the component ranges of Dick overlap with the claimed range, and Dick is also directed towards a glass with a sulfate refining agent as noted in the preceding paragraph. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date when practicing the invention of Dejneka to use the sulfate refining agent on the glass of Dick with a reasonable expectation of successfully refining the glass.
Regarding claim 17, Dejneka does not disclose the glass composition comprises: SiO2 in an amount of 74 to 80 wt% of the glass composition; Al2O3 in an amount of 4 to 8 wt% of the glass composition; CaO in an amount of 0 to 0.5 wt% of the glass composition; Na2O in an amount of 8 to 14 wt% of the glass composition; MgO in an amount of 3 to 7 wt% of the glass composition; and SnO2 in an amount of 0 to 0.23 wt% of the glass composition.
Dick is directed towards a glass batch with the addition of at least one refining agent (see Dick at the Abstract). Dick discloses a sulfate refining agent (see Dick at the third to last paragraph of page 2 of the machine translation). Dick discloses the glass comprises up to 75 wt.% SiO2 (see Dick at the first paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Al2O3 in a minimum amount of 2% by weight … the maximum amount is 9 wt.% (see Dick at the second paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), CaO is preferred in an amount of 0 to 3 wt.% (See Dick at the fourth paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Na2O … 5-8 wt.% (see Dick at the third paragraph from page 5 of the machine translation), MgO is preferably in an amount of 0 to 2 wt.% (see Dick at the fourth paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation), Dick discloses it is possible to add … SnO2 (see Dick at the fourth to last paragraph of page 5 from the machine translation) which Examiner corresponds to SnO2 being an optional component which may be 0%.
Examiner notes the component ranges of Dick overlap with the claimed range, and Dick is also directed towards a glass with a sulfate refining agent as noted in the preceding paragraph. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date when practicing the invention of Dejneka to use the sulfate refining agent on the glass of Dick with a reasonable expectation of successfully refining the glass.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 11-12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-7, 9, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 8,431,502. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the ‘502 patent claims a fining package for a glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 6, claiming an oxidizer fining agent) comprising: a sulfate or a sulfide (see the ‘502 patent at claim 9, claiming the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises sodium sulfate) in an amount from about 0.001 to about 0.1 mol% of the glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 7, claiming 4 mol % of at least one oxidizer fining agent, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘502 patent claims the fining package comprises the sulfate and is sulfide-free (see the ‘502 patent at claim 9, claiming 4 mol % of at least one oxidizer fining agent, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 3, the ‘502 patent claims the sulfate comprises at least one of an alkali sulfate and an alkaline earth sulfate (see the ‘502 patent at claim 9, claiming the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises sodium sulfate, which is an alkali sulfate).
Regarding claim 4, the ‘502 patent claims the fining package further comprises a multivalent compound in an amount from about 0.001 to about 1 mol% of the glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 1, claiming 0-1 mol% CeO2, which is a multivalent compound).
Regarding claim 5, the ‘502 patent claims the multivalent compound comprises Sn or Ce (see the ‘502 patent at claim 1, claiming 0-1 mol% CeO2).
Regarding claim 6, the ‘502 patent claims the multivalent compound comprises CeO2, SnO2, or Fe2O3 (see the ‘502 patent at claim 1, claiming 0-1 mol% CeO2).
Regarding claim 7, the ‘502 patent claims further comprising a nitrate (see the ‘502 patent at claim 22, claiming the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises … aluminum nitrate … or combinations thereof) in the amount of about 0.01% to about 0.1 mol% of the glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 7, claiming 4 mol % of at least one oxidizer fining agent, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 11, the ‘502 patent claims the glass composition comprises a borosilicate glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 1, claiming 60-72 mol % SiO2; … 0-3 mol % B2O3, which Examiner notes is a borosilicate).
Regarding claim 12, the ‘502 patent claims the glass composition comprises an aluminosilicate glass composition (see the ‘502 patent at claim 1, claiming 60-72 mol % SiO2; 6-14 mol% Al2O3, which Examiner notes is an aluminosilicate).
Regarding claim 14, the ‘502 patent claims the fining package is free of at least one of Cl, F, Sn, Ce, and As (See the ‘502 patent at claim 9, claiming the at least one oxidizer fining agent comprises sodium sulfate, which Examiner notes is free of Cl, F, Sn, Ce, and As).
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731