DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/6/25 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of copending Application No. 18/829188 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking profile of a pin (cl. 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, & 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (305286).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches a furniture assembly, comprising: A plurality of panels (A-E) interconnected to each other via a first fastening mechanism (b, b’, e) and a second fastening mechanism (c-d); wherein the first fastening mechanism includes one or more pinholes (b, b’) on at least one of the panels and one or more pins (e) extended from at least one of the panels to engage with, and being inserted in, complementary pinholes (Fig. 4); and wherein the second fastening mechanism includes one or more groove channels (d) on at least one of the panels and one or more projecting tongue profiles (c) extended from at least one of the panels to engage with, and being inserted in, complementary groove channels (lines 50-53); wherein the plurality of panels comprise: a back panel (B) having one or more of the pinholes (b, b’) arranged on a surface thereof (Fig. 2); at least two side panels (C, E), each having one or more of the pins (e) extending from a first longitudinal edge (Fig. 2) for insertion into the pinholes of the back panel (Fig. 4), and one or more projecting tongue profiles (c) extending from a first transverse edge (Fig. 2); and a top panel (D) having one or more of the groove channels (d) for slidable engagement with the projecting tongue profiles of the side panels (lines 50-52).
Regarding claim 6, Campbell teaches a plurality of panels (A-E) that further comprises at least one front panel (A) having one or more of the pinholes (b, b’) arranged on a surface thereof (Fig. 3); and the at least two side panels (C, E) further comprise one or more of the pins (e) extending from a second longitudinal edge (Fig. 2) for insertion into the pinholes of the front panel (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell teaches one or more tongue profiles (c) that are slidably engageable to the complementary groove channels (d) to form tongue and groove interlocking joint connections (lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell teaches pins (e) that each comprise a locking profile (i.e., a dovetail - see Fig. 2) for providing a self-interlocking mechanism between the panels upon engagement with the complementary pinhole (b, b’ - see lines 35-46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, & 8-9 are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (305286) in view of Astl (5131783).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including furniture assembly (Figs. 1-2), comprising: A plurality of panels (A-E) interconnected to each other via a first fastening mechanism (b, b’, e) and a second fastening mechanism (c); wherein the first fastening mechanism is located on a back panel (B), a front panel (A), and longitudinal edges of at least two side panels (C, E); wherein the second fastening mechanism includes one or more groove channels (d) on at least one of the panels and one or more projecting tongue profiles (c) extended from at least one of the panels to engage with, and being inserted in, complementary groove channels (lines 50-53); wherein the two side panels (C, E) each have one or more projecting tongue profiles (c) extending from a first transverse edge (Fig. 2); and a top panel (D) having one or more of the groove channels (d) for slidable engagement with the projecting tongue profiles of the side panels (lines 50-53). Campbell arguably fail(s) to teach pinholes & pins. However, Astl teaches a first fastening mechanism (1, 3) that includes one or more pinholes (3) on a panel (8) and one or more pins (1) extended from a longitudinal edge of a panel (9) to engage with, and being inserted in, complementary pinholes (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first fastening mechanism, as taught by Astl, for the first fastening mechanism of Campbell, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connect the front, back, & side panels to each other, and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known fastening means for another. Hence, Campbell as modified would teach a back panel (B of Campbell) having one or more of pinholes (3 of Astl) arranged on a surface thereof (implied by Fig. 2 of Campbell & Fig. 4 of Astl); at least two side panels (C, E), each having one or more of the pins (1 of Astl) extending from a first longitudinal edge (as in Fig. 4 of Astl) for insertion into the pinholes of the back panel (as in Fig. 4 of Astl).
Regarding claim 6, Campbell as modified teaches a front panel (A) having one or more of the pinholes (3 of Astl) arranged on a surface thereof (implied by Fig. 3 of Campbell & Fig. 4 of Astl); and the at least two side panels (C, E of Campbell) that further comprise one or more of the pins (1 of Astl) extending from a second longitudinal edge (as in Fig. 4 of Astl) for insertion into the pinholes of the front panel (as in Fig. 4 of Astl).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell teaches one or more tongue profiles (c) that are slidably engageable to the complementary groove channels (d) to form tongue and groove interlocking joint connections (lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 9, Astl teaches pins (1) each comprising a locking profile (2) for providing a self-interlocking mechanism (Figs. 3-4 & col. 3, lines 8-30) between panels (8-9) upon engagement with a complementary pinhole (3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/6/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Said arguments have been addressed in the prior art rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637