DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification lacks antecedent basis for at least the subject matter recited in claims 5, 12, 17, and 21-22.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, it is suggested to deleted the comma after "device" and before "comprising" in the preamble for ease of reading; and
in claim 24, it is suggested to deleted the comma after "composition" and before "comprising" in the preamble for ease of reading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7-1, 14-16, 19-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, 7-11, 14-16, 19-20, and 22, the claimed recite limitations after "preferably." The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Further, the limitations after "preferably" are a narrower scope than before. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation in the same claim may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, each of claims 2-4, 7-11, 14-16, 19-20, and 22 recites a broad recitation, and the claims also recite a narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as only requiring the broader limitation in each of claims 2-4, 7-11, 14-16, 19-20, and 22.
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites La1 to La110; however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear what the structure of La1 to La110 is required to be.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that La1 to La110 have the structures in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 18-21,and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. WO-2022086296-A1 (hereinafter "Kim-WO" and please see English language machine translation referred to herein "Kim-MT").
It is noted that WO-2022086296-A1 is a family member of KR-2022053508-A cited on the IDS of 07/28/2023.
Regarding claims 1-12, 18-21, and 23-24, Kim teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound represented by a formula (1) and a compound represented by a formula (2) (Kim-MT, page 2 of 81, lines 6-9), as hosts (Kim-MT, page 6 of 81, lines 17-20). Kim teaches the emitting layer comprises a dopant (Kim-MT, page 6 of 81, lines 16-18) and that, while the dopant is not particularly limited, Kim teaches examples on pages 168-170. Kim teaches examples of the compound of formula (1) on pages 9-142 including
(page 130). Kim teaches examples of the compound of formula (2) on pages 146-166 including
(page 165). Kim teaches the device has organic light emitting device has the beneficial properties of excellent driving voltage, efficiency, and lifetime (Kim-MT, page 3 of 81, lines 8-9).
Kim does not specifically exemplify a device wherein the Kim's compound of formula (1) is specifically one of the compounds that meets the claimed Formula 1 and Kim's compound of formula (2) is specifically one of the compounds that meets the claimed Formula 2. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select Kim's compound of formula (1) and Kim's compound of formula (2) from any of the compounds discussed above, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified compounds of Kim, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as hosts in the light emitting layer of the device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising a compound of Kim's formula (1) and a compound of Kim's formula (2) having the beneficial properties taught by Kim in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The compound of formula (1) of Kim meets the claimed Formula 1 and the compound
corresponds to the claimed compound B-1.
The compound of formula (2) of Kim meets the claimed Formula 2 and the compound
corresponds to the claimed compound A-1.
The dopant compound of Kim meets the claimed Formula 3.
Therefore, the modified device of Kim meets claims 1-12, 18-21, and 23-24.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. WO-2022086296-A1 (hereinafter "Kim-WO" and please see English language machine translation referred to herein "Kim-MT") and Boudreault et al. US-20200227659-A1 (hereinafter "Boudreault").
It is noted that WO-2022086296-A1 is a family member of KR-2022053508-A cited on the IDS of 07/28/2023.
Regarding claims 1-24, Kim teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound represented by a formula (1) and a compound represented by a formula (2) (Kim-MT, page 2 of 81, lines 6-9), as hosts (Kim-MT, page 6 of 81, lines 17-20). Kim teaches the emitting layer comprises a dopant (Kim-MT, page 6 of 81, lines 16-18) and that, while the dopant is not particularly limited, Kim teaches examples on pages 168-170. Kim teaches examples of the compound of formula (1) on pages 9-142 including
(page 130). Kim teaches examples of the compound of formula (2) on pages 146-166 including
(page 165). Kim teaches the device has organic light emitting device has the beneficial properties of excellent driving voltage, efficiency, and lifetime (Kim-MT, page 3 of 81, lines 8-9).
Kim does not specifically exemplify a device wherein the Kim's compound of formula (1) is specifically one of the compounds that meets the claimed Formula 1 and Kim's compound of formula (2) is specifically one of the compounds that meets the claimed Formula 2. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select Kim's compound of formula (1) and Kim's compound of formula (2) from any of the compounds discussed above, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified compounds of Kim, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as hosts in the light emitting layer of the device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising a compound of Kim's formula (1) and a compound of Kim's formula (2) having the beneficial properties taught by Kim in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Kim does not specifically exemplify a device wherein the dopant meets the claimed Formula 4. However, as noted above, Kim teaches the dopant in the light emitting layer is not particularly limited.
Boudreault teaches a compound comprising a ligand LA of Formula I, Formula II, Formula III, or Formula IV (¶ [0015]) in the missive layer of an organic OLED (¶ [0110] and ¶ [0118]) that as the beneficial properties of saturated emission color, narrower emission spectrum and improved device performance, such as high electroluminescence efficiency and lower power consumption (¶ [0163]). Boudreault teaches specific examples of the compound including
(page 151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dopant of Boudreault as the emitting dopant in the device of Kim, based on the teaching of Boudreault. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain saturated emission color, narrower emission spectrum, high electroluminescence efficiency, and lower power consumption, as taught by Boudreault.
The compound of formula (1) of Kim meets the claimed Formula 1 and the compound
corresponds to the claimed compound B-1.
The compound of formula (2) of Kim meets the claimed Formula 2 and the compound
corresponds to the claimed compound A-1.
The dopant compound of Boudreault meets the claimed Formula 3 and the compound
corresponds to the claimed compound RD-26.
Therefore, the modified device of Kim meets claims 1-24.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786