Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 5 and Claim 10 recites the Tg limitation with respect to the composition, however, the as-filed specification makes clear this Tg limitation is with respect to the bio-based starch mixed ester. (See ¶[0064] of the as-filed specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (U.S. 20030109698).
Tanaka exemplifies mixed starch esters in PCL or PLA compositions. Films are exemplified. See Table 1 and Table 2. The amount of starch ester exemplified in ¶[0095] is 100 parts and the amount of exemplified PCL/PLA is 30 parts. This 100/130 = 77 wt% of mixed starch ester and 23 wt% of PCL / PLA. The compositions anticipate the bio-based starch ester and biodegradable polymer different from the starch ester of Claim 1, the composition of Claim 8, the amounts of Claim 12 and the specific polymer of Claim 13.
The mixed esters exemplified are long chain / short chain (C12, C18, C17, C15) and C2 (acetate). (Example 1-5 in Table 1) and the degree of substitution of the acetate is always higher than that of the long chain (C12, C18, C17, C15) anticipating said limitation of Claim 1’s starch ester. Additionally, Tanaka teaches the individual and total degree of degree of substitution (DS) (OS is a typo for DS) in the range of 2.45 to 2.12 in the table which anticipates the degree of substation of Claim 1, and the total degree of substitution of Claim 6 and Claim 11. C12 is laurate and C18 is stearate anticipating Claim 4 and Claim 9.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the glass transition temperature of the composition and Tanaka teaches the glass transition temperature of the starched mixed ester. Tanaka is silent on the glass transition of the overall compositions exemplified. However, as the compositions of Tanaka have the degree of substitution recited by the starch in total amount and in having more acetate than long chain fatty acid as claimed, are in the overall compositional amount of starch and additionally biopolymer claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested exemplified compositions of Tanaka must have the recited glass transition temperature when appropriately tested. This anticipates the range of Claim 5 and Claim 10.
Claim 7 represents future intended use of films and there is no evidence the films of Tanaka discussed above could not be a sheet, packaging material or agricultural film, for instance. This anticipates Claim 7.
Tanaka teaches fillers for the films in ¶[0070] - ¶[0074] anticipating Claim 3.
While Tanaka is drawn to using the starch mixed esters without requiring plasticizer, Tanaka specifically suggests situations in which a plasticizer can also be used and the benefit is less of this extrinsic plasticizer can be use over the conventionally required amount. ¶[0060] This teaching specifically addressing additional plasticizers in used in Tanaka is sufficiently specific to anticipate the additional plasticizers of Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. 20030109698).
Claims 5 and 10 are considered in anticipation that Applicant amends Claims 5 and 10 to make the glass transition temperature with respect to bio-based starch mixed ester rather than the composition.
Tanaka is applied as above under §102.
Tanaka does not teach or suggest fillers or additional plasticizers in the compositions. (Claim 2 and Claim 3)
Tanaka teaches fillers for the films in ¶[0070] - ¶[0074].
While Tanaka is drawn to using the starch mixed esters without requiring plasticizer, Tanaka specifically suggests situations in which a plasticizer can also be used and the benefit is less of this extrinsic plasticizer can be use over the conventionally required amount. ¶[0060]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Tanaka such as the exemplified starches and PCL/PLA as discussed above by adding fillers and/or plasticizers because Tanaka teaches fillers and plasticizers may be added to the starch / biodegradable polymer compositions.
This reads over Claim 2 and Claim 3.
Tanaka exemplified mixed starches according to the claims with glass transition temperatures outside that of the claimed range of Claims 5 and 10.
In ¶[0060] Tanaka teaches the glass transition temperature of the starch is from 140 oC to 100 oC which overlaps the range of Claim 5 and Claim 10.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Tanaka such that the glass transition temperature of the resulting starches is from 100 to 140 oC because Tanaka teaches this range. This overlaps the recited range of Claim 5 and Claim 10.
Applicant presents no data to demonstrate an unexpected effect to difference in glass transition temperature of starch in the resulting compositions.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/227665 in view of Tanaka (U.S. 20030109698).
Claim 1-6 of 18/227665 recite a composition of bio-based starch and biodegradable polymer (For Claim 8-13) but do not recite a product or film of said composition. 18/227665 is silent on any application of the recited composition.
Tanaka, working in the field of making films and products with bio-based starch mixed esters and biodegradable polymers similar to 18/227665, exemplifies films out of this kind of starch and biodegradable polymer mixture.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Claims 1-6 of 18/227665 by making the compositions of 18/227655into films product of 18/227669 because Tanaka teaches this is known technique and end use for compositions of bio-based starched as claimed by 18/227665. This represents the application of known techniques, making films out of starch compositions, to yield the predictable result of a film of the composition recited by Claims 1-6 of 18/227669.
This reads over instant Claims 1, 4-6 and 8-13.
Claim 7 represents future intended use of films and there is no evidence the films of Tanaka discussed above could not be a sheet, packaging material or agricultural film, for instance. This reads over Claim 7.
18/227665 does not teach or suggest fillers or additional plasticizers in the compositions. (Claim 2 and Claim 3)
Tanaka teaches fillers for the films in ¶[0070] - ¶[0074].
While Tanaka is drawn to using the starch mixed esters without requiring plasticizer, Tanaka specifically suggests situations in which a plasticizer can also be used and the benefit is less of this extrinsic plasticizer can be use over the conventionally required amount. ¶[0060]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of 18/227665 as discussed above by adding fillers and/or plasticizers because Tanaka teaches fillers and plasticizers may be added to the starch / biodegradable polymer compositions, such as in 18/227665, as known additives.
This represents the combination of known prior art elements, fillers and plasticizers in starch film compositions, to yield the predictable result of filled or plasticized starch films.
This reads over Claim 2 and Claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/227663 in view of Tanaka (U.S. 2003010969).
Claims 1-4 of 18/227663 read over the biobased starch of instant Claims 1, 4-6 but does not teach or suggest the recited film or product of Claim 1 nor the additional biodegradable polymer of instant Claim 8.
Tanaka, working in the field of making films and products with bio-based starch mixed esters and biodegradable polymers similar to 18/227663, exemplifies a process in making the films of PCL or PLA and starch using long chain fatty acids as claimed in which the starch is prepared and then mixed with the desired biodegradable polymer. Additionally, Tanaka teaches the biobased starches of the invention permit the use of significantly less plasticizer in compositions of the starch with biodegradable polymers. ¶[0063]
18/227663 does not claim any use of the biobased starch recited but the exemplified starches of Tanaka meet the limitation of the claimed starches of 18/227663 indicating these kinds of starches are known to be used according to how Tanaka is using them.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Claim 1-4 of 18/227663 such that a biodegradable polymer such as PLA and PCL (exemplified by Tanaka) are added to the compositions of 18/277663 in similar ratios exemplified by Tanaka (77 wt% starch 23 wt% PLA/PCL) in order to make films of these starch based compositions as exemplified by Tanaka. This represents the use of combination of known prior art elements, bio based starches with biodegradable polymers to make films, to produce the predictable result of a film of the starch composition as claimed.
The above read over Claims 1, 4-6 and Claims 8-13.
Claim 7 represents future intended use of films and there is no evidence the films of Tanaka discussed above could not be a sheet, packaging material or agricultural film, for instance. This reads over Claim 7.
18/227663 does not teach or suggest fillers or additional plasticizers in the compositions. (Claim 2 and Claim 3)
Tanaka teaches fillers for the films in ¶[0070] - ¶[0074].
While Tanaka is drawn to using the starch mixed esters without requiring plasticizer, Tanaka specifically suggests situations in which a plasticizer can also be used and the benefit is less of this extrinsic plasticizer can be use over the conventionally required amount. ¶[0060]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of 18/227665 as discussed above by adding fillers and/or plasticizers because Tanaka teaches fillers and plasticizers may be added to the starch / biodegradable polymer compositions, such as in 18/227665, as known additives.
This represents the combination of known prior art elements, fillers and plasticizers in starch film compositions, to yield the predictable result of filled or plasticized starch films.
This reads over Claim 2 and Claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766