DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royak (US 20080204163 A1) in view of Reja et al (US 20190190560 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Royak discloses a radio frequency input/output circuit (fig. 2: a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013) comprising: a receive (Rx) path comprising a differential low noise amplifier (LNA) (the front-end circuit, a low-noise amplifier LNA, an additional filter, a bandpass filter and a balun Bal are arranged in the respective signal paths RX1, RX2 of receive path RX; paragraph 0014, 0044, 0050); a transmit (Tx) path comprising a pseudo-differential power amplifier (the front-end circuit, a power amplifier PA, an additional filter, a bandpass filter and a balun Bal are arranged in the respective signal paths TX1, TX2 of transmit path TX; paragraph 0045, 0050); a balun (Royak of fig. 1: Bal) configured to RF couple an RFIO terminal to the Rx path or to the Tx path ; the baluns Bal ensure that the unbalanced paths RX1, RX2, TX1, TX2 are balanced at the interfaces with WLAN IC RFIC ; paragraph 0043, 0051, 0053, 0055); and one or more selection components configured to selectively enable the Rx path or the Tx path (select signals; enable the Rx path or the Tx path; paragraph 0060, 0063-0064).
However, Royak does not specifically teach that the receive path comprises a low noise amplifier and the transmit path comprises a pseudo-differential power amplifier.
On the other hand, Reja et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a radio frequency input/output circuit with a composite inductor structure, where the radio front end 310 comprises the RFIO 300, a power amplifier 110, a low-noise amplifier 112 and an antenna 104 (paragraph 0068-0071). Furthermore, the composite inductor structure 302 comprises a first inductor LD, a second inductor LG and a third inductor LS. The first, second and third inductors LD, LG, LS are magnetically coupled together and are interwound to form the composite inductor structure 30. Note that an input terminal 306 of the RFIO 300 is coupled to an output of the PA 110 via a first capacitor 126. In the Tx mode, the PA 110 receives an RF input signal RF-IN via a second capacitor 128 and outputs a PA output signal PA-OUT that is received at the input terminal 306 via the first capacitor 126. An output terminal 308 of the RFIO 300 is coupled to an input of the LNA 112 via a third capacitor 130. In the Rx mode, the LNA 112 receives a LNA input signal LNA- IN from the output terminal 308 via the third capacitor 130 (paragraph 0073, 0078-0083). In addition, the first inductor LD is for output matching, and the second inductor LG is for input matching (paragraph 0086-0093). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Reja to the communication system of Royak in order to provide a method for a radio frequency input/output circuit for radio transceivers.
Regarding claim 8, Royak as modified discloses a radio frequency input/output circuit (a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013), wherein the Rx path and the Tx path are configured to operate at different frequencies ( read as: first frequency band FB1, and the second frequency band FB2 are transmitted in the two second signal branches RX2, TX2 ; it means that they operate at different frequencies; paragraph 0044-0045).
Regarding claim 12, Royak as modified discloses a radio frequency input/output circuit (a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013), wherein the one or more selection components comprises one or more switches, and wherein the one or more switches are configured to selectively disable the Rx path or the Tx path, wherein the one or more switches are in parallel to the Rx path or the Tx path (first signal paths TX1, RX1 have a first noth ; inductors L1, L3, and capacitor C4 form a form a first resonant circuit; inductors L2, L3, and capacitor C5 form a second parallel resonant circuit; paragraph 0063-0067).
Regarding claim 13, Royak discloses a system (fig. 2: a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013) comprising: a plurality of antenna elements; and a front end circuit communicatively coupled with the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the frontend circuit comprises an RFIO circuit, the RFIO circuit comprising: a Rx path comprising a differential LNA (the front-end circuit, a low-noise amplifier LNA, an additional filter, a bandpass filter and a balun Bal are arranged in the respective signal paths RX1, RX2 of receive path RX; paragraph 0014, 0044, 0050); a Tx path comprising a pseudo-differential PA (the front-end circuit, a power amplifier PA, an additional filter, a bandpass filter and a balun Bal are arranged in the respective signal paths TX1, TX2 of transmit path TX; paragraph 0045, 0050) ; a balun (Royak of fig. 1: Bal) configured to RF couple an RFIO terminal to the Rx path or to the Tx path (Royak of fig. 1: Bal ; the baluns Bal ensure that the unbalanced paths RX1, RX2, TX1, TX2 are balanced at the interfaces with WLAN IC RFIC ; paragraph 0043, 0051, 0053); and one or more selection components configured to selectively enable the Rx path or the Tx path (select signals; enable the Rx path or the Tx path; paragraph 0060, 0063-0064).
However, Royak does not specifically disclose
On the other hand, Reja et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a radio frequency input/output circuit with a composite inductor structure, where the radio front end 310 comprises the RFIO 300, a power amplifier 110, a low-noise amplifier 112 and an antenna 104 (paragraph 0068-0071). Furthermore, the composite inductor structure 302 comprises a first inductor LD, a second inductor LG and a third inductor LS. The first, second and third inductors LD, LG, LS are magnetically coupled together and are interwound to form the composite inductor structure 30. Note that an input terminal 306 of the RFIO 300 is coupled to an output of the PA 110 via a first capacitor 126. In the Tx mode, the PA 110 receives an RF input signal RF-IN via a second capacitor 128 and outputs a PA output signal PA-OUT that is received at the input terminal 306 via the first capacitor 126. An output terminal 308 of the RFIO 300 is coupled to an input of the LNA 112 via a third capacitor 130. In the Rx mode, the LNA 112 receives a LNA input signal LNA- IN from the output terminal 308 via the third capacitor 130 (paragraph 0073, 0078-0083). In addition, the first inductor LD is for output matching, and the second inductor LG is for input matching (paragraph 0086-0093). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Reja to the communication system of Royak in order to provide a method for a radio frequency input/output circuit for radio transceivers.
Regarding claim 19, Royak as modified discloses a system (fig. 2: a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013), wherein the one or more selection components are configured to transfer power to the PA when operating in a Tx mode and to transfer power to the LNA when operating an Rx mode (paragraph 0059-0063).
Regarding claim 20, Royak as modified discloses a system (fig. 2: a multiband circuit that includes a signal path comprising a first signal branch that includes a first circuit that is transmissive in a first frequency band and a second signal branch that includes a second circuit that is transmissive in a second frequency band; abstract, paragraph 0012-0013), wherein the Rx path and the Tx path are configured to operate at different frequencies ( read as: first frequency band FB1, and the second frequency band FB2 are transmitted in the two second signal branches RX2, TX2 ; it means that they operate at different frequencies; paragraph 0044-0045).
Claims 2, 3, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royak (US 20080204163 A1) in view of Reja et al (US 20190190560 A1) as applied to claims 1, 13 above, and further in view of Song (US PAT 8279018).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Royak and Reja disclose everything claimed as explained above, except the features of a balun that comprises a first turn connected to the RFIO terminal, a second turn connected to the Rx path, and a third turn connected to the Tx path.
However, Song discloses the balun comprises a first turn (Song of Fig. 4: L1) connected to the RFIO terminal, a second turn (Song of Fig. 4: L2) connected to the Rx path, and a third turn (Song of Fig. 4: L3) connected to the Tx path (Col. 1 line 60-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Song to the modify system of Reja and Royak in order to use Song’s balun in Reja and Royak system for optimizing receiver performance (Song Col. 1 line 60-67).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Royak and Reja disclose everything claimed as explained above, except the features of a balun that comprises a first inductor coupled to the RFIO terminal, a second inductor connected to the Rx path, and a third inductor connected to the Tx path.
However, Song discloses the balun comprises a first inductor (Song of Fig. 4: L1) coupled to the RFIO terminal, a second inductor (Song of Fig. 4: L2) connected to the Rx path, and a third inductor (Song of Fig. 4 : L3) connected to the Tx path. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Song to the modify system of Reja and Royak in order to use Song’s balun in Reja and Royak system for optimizing receiver performance (Song Col. 1 line 60-67).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royak (US 20080204163 A1) in view of Reja et al (US 20190190560 A1) as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of of Cassen (US PAT 6094161).
Regarding claim 10, Royak and Reja disclose everything claimed as explained above, except the features of the RFIO circuit that comprises at least a portion of a front end circuit of a phased array antenna.
However, Cassen discloses RFIO circuit comprises at least a portion of a front end circuit of a phased array antenna (Cassen Col. 7 line 35-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cassen to the modify system of Reja and Royak in order to use Cassan's antenna in Reja and Royak system for providing reduced cost, greater reliability, and greater maintainability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 8, 10-15, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641