DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “the boundary is a fixed physical boundary”. It appears that there is no support for this limitation. If fact, figure 4 and figure 14 shows boundaries at different locations. In addition, Applicant’s publication mentions in [0066], that each pixel P corresponding to an image signal output from the external device 3 is illustrated with bold lines illustrated in FIG. 4. However, it does not mention that the bold lines are physical. Claim 19 recites similar limitations. Other claims are rejected because of the dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suyama et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0321155 (hereinafter Suyama) in view of Phan U.S. Patent No. 6,661,429 (hereinafter Phan) and further in view of Minaki et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0100358 (hereinafter Minaki).
Consider claim 1, Suyama teaches a display device comprising: a plurality of sub pixels including a plurality of first sub pixels, a plurality of second sub pixels, and a plurality of third sub pixels that are disposed in a matrix of a row-column configuration in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, in a plan view (Figure 12a, R, G, B in row and column direction), included in a plurality of pixels including the sub pixels in a display region (Figure 12a); and a drive circuit configured to drive the first sub pixels, the second sub pixels, and the third sub pixels based on a plurality of pieces of gradation data of each of the plurality of pixels ([0049] and figure 1, grayscale values and circuit unit 11).
Suyama does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels includes two of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, two of the third sub pixels, and a boundary between the two pixels, such that in the each pair of pixels, only two sub-pixels are arranged in the first direction and only three sub pixels are arranged in the second direction, one of the two of the first sub pixels and one of the two of the second sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in one of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the second sub pixels and one of the two of the third sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in the other of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Phan teaches dynamic pixels 18 in figure 2a, and further teaches wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels (Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column). In addition, the combination of Suyama and Phan teaches each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels (Phan: Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column) includes two of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, two of the third sub pixels (Suyama: Figure 12a, sub pixels located in the first-second-third row and first-second column), and a boundary between the two pixels, such that in the each pair of pixels, only two sub-pixels are arranged in the first direction and only three sub pixels are arranged in the second direction (Phan: Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column), one of the two of the first sub pixels and one of the two of the second sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in one of the pair of pixels (Suyama: Figure 12a, first row, first-second column), the other of the two of the second sub pixels and one of the two of the third sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in the other of the pair of pixels (Suyama: Figure 12a, third row, first-second column), the boundary is fixed physical boundary (Figure 2a, boundary (see annotation above) is fixed around G and R and physical since it is part of pixels) overlapping the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels that are included in both of the pair of pixels (Suyama: Figure 12a, second row, first-second column. Phan teaches the second row are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels 18 (pair of pixels 18 corresponding to the first-second-third row and first-second column)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sub pixels disposed across the boundary and included in both of pair of pixels as taught by Phan with the benefit that high-frequency addressing of the dynamic pixels 18 will cause the human eye to be tricked into perceiving a more exact representation of the displayed picture.
Suyama does not appear to specifically disclose the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Minaki teaches subpixel rendering (abstract) and further teaches the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels [0078] and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel [0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate gradation data based on adjacent or neighboring pixels as taught by Minaki with the benefit that the subpixel rendering is a technique to increase the apparent resolution of a display device by rendering subpixels (e.g., red (R) subpixels, green (G) subpixels, and blue (B) subpixels) based on the physical pixel layout as suggested in [0037]. In addition, techniques mitigate the image artifact, distortion and/or color shift as suggested in [0038].
Consider claim 16, Suyama, Phan and Minaki teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Suyama teaches the first, second, and third sub pixels are repeatedly disposed in the first direction in the order as listed (Figure 12(a), R G B in X-direction), and the first, third, and second sub pixels are repeatedly disposed in the second direction in the order as listed (Figure 12(a), R B G in Y-direction).
Consider claim 18, Suyama, Phan and Minaki teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Suyama teaches wherein the color of the first sub pixels is red, the color of the second sub pixels is green, and the color of the third sub pixels is blue (Figure 12a, R G B).
Consider claim 20, Suyama, Phan, Minaki teach all the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Phan teaches wherein the boundary has a first portion which is surrounded (Figure 2a, center portion of G (see also annotation above which includes a boundary region)) by a first part of the other of the two of the third sub pixels (Figure 2a, top part of G) and a second part of the other of the two of the third sub pixels (Figure 2a, bottom part of G), and the boundary has a second portion which is surrounded (Figure 2a, center portion of R (see also annotation above)) by a first part of the other of the two of the first sub pixels (Figure 2a, top portion of R) and a second part of the other of the two of the first sub pixels (Figure 2a, bottom portion of R), see motivation to combine in claim 1.
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et. al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0364075 (hereinafter Sato) in view of Phan and further in view of Minaki.
Consider claim 19, Sato teaches a display device comprising: a plurality of sub pixels including first sub pixels, a plurality of second sub pixels, and a plurality of third sub pixels that are disposed in a matrix of arow-column configuration in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, in a display region, in a plan view a plurality of pixels including the sub pixels (Figure 12, R, G, B in row and column direction); and a drive circuit configured to drive the first sub pixels, the second sub pixels, and the third sub pixels based on a plurality of pieces of gradation data of each of the plurality of pixels (Figure 1, drive circuit 22 and RGB in figure 12).
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels includes three of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, one of the third sub pixels, and a boundary between the two pixels, such that in the each pair of pixels, only two sub-pixels are arranged in the first direction and only three sub pixels are arranged in the second direction, a first one of the three first sub pixels and one of the two second sub pixels are included in one of the pair of pixels without crossing the boundary, a second one of the three first sub pixels and the other of the two second sub pixels are included in the other of the pair of pixels without crossing the boundary, a third one of the three first sub pixels and the one third sub pixel are disposed across and included in both of the pair of pixels crossing the boundary.
However, Phan teaches dynamic pixels 18 in figure 2a, and further teaches wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels (Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column). In addition, the combination of Sato and Phan teaches wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels (Phan: Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column) includes three of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, one of the third sub pixels (Sato: Figure 12, sub pixels located in the first-second-third row and first-second column), and a boundary between the two pixels, such that in the each pair of pixels, only two sub-pixels are arranged in the first direction and only three sub pixels are arranged in the second direction (Phan: Figure 2a, dynamic pixels 18 located in the first-second-third row and first-second column), a first one of the three first sub pixels and one of the two second sub pixels are included in one of the pair of pixels without crossing the boundary (Sato: Figure 12, first row, first-second column), a second one of the three first sub pixels and the other of the two second sub pixels are included in the other of the pair of pixels without crossing the boundary (Sato: Figure 12, third row, first-second column), the boundary is fixed physical boundary (Phato: Figure 2a, boundary (see annotation above) is fixed around G and R and physical since it is part of pixels) overlapping a third one of the three first sub pixels and the one third sub pixel that area included in both of the pair of pixels crossing the boundary (Sato: Figure 12, second row, first-second column. Phan teaches the second row are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels 18 (pair of pixels 18 corresponding to the first-second-third row and first-second column)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sub pixels disposed across the boundary and included in both of pair of pixels as taught by Phan with the benefit that high-frequency addressing of the dynamic pixels 18 will cause the human eye to be tricked into perceiving a more exact representation of the displayed picture.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Minaki teaches subpixel rendering (abstract) and further teaches the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels [0078] and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel [0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate gradation data based on adjacent or neighboring pixels as taught by Minaki with the benefit that the subpixel rendering is a technique to increase the apparent resolution of a display device by rendering subpixels (e.g., red (R) subpixels, green (G) subpixels, and blue (B) subpixels) based on the physical pixel layout as suggested in [0037]. In addition, techniques mitigate the image artifact, distortion and/or color shift as suggested in [0038].
Consider claim 21, Sato, Phan, Minaki teach all the limitations of claim 19.
In addition, Phan teaches wherein the boundary has a first portion which is surrounded (Figure 2a, center portion of G (see also annotation above which includes a boundary region)) by a first part of the third one of the three first sub pixels (Figure 2a, top part of G) and a second part of the third one of the three first sub pixels (Figure 2a, bottom part of G), and the boundary has a second portion which is surrounded (Figure 2a, center portion of R (see also annotation above)) by a first part of the one third sub pixel (Figure 2a, top portion of R) and a second part of the one third sub pixel (Figure 2a, bottom portion of R), see motivation to combine in claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claim 2 is related to a display device comprising: a plurality of first sub pixels, a plurality of second sub pixels, and a plurality of third sub pixels included in a plurality of pixels in a display region; and a drive circuit configured to drive the first sub pixels, the second sub pixels, and the third sub pixels based on a plurality of pieces of gradation data of each of the plurality of pixels, wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels includes two of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, two of the third sub pixels, and a boundary between the two pixels, one of the two of the first sub pixels and one of the two of the second sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in one of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the second sub pixels and one of the two of the third sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in the other of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels, the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel, the gradation data includes first gradation data, second gradation data, and third gradation data, and the drive circuit is configured to generate first sub gradation data by using the first gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the first sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the first gradation data of a pixel including the first sub pixel and drive the first sub pixel based on the first sub gradation data, generate second sub gradation data by using the second gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the second sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the second gradation data of a pixel including the second sub pixel and drive the second sub pixel based on the second sub gradation data, generate third sub gradation data by using the third gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the third sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the third gradation data of a pixel including the third sub pixel and drive the third sub pixel based on the third sub gradation data, generate a virtual pixel adjacent to each of the plurality of pixels outside the display region, set the gradation data of the virtual pixel as the same data as the gradation data of the pixel adjacent to the virtual pixel, and use the first gradation data included in the gradation data of the virtual pixel when generating the first sub gradation data of a first sub pixel included in the corresponding pair of pixels positioned in the periphery of the display region.
Independent claim 7 is related to a display device comprising: according to wherein a plurality of first sub pixels, a plurality of second sub pixels, and a plurality of third sub pixels included in a plurality of pixels in a display region; and a drive circuit configured to drive the first sub pixels, the second sub pixels, and the third sub pixels based on a plurality of pieces of gradation data of each of the plurality of pixels, wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels includes two of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, two of the third sub pixels, and a boundary between the two pixels, one of the two of the first sub pixels and one of the two of the second sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in one of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the second sub pixels and one of the two of the third sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in the other of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels, the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel, the gradation data includes first gradation data, second gradation data, and third gradation data, the drive circuit is configured to generate first sub gradation data by using the first gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the first sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the first gradation data of a pixel including the first sub pixel and drive the first sub pixel based on the first sub gradation data, generate second sub gradation data by using the second gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the second sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the second gradation data of a pixel including the second sub pixel and drive the second sub pixel based on the second sub gradation data, generate third sub gradation data by using the third gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the third sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the third gradation data of a pixel including the third sub pixel and drive the third sub pixel based on the third sub gradation data, generate the first sub gradation data by using the first gradation data multiplied by a coefficient that weights the first gradation data, generate the second sub gradation data by using the second gradation data multiplied by a coefficient that weights the second gradation data, and generate the third sub gradation data by using the third gradation data multiplied by a coefficient that weights the third gradation data, a virtual figure formed by a plurality of first virtual lines, a plurality of second virtual lines, and a plurality of third virtual lines has a line-symmetric shape with respect to a straight line serving as an axis of symmetry and passing through an area centroid of the pair of pixels in a plan view, the plurality of first virtual lines are straight lines connecting, in a plan view of each of the two first sub pixels included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the first sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the first sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the first sub pixel, each first virtual line indicating the relation between the first sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of first gradation data used to generate the first sub gradation data, the plurality of second virtual lines are straight lines connecting, in a plan view of each of the two second sub pixels each included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the second sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the second sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the second sub pixel, each second virtual line indicating the relation between the second sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of second gradation data used to generate the second sub gradation data, the plurality of third virtual lines are straight lines connecting, in a plan view of each of the two third sub pixels each included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the third sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the third sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the third sub pixel, each third virtual line indicating the relation between the third sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of third gradation data used to generate the third sub gradation data, the coefficients are associated with the first virtual lines, the second virtual lines, and the third virtual lines in accordance with the relation between the first sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of first gradation data, the relation between the second sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of second gradation data, and the relation between the third sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of third gradation data, and two of the coefficients are equal to each other, the two coefficients being related to two straight lines having a line-symmetric relation among the plurality of first virtual lines, the plurality of second virtual lines, and the plurality of third virtual lines.
Independent claim 8 is related to a display device comprising: according to wherein a plurality of first sub pixels, a plurality of second sub pixels, and a plurality of third sub pixels included in a plurality of pixels in a display region; and a drive circuit configured to drive the first sub pixels, the second sub pixels, and the third sub pixels based on a plurality of pieces of gradation data of each of the plurality of pixels, wherein each pair of pixels including two pixels adjacent to each other among the plurality of pixels includes two of the first sub pixels, two of the second sub pixels, two of the third sub pixels, and a boundary between the two pixels, one of the two of the first sub pixels and one of the two of the second sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in one of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the second sub pixels and one of the two of the third sub pixels are disposed without crossing the boundary and included in the other of the pair of pixels, the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels are disposed across the boundary and included in both of the pair of pixels, the drive circuit is configured to allocate the gradation data of one of the plurality of pixels to the gradation data of another pixel adjacent to the one pixel among the plurality of pixels and drive the first, second, and third sub pixels included in the other pixel based on the gradation data of the other pixel, the gradation data includes first gradation data, second gradation data, and third gradation data the drive circuit is configured to generate first sub gradation data by using the first gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the first sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the first gradation data of a pixel including the first sub pixel and drive the first sub pixel based on the first sub gradation data, generate second sub gradation data by using the second gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the second sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the second gradation data of a pixel including the second sub pixel and drive the second sub pixel based on the second sub gradation data, generate third sub gradation data by using the third gradation data of a pixel adjacent to one of the third sub pixels among the plurality of pixels and the third gradation data of a pixel including the third sub pixel and drive the third sub pixel based on the third sub gradation data, generate the first sub gradation data by using the plurality of pieces of first gradation data multiplied by coefficients that weight the first gradation data, generate the second sub gradation data by using the plurality of pieces of second gradation data multiplied by coefficients that weight the second gradation data, and generate the third sub gradation data by using the plurality of pieces of third gradation data multiplied by coefficients that weight the third gradation data, a virtual figure formed by a plurality of first virtual lines, a plurality of second virtual lines, and a plurality of third virtual lines has a point-symmetric shape with respect to a fixed point at the area centroid of the pair of pixels in a plan view, the plurality of first virtual lines are straight lines connecting, in a plan view of each of the two first sub pixels included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the first sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the first sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the first sub pixel, each first virtual line indicating the relation between the first sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of first gradation data used to generate the first sub gradation data, the plurality of second virtual lines are straight lines connecting, in a plan view of each of the two second sub pixels each included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the second sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the second sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the second sub pixel, each second virtual line indicating the relation between the second sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of second gradation data used to generate the second sub gradation data, the plurality of third virtual lines are straight lines connecting in a plan view of each of the two third sub pixels each included in the pair of pixels, the area centroid of the third sub pixel to one of the area centroid of the pixel including the third sub pixel and the area centroids of a plurality of the pixels adjacent to the third sub pixel, each third virtual line indicating the relation between the third sub gradation data and one of the plurality of pieces of third gradation data used to generate the third sub gradation data, the plurality of coefficients are associated with the plurality of first virtual lines, the plurality of second virtual lines, and the plurality of third virtual lines in accordance with the relation between the first sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of first gradation data, the relation between the second sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of second gradation data, and the relation between the third sub gradation data and each of the plurality of pieces of third gradation data, and two of the coefficients are equal to each other, the two coefficients being related to two straight lines having a point-symmetric relation among the plurality of first virtual lines, the plurality of second virtual lines, and the plurality of third virtual lines.Prior arts do not appear to disclose all the above underlined limitations in combination to other limitations in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13, Applicant argues that “Phan does not disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "the boundary is a fixed physical boundary overlapping the other of the two of the third sub pixels and the other of the two of the first sub pixels that are included in both of the pair of pixels" as presently recited in independent Claim 1, and for example, as illustrated in Fig. 5. Similarly, Phan does not disclose, teach, or suggest "the boundary is a fixed physical boundary overlapping a third one of the three first sub pixels and the one third sub pixel that are included in both of the pair of pixels crossing the boundary" as presently recited in independent Claim 19, and for example, as illustrated in Fig. 12.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Phan teaches the fixed physical boundary as annotated above in figure 2a.
On page 14, Applicant argues that Phan fails to teach the limitations of new claims 20 and 21. The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Phan teaches the portions mentioned in the claims as annotated above in figure 2a (see also the rejection corresponding to claims 20 and 21).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621