DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. Applicant claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/397,975, filed on August 15, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pugh et al. (US20210142497A1 – hereinafter “Pugh”).
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pugh et al. (US20210142497A1 – hereinafter “Pugh”) in view of Boardman et al. (US 9495764 B1 – hereinafter “Boardman”).
Claim 1.
Pugh disclose a method in a computing device, the method comprising:
capturing, via a depth sensor ([0031]: "The user device 210 can include .. . one or
more sensors (e.g., cameras 213, IMUs 214, depth sensors 215) ... "), (i) a point cloud depicting ([0042]: "The metric scale information is preferably a point cloud (e.g. a set of points such as 50 points, 100 points, etc.)") an object resting on a support surface ([0103] : "S450 preferably identifies horizontal planes (e.g., floors), but can additionally or alternatively identify vertical planes (e.g., walls)), and (ii) a two-dimensional image depicting the object and the support surface ([0036]: "S100 preferably includes receiving and/or capturing images and associated camera and sensor data");
detecting, from the point cloud, the support surface and a portion of an upper surface of the object ([0103] : "S450 preferably identifies horizontal planes (e.g., floors), but can additionally or alternatively identify vertical planes (e.g., walls); [0104]: "determining horizontal planes based on fitting planes to point clouds with a surface normal parallel to the gravity vector … determining floor planes by filtering point clouds for points labeled as semantic floor classes"; [0122]: "information identifying pixels that correspond to key geometric surfaces (e.g., walls, floors, horizontal surfaces, etc.");
labelling a first region of the image corresponding to the portion of the upper surface as a foreground region ([0078]: "Segmenting the scene S420 preferably functions to determine semantic probabilities for each of a set of pixels”; Abstract: "generating at least one segmentation mask that identifies real objects included in the photorealistic image"; [0080]: "determining a class (and/or a class probability) for each of pixel forming the segments"; [0128]: "The occlusion masks are determined based on ... the semantic segmentation map”; [0121]: “S500 preferably functions to determine foreground occlusion masks”);
based on the first region, performing a foreground segmentation operation on the image to segment the upper surface of the object from the image ([0078]: "performing at least one semantic segmentation process (e.g., using a classifier, a neural network, a convolutional neural network)"; object segmentation: [0124]: "identifying edge pixels included in edges of
real objects included in the photorealistic image, by using at least one generated object
mask");
determining, based on the point cloud, a three-dimensional position of the upper surface segmented from the image (3D positioning: Paragraph [0084]: "estimating dense pixelwise geometry S430 functions to determine a dense depth map for the image"; Abstract: "generating a dense depthmap that includes depth estimates for each pixel of the photorealistic image"; Point cloud fusion: [0108]: "fusing the photogrammetry point cloud with the neural depth map"; [0106] : "combining data to determine a fused depth map
for the image"); and
determining dimensions of the object based on the three-dimensional position of the upper surface ([0092] : "using metric scale depth estimates from depth sensors"; Height calculations: [0101]: "computing the camera height can be computed using the following equation: [mathematical formula]"; Object height: [0099]: "global scale can be determined by detecting heights of objects"; Pugh provides 3D positions with metric scale, which inherently enables dimensional determination).
Pugh teaches all of the limitations with minimal differences. The examiner believes that the “dimensions of the object based on the three-dimensional position of the upper surface” is inherently taught since the Pugh provides the technical implementation framework. Nevertheless Boardman adds the explicit dimensional measurement focus (dimension calculation: C30:L50-55 ”In block 630, the routine then uses the generated model to estimate the object volume, and to optionally calculate or otherwise estimate measurement values for other attributes of the object”; volume calculation: C31:L3-7, L25-30, and L49-51 “the calculation of volume of an object may be performed based on measuring the amount of space between the surface of the pile and the ground it sits on, referred to generally in this specific example as the top and base surfaces, respectively … object volume is obtained by computing the volume of the object component … the volume may be obtained by computing the integral of the difference between the top field and a field derived from the bare earth model.”).
Therefore, in the event Pugh does not teach the dimensional measurement it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Pugh and Boardman before the effective filing date to obviate the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to that both references address mobile device-based object analysis, they offer complementary solutions such as 3D scene processing enhances measurement accuracy, there is an industry trend toward mobile AR applications combining multiple sensor modalities, and an expected benefit from the combination of improved dimensional accuracy through sophisticated 3D processing. Finally, there would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining Pugh and Boardman including compatible mobile hardware platforms, feasibility of real-time 3D processing on mobile devices, and ARKit/ARCore platforms demonstrate combination of depth sensing with measurement.
Claims 2 and 12.
Pugh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting the dimensions on a display of the computing device (Pugh [0031]: "The user device 210 can include ... one or more displays ... displays rendered scenes").
Claims 3 and 13.
Pugh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: labelling a second region of the image corresponding to the support surface as a background region (Pugh [0078]: "generate object masks" and [0128]: "background region" classifications).
Claims 4 and 14.
Pugh discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: detecting, in the point cloud, a further surface distinct from the upper surface and the support surface (Pugh [0103]: "identify vertical planes (e.g., walls)") ; and labelling a third region of the image corresponding to the further surface as a probably background region (Pugh [0080]: multiple object classifications with probability scores; [0139]: background mask).
Claims 5 and 15.
Pugh discloses method of claim 4, wherein detecting the further surface includes detecting a portion of the point cloud with a normal vector different from a normal vector of the upper surface by at least a threshold (Pugh [0104]: "surface normal parallel to the gravity vector" and [0113]: "surface normal accuracy"; [0115]: “A threshold over Euclidean distance can be
used.”).
Claims 6 and 16.
Pugh discloses method of claim 4, further comprising: labelling a remainder of the image as a probable foreground region (Pugh [0080]: multi-class pixel classification with probability assignments; “S500 preferably functions to determine foreground occlusion masks”).
Claim 11.
A computing device, comprising: a depth sensor; and a processor configured to …
The teachings of Pugh or Pugh and Boardman renders claim(s) 11 anticipated/obvious for the reasons discussed above for claim 1, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Pugh or Pugh and Boardman as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Azam et al. (US 20240054621 A1 – hereinafter “Azam”).
Claims 7 and 17.
Pugh discloses method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to determining dimensions of the object
Pugh discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “determining whether the point cloud exhibits multipath artifacts by: selecting a candidate point on the upper surface; determining a reflection score for the candidate point; and comparing the reflection score to a threshold.” However, Azam in the same field of endeavor teaches determining whether the point cloud exhibits multipath artifacts ([0007] : “When generating the point cloud, artifacts (i.e., aberrations) can be unintendedly captured by the TOF scanner.”; [0048]: “removing reflection artifacts from point clouds”; [0091]) by: selecting a candidate point on the upper surface ([0012]: "selecting candidate 3D points encompassed by the bounding coordinates in the 3D space"; [0107]: "The software application 604 is configured to pick the 3D data points inside the bounding box”); determining a reflection score for the candidate point; and comparing the reflection score to a threshold ([0012]: "clustering the candidate 3D points by intensity values or reflectance values; and selecting at least one of the 3D points as the reflection artifact based at least in part on a threshold associated with the intensity values or the reflectance values")).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Pugh and Azam before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to solve the common problem that both references address (depth sensor accuracy issues) using compatible technologies (ToF sensors and point cloud processing) to provide complementary solutions (Pugh provides mobile dimensioning framework, Azam adds artifact detection) to address an industry need of mobile dimensioning with artifact-free point clouds for accuracy. The combination of Pugh and Azam has a reasonable expectation of success since both references use similar ToF sensor technology with compatible point cloud processing pipelines and Azam's artifact detection could enhance Pugh's dimensioning accuracy.
Claims 8 and 18.
The method of claim 7, wherein selecting the candidate point includes identifying a non-planar region of the upper surface (Boardman C16:L35-40 “the surface of the object 200 may have various irregularities or other features that may be identified in the image”), and selecting the candidate point from the non-planar region (Azam [0012]: "selecting candidate 3D points encompassed by the bounding coordinates in the 3D space"; [0107]: "The software application 604 is configured to pick the 3D data points inside the bounding box”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Pugh, Boardman, and Azam before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to use Boardman’s surface irregularity detection to identify areas with “curvature,” “lack of continuity,” and/or “cavities, indentation, protrusions” (Boardman C16), apply Pugh’s surface normal analysis to quantify areas that the surface normals deviate from an expected planar projection, and use Azam’s candidate point selection methodology to select specific points within the identified non-planar regions for artifact analysis to yield expected results of improving the detection artifacts in of non-planar areas detected by the depth sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied, yet considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed on the PTO-892 form.
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674