DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on August 6, 2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered. Rejections have been maintained where arguments were not persuasive. Also, new rejections based on the amended claims have been set forth. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are rejected, and this action is made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15 overcome the previous 101 rejection. Accordingly, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues paragraphs [0025], [0053], and [0066] of Lee are silent on, wherein at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge and a length of charging time, as claimed.
Lee et al. (US 2017/0246961) teaches a logic that when executed is operable to cause one or more processors (302) (Fig.3) to perform operations comprising controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station based on a target charging time (Par.25, 40 and 66; Control power delivered based on the received charging requirements and associated charging time.), wherein the at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge (Par.40 and 66; Charging level) and a length of charging time (Par.24-25 and 53).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1; Line 9; Claim 8, Line 8; and Claim 15, Line 5 recite the limitation “based the target charging time”.
The limitation of Claim 1; Line 9; Claim 8, Line 8; and Claim 15, Line 5 should recite: based on the target charging time.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bove, JR. et al. (US 2024/0190289) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0246961).
Claims 1 and 8: Bove. JR. teaches a system (100) (Fig.1) comprising:
one or more processors (216) (Par.42) (Fig.2); and
logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media with program instructions stored thereon, the program instructions when executed by the one or more processors (216) (Par.42) and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors (216) to perform operations comprising:
computing a target charging time to charge a battery (116) (Fig.1) of an electric vehicle (110) (Par49);
computing a total play length of one or more media items (Par.50);
synchronizing the target charging time with the total play length (Par.50); and
playing the one or more media items in the electric vehicle (110) while the battery (116) of the electric vehicle (110) is being charged (Par.51).
Bove, JR does not explicitly teach controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station based on the target charging time and the total play length, wherein the at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge and a length of charging time.
Lee teaches a logic that when executed is operable to cause one or more processors (302) (Fig.3) to perform operations comprising controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station based on a target charging time (Par.25, 40 and 66), wherein the at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge (Par.40 and 66; Charging level) and a length of charging time (Par.24-25 and 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Lee in the system of Bove, JR. to have had optimized different performance criteria such as a maximum charging time (Par.67).
Claims 2 and 9: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as disclosed above. Bove, JR. teaches wherein the one or more media items are associated with one or more of movie media items and interactive gaming media items (Par.52).
Claims 3 and 10: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the target charging time is substantially the same as the total play length (Par.52 and 54).
Claims 5 and 12: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the total play length is based on the target charging time (Par.50).
Claims 7 and 14: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors (216) to perform operations comprising playing the one or more media items in the electric vehicle (110) while the battery (116) of the electric vehicle (110) is being charged (Par.51) (Fig.1; Media being displayed in device 102a).
Bove, JR. does not explicitly teach while the electric vehicle is parked in an enclosed area.
Lee discloses a battery of an electric vehicle (118) is charged while parked in an enclosed area (Par.41; Parking garage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Lee in the system of Bove, JR. to have had charged vehicles at different locations (Par.41) thereby increasing charger use and protecting the vehicle from the elements while charging.
Claim 15: Bove. JR. teaches a computer-implemented method (Fig.3) comprising:
computing a target charging time to charge a battery (116) (Fig.1) of an electric vehicle (110) (Par.49) (Fig.3, 302);
computing a total play length of one or more media items (Par.50);
synchronizing the target charging time with the total play length (Par.50) (Fig.3, 304); and
playing the one or more media items in the electric vehicle (110) while the battery (116) of the electric vehicle (110) is being charged (Par.51) (Fig.3, 306).
Bove, JR does not explicitly teach controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station based on the target charging time and the total play length, wherein the at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge and a length of charging time.
Lee teaches a logic that when executed is operable to cause one or more processors (302) (Fig.3) to perform operations comprising controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station based on a target charging time (Par.25, 40 and 66), wherein the at least one charging parameter comprises a type of charge (Par.40 and 66; Charging level) and a length of charging time (Par.24-25 and 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Lee in the system of Bove, JR. to have had optimized different performance criteria such as a maximum charging time (Par.67).
Claim 16: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claim 15 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the one or more media items are associated with one or more of movie media items and interactive gaming media items (Par.52).
Claim 17: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claim 15 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the target charging time is substantially the same as the total play length (Par.52 and 54).
Claim 19: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claim 15 as disclosed above. Bove, JR teaches wherein the total play length is based on the target charging time (Par.50).
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bove, JR. et al. (US 2024/0190289) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0246961) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Meyer et al. (US 2022/0379765).
Claims 4, 11 and 18: Bove, JR. in view of Lee teach the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 as disclosed above. Bove, JR wherein the target charging time is based on the total play length.
Meyer teaches computing a target charging time to charge a battery of an electric vehicle based on a total play length of one or more media items (Par.7; First charge time based on a user watching a movie.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meyer in the system of Bove, JR. to have had estimated the charging time to more efficiently provide services to electric vehicles and prevent unnecessary fast charging rates, resulting in prolonged lifespan of the vehicle’s battery (Par.7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2018/0370379) teaches controlling one or more charging parameters at an electric vehicle charging station (14) based on a target charging time (Par.40, 43-44, 48 and 57).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859