DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communication received on 3/23/2026. Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. As of the date of this communication no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed on behalf of this case.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, 14-15, 17, and 19-20 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
On Remarks pages 3-5, with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea. It is noted here Applicant only argued with respect to the mental process abstract idea however the claims were also rejected under the enumerated grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity. However, regardless the Examiner still interprets the claims as amended to recite a mental process as well as certain methods of organizing human activities as detailed in the updated 101 rejection below to reflect Applicant’s amendments.
The additional argued elements that these limitations are being performed by a “multiple computing devices”, “processing streaming geolocation”, and “sensors” do not recite more than apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as detailed in the 101 updated rejection below to reflect Applicant’s amendments.
Specifically as amended in the response filed 3/23/2026, Applicant recites the additional mental process and certain methods organizing human activities within the process of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people as recited in the amended claims of storing identifiers of a PNA computing device (like recording a contact number), including in a profile information on geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint, display on a display information to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call), receiving constant (streaming) location data (for example receiving constant location from another), using the location data in part to make a determination on who to contact and in response to a selection (request) to contact some one for help, and if the connection between one first person and another fails, generating a connection between the first person and another person who happens to be an emergency personnel. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software and computers (“computing device” and executing “program logic”), the location information is received from a “sensor” in a “computing device”, a display to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call) includes “a user interface” comprising “a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” , a message is sent responsive to selection or request for help where this is “a selection of the help button via a gesture”, steps are being performed “automatically”, and the connection between users is “audio visual” merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the claim invokes computer or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the additional element (for example an improvement to location sensors, single action buttons on interfaces, audio visual communications, computing devices executing logic (software), or automation (automatically) as broadly claimed. Rather Applicant’s recitation of the additional elements, given the broad level of recitation in the claims, merely recite (1) apply it on a computer as defined in MPEP 2106.05 (f) of the certain methods of organizing human activities and mental process steps above of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people and (2) generally linking it to the field of computer the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers as defined in MPEP 2106.05(h), which are limitations previously found by the courts to not result in a practical application or significantly more.
It is further noted contrary to Applicant’s arguments a mental process can recite a computer in the claims and still be a mental process, as MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) states:
C. A Claim That Requires a Computer May Still Recite a Mental Process
Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea. The Court concluded that the algorithm could be performed purely mentally even though the claimed procedures "can be carried out in existing computers long in use, no new machinery being necessary." 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699 (concluding that concept of "anonymous loan shopping" recited in a computer system claim is an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
In evaluating whether a claim that requires a computer recites a mental process, examiners should carefully consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification. For instance, examiners should review the specification to determine if the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. In these situations, the claim is considered to recite a mental process.
1. Performing a mental process on a generic computer. An example of a case identifying a mental process performed on a generic computer as an abstract idea is Voter Verified, Inc. v. Election Systems & Software, LLC, 887 F.3d 1376, 1385, 126 USPQ2d 1498, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2018). In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification in explaining that the claimed steps of voting, verifying the vote, and submitting the vote for tabulation are "human cognitive actions" that humans have performed for hundreds of years. The claims therefore recited an abstract idea, despite the fact that the claimed voting steps were performed on a computer. 887 F.3d at 1385, 126 USPQ2d at 1504. Another example is Versata, in which the patentee claimed a system and method for determining a price of a product offered to a purchasing organization that was implemented using general purpose computer hardware. 793 F.3d at 1312-13, 1331, 115 USPQ2d at 1685, 1699. The Federal Circuit acknowledged that the claims were performed on a generic computer, but still described the claims as "directed to the abstract idea of determining a price, using organizational and product group hierarchies, in the same way that the claims in Alice were directed to the abstract idea of intermediated settlement, and the claims in Bilski were directed to the abstract idea of risk hedging." 793 F.3d at 1333; 115 USPQ2d at 1700-01.
2. Performing a mental process in a computer environment. An example of a case identifying a mental process performed in a computer environment as an abstract idea is Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d at 1316-18, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification when explaining that the claimed electronic post office, which recited limitations describing how the system would receive, screen and distribute email on a computer network, was analogous to how a person decides whether to read or dispose of a particular piece of mail and that "with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper". 838 F.3d at 1318, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. Another example is FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 120 USPQ2d 1293 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The patentee in FairWarning claimed a system and method of detecting fraud and/or misuse in a computer environment, in which information regarding accesses of a patient’s personal health information was analyzed according to one of several rules (i.e., related to accesses in excess of a specific volume, accesses during a pre-determined time interval, or accesses by a specific user) to determine if the activity indicates improper access. 839 F.3d. at 1092, 120 USPQ2d at 1294. The court determined that these claims were directed to a mental process of detecting misuse, and that the claimed rules here were "the same questions (though perhaps phrased with different words) that humans in analogous situations detecting fraud have asked for decades, if not centuries." 839 F.3d. at 1094-95, 120 USPQ2d at 1296.
3. Using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process. An example of a case in which a computer was used as a tool to perform a mental process is Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d. at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699. The patentee in Mortgage Grader claimed a computer-implemented system for enabling borrowers to anonymously shop for loan packages offered by a plurality of lenders, comprising a database that stores loan package data from the lenders, and a computer system providing an interface and a grading module. The interface prompts a borrower to enter personal information, which the grading module uses to calculate the borrower’s credit grading, and allows the borrower to identify and compare loan packages in the database using the credit grading. 811 F.3d. at 1318, 117 USPQ2d at 1695. The Federal Circuit determined that these claims were directed to the concept of "anonymous loan shopping", which was a concept that could be "performed by humans without a computer." 811 F.3d. at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699. Another example is Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. The Federal Circuit determined that these claims were directed to mental processes of parsing and comparing data, because the steps were recited at a high level of generality and merely used computers as a tool to perform the processes. 881 F.3d at 1366, 125 USPQ2d at 1652-53.
Further it is additionally noted, that the claims do not necessarily require real time as argued by Applicant. However regardless, as broadly argued here it is within mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity to broadly make connection to another user “in real time” in response to a determination. If the argument here is that this is simply done faster as this mental process or human activity step is being performed on a computer, MPEP 2106.05(f) makes it clear this does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (cited herein):
“ Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015).”
On Remarks Applicant argues on pages 5-6 the 101 rejection, with respect to the claims should be analyzed as a whole. The Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s arguments here but maintains the response found in section 3 above that address these argued limitations.
On Remarks pages 6-7, Applicant argues the 101 rejection in particular with respect to the amended tap a single button. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While improvements to the graphical user interface (GUI) have been found to be eligible under 101 (for example see the Core Wireless decision). That is not what is claimed here. Limitations directed towards an improved interface are not claimed in the claim as amended under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Rather instead the claims are recited at a broad level of displaying on a display information to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call) and a message being sent based on selection of information in a display. These are mental process steps and certain method of organizing human activities as broadly recited in the claims. Therefore part of the abstract idea, given the broad recitation in the claim.
The additional element that this selection is a ““a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” via a “gesture” merely recites apply it or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers. Specifically, here as the claim invokes computer or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Here Applicant’s claims as currently recited do not recite any specifics to how a computer interface, computer button, or for example gesture recognition (“via a gesture”) is improved (for example in reference to MPEP 2106.05(a)), rather the claim language merely recites invoking a ““a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” via a “gesture” to implement the above abstract idea limitations. This result oriented claiming and solution, results in merely apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers.
Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On Remarks page 7-8, Applicant argues with respect to the 101 rejection, the routing logic with respect to claim 1. While the Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments here the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here Applicant argues improvements to the abstract idea, rather than improvements to the computer.
MPEP 2106.05(a) makes it clear that improvements to the business process are not an improvement in computers or technology (cited herein):
However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology.
On Remarks pages 8-9 with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that because the claims are not rejected under prior art they are not conventional with respect to 101 eligibility. The Examiner strongly disagrees.
It is well established that a claim may not have a prior art rejection but still be 101 ineligible (and therefore have a 101 rejection), see MPEP 2106, cited herein:
The Supreme Court’s decisions make it clear that judicial exceptions need not be old or long-prevalent, and that even newly discovered or novel judicial exceptions are still exceptions. For example, the mathematical formula in Flook, the laws of nature in Mayo, and the isolated DNA in Myriad were all novel or newly discovered, but nonetheless were considered by the Supreme Court to be judicial exceptions because they were "‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that lie beyond the domain of patent protection." Myriad, 569 U.S. 576, 589, 106 USPQ2d at 1976, 1978 (noting that Myriad discovered the BRCA1 and BRCA1 genes and quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. 71, 101 USPQ2d at 1965); Flook, 437 U.S. at 591-92, 198 USPQ2d at 198 ("the novelty of the mathematical algorithm is not a determining factor at all"); Mayo, 566 U.S. 73-74, 78, 101 USPQ2d 1966, 1968 (noting that the claims embody the researcher's discoveries of laws of nature). The Supreme Court’s cited rationale for considering even "just discovered" judicial exceptions as exceptions stems from the concern that "without this exception, there would be considerable danger that the grant of patents would ‘tie up’ the use of such tools and thereby ‘inhibit future innovation premised upon them.’" Myriad, 569 U.S. at 589, 106 USPQ2d at 1978-79 (quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 86, 101 USPQ2d at 1971). See also Myriad, 569 U.S. at 591, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 ("Groundbreaking, innovative, or even brilliant discovery does not by itself satisfy the §101 inquiry."). The Federal Circuit has also applied this principle, for example, when holding a concept of using advertising as an exchange or currency to be an abstract idea, despite the patentee’s arguments that the concept was "new". Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 714-15, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1753-54 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Cf. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea") (emphasis in original).
….
Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting "the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101 "). As made clear by the courts, the "‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter." Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9). See also Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a § 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating § 102 novelty."). In addition, the search for an inventive concept is different from an obviousness analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103. See, e.g., BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The inventive concept inquiry requires more than recognizing that each claim element, by itself, was known in the art. . . . [A]n inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces."). Specifically, lack of novelty under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 of a claimed invention does not necessarily indicate that additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional elements. Because they are separate and distinct requirements from eligibility, patentability of the claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 with respect to the prior art is neither required for, nor a guarantee of, patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101. The distinction between eligibility (under 35 U.S.C. 101 ) and patentability over the art (under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 ) is further discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
….
An additional element (or combination of additional elements) that is known in the art can still be unconventional or non-routine. The question of whether a particular claimed invention is novel or obvious is "fully apart" from the question of whether it is eligible. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 190, 209 USPQ 1, 9 (1981). For example, claims may exhibit an improvement over conventional computer functionality even if the improvement lacks novelty over the prior art. Compare, e.g., Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 118 USPQ2d 1684 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding several claims from U.S. Patent Nos. 6,151,604 and 6,163,775 eligible) with Microsoft Corp. v. Enfish, LLC, 662 Fed. App'x 981 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding some of the same claims to be anticipated by prior art). The eligible claims in Enfish recited a self-referential database having two key features: all entity types can be stored in a single table; and the table rows can contain information defining the table columns. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1332, 118 USPQ2d at 1687. Although these features were taught by a single prior art reference (thus anticipating the claims), Microsoft Corp., 662 Fed. App'x at 986, the features were not conventional and thus were considered to reflect an improvement to existing technology. In particular, they enabled the claimed table to achieve benefits over conventional databases, such as increased flexibility, faster search times, and smaller memory requirements. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1337, 118 USPQ2d at 1690.
Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments on page 9 with respect to close call and the August Memo are acknowledged. However the Examiner has provided clear reasonings why the claims are ineligible under current USPTO 101 practice. Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On remarks page 10, Applicant argues the 112 rejections. Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks the Examiner has withdrawn the previous 112 rejection. Applicant’s amendments created other rejections as detailed below in the office action.
On Remarks pages 10-11, Applicant argues Vogler does not teach “associating the at least one PPA user record with the PNA user record”. Here Applicant argues limitations which are not claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Applicant’s privately curated, authenticated trust group built through explicit invitations, acceptance messages and sorted availability profiles links to unique identifiers of personal devices) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
While it is true that Applicant’s other independent claims may go into more details as to how these trust groups are built, this independent claim set 11-16 does not.
All that is required is associating the at least one PPA user record with the PNA user record, which Vogler clearly teaches in paragraphs 0036, 0038, and 0045, as Vogler teaches a user having a preferred service provider shown.
Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On Remarks page 11 with respect to the prior art, Applicant argues Vogler with the respect to the amendment regarding streaming PNA geolocation data. See the updated rejection below where these amendments are based on Vogler in view of the newly cited reference of Martin. Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On Remarks pages 11-13 with respect to the prior art, Applicant argues the cited reference of Nagaraja, while here Applicant argues the references individually, the arguments are moot in view of the updated rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendment. Specifically, here the prior art rejection relies on the newly cited reference of Martin instead of Nagaraja.
On Remarks pages 12-13, Applicant argues the cited prior art of DiMarco. Here In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Subject Matter Overcoming the Prior art of Record
As shown in the office action below, the Examiner has not applied a prior art rejection to claims 1-10 and 17-20. The Examiner has applied a prior art rejection to the claims 11-16. The same reasonings for the claim language overcoming the prior art rejection remain from the previous action.
The Examiner points to the additional amended elements recited in the claims are found in the prior art:
And a unique identifier for a PNA computing device (see Vogler (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0349623), paragraphs 0033 and 0026, Examiner’s note: inputting information on a website or a smart phone app that includes user information and family information like elderly parent or child and a communication port for providing information over the network. Here it is noted unique identifier as amended could just for example an email address as broadly recited in the claim, this unique identifier is not used elsewhere in the claim).
Comprising at least one geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint (see Vogler (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0349623) paragraphs 0023, 0028, and 0034, Examiner’s note: Teaches receiving location of service provider to establish a profile (see paragraph 0034) and further teaches the system receiving time and date information for tracking information related to users, this is interpreted as the broad at least one a time and date constraint, this is not further recited or used in the claim).
Displaying on a display of the second computing device, a user interface configured to initiate an connection, the user interface element comprising a single action control graphically presented as a help request button (see Vogler US 2020/0349623, paragraphs 0036-0037 and corresponding Figure 6, Examiner’s note: request service button 132 this can be done in real time, on demand or scheduled for a later time).
A message that is responsive to a selection of the help request button via a gesture (See Vogler US 2020/0349623, paragraphs 0041, 0044-0045, Examiner’s note: teaches connections established between individuals).
Receiving stream PNA geolocation data (see Volger US 2020/0349623 paragraph 0033, Examiner’s note: authorization to access location of service requester).
Location data from a sensor of a computing device (see Martin (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0274962, (see paragraphs 0006, 0141, 0151, Examiner’s note: teaches receiving things like GPS coordinates from a user device requesting a service and from a sensor).
If the audio-visual connection fails between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device, then generating an audio-visual connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency personnel (see Volger paragraphs 0038-0041 and 0045, Examiner’s note: teaches providing helpers based on location and based on preferred status (see paragraphs 0038-0041. Further teaches providing another option if one is rejected, so here the broad term connection fails could merely mean one service provider denied providing the service so the system moved onto the next user, this person could be emergency personal as the system can be providing senior assistance like providing transportation to appointments (see paragraphs 0038-0039) ).
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that Applicant filed several foreign references in the file wrapper dated 7/28/2023 however filed no corresponding Information Disclosure Statement (IDS). Therefore the references have not been considered unless referenced on the PTO form 892 Notice of References Cited attached to this office action. See MPEP 609.04 for how to submit a compliant IDS and have accordingly have the references considered by the Examiner of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-10 recite a process as the claims recite a method. Claims 11-16 recite a process as the claims recite a method. Claims 17-20 recite a process as the claims recite a method.
The claim(s) 1-20 recite(s) the idea of an intermediary or broker connecting people who need services with people who can provide those services based on constraints like location and availability, where the intermediary is implemented based on permissions like providing requests and receiving acceptance of requests for users to be connected in a group and for one user to manage another users account.
The claims, that recite the idea of an intermediary or broker connecting people who need services with people who can provide those services based on constraints like location and availability, where the intermediary is implemented based on permissions like providing requests and receiving acceptance of requests for users to be connected in a group and for one user to manage another users account, recite observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper, accordingly the claims recite a mental process.
The claims, that recite the idea of an intermediary or broker connecting people who need services with people who can provide those services based on constraints like location and availability, where the intermediary is implemented based on permissions like providing requests and receiving acceptance of requests for users to be connected in a group and for one user to manage another users account, recite activities a human or humans can perform. Specifically the claims recite subject matter relating to commercial or legal interactions including business relations. Accordingly the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity.
Mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity are in the groupings of enumerated abstracts ideas, and hence the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application in that the claims merely recite:
(1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Specifically as recited in the claims:
Examiner notes that the Examiner has bolded and underlined the additional elements beyond the abstract idea for distinction. Limitations that are not bolded and underlined are considered part of the abstract idea.
1. A computer implemented method, executable on at least one processor of a first computing device, for generating personalized responsive assistance for a person needing assistance (PNA) by a set of persons providing assistance (PPA) who are personally known by the person needing assistance, wherein the computer implemented method comprises:
receiving, with a transceiver of the first computing device, over a communications network, a first message comprising PNA contact data for a PNA user and a trust group manager (TGM) contact data of a TGM user;
generating a PNA user record for the PNA user and storing, in a connected database, the PNA contact data and a unique identifier for a PNA computing device;
sending, over the communications network, to a third computing device associated with the TGM user, a second message comprising a first request for an approval to associate the third computing device of the TGM user with a second computing device of the PNA user;
receiving, over the communications network, from the third computing device, a third message comprising the approval of the first request to associate the third computing device of the TGM user with the second computing device of the PNA user;
after receiving the third message, associating the third computing device of the TGM user with the second computing device of the PNA user and storing, in the connected database, a unique identifier indicating an association between the second computing device and the third computing device;
receiving, from the third computing device of the TGM user, a fourth message comprising PPA data for at least one PPA user, wherein the PPA data comprises contact information for the at least one PPA user;
sending, over the communications network to at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user, a fifth message comprising an invite to join a trust group associated with the PNA user record;
receiving a sixth message from the at least one fourth computing device in response to the invite to join the trust group, wherein the sixth message comprises an acceptance of the invite to join the trust group and at least one PPA availability profile comprising at least one geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint;
storing the at least one PPA availability profile in the PNA user record for each PPA user that accepted the invite to join the trust group;
displaying, on a display of the second computing device, a user interface configured to initiate an audio-visual connection, the user interface element comprising a single-action control graphically presented as a help-request button;
receiving, with the transceiver, from the second computing device, a seventh message that is responsive to a selection of the help-request button via a gesture, the seventh message comprising a second request to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device with the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user;
receiving streaming PNA geolocation data from a sensor in the second computing device;
determining, with the at least one processor executing program logic, based on the at least one PPA availability profile and the streaming PNA geolocation data, a predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user;
after determining the predetermined order, automatically sending in the predetermined order, over the communications network to the at least one fourth computing device, an eighth message, wherein the eighth message comprises a third request to connect the at least one fourth computing device with the second computing device;
causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and an available computing device of the at least one fourth computing device; and
if the audio-visual connection fails between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device, then generating an audio-visual connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency personnel
2. The computer implemented method of claim 1
wherein the predetermined order for causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user comprises:
a first subset group;
at least one second subset group;
wherein the computer implemented method further comprises,
attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with the at least one fourth computing device in the first subset group by simultaneously sending the third request to connect to a first subset of fourth computing devices of the at least one fourth computing device in the first subset group until an available computing device of the first subset group accepts the third request to connect;
if the audio-visual connection between the first subset of fourth computing devices fails to accept the third request to connect after a predetermined amount of time, then attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with a second subset of fourth computing devices of the at least one fourth computing device in the at least one second subset group by simultaneously sending the third request to connect to the second subset of fourth computing devices until the available computing device of the at least one second subset group accepts the third request to connect.
3. The computer implemented method of claim 2 further comprising, wherein if the audio- visual connection between the second computing device fails to connect to the at least one fourth computing device from the first subset group and the at least one second subset group, then causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency backup public crisis responder.
4. The computer implemented method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a fourth request to connect the third computing device to the at least one fourth computing device and the second computing device;
causing a second audio-visual connection between the third computing device, and the at least one fourth computing device and the second computing device.
5. The computer implemented method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a fifth request to connect the third computing device the at least one fourth computing device and the third computing device;
and causing a third audio-visual connection between the third computing device, and the at least one fourth computing device.
6. The computer implemented method of claim 1 wherein the at least one PPA availability profile comprises at least one geographic availability.
7. The computer implemented method of claim 6 further comprising:
receiving a ninth message comprising a streaming PNA geolocation data from the second computing device; and
prior to determining, based on the at least one PPA availability profile, the predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the audio-visual connection, determining, with the at least one processor, whether the streaming PNA geolocation data satisfies the at least one geographic availability of the at least one PPA availability profile.
8. The computer implemented method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a plurality of ad requests from a sixth computing device, based on the PNA user record, wherein the PNA user record comprises at least one TGM indicated advertising preference,
and displaying a plurality of advertisements, based on the plurality of ad requests, on the at least one fourth computing device associated with the at least one PPA user.
9. The computer implemented method of claim 1 further comprising: after receiving the seventh message from the second computing device, transmitting a second audio-visual message on the second computing device, wherein the second audio-visual message comprises an affirmation message that the third request to connect the at least one fourth computing device with the second computing device has been transmitted.
10. The computer implemented method of claim 9 further comprising: receiving the affirmation message from the third computing device associated with the TGM user, wherein the affirmation message is at least one of (i) a voice recording of the TGM user, and (ii) a selection of an audio-visual document.
11. A computer implemented method, executable on at least one processor of a first computing device, for generating personalized responsive assistance for a person needing assistance (PNA) by a set of persons providing assistance (PPA) who are personally known by the person needing assistance, wherein the computer implemented method comprises:
receiving, with a transceiver of the first computing device, over a communications network, a first message from a second computing device, the first message comprising PNA contact data for a PNA user and a unique identifier for a PNA computing device;
receiving, with the transceiver, at least one second message from at least one third computing device, the at least one second message comprising PPA data for at least one PPA user, wherein the PPA data comprises contact information for the at least one PPA user and an availability profile comprising at least one geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint;
generating a PNA user record for the PNA user and at least one PPA user record for the at least one PPA user and storing the PNA user record and the at least one PPA user record in a connected database;
associating the at least one PPA user record with the PNA user record;
displaying on a display of the second computing device, a user interface configured to initiate an audio visual connection, the user interface element comprising a single action control graphically presented as a help-request button;
receiving streaming PNA geolocation data from a sensor in the second computing device
receiving, with the transceiver, from the second computing device, a third that is responsive to a selection of the help request button via a gesture, the third message comprising a first request to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device with the at least one third computing device;
determining, with the at least one processor executing program logic based on the availability profile of each PPA user record of the at least one PPA user record, and the streaming PNA geolocation data, a predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one third computing device of the at least one PPA user;
after determining the predetermined order, automatically sending in the predetermined order, over the communications network to the at least one third computing device, a fourth message comprising a second request to connect the at least one third computing device with the second computing device;
causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and an available computing device of one of the at least one third computing device based on a response from the available computing device of the at least one third computing device, and
if the audio-visual connection fails between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device, then generating an audio-visual connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency personnel
12. The computer implemented method of claim 11 wherein the predetermined order for causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one third computing device of the at least one PPA user comprises:
a first subset group;
at least one second subset group;
and wherein the computer implemented method further comprises,
attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with the at least one third computing device in the first subset group by simultaneously sending the second request to connect to a first subset of third computing devices of the at least one third computing device in the first subset group until the available computing device of the first subset group accepts the second request to connect;
and if the audio-visual connection between the first subset of third computing devices fails to accept the second request to connect after a predetermined amount of time, then attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with a second subset of third computing devices of the at least one third computing device in the at least one second subset group by simultaneously sending the second request to connect to the second subset of third computing devices until the available computing device
of the at least one second subset group accepts the second request to connect.
13. The computer implemented method of claim 12 wherein the availability profile comprises at least one geographic availability.
14. The computer implemented method of claim 13 further comprising:
receiving a fifth message comprising a streaming PNA geolocation data from the second computing device;
and prior to determining, based on the availability profile of the at least one PPA user record, the predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the audio-visual connection, determining, with the at least one processor, whether the streaming PNA geolocation data satisfies the at least one geographic availability of the availability profile of the at least one PPA user record.
15. The computer implemented method of claim 14 further comprising:
after receiving the third message from the second computing device, transmitting a second audio-visual message on the second computing device, wherein the second audio-visual message comprises a message of affirmation that the second request to connect the at least one third computing device with the second computing device has been transmitted.
16. The computer implemented method of claim 15 further comprising wherein at least one of (i) the PNA user record and (ii) a PPA user record of the at least one PPA user record defines a trust group manager (TGM) user record.
17. A computer implemented method, executable on at least one processor of a first computing device, for generating personalized responsive assistance for a person needing assistance (PNA) by a set of persons providing assistance (PPA) who are personally known by the person needing assistance, wherein the computer implemented method comprises:
receiving, with a transceiver of the first computing device, over a communications network, a first message comprising PNA contact data for a PNA user and a trust group manager (TGM) contact data of a TGM user;
generating a PNA user record for the PNA user and storing, in a connected database, the PNA contact data and a unique identifier for a PNA computing device;
sending, over the communications network, to a third computing device associated with the TGM user, a second message comprising a first request for an approval to associate the third computing device of the TGM user with a second computing device of the PNA user;
receiving, over the communications network, from the third computing device, a third message comprising the approval of the first request to associate the third computing device of the TGM user with the second computing device of the PNA user;
in response to the third message, associating the third computing device of the TGM user with the second computing device of the PNA user and storing, in the connected database, a unique identifier indicating an association between the second computing device and the third computing device;
receiving, from the third computing device of the TGM user, a fourth message comprising PPA data for at least one PPA user, wherein the PPA data comprises contact information for the at least one PPA user;
sending, over the communications network to at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user, a fifth message comprising an invite to join a trust group associated with the PNA user record;
receiving a sixth message from the at least one fourth computing device in response to the invite to join the trust group, wherein the sixth message comprises an acceptance of the invite to join the trust group and at least one PPA availability profile;
wherein the at least one PPA availability profile comprises at least one geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint;
storing the at least one PPA availability profile in the PNA user record for each PPA user that accepted the invite to join the trust group;
displaying on a display of the second computing device, a user interface configured to initiate an audio-visual connection, the user interface element comprising a single action control graphically presented as a help request button;
receiving, with the transceiver, from the second computing device, a seventh message that is responsive to a selection of the help-request button via a gesture, the seventh message comprising a second request to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device with the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user;
receiving streaming PNA geolocation data from the second computing device;
determining, with the at least one processor, whether the streaming PNA geolocation data satisfies the at least one geographic availability of the at least one PPA availability profile;
determining, with the at least one processor executing program logic, based on the at least one PPA availability profile and the streaming PNA geolocation data, a predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user;
wherein the predetermined order for causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device of the at least one PPA user comprises:
a first subset group;
and at least one second subset group;
after determining the predetermined order, automatically sending in the predetermined order, over the communications network to the at least one fourth computing device, an eighth message, wherein the eighth message comprises a third request to connect the at least one fourth computing device with the second computing device;
attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with the at least one fourth computing device in the first subset group by simultaneously sending the third request to connect to a first subset of fourth computing devices of the at least one fourth computing device in the first subset group until an available computing device of the first subset group accepts the third request to connect;
if the audio-visual connection between the first subset of fourth computing devices fails to accept the third request to connect after a predetermined amount of time, then attempting to establish the audio-visual connection with a second subset of fourth computing devices of the at least one fourth computing device in the at least one second subset group by simultaneously sending the third request to connect to the second subset of fourth computing devices until the available computing device of the at least one second subset group accepts the third request to connect;
and causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and the available computing device of one of the at least one fourth computing device based on a response from the available computing device of the at least one fourth computing device in the first subset group and the at least one second subset group.
18. The computer implemented method of claim 17 further comprising, wherein if the audio- visual connection between the second computing device fails to connect to the at least one fourth computing device from the first subset group and the at least one second subset group, then causing the audio-visual connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency backup public crisis responder.
19. The computer implemented method of claim 18 further comprising:
receiving a fourth request to connect the third computing device to the at least one fourth computing device and the second computing device;
and causing a second audio-visual connection between the third computing device, and the at least one fourth computing device and the second computing device.
20. The computer implemented method of claim 19 further comprising:
receiving a fifth request to connect the third computing device the at least one fourth computing device and the third computing device;
and causing a third audio-visual connection between the third computing device, and the at least one fourth computing device.
As per claim 1, the claims recite an intermediary providing permissions of connecting a user who needs help with another who can manage their information based on requests and acceptance, connecting a user who is managing the information with another user who provide help based on requests and acceptance, storing these permissions according to unique identifiers, providing information on user who can provide services based on availability and constraints, and providing a connection between users needing information and those providing information based on constraints.
These are all limitations a human or humans could perform, the fact that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by devices (including computers, processors, computing devices, and transceivers), the information is instead being store in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in apply it.
MPEP 2106.05(f) states “In Alice Corp., the claim recited the concept of intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer. The Court found that the recitation of the computer in the claim amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.” Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Further limitations that could be performed by a human or humans that instead recite being performed by devices (including computers, processors, computing devices, and transceivers), the information is instead being stored in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
Specifically as amended in the response filed 3/23/2026, Applicant recites the additional mental process and certain methods organizing human activities within the process of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people as recited in the amended claims of storing identifiers of a PNA computing device (like recording a contact number), including in a profile information on geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint, display on a display information to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call), receiving constant (streaming) location data (for example receiving constant location from another), using the location data in part to make a determination on who to contact and in response to a selection (request) to contact some one for help, and if the connection between one first person and another fails, generating a connection between the first person and another person who happens to be an emergency personnel. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software and computers (“computing device” and executing “program logic”), the location information is received from a “sensor” in a “computing device”, a display to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call) includes “a user interface” comprising “a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” , a message is sent responsive to selection or request for help where this is “a selection of the help button via a gesture”, steps are being performed “automatically”, and the connection between users is “audio visual” merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the claim invokes computer or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the additional element (for example an improvement to location sensors, single action buttons on interfaces, audio visual communications, computing devices executing logic (software), or automation (automatically) as broadly claimed.
Rather Applicant’s recitation of the additional elements, given the broad level of recitation in the claims, merely recite (1) apply it on a computer as defined in MPEP 2106.05 (f) of the certain methods of organizing human activities and mental process steps above of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people and (2) generally linking it to the field of computer the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers as defined in MPEP 2106.05(h), which are limitations previously found by the courts to not result in a practical application or significantly more.
As per claim 2, the claims recite a predetermined order of different groups for providing requests to perform the desired tasks. First providing the information to users simultaneously of a first group and then if after a predetermined time, providing requests to another group until someone decides to accept. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devices) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 3, the claims recite if a user cannot establish a connection for someone to help connecting to an emergency public crisis responder. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devices) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 4, the claims recite establishing communications between users, like connecting a person needing help, a person providing help, and a person who manages the person needing help. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devices) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 5, the claims recite establishing communications between users, like connecting a person providing help and a person who manages the person needing help. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devices) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 6, the claims recite the availability profile of a user is based on geographic availability. This is a human activity or function, specifically a user saying I live in California so I don’t want to take a job in Maine. There are no additional elements beyond those previously discussed in the claim 1 from which the claim depends.
As per claim 7, the claims recite receiving geographic location data from a user requesting help and determining if a helper user meets to geographic availability. This is a human activity or function, specifically a user saying I live in California so people from Maine wouldn’t work. The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers (computer, processor or via streaming) and the type of connection is audio-visual, merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 8, the claims recite providing ads based on profiles and preferences. This is a human activity or function, specifically a human or humans could provide ads based on profiles and preferences. The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 9, the claims recite sending a message that another message has been sent. This is a human activity or function, specifically a human or humans could confirm a message has been sent. The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers (computing devices) and the type of connection is audio-visual, merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 10, the claims recite sending a message that another message has been sent. This is a human activity or function, specifically a human or humans could confirm a message has been sent.
The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers (computing device), the type of connection is audio-visual, and that the type of response from a user is a “voice recording” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 11, the claims recite an intermediary providing permissions of connecting a user who needs help with another who can manage their information based on requests and acceptance, connecting a user who is managing the information with another user who provide help based on requests and acceptance, generating records of this received information, providing a user who can provide services based on availability and constraints, and providing a connection between users needing information and those providing information. These are all limitations a human or humans could perform, the fact that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by devices (computers, computing devices, transceivers, or processors), the information is instead being store in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in apply it.
MPEP 2106.05(f) states “In Alice Corp., the claim recited the concept of intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer. The Court found that the recitation of the computer in the claim amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.” Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Further limitations that could be performed by a human or humans that instead recite being performed by devices( computers, computing devices, transceivers, or processors), the information is instead being store in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
Specifically as amended in the response filed 3/23/2026, Applicant recites the additional mental process and certain methods organizing human activities within the process of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people as recited in the amended claims of storing identifiers of a PNA computing device (like recording a contact number), including in a profile information on geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint, display on a display information to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call), receiving constant (streaming) location data (for example receiving constant location from another), using the location data in part to make a determination on who to contact and in response to a selection (request) to contact some one for help, and if the connection between one first person and another fails, generating a connection between the first person and another person who happens to be an emergency personnel. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software and computers (“computing device” and executing “program logic”), the location information is received from a “sensor” in a “computing device”, a display to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call) includes “a user interface” comprising “a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” , a message is sent responsive to selection or request for help where this is “a selection of the help button via a gesture”, steps are being performed “automatically”, and the connection between users is “audio visual” merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the claim invokes computer or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the additional element (for example an improvement to location sensors, single action buttons on interfaces, audio visual communications, computing devices executing logic (software), or automation (automatically) as broadly claimed.
Rather Applicant’s recitation of the additional elements, given the broad level of recitation in the claims, merely recite (1) apply it on a computer as defined in MPEP 2106.05 (f) of the certain methods of organizing human activities and mental process steps above of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people and (2) generally linking it to the field of computer the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers as defined in MPEP 2106.05(h), which are limitations previously found by the courts to not result in a practical application or significantly more.
As per claim 12, the claims recite a predetermined order of different groups for providing requests to perform the desired tasks. First providing the information to users simultaneously of a first group and then if after a predetermined time, providing requests to another group until someone decides to accept. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computers) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 11.
As per claim 13, the claims recite the availability profile of a user is based on geographic availability. This is a human activity or function, specifically a user saying I live in California so I don’t want to take a job in Maine. There are no additional elements beyond those previously discussed in the claim from which the claim depends (claims 11-12).
As per claim 14, the claims recite receiving geographic location data from a user requesting help and determining if a helper user meets to geographic availability. This is a human activity or function, specifically a user saying I live in California so people from Maine wouldn’t work. The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers (computing device, processor or via streaming) and the type of connection is audio-visual, merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 11.
As per claim 15, the claims recite sending a message that another message has been sent. This is a human activity or function, specifically a human or humans could confirm a message has been sent. The additional elements that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computers (computing device) and the type of connection is audio-visual, merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 11.
As per claim 16, the claims merely define the record of a personal needing assistance and a person providing assistance being a trust group. There are no additional elements beyond those discussed above in the claims from what it depends (see claim 11).
As per claim 17, the claims recite an intermediary providing permissions of connecting a user who needs help with another who can manage their information based on requests and acceptance, connecting a user who is managing the information with another user who provide help based on requests and acceptance, storing these permissions according to unique identifiers, determining a user who can provide services based on availability and constraints like location, providing the requests for help to certain users simulateantously based on grouping and constraints until a user accepts a connection, and providing a connection between users needing information and those providing information. These are all limitations a human or humans could perform, the fact that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by devices (computers, transceivers, computing devices, streaming, or processors), the information is instead being store in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in apply it.
MPEP 2106.05(f) states “In Alice Corp., the claim recited the concept of intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer. The Court found that the recitation of the computer in the claim amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.”
Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Further limitations that could be performed by a human or humans that instead recite being performed by devices (computers, transceivers, computing devices, streaming, or processors), the information is instead being store in a database, and the type of connection is audio visual merely results in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
Specifically as amended in the response filed 3/23/2026, Applicant recites the additional mental process and certain methods organizing human activities within the process of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people as recited in the amended claims of storing identifiers of a PNA computing device (like recording a contact number), including in a profile information on geographic availability and at least one of a time constraint and a date constraint, display on a display information to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call), receiving constant (streaming) location data (for example receiving constant location from another), and using the location data in part to make a determination on who to contact and in response to a selection (request) to contact some one for help. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software and computers (“computing device” and executing “program logic”), the location information is received from a “sensor” in a “computing device”, a display to initiate a connection to another user (for example who, how or when to call) includes “a user interface” comprising “a single action control graphically presented as a help request button” , a message is sent responsive to selection or request for help where this is “a selection of the help button via a gesture”, steps are being performed “automatically”, and the connection between users is “audio visual” merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the claim invokes computer or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the additional element (for example an improvement to location sensors, single action buttons on interfaces, audio visual communications, computing devices executing logic (software), or automation (automatically) as broadly claimed.
Rather Applicant’s recitation of the additional elements, given the broad level of recitation in the claims, merely recite (1) apply it on a computer as defined in MPEP 2106.05 (f) of the certain methods of organizing human activities and mental process steps above of an intermediary acting as a connection between different groups of people and (2) generally linking it to the field of computer the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers as defined in MPEP 2106.05(h), which are limitations previously found by the courts to not result in a practical application or significantly more.
As per claim 18, the claims recite if a user cannot establish a connection for someone to help connecting an emergency public crisis responder. These are limitations a human again could perform by following a list or instructions of who to call and in what order, as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computers) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 17.
As per claim 19, the claims recite establishing communications between users, like connecting a person needing help, a person providing help, and a person who manages the person needing help. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devices) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 17.
As per claim 20, the claims recite establishing communications between users, like connecting a person providing help and a person who manages the person needing help. These are limitations a human again could perform as these are human activities. The additional elements that these limitations a human or humans could perform as instead being recited as being performed by computers (computing devcies) and the type of connection between users is audio-visual merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 17.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (“significantly more”) in that the claims merely recite:
(1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) And (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), as detailed above under the practical application step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 6 and 13 recite limitations completely amended into and further expanded on in the independent claims. Therefore claims 6 and 13 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Further claims 7 and 14-16 that depend off of claims 6 and 13 respectively are rejected based on their dependency under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogler (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0349623) further in view of Martin et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0274962).
As per claim 11, Vogler teaches A computer implemented method, executable on at least one processor of a first computing device, (see paragraph 0001 and 0030-0032, Examiner’s note: system and method for searching for and engaging a service provider and software running on a computer to perform operations).
for generating personalized responsive assistance for a person needing assistance (PNA) by a set of persons providing assistance (PPA) who are personally known by the person needing assistance, wherein the computer implemented method comprises: (see paragraphs 0019 and 0041-0042, Examiner’s note: elderly or child needing assistance and providing service provider information to the requester (see paragraphs 0041-0042)).
receiving, with a transceiver of the first computing device, over a communications network, a first message from a second computing device, the first message comprising PNA contact data for a PNA user and a unique identifier for a PNA computing device; (see paragraph 0033 and 0026, Examiner’s note: inputting information on a website or a smart phone app that includes user information and family information like elderly parent or child and a communication port for providing information over the network. Here it is noted unique identifier as amended could include for example an email address as broadly recited in the claim, this unique identifier is not used elsewhere in the claim).
receiving, with the transceiver, at least one second message from at least one third computing device, the at least one second message comprising PPA data for at least one PPA user, wherein the PPA data comprises contact information for the at least one PPA user and an availability profile comprising at least one geographic availability and at least one of a time and date constraint; (see paragraphs 0023, 0028, and 0034, Examiner’s note: teaches service providers inputting information (see paragraph 0034), devices run user interface (see paragraph 0028). Teaches receiving location of service provider to establish a profile (see paragraph 0034) and further teaches the system receiving time and date information for tracking information related to users, this is interpreted as the broad at least one a time and date constraint, this is not further recited or used in the claim(see paragraph 0023)).
generating a PNA user record for the PNA user and at least one PPA user record for the at least one PPA user and storing the PNA user record and the at least one PPA user record in a connected database; (see paragraphs 0033-0035, Examiner’s note: teaches generating user’s profiles where they are updated and maintained in the database).
associating the at least one PPA user record with the PNA user record; (see paragraphs 0036, 0038, and 0045, Examiner’s note: teaches a user having a preferred service provider).
Displaying, on a display of the second computing device, a user interface configured to initiate an connection, the user interface element comprising a single-action control graphically presented as a help-request button; (see paragraph 0036-0037 and corresponding Figure 6, Examiner’s note: request service button 132 this can be done in real time, on demand or scheduled for a later time).
Receiving streaming PNA geolocation data from the second computing device (see paragraph 0033, Examiner’s note: authorization to access location of service requester).
receiving, with the transceiver, from the second computing device, a third message that is responsive to a selection of the help-request button via a gesture, the third message comprising a first request to cause the connection between the second computing device with the at least one third computing device; (see paragraphs 0041, 0044-0045, Examiner’s note: teaches connections established between individuals).
determining, with the at least one processor executing program logic, based on the availability profile of each PPA user record of the at least one PPA user record and streaming PNA geolocation data, a predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the connection between the second computing device and the at least one third computing device of the at least one PPA user; (see paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0045, Examiner’s note: teaches providing helpers based on location and based on preferred status).
after determining the predetermined order, automatically sending in the predetermined order, over the communications network to the at least one third computing device, a fourth message comprising a second request to connect the at least one third computing device with the second computing device; and causing the connection between the second computing device and an available computing device of one of the at least one third computing device based on a response from the available computing device of the at least one third computing device. (see paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0045, Examiner’s note: teaches providing helpers based on location and based on preferred status).
And if the audio-visual connection fails between the second computing device and the at least one fourth computing device, then generating an connection between the second computing device and a fifth computing device of an emergency personnel (see paragraphs 0038-0041 and 0045, Examiner’s note: teaches providing helpers based on location and based on preferred status (see paragraphs 0041 and 0045). Further teaches providing another option if one is rejected, so here the broad term connection fails could be merely mean one service provider declined providing the service so the system moved onto the next user, this person could be emergency personal as the system can be providing senior assistance like providing transportation to appointments (see paragraphs 0038-0039) ).
Vogler et al. does not expressly teach (1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider and (2) receiving location information from a sensor in a device or more specifically streaming location from a sensor in a computing device
However, Martin et al. which is in the art of providing help services to a requesting user for an example a parent requesting assistance on behalf of a child with a device who is lost in a theme park (see abstract and paragraph 0139) teaches
(1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider (see paragraph 0105, Examiner’s note: teaches processing the audio visual information to respond to the user’s service request).
and (2) streaming location from a sensor in a computing device (see paragraphs 0006, 0141, 0151, Examiner’s note: teaches receiving things like GPS coordinates from a user device requesting a service).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vogler et al. with the aforementioned teachings from Martin with the motivation of providing a known way for two users to communicate through a specific medium like video (see Martin paragraph 0105) as well as providing a known way to provide location of a user in a request (see paragraphs 0006, 0141, 0151), when two users communicating to complete a task (see Vogler et al paragraphs 0041 and 0044-0045), users providing the location request of a service (see Volger et al. paragraph 0038), and tracking the location of user devices are all known (see Volger paragraph 0039).
23. Claim(s)12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogler (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0349623) further in view of Martin et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0274962). further in view of DiMarco (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2006/0116894).
As per claim 12, Vogler et al. teaches
wherein the predetermined order for causing the connection between the second computing device and the at least one third computing device of the at least one PPA user comprises: (see paragraphs 0040-0041 and 10045, Examiner’s note: teaches providing helpers based on location and based on preferred status. Further teaches providing another option if one is rejected).
a first subset group; at least one second subset group; and wherein the computer implemented method further comprises, (see paragraph 0040-0041 and 0045, Examiner’s note: communicate with a preferred user first and then another user. Further teaches selecting additional users is a user rejects).
attempting to establish the connection with the at least one third computing device in the first subset group by sending the second request to connect to a first subset of third computing devices of the at least one third computing device in the first subset group until the available computing device of the first subset group accepts the second request to connect; and ii. if the connection between the first subset of third computing devices fails to accept the second request to connect after a predetermined amount of time, then attempting to establish the a connection with a second subset of third computing devices of the at least one third computing device in the at least one second subset group by sending the second request to connect to the second subset of third computing devices until the available computing device of the at least one second subset group accepts the second request to connect. (see paragraph 0040-0041 and 0045, Examiner’s note: communicate with a preferred user first and then another user. Further teaches selecting additional users if a user rejects).
Vogler et al. does not expressly teach (1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider and (2) simulateantously sending out requests to the users to accept.
However, Martin et al. which is in the art of providing help services to a requesting user for an example a parent requesting assistance on behalf of a child with a device who is lost in a theme park (see abstract and paragraph 0139) teaches
(1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider (see paragraph 0105, Examiner’s note: teaches processing the audio visual information to respond to the user’s service request).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vogler et al. in view of Martin with the aforementioned teachings from Martin with the motivation of providing a known way for two users to communicate through a specific medium like video (see Martin paragraph 0105), when two users communicating to complete a task (see Vogler et al paragraphs 0041 and 0044-0045) is known.
Vogler et al. in view of Martin does not expressly teach (2) simulateantously sending out requests to the users to accept.
However, DiMarco which is in the art of a third party or intermediary that connects buyers and sellers of talent (see abstract) teaches (2) simulateantously sending out requests to the users to accept (see abstract, Examiner’s note: the hiring manager or recruiter can easily create job opportunity profiles and send them simultaneously to one or more people in their talent pool).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vogler et al. in view of Martin with the aforementioned teachings from DiMarco with the motivation of providing a commonly known way of providing information to multiple people at the same time in hopes that you get a response (see DiMarco abstract), when providing information to people or groups of people is known (see Vogler et al. (see paragraph 0040-0041 and 0045).
As per claim 13, Vogler et al. teaches
wherein the availability profile comprises at least one geographic availability (see paragraphs 0040 and 0034, Examiner’s note: results or helpers based on location).
As per claim 14, Vogler et al. teaches
further comprising: receiving a fifth message comprising a streaming PNA geolocation data from the second computing device; and prior to determining, based on the availability profile of the at least one PPA user record, the predetermined order in which to attempt to cause the connection, determining, with the at least one processor, whether the streaming PNA geolocation data satisfies the at least one geographic availability of the availability profile of the at least one PPA user record (see paragraphs 0039-0040, Examiner’s note: determining the nearest service provider to provide the bid to (see paragraphs 0039-0040), further teaches that may be provided to preferred providers first (see paragraph 0040), and that additional users can be found if it’s a rejected request (see paragraph 0041)).
Vogler et al. does not expressly teach (1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider.
However, Martin et al. which is in the art of providing help services to a requesting user for an example a parent requesting assistance on behalf of a child with a device who is lost in a theme park (see abstract and paragraph 0139) teaches
(1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider (see paragraph 0105, Examiner’s note: teaches processing the audio visual information to respond to the user’s service request).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vogler et al. in view of Martin in view of DiMarco with the aforementioned teachings from Martin with the motivation of providing a known way for two users to communicate through a specific medium like video (see Martin paragraph 0105), when two users communicating to complete a task (see Vogler et al paragraphs 0041 and 0044-0045) is known.
As per claim 15, Vogler et al. teaches
further comprising: a. after receiving the third message from the second computing device, transmitting a second message on the second computing device, wherein the second message comprises a message of affirmation that the second request to connect the at least one third computing device with the second computing device has been transmitted (see paragraph 0041, Examiner’s note: here provides a message for a service requester to accept the service provider after the service provider has accepted the job).
Vogler et al. does not expressly teach (1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider.
However, Martin et al. which is in the art of providing help services to a requesting user for an example a parent requesting assistance on behalf of a with a device who is lost in a theme park (see abstract and paragraph 0139) teaches
(1) an audio-visual connection between the user and the service provider (see paragraph 0105, Examiner’s note: teaches processing the audio visual information to respond to the user’s service request).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Vogler et al. in view of Martin in view of DiMarco with the aforementioned teachings from Martin with the motivation of providing a known way for two users to communicate through a specific medium like video (see Martin paragraph 0105), when two users communicating to complete a task (see Vogler et al paragraphs 0041 and 0044-0045) is known.
As per claim 16, Vogler et al. teaches
further comprising wherein at least one of (i) the PNA user record and (ii) a PPA user record of the at least one PPA user record defines a trust group manager (TGM) user record (see paragraph 0045, Examiner’s note: preferred providers for the user).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pinault et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2013/0179579) teaches a system for determining an availability for someone to assist the elderly (see paragraphs 0048 and 0111)
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIERSTEN V SUMMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626