DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a Continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/908,509 (filed 08/31/2022). Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit of U.S. Application No. 62/984,716 (filed 03/03/2020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thomas, et al. (WO 2020/106916).
Thomas, et al. teaches nucleic acids, AAV transfer cassettes, and plasmids used in the production of recombinant adeno-associated viral vectors (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1: Thomas, et al. teaches an adeno-associated virus (AAV) vector comprising nucleic acids for delivery of a therapeutic transgene to a cell or to a subject in need thereof (par. 0030). Thomas, et al. teaches an embodiment wherein the transgene encodes soluble CD4 for the treatment of AIDS (par. 0072). Thomas, et al. teaches the vector may further comprise a tissue-specific promoter, such as the NKG5 promoter for T cell specific activation (par. 0058). The AAV vector comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding soluble CD4 and an NKG5 promoter reads on the limitations recited in the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and (a)(1) as being anticipated by Meruelo, et al. (WO 2019/173223).
Meruelo, et al. teaches polynucleotides and viral vectors for encoding immune checkpoint proteins (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1: Meruelo, et al. teaches a Sindbis viral vector comprising a polynucleotide that encodes a soluble form of one or more immune checkpoint proteins, e.g., PD-1 (pg. 36; par. 2). Meruelo, et al. teaches administration of said vector results in systemic secretion of the soluble checkpoint protein (e.g., PD-1), wherein the checkpoint protein is then available to bind to its cognate ligand (e.g., PD-L1) on tumor cells, thereby effectively blocking the binding of any endogenous checkpoint protein expressed on T cells to the tumor cell-expressed, interacting ligand (pg. 39; par. 1). The resultant occupation of the tumor cell-expressed ligand by the exogenous soluble checkpoint protein prevents cytotoxic T cells expressing the endogenous form of the protein from binding to the cognate ligand on the tumor cells, allowing T cell cytotoxic activity to be maintained and directed against the tumor cells, which are killed (pg. 39, par. 1). Meruelo, et al. further teaches the vectors may further comprise tissue-specific promoters, e.g., CD4+ T cell-specific promoters (pg. 46; par. 2).
Thus, the Sindbis viral vector comprising a polynucleotide that encodes for soluble PD-1 and a CD4+ T cell-specific promoter reads on the limitations recited in claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeng, et al. (US 2021/0275589).
Zeng, et al. teaches immune cells comprising a chimeric receptor, a chimeric co-receptor, and/or a co-receptor (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1: Zeng, et al. teaches a vector comprising nucleic acid(s) encoding a chimeric receptor (par. 0197), wherein the chimeric receptor is a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) (par. 0138); further disclosed is an embodiment wherein the CAR comprises an anti-CCR5 binding moiety and a broadly neutralizing antibody (bNAb) moiety, such as VRC01 or 3BNC117 (par. 0142). Zeng, et al. teaches an embodiment wherein the vector is a viral vector comprising a CMV promoter (pars. 0200, 0203). As VRC01 and 3BNC117 read on the at least one soluble factor limitation recited in the instant claim, and the CMV promoter reads on the T cell-responsive promoter limitation of the instant claim, the viral vector comprising nucleic acids encoding an anti-CCR5 CAR comprising VRC01 or 3BNC117 and a CMV promoter anticipates the limitations recited in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/908,509 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1: Copending claim 1 recites a viral vector comprising a therapeutic cargo portion, wherein the therapeutic cargo portion comprises a nucleotide sequence that encodes at least one soluble exogenous factor capable of inhibiting HIV infection, and a T cell-responsive promoter that regulates expression of the nucleotide sequence; this anticipates the limitations recited in instant claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/GINA PRONZATI/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633