This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/5/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 12 & 14 have been amended.
Claims 17-20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 2-4 & 8-11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 2-4, 8-11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that claims 1, 12 & 16 are definite. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 USC 112(b) when the claims fail to (A) set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and (B) particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant. See MPEP §2171.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that this claim is definite based on amendments to this claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that this claim recites “determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a downlink slot, for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI)”. This claim language may be interpreted as the UE reporting CSI on a downlink slot, which is unclear. Per [0067] in the current application specification, the UE measures a reference signal in a downlink slot for reporting a CSI, but does not report the CSI on a downlink slot.
Regarding claim 12, applicant argues that this claim is definite based on amendments to this claim and claim 8 upon which it depends. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that this claim recites “the CSI in the second slot” which lacks antecedent basis since a CSI for the second slot has not previously been introduced in claim 12 or claim 8.
Regarding claims 16, applicant argues that this claim is definite based on amendments to this claim and claim 8 upon which it depends. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that this claim recites “wherein the symbols to be measured for the CSI are part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI in the slot”, which lacks antecedent basis since it is unclear what symbols represent “part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI” since “part of symbol(s)” has not been defined. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting “part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI” to be some or all of “the symbols to be measured for the CSI”.
Applicant submits that claims 1-3, 5, 6 & 8-10 are patentable based on amendments to these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Kim is silent as to, and does not teach “determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a downlink slot, for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI), that the UE does not use to perform Uplink (UL) transmission on symbols to be measured for the CSI; measuring, by the UE, a reference signal in the downlink slot for reporting the CSI; and reporting, by the UE, the CSI to a base station based on measurement in the downlink slot.”, because Kim does not require the UE itself to determine a downlink slot for CSI reporting that insures the UE does not perform UL transmission on the particular symbols used for CSI measurement. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that [0045] in Kim discloses that a terminal may be configured by a base station to allocate or assign one or more CSI reportings. Fig 8 & [0235] disclose that the base station may transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) to the terminal for the CSI reportings. [0049] discloses that communication from a base station to a terminal means downlink (DL) communication. [0159] discloses that CSI reportings may be triggered in a slot. Thus, the terminal (i.e. a UE) may determine (i.e. by itself) to allocate CSI reporting by measuring the CSI-RS in a downlink slot for reporting the CSI, based on configuration information from a base station. Fig 6 & [0136]-[0138] disclose a TDD slot structure where downlink (DL) control and data transmission must occur on different symbols than uplink (UL) control and data transmissions. Thus, the UE would determine (i.e. by itself) that it cannot perform UL transmission on symbols to be measured for CSI because the UE is not capable of transmitting on the UL while receiving the CSI-RS on the DL due to the TDD slot structure. Note that [0042] of the current application specification discloses that CSI-RS may be configured by higher layers and used by the UE to determine (i.e. itself) a downlink slot for CSI reporting. In the same way, the configuration information about CSI reporting provided to the UE from the base station in Kim is used by the UE to determine (i.e. itself) a downlink slot for CSI reporting.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claim 8, applicant submits that this claim is patentable based on similar amendments and arguments as made above for claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9 & 10 applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments to these claims and based on amendments and arguments as made above for claims 1 & 8 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102.
Applicant submits that claims 4, 7, 11-16 are patentable based on amendments to these claims and, where relevant, claims 1 & 8 upon which they depend. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claims 4, 7 & 11-13, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments to these claims and based on amendments and arguments as made above for claims 1 & 8 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 14, applicant submits that this claim is patentable based on similar amendments and arguments as made above for claims 1 & 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 15 & 16 applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments to these claims and based on amendments and arguments as made above for claims 1, 8 & 14 and due to their dependency on claim 14. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein the slot is a slot that all symbols to be measured for the CSI in the first slot is not used for UL transmission". Examiner is interpreting "a slot" as defining "the slot" and not a different slot. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as "wherein the first slot consists of all symbols to be measured for the CSI and no symbols used for UL transmission".
Claim 10 recites "wherein the first slot is a slot that at least part of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the slot is not used for UL transmission". Examiner is interpreting "a slot" as defining "the slot" and not a different slot. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as "wherein the first slot consists of certain symbols to be measured for the CSI and the certain symbols not used for UL transmission".
Claim 11 recites "a slot". Examiner is interpreting "a slot" in claim 11 as defining "the first slot" and not a different slot. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as "The method of claim 1, wherein the first slot consists of no UL transmission.".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a downlink slot, for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI)”. This claim language may be interpreted as the UE reporting CSI on a downlink slot, which is unclear. Per [0067] in the current application specification, the UE measures a reference signal in a downlink slot for reporting a CSI, but does not report the CSI on a downlink slot. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation in claim 1 as “determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a downlink slot, for measuring a reference signal for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI)”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “comprising skipping, by the UE, a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since “the CSI in the second slot” has not been previously defined. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting “the CSI in the second slot” to be “a CSI-RS in the second slot”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein the symbols to be measured for the CSI are part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI in the slot.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what symbols represent “part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI” since “part of symbol(s)” has not been defined. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting “part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI” to be some or all of “the symbols to be measured for the CSI”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 & 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0196179)(herein after “Kim”) .
Regarding claim 1, a method, comprising:
Determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a downlink slot, for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI), that the UE does not use to perform Uplink (UL) transmission on symbols to be measured for the CSI ([0045] discloses that a terminal may be configured by a base station to allocate or assign one or more CSI reportings. Fig 8 & [0235] disclose that the base station may transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) to the terminal for the CSI reportings. [0049] discloses that communication from a base station to a terminal means downlink (DL) communication. [0159] discloses that CSI reportings may be triggered in a slot. Thus, the terminal (i.e. a UE) may determine to allocate CSI reporting by measuring the CSI-RS in a downlink slot for reporting the CSI, based on configuration information from a base station. Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that the CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot, where a valid downlink slot is composed of at least one downlink or flexible symbol, does not fall within a configured measurement gap for that UE and there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. Fig 6 & [0136]-[0138] disclose a TDD slot structure where downlink (DL) control and data transmission must occur on different symbols than uplink (UL) control and data transmissions. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on symbols to be measured for CSI because the UE is not capable of transmitting on the UL while receiving the CSI-RS on the DL due to the TDD slot structure.);
measuring, by the UE, a reference signal in the downlink slot for reporting the CSI ([0284] discloses a terminal receiving a CSI-RS from a base station (i.e. a reference signal in a downlink slot) that is used to measure, calculate and report CSI to the base station.); and
Reporting, by the UE, the CSI to a base station based on measurement in the downlink slot ([0284] discloses a terminal transmitting CSI to a base station (i.e. reporting the CSI) based on measuring a CSI-RS (i.e. reference signal).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein a slot is not the downlink slot if the UE performs UL transmission on symbols to be measured for the CSI (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a downlink slot), where a valid downlink slot is composed of at least one downlink or flexible symbol, does not fall within a configured measurement gap for that UE and there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD slot structure. Thus, if the UE were to perform UL transmission on symbols configured for CSI-RS to be measured for CSI, the slot in which the UE is transmitting would not be the valid downlink slot.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the slot comprise at least one symbol configured with Downlink (DL) or flexible (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a valid downlink slot (i.e. a slot) is composed of at least one downlink or flexible symbol and there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement.).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on all symbols to be measured for the CSI (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a downlink slot) where there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD half-duplex structure of the UE. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on all CSI-RS symbols to be measured for CSI.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbols to be measured for the CSI (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a downlink slot) where there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD half-duplex structure of the UE. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on any CSI-RS symbols to be measured for CSI.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a first slot, for reporting a Channel State Information (CSI) based on symbols performing Uplink (UL) transmission in a slot which comprises at least one symbol configured with Downlink or flexible ([0045] discloses that a terminal may be configured by a base station to allocate or assign one or more CSI reportings. [0159] discloses that CSI reportings may be triggered in a slot (i.e. a first slot). [0165] discloses that processing for CSI may occur between a first symbol of a CSI reference resource (e.g. a CSI-RS) and a first symbol of a physical channel carrying CSI reporting (e.g. PUCCH as disclosed in [0162]). Fig 6 & [0137]-[0138] disclose that a slot may consist of a DL control and data region and an UL control and data region. Thus, the terminal (i.e. a UE) may determine to allocate CSI reporting by measuring the CSI-RS in a DL symbol in the DL control region of the slot and reporting the CSI on a PUCCH using symbols performing UL transmission in the UL control region.); and
measuring, by the UE, a reference signal in the first slot for reporting the CSI ([0284] discloses that a terminal receiving a CSI-RS from a base station (i.e. a reference signal in the first slot) may measure, calculate and report CSI to the base station based on the CSI-RS.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the slot is a slot that all symbols to be measured for the CSI in the first slot is not used for UL transmission (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a first slot) where there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD half-duplex structure of the UE. Thus, all symbols in the valid downlink slot transmitting CSI-RS and to be measured by the UE are not used for UL transmission.)
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the first slot is a slot that at least part of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the slot is not used for UL transmission (Fig 6 & [0135]-[0138] disclose a slot (i.e. a first slot) where a UE performs UL transmission in a region 604 and has symbol 0 configured for downlink reception. Because of the TDD structure of the UE, the UE cannot use symbol 0 for UL transmission.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0196179)(herein after “Kim”) in view of 3GPP et al. (3GPP TS 38.213, “NR; Physical layer procedures for control”, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, Release 16, V16.9.0, 4/1/2022)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose wherein a slot is not the downlink slot if the UE performs UL transmission on any symbol in the slot.
However, 3GPP teaches wherein a slot is not the downlink slot if the UE performs UL transmission on any symbol in the slot (Pages 134-135, Table 11.1.1-1 & Section 11.1.1 disclose a slot format 0 where all symbols in the slot are configured for Downlink (D). When one of the symbols in slot format 0 is used for CSI-RS, the slot is considered a valid downlink slot (i.e. a downlink slot) as disclosed by Kim. Thus, if the UE were to perform UL transmission on any symbol during a valid downlink slot using slot format 0, the slot in which the UE is transmitting would not be the valid downlink slot configured for slot format 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Kim, wherein a slot is not the valid downlink slot if the UE performs UL transmission on any symbol in the slot, as taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where a base station can recognize that a UE, that is performing an UL transmission during a symbol period of a valid downlink slot duration preconfigured for slot format 0, is not transmitting on the valid downlink slot so that the base station can ignore the UL transmission from the UE.
Regrading claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1
Kim fails to disclose wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the downlink slot.
However, 3GPP teaches wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the downlink slot (Pages 134-135, Table 11.1.1-1 & Section 11.1.1 disclose a slot format 0 where all symbols in the slot are configured for Downlink (D). When one of the symbols in slot format 0 is used for CSI-RS, the slot is considered a valid downlink slot (i.e. a downlink slot) as disclosed by Kim. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on any symbol of the valid downlink slot using slot format 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Kim, wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the downlink slot, as taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where a base station can configure a UE to not transmit on any symbol of a valid downlink slot to maximize downlink channel resources for maximizing DL throughput performance.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose wherein the first slot is a slot that there is no UL transmission in the slot.
However, 3GPP teaches wherein the first slot is a slot that there is no UL transmission in the slot (Pages 134-135, Table 11.1.1-1 & Section 11.1.1 disclose a slot format 0 where all symbols in the slot are configured for Downlink (D). The UE is not capable of transmitting and receiving on the same symbol due to the TDD half-duplex structure of the UE. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on any symbol of the valid downlink slot using slot format 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 8, as disclosed by Kim, wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in a first slot, as taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where a base station can configure a UE to not transmit on any symbol of a valid downlink slot to maximize downlink channel resources for maximizing DL throughput performance.
Claims 12-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0196179)(herein after “Kim”) in view of Bae et al. (US 2022/0124707)(herein after “Bae”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose comprising skipping by the UE, a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot.
However, Bae teaches comprising skipping by the UE, a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot ([0245] discloses that in a process of performing an UL transmission in resources indicated or configured by a BS at the UE (i.e. on all or some of the symbols in a second slot to be measured for the CSI in the second slot), the UE may skip a corresponding scheduled DL CSI-RS measurement.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 8, as disclosed by Kim, wherein the UE skips a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot, as taught by Bae. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where UE skips CSI-RS measurements when there is not a sufficient time gap for the UE to transition from receiving the CSI-RS to transmitting on the UL.
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Bae disclose the method of claim 12.
Kim discloses wherein the second slot comprises at least one symbol configured with DL or flexible (Fig 6 & [0135]-[0138] disclose a slot (i.e. a second slot) that has symbol 0 configured for downlink reception.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a User Equipment (UE), a slot, in a reference resource, for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) to a base station ([0045] discloses that a terminal may be configured by a base station to allocate or assign one or more CSI reportings. Fig 8 & [0235] disclose that the base station may transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) to the terminal for the CSI reportings. [0159] discloses that CSI reportings may be triggered in a slot (i.e. a slot including a CSI-RS may be interpreted as a reference resource). Thus, the terminal (i.e. a UE) would determine to allocate CSI reporting by measuring the CSI-RS in a slot for reporting the CSI to a base station, based on configuration information from the base station.).
Kim fails to disclose wherein symbols to be measured for the CSI are used for Uplink (UL) transmission in the slot in the reference resource; and at least one of skipping or reporting by the UE a predefined value for the CSI.
However, Bae teaches wherein symbols to be measured for the CSI are used for Uplink (UL) transmission in the slot in the reference resource ([0245] discloses a UE performing UL transmission during a time period where the UE is to receive a DL reception such as a CSI-RS for measurement. [0009] discloses that the time period where the UE is to perform UL transmission while receiving a DL reception may be certain symbols, for which the UE could determine to be unavailable symbols.); and
at least one of skipping, by the UE, the CSI ([0245] discloses that in a process of performing an UL transmission in resources indicated or configured by a BS at the UE (i.e. on all or some of the symbols in a second slot to be measured for the CSI in the second slot), the UE may skip a corresponding scheduled DL CSI-RS measurement.) or reporting, by the UE a predefined value for the CSI (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a method where a UE is scheduled to report CSI to a base station, as disclosed by Kim, wherein the UE is to performs UL transmission on symbols to be measured for the reporting of CSI in a slot with a CSI-RS and skips reporting of the CSI, as taught by Bae. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where UE skips CSI-RS measurements when there is not a sufficient time gap for the UE to transition from receiving the CSI-RS to transmitting on the UL.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Bae disclose the method of claim 14.
Kim discloses wherein the symbols to be measured for the CSI are all symbols to be measured for the CSI in the slot ([0183] discloses that reference signals with CSI-RS (i.e. symbols to be measured for CSI) are used for channel measurement and CSI reporting. Thus, all symbols to be measured for CSI in a slot (i.e. symbols with a CSI-RS) are symbols that the UE can make measurements of CSI and report CSI.).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Baie disclose the method of claim 14.
Kim discloses wherein the symbols to be measured for the CSI are part of symbol(s) to be measured for the CSI in the slot ([0183] discloses that reference signals with CSI-RS (i.e. symbols to be measured for CSI) are used for channel measurement and CSI reporting. Thus, all or part of the symbols to be measured for CSI in a slot (i.e. symbols with a CSI-RS) are symbols that the UE is to make measurements of CSI and report CSI.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Bae disclose the method of claim 14.
Kim discloses the UE does not perform UL transmission on all symbols to be measured for the CSI (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a slot) where there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD structure. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on all CSI-RS symbols to be measured for CSI.).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Bai disclose the method of claim 14.
Kim discloses the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbols to be measured for the CSI (Tables 7 & 8 and [0322] disclose that a CSI-RS may be configured in a valid downlink slot (i.e. a slot) where there is at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement. The UE is not capable of transmitting on a symbol where the UE is receiving the CSI-RS due to the TDD half-duplex structure of the UE. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on any CSI-RS symbols to be measured for CSI.).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Bae disclose the method of claim 14.
comprising skipping, by the UE, a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot.
However, Bae teaches comprising skipping, by the UE, a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot ([0245] discloses that in a process of performing an UL transmission in resources indicated or configured by a BS at the UE (i.e. on all or some of the symbols in a second slot to be measured for the CSI in the second slot), the UE may skip a corresponding scheduled DL CSI-RS measurement.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 14, as disclosed by Kim in view of Bae, wherein the UE skips a second slot as reference resource if the UE performs UL transmission on all or some of symbols to be measured for the CSI in the second slot, as taught by Bae. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where UE skips CSI-RS measurements when there is not a sufficient time gap for the UE to transition from receiving the CSI-RS to transmitting on the UL.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0196179)(herein after “Kim”) in view of Bae et al. (US 2022/0124707)(herein after “Bae”), as applied to claim 14, and further in view of 3GPP et al. (3GPP TS 38.213, “NR; Physical layer procedures for control”, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, Release 16, V16.9.0, 4/1/2022)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Bae disclose the method of claim 14.
Kim fails to disclose the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the slot.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the slot (Pages 134-135, Table 11.1.1-1 & Section 11.1.1 disclose a slot format 0 where all symbols in the slot are configured for Downlink (D). When one of the symbols in slot format 0 is used for CSI-RS, the slot is considered a valid downlink slot (i.e. a slot) as disclosed by Kim. Thus, the UE cannot perform UL transmission on any symbol of the valid downlink slot using slot format 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Kim, wherein the UE does not perform UL transmission on any symbol in the slot, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where a base station can configure a UE to not transmit on any symbol of a valid downlink slot to maximize downlink channel resources for maximizing DL throughput performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419