DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 12/04/2025.
Claims 1,4-14,17-20 are pending and rejected. Claims 2, 3, 15, 16 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2025 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 7 objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “…the processor circuitry is further to:…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 20230033336 A1) (hereinafter “Awoniyi-Oteri”) in view of Ashari et al (US 20220094417 A10) (hereinafter “Ashari”) and further in view of Fukui et al (US 20200112347 A1) (hereinafter “Fukui”).
Regarding claim 1, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (see Fig. 12 (1240), para. [0008] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, may include instructions executable by a processor) to:
generate, for transmission from a first node to a second node, a first request that indicates a first requested beam width change (see Fig. 8, para. [0135]-[0137] discloses a closed loop bandwidth adjustment request 830, may provide beamwidth adjustment information corresponding to the request bandwidth adjustment (in some cases with pre-configured step size changes));
receive, from the second node, a second request that indicates a second requested beam width change (see Fig. 8, para. [0137] discloses the base station may transmit beamwidth adjustment confirmation 840 and the UE may perform beam measurements on the adjusted beamwidth beam at 845).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose transmitting, to the second node, first information that indicates a first power difference, wherein the first power difference is based on the first requested beam width change and the second requested beam width change;
receive, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference:
determine an adjusted transmit power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference and
generate a data transmission for transmission to the second node with the adjusted transmit power and
interface circuitry coupled to the processor circuitry to transmit the data transmission.
However, Ashari teaches transmit, to the second node, first information that indicates a first power difference, wherein the first power difference is based on the first requested beam width change and the second requested beam width change (see Fig. 9, (944, 948), para. [0049]-[0050];[0078] discloses feedback may indicate adjust to be made such as adjust beam width; the UE may check received signal power to determine whether the offset in the user location has destructive effect on the received signal) ;
Ashari fails to disclose receive, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference:
determine an adjusted transmit power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference and
generate a data transmission for transmission to the second node with the adjusted transmit power and
interface circuitry coupled to the processor circuitry to transmit the data transmission.
However, Fukui teaches receiving, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference (see Fig. 12 (S1-1, is signal for measurement strength received)):
determine an adjusted transmit power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference (see Fig. 12 (S1-4, Obtain power difference DeltaP between P0 and P1)) and
generate a data transmission for transmission to the second node with the adjusted transmit power (see Fig. 12 (S1-5, set transmission power)) and
interface circuitry coupled to the processor circuitry to transmit the data transmission (see Fig.4, Wireless Terminal, (control unit with Power Control Unit; Transmission/Reception unit); [0124] the power control method is applicable to channel on which data are transmitted).
Awoniyi-Oteri, Ashari and Fukui are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication apparatus and methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri to include the change of beam width and power adjust as described by Ashari and Fukui.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 7, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus wherein the processor circuitry (see Fig. 12 (1240)) the processor circuitry is further to:
determine a beam width that is based on the first requested beam width change (see para. [0012] discloses requested beam parameters indicate a request for a beam width adjustment of the first beam)
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose the second requested beam width change, wherein the first power difference is based on the beam width.
However, Ashari teaches the second requested beam width change, wherein the first power difference is based on the beam width (see Fig. 9, (944, 948), para. [0049]-[0050];[0078] discloses feedback may indicate adjust to be made such as adjust beam width; the UE may check received signal power to determine whether the offset in the user location has destructive effect on the received signal).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Ashari are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication apparatus and methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri to include beam width adjust as described by Ashari.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 10, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12 para. [0008] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, may include instructions executable by a processor) wherein the first requested beam width change is based on at least one of an orientation of the first node (see para. [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract actual orientation to determine the updates of the beamwidth), a speed of the first node (see para. [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract rate of change to determine the updates of the beamwidth), or a direction of movement of the first node (see para. [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract actual positioning to determine the updates of the beamwidth).
Regarding claim 11, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method comprising:
generating a first transmission for transmission from a first node to a second node over a first beam that is based on a first beam width (see Fig. 8, para. [0135]-[0137] discloses a closed loop bandwidth adjustment request 830, may provide beamwidth adjustment information corresponding to the request bandwidth adjustment (in some cases with pre-configured step size changes));
determining a second beam width based on first information received from the second node (see Fig. 8, para. [0137] discloses the base station may transmit beamwidth adjustment confirmation 840 and the UE may perform beam measurements on the adjusted beamwidth beam at 845).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose determining a first power difference based on the first beam width and the second beam width;
generating an indication of the first power difference for transmission to the second node;
receiving, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference; and
generating a second transmission for transmission to the second node over a second beam that is based on the first beam width and with a transmission power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference.
However, Ashari teaches determining a first power difference based on the first beam width and the second beam width (see Fig. 9, (944, 948) [0049]-[0050];[0078] feedback may indicate adjust to be made such as adjust beam width; the UE may check received signal power to determine whether the offset in the user location has destructive effect on the received signal);
generating an indication of the first power difference for transmission to the second node (see Fig. 9, para. (944, 948) [0049]-[0050];[0078] discloses feedback may indicate adjust to be made such as adjust beam width; the UE may check received signal power to determine whether the offset in the user location has destructive effect on the received signal).
Ashari fails to disclose receiving, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference; and
generating a second transmission for transmission to the second node over a second beam that is based on the first beam width and with a transmission power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference.
However, Fukui teaches receiving, from the second node, second information that indicates a second power difference (see Fig. 12 (S1-1, is signal for measurement strength received)); and
generating a second transmission for transmission to the second node over a second beam that is based on the first beam width and with a transmission power that is based on the first power difference and the second power difference (see Fig. 12 (S1-4, Obtain power difference DeltaP between P0 and P1)).
Awoniyi-Oteri, Ashari and Fukui are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication apparatus and methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri to include the change of beam width and power adjust as described by Ashari and Fukui.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 12, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method wherein the first information indicates a requested beam width change (see Fig. 8, para. [0135]-[0137] discloses a closed loop bandwidth adjustment request 830, may provide beamwidth adjustment information corresponding to the request bandwidth adjustment (in some cases with pre-configured step size changes))..
Regarding claim 14, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method wherein the first information indicates at least one of an orientation of the node (see para. Fig. 8, [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract actual orientation to determine the updates of the beamwidth), a speed of the node (see para. Fig. 8, [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract rate of change to determine the updates of the beamwidth), or a direction of movement of the node (see para. Fig. 8, [0120] the UE may perform one or more beam measurements, and may extract actual positioning to determine the updates of the beamwidth).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 20230033336 A1) (hereinafter “Awoniyi-Oteri”) in view of Ashari et al (US 20220094417 A10) (hereinafter “Ashari”) and further in view of Fukui et al (US 20200112347 A1) (hereinafter “Fukui”) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 20200322017 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 17, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method (see para. [0004]-[0005] discloses techniques related to improved method).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose wherein the transmission power is a first transmission power and the method further comprises:
generating a third transmission for transmission to the second node over a third beam that is based on the second beam width and with a second transmission power that is based on the first power difference.
However, Lee discloses a method wherein the transmission power is a first transmission power (see para. [0200] discloses external device may measure the power of the transmission beam from the electronic beam) and the method further comprising:
generating a third transmission for transmission to the second node over a third beam that is based on the second beam width and with a second transmission power that is based on the first power difference (see para. [0094] discloses electronic device may select communication enabled transmission (third transmission beam) based on a result of signal receiving operation through reception beam sweeping).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Awoniyi-Oteri to include as third beam as described by Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection.
Claims 4-6, 8, 13, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 20230033336 A1) (hereinafter “Awoniyi-Oteri”) in view of Ashari et al (US 20220094417 A10) (hereinafter “Ashari”) and further in view of Fukui et al (US 20200112347 A1) (hereinafter “Fukui”) as applied to claims 1, 11, and 12 above, and further in view of Huang, (US 20230217265 A1) (hereinafter “Huang”) (IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus wherein the data transmission is a first data transmission (see Fig. 8, para. [0135]-[0137] discloses a closed loop bandwidth adjustment request 815, measurement configuration, may provide beamwidth adjustment information corresponding to the request bandwidth adjustment (in some cases with pre-configured step size changes))
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose the processor circuitry is further to:
receive, from the second node, a second data transmission;
obtain a measurement of a received power of the second data transmission; and
generate, for transmission to the second node, beam width configuration information that is based on the received power.
However, Huang teaches the processor circuitry is further to: receiving, from the second node, a second data transmission (see Fig. 13, [0116]-[0117] disclose receiving the information of reference signal and wide beam determine; Fig. 6, device includes receiver and transmitter, processor);
obtain a measurement of a received power of the second data transmission (see Fig. 13, disclose receiving the information of reference signal and wide beam determine); and
generate, for transmission to the second node, beam width configuration information that is based on the received power (see Fig. 13, [0173] discloses with the information of reference signal and wide beam determine and transmit the set of parameters that indicate second beam direction and width. The UE may measure reference signal using two or more beamforming parameters for two or more antennas to identify at least one narrow beam with gain that exceeds gains of one or more other narrow beams).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Awoniyi-Oteri to include reception and transmission as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and channel access technique.
Regarding claim 5, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12 para. [0008] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, may include instructions executable by a processor) wherein the beam width configuration information is based on information from a codebook see para. [0011];[0070];[0092] discloses in some examples of the method and apparatus the set of available beam parameters are included in a codebook of beams. The UE may provide feedback for beam selection with a codebook. Information provided to channel model based on codebook with output of change of bandwidth for a beam).
Regarding claim 6, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus wherein the processor circuitry (see Fig. 12 (1240)) is further to:
determine a beam width that is based on the first requested beam width change (see para. [0012] discloses requested beam parameters indicate a request for a beam width adjustment of the first beam) and the beam width configuration information is based on the beam width (see para. [0019] discloses the first beam configuration is determined based on an iterative process of beamwidth adjustments using beamwidth changes)
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose the second requested beam width change; wherein the first power difference is based on the beam width.
However, Ashari teaches the second requested beam width change; wherein the first power difference is based on the beam width (see Fig. 9, (944, 948), para. [0049]-[0050];[0078] discloses feedback may indicate adjust to be made such as adjust beam width; the UE may check received signal power to determine whether the offset in the user location has destructive effect on the received signal).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Ashari are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication apparatus and methods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri to include the beam width change as described by Ashari.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 8, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12 para. [0008] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, may include instructions executable by a processor).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose wherein the first requested beam width change comprises a first angle and the second requested beam width change comprises a second angle.
However, Huang teaches wherein the first requested beam width change comprises a first angle and the second requested beam width change comprises a second angle (see Fig. 4, para. [0010]; [0021]; [0041] discloses CSI report that includes beam width, the second beam direction may be an angle value in the report. In some cases, the wide beam parameters may include a vertical beam angle and a horizontal beam angle).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the no-transitory computer media of Awoniyi-Oteri to include as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and channel access technique.
Regarding claim 13, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method.
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose a method wherein the requested beam width change comprises an angle.
However, Huang teaches a method wherein the requested beam width change comprises an angle (see Fig. 4, para. [0010]; [0021]; [0041] discloses CSI report that includes beam width, the second beam direction may be an angle value in the report. In some cases, the wide beam parameters may include a vertical beam angle and a horizontal beam angle).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri to include the no-transitory computer media as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and beam coverage.
Regarding claim 18, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method (see para. [0004]-[0005] discloses techniques related to improved method).
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose further comprising: receiving, subsequent to transmitting the indication of the first power difference to the second node, an incoming data transmission from the second node;
obtaining a measurement of a received power of the incoming data transmission; and generating, for transmission to the second node, an indication of a beam width configuration that is based on the received power.
However, Huang teaches a method further comprising: receiving, subsequent to transmitting the indication of the first power difference to the second node, an incoming data transmission from the second node;
obtaining a measurement of a received power of the incoming data transmission (see Fig. 13, disclose receiving the information of reference signal and wide beam determine); and generating, for transmission to the second node, an indication of a beam width configuration that is based on the received power (see Fig. 13, [0173] discloses with the information of reference signal and wide beam determine and transmit the set of parameters that indicate second beam direction and width. The UE may measure reference signal using two or more beamforming parameters for two or more antennas to identify at least one narrow beam with gain that exceeds gains of one or more other narrow beams).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Awoniyi-Oteri to include as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and channel access technique.
Regarding claim 20, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method.
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose a method further comprising:
obtaining a beamforming configuration from a codebook based on the second beam width.
However, Huang teaches a method further comprising:
obtaining a beamforming configuration from a codebook based on the second beam width (see para. [0012]; [0016]; [0022]; [0027] discloses a beam width determinate based on codebook configured by the base station).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Awoniyi-Oteri to include as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and channel access technique.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 20230033336 A1) (hereinafter “Awoniyi-Oteri”) in view of Ashari et al (US 20220094417 A10) (hereinafter “Ashari”) and further in view of Fukui et al (US 20200112347 A1) (hereinafter “Fukui”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simonsson et al. (US 20200099426 A1) (hereinafter “Simonsson”) (IDS).
Regarding claim 9, Awoniyi-Oteri an apparatus (see Fig. 12 para. [0008] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, may include instructions executable by a processor.
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose wherein the first requested beam width change is based on a location of a reflective surface.
However, Simonsson teaches wherein the first requested beam width change is based on a location of a reflective surface (see Fig. 3, para. [0051]; [0087]-[0089] discloses adjustment indicator is determined to increase the beam width when the transmission rank is below a threshold value. Shows example of wider beam that cover reflecting surface enabling indirect communication, whereas a narrower beam does not. A wider beam might be used to capture more surrounding reflecting objects and surfaces 400 to get a richer radio propagation channel).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Simonsson are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications.
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awoniyi-Oteri the no-transitory computer media to include as described by Simonsson.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and communication performance.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 20230033336 A1) (hereinafter “Awoniyi-Oteri”) in view of Ashari et al (US 20220094417 A10) (hereinafter “Ashari”) and further in view of Fukui et al (US 20200112347 A1) (hereinafter “Fukui”) in further view of Huang, (US 20230217265 A1) (hereinafter “Huang”) (IDS) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Park et al (US 20170212244 A1) (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 19, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a method.
Awoniyi-Oteri fails to disclose a method further comprising:
determining that the received power is greater than a threshold that is based on a received power of a prior incoming data transmission.
However, Park teaches a method further comprising:
determining that the received power is greater than a threshold that is based on a received power of a prior incoming data transmission (see para. [0058] discloses the terminal measures the received power of the signal transmitted and if the receive power is greater than a threshold the terminal returns to step S403).
Awoniyi-Oteri and Park are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communications
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Awoniyi-Oteri to include the power threshold as described by Park.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving of beam selection and communication performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419