Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0373814 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 August 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 1 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. See US 2023/0373814 A1. The text on the right-hand face of the crystals depicted in FIG. 1 is illegible in the reproduced drawing. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. See 37 CFR 1.84 (l).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: NICKEL-COBALT-MANGANESE HYDROXIDE CATHODE MATERIAL PRECURSOR AND PREPARATION METHOD AND APPLICATION THEREOF.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 each set forth a plurality of steps without separating each step by a line indentation. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 (i). Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 should separate each recited step by a line indentation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella, and has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85." It is unclear if the phrase "has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85" is further limiting "a stack of lamella" or "the cathode material precursor."
Claim 2 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a cathode material precursor of claim 1" and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 3 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a cathode material precursor of claim 2" and includes all the limitation of claim 2. Therefore, claim 4 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a group consisting of solutions of sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides of nickel, cobalt and manganese." It is unclear if the phrase "of nickel, cobalt and manganese" is further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., hydrochlorides) or all of the preceding limitations (i.e., sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a group consisting of solutions of sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides of nickel, cobalt and manganese." It is unclear if the phrase "of nickel, cobalt and manganese" is further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., hydrochlorides) or all of the preceding limitations (i.e., sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides).
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 1.5 to 3 mol/L" and "the complexing agent in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 2 to 5 g/L." Claim 3, which claim 7 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction." It is unclear if "a concentration" of "the metal salt solution" recited in claim 7 is further limiting "concentrations of the metal salt solution" recited in claim 3; and if "a concentration" of "the complexing agent" recited in claim 7 is further limiting "concentrations of … the complexing agent" recited in claim 3. Claim 3 provides antecedent basis for the terms "concentration" of "the metal salt solution" and "concentration" of "the complexing agent." However, claim 7 does not use modifiers (e.g., "the" or "said") indicating the terms are referring to the limitation previously recited.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 1.5 to 3 mol/L" and "the complexing agent in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 2 to 5 g/L." Claim 4, which claim 8 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction." It is unclear if "a concentration" of "the metal salt solution" recited in claim 8 is further limiting "concentrations of the metal salt solution" recited in claim 4; and if "a concentration" of "the complexing agent" recited in claim 8 is further limiting "concentrations of … the complexing agent" recited in claim 8. Claim 4 provides antecedent basis for the terms "concentration" of "the metal salt solution" and "concentration" of "the complexing agent." However, claim 8 does not use modifiers (e.g., "the" or "said") indicating the terms are referring to the limitation previously recited.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a cathode material precursor of claim 1" and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a cathode material precursor of claim 2" and includes all the limitation of claim 2. Therefore, claim 10 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is directly dependent from claim 9 and includes all the limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a chemical formula of LiaNixCoyMnzMbO2." The variables a, x, y, z, and b are not subscripted in the chemical formula. Non-subscripted numbers in a chemical formula indicate the number of moles of the subsequent element; whereas, subscripted numbers in a chemical formula indicate the number of moles of the preceding element. It is unclear if a, x, y, z, and b represent the number of moles of the preceding or subsequent element.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 9" and includes all the limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 13 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 10" and includes all the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 14 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is directly dependent from claim 13 and include all the limitations of claim 13. Therefore, claim 15 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is directly dependent from claim 14 and include all the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claim 16 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 9" and includes all the limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 17 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 10" and includes all the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 18 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 11" and includes all the limitations of claim 11. Therefore, claim 19 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a cathode material for lithium ion batteries of claim 12" and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 20 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toya et al. (US 2014/0011090 A1, hereinafter Toya).
Regarding claim 1, Toya discloses a cathode material precursor (see composite hydroxide, [0254]; see composite hydroxide, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]).
Regarding claim 3, Toya discloses a preparation method of a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), wherein the preparation method (FIG. 1, [0100]; FIG. 2, [0115]) comprises steps of:
preparing a metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]);
adding thereto a complexing agent and then a precipitating agent to carry out nucleation reaction (see nucleation, [0274]);
adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction (see particle growth, [0274]); and
carrying out filtering, aging, and drying to obtain the cathode material precursor (see composite hydroxide particles, [0229]).
Regarding claim 5, Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the complexing agent is a basic nitrogen-containing substance and the basic nitrogen-containing substance is ammonia water (see ammonia, [00274]);
the precipitating agent is at least one selected from a group consisting of sodium hydroxide and sodium carbonate (see sodium hydroxide, [0223]); and
the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese is at least one selected from a group consisting of solutions of sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides of nickel, cobalt and manganese (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]).
Regarding claim 9, Toya discloses a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]).
Regarding claim 11, Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cathode material for lithium batteries:
wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries has a chemical formula of LiaNixCoyMnzMbO2 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]),
where 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.4, 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.1, 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1, 1 ≤ a/(x + y + z) ≤ 1.5 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]); and
M is at least one selected from a group consisting of elements B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]).
Regarding claim 13, Toya discloses a preparation method of a cathode material for lithium ion batteries (FIG. 3, [0173]), wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of:
mixing a cathode material precursor, a lithium source and an additive to obtain a mixture (see mixture, [0237]),
subjecting the mixture to first sintering and pulverization (see temporarily calcinated, [0237]), and
then to second sintering and cooling, to obtain the cathode material for lithium ion batteries (see calcinated, [0237]).
Regarding claim 17, Toya discloses a battery (1, [0243]), wherein the battery comprises a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]).
Regarding claim 19, Toya discloses a battery (1, [0243]), wherein the battery comprises a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries has a chemical formula of LiaNixCoyMnzMbO2 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]),
where 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.4, 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.1, 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1, 1 ≤ a/(x + y + z) ≤ 1.5 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]); and
M is at least one selected from a group consisting of elements B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0305954 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a cathode material precursor:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Toya and Kim are analogous because they are directed to cathode material precursors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Claims 4, 6, 10, 12, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0305954 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Toya discloses a preparation method of a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of:
preparing a metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]);
adding thereto a complexing agent and then a precipitating agent to carry out nucleation reaction (see nucleation, [0274]);
adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction (see particle growth, [0274]); and
carrying out filtering, aging, and drying to obtain the cathode material precursor (see composite hydroxide particles, [0229]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Regarding claim 6, modified Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the complexing agent is a basic nitrogen-containing substance and the basic nitrogen-containing substance is ammonia water (see ammonia, [00274]);
the precipitating agent is at least one selected from a group consisting of sodium hydroxide and sodium carbonate (see sodium hydroxide, [0223]); and
the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese is at least one selected from a group consisting of solutions of sulfates, nitrates, oxalates and hydrochlorides of nickel, cobalt and manganese (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]).
Regarding claim 10, Toya discloses a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Regarding claim 12, modified Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a cathode material for lithium ion batteries:
wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries has a chemical formula of LiaNixCoyMnzMbO2 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]),
where 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.4, 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.1, 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1, 1 ≤ a/(x + y + z) ≤ 1.5 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]); and
M is at least one selected from a group consisting of elements B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]).
Regarding claim 14, Toya discloses a preparation method of a cathode material for lithium ion batteries (FIG. 3, [0173]), wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of:
mixing a cathode material precursor, a lithium source and an additive to obtain a mixture (see mixture, [0237]),
subjecting the mixture to first sintering and pulverization (see temporarily calcinated, [0237]), and
then to second sintering and cooling, to obtain the cathode material for lithium ion batteries (see calcinated, [0237]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Regarding claim 18, Toya discloses a battery (1, [0243]), wherein the battery comprises a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Regarding claim 20, Toya discloses a battery (1, [0243]), wherein the battery comprises a cathode material for lithium ion batteries, wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries is prepared from raw materials comprising a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]):
wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]);
the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0234]), and
the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0254]; TABLE 3, [0277]),
wherein the cathode material for lithium ion batteries has a chemical formula of LiaNixCoyMnzMbO2 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]),
where 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.4, 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.1, 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1, 1 ≤ a/(x + y + z) ≤ 1.5 (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]); and
M is at least one selected from a group consisting of elements B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 2, [0254]; TABLE 4, [0277]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family, and
the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100).
Kim discloses a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0101]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0096]), wherein the cathode material precursor has 40% to 80% of {010} crystal plane family (TABLE 1, [0043]), and the {010} crystal plane family in the cathode material precursor includes active crystal planes (010), (010), (100), (110), (110), and (100) (FIG. 2, [0101]) to improve the stability and capacity (see precursor, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the {010} crystal plane family of Kim in order to improve the stability and capacity.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kamata et al. (US 2016/0293950 A1, hereinafter Kamata).
Regarding claim 7, Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 0.5 to 2 mol/L (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]),
the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 1.5 to 3 mol/L (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]);
the complexing agent in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 3 to 25 g/L (see ammonia aqueous solution, [0103]),
the complexing agent in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 2 to 5 g/L (TABLE 3, [0277]).
Although Toya does not explicitly teach that the complexing agent in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 0.5 to 2.5 g/L, it is the examiner’s position that the disclosed values are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have expected the same properties. Case law holds that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
the nucleation reaction is carried out for 24 to 50 hours, and
the growth reaction is carried out for 60 to 100 hours.
Kamata discloses a preparation method for a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0109]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0109]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of preparing a metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese (TABLE 1, [0104]); adding thereto a complexing agent and then a precipitating agent to carry out nucleation reaction (TABLE 1, [0104]); adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction (TABLE 1, [0106]); and carrying out filtering, aging, and drying to obtain the cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0108]), the nucleation reaction is carried out for 24 to 50 hours (see composite hydroxide, [0106]), and the growth reaction is carried out for 60 to 100 hours (see composite hydroxide, [0106]) to improve the reactivity of the cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0124]). Toya and Kamata are analogous because they are directed to cathode material precursors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of Toya with the reaction times of Kamata in order to improve the reactivity of the cathode material precursor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) in view of Kim (US 2011/0305954 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kamata et al. (US 2016/0293950 A1, hereinafter Kamata).
Regarding claim 8, modified Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 0.5 to 2 mol/L (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]),
the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 1.5 to 3 mol/L (see mixed aqueous solution, [0274]);
the complexing agent in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 3 to 25 g/L (see ammonia aqueous solution, [0103]),
the complexing agent in the growth reaction has a concentration in a range from 2 to 5 g/L (TABLE 3, [0277]).
Although Toya does not explicitly teach that the complexing agent in the nucleation reaction has a concentration in a range from 0.5 to 2.5 g/L, it is the examiner’s position that the disclosed values are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have expected the same properties. Case law holds that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
the nucleation reaction is carried out for 24 to 50 hours, and
the growth reaction is carried out for 60 to 100 hours.
Kamata discloses a preparation method for a cathode material precursor, wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0109]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0109]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of preparing a metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese (TABLE 1, [0104]); adding thereto a complexing agent and then a precipitating agent to carry out nucleation reaction (TABLE 1, [0104]); adjusting concentrations of the metal salt solution of nickel, cobalt and manganese and the complexing agent to carry out growth reaction (TABLE 1, [0106]); and carrying out filtering, aging, and drying to obtain the cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0108]), the nucleation reaction is carried out for 24 to 50 hours (see composite hydroxide, [0106]), and the growth reaction is carried out for 60 to 100 hours (see composite hydroxide, [0106]) to improve the reactivity of the cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0124]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material precursor of modified Toya with the reaction times of Kamata in order to improve the reactivity of the cathode material precursor.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hosono et al. (JP 6669920 B1; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0210757 A1; hereinafter Hosono).
Regarding claim 15, modified Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the lithium source is at least one selected from a group consisting of lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide (FIG. 3, [0236]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
the additive is at least one selected from a group consisting of oxides of B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta.
Hosono discloses a preparation method of a cathode material for lithium ion batteries (TABLE 1, [0171]), wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0165]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0165]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0170]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of mixing a cathode material precursor, a lithium source and an additive to obtain a mixture (TABLE 1, [0172]), subjecting the mixture to first sintering and pulverization (TABLE 1, [0172]), and then to second sintering and cooling, to obtain the cathode material for lithium ion batteries (TABLE 1, [0171]); the additive is at least one selected from a group consisting of oxides of B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 1, [0172]) to improve cycle characteristics under both room temperature and high temperature environments (TABLE, [0214]). Toya and Hosono are analogous because they are directed to cathode material precursors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material of Toya with the additive of Hosono in order to improve cycle characteristics under both room temperature and high temperature environments.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2014/0011090 A1) in view of Kim (US 2011/0305954 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hosono (JP 6669920 B1; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0210757 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Toya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a preparation method:
wherein the lithium source is at least one selected from a group consisting of lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide (FIG. 3, [0236]).
Toya does not explicitly disclose:
the additive is at least one selected from a group consisting of oxides of B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta.
Hosono discloses a preparation method of a cathode material for lithium ion batteries (TABLE 1, [0171]), wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0165]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0165]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0170]), wherein the preparation method comprises steps of mixing a cathode material precursor, a lithium source and an additive to obtain a mixture (TABLE 1, [0172]), subjecting the mixture to first sintering and pulverization (TABLE 1, [0172]), and then to second sintering and cooling, to obtain the cathode material for lithium ion batteries (TABLE 1, [0171]); the additive is at least one selected from a group consisting of oxides of B, Al, Mg, Ti, Fe, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Sn, Sb, La, Ce, W, and Ta (TABLE 1, [0172]) to improve cycle characteristics under both room temperature and high temperature environments (TABLE, [0214]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cathode material of modified Toya with the additive of Hosono in order to improve cycle characteristics under both room temperature and high temperature environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toya '520 (US 2013/0078520 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0247]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0247]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0247]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 6, [0227]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0247]).
Fukui (US 2014/0377660 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0242]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0242]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0242]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 5, [0223]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0242]).
Kamata '885 (US 2016/0093885 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0194]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 2, [0194]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 2, [0194]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 1, [0194]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 2, [0194]).
Yamauchi (US 2017/0271653 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0263]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0263]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0263]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (TABLE 1, [0263]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0263]).
Toma (US 2018/0190978 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 2, [0240]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 2, [0240]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 2, [0240]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (FIG. 1, [0227]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 2, [0240]).
Yamauchi '592 (WO 2020/218592 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0158185 A1) discloses a cathode material precursor (TABLE 1, [0144]; TABLE 3, [0160]) wherein the cathode material precursor has a chemical formula of NixCoyMnz(OH)2 (TABLE 1, [0144]; TABLE 3, [0160]), where 0.2 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.6, and 0.8 ≤ x + y + z ≤ 1 (TABLE 1, [0144]; TABLE 3, [0160]); the cathode material precursor is in a shape of a stack of lamella (TABLE 1, [0144]; TABLE 3, [0160]), and the cathode material precursor has a particle size broadening factor K, where K ≤ 0.85 (TABLE 1, [0144]; TABLE 3, [0160]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725