The amendment filed 2/26/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100254332 A1) in view of Mai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220096003 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Cho and Mai.
In regard to Claim 1, Cho teaches A collision free wireless input/output (IO) device network joining system (a general wideband radio access system, Para. 14) comprising: a controller (a processor, Para. 88) to execute code instructions (software codes may be stored in a memory unit so that it can be driven by a processor, Para. 88) of the collision free wireless IO device network joining system to transmit with a wireless radio system an initial polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, the base station (serving BS) transmits the UL-MAP messages including UL-MAP_IE to the first mobile station (MS #1) and the second mobile station (MS #2) at the Nth frame, Para. 43, FIG. 4) to instruct transmission by a first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) of a first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 also shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) at initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Table 1 shows an example of a UL-BR_IE format. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1).
Cho teaches to allot additional time for a reserved provisional time slot (In FIG. 4, the base station (serving BS) transmits the UL-MAP messages including UL-MAP_IE to the first mobile station (MS #1) and the second mobile station (MS #2) at the Nth frame. At this time, the UL-MAP_IE specifies the resource area for requesting the uplink bandwidth, Para. 43, FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, since the period is 2 frames, the base station may allocate the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) in a first data packet communication frame (at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches the controller to switch the wireless radio system (a general wideband radio access system, Para. 14) to receive, during the first data packet communication frame (at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4), the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets transmitted (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. The mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) at the initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) from the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches the wireless radio system to receive, during the reserved provisional time slot (the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1), a new connection request (Each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area received by each UL-MAP message, Para. 45, FIG. 4) from a second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #2 transmitting a request in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches the controller (a processor, Para. 88) to execute code instructions (software codes may be stored in a memory unit so that it can be driven by a processor, Para. 88) of the collision free wireless IO device network joining system (a general wideband radio access system, Para. 14) to instruct the wireless radio system to transmit a second, updated polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIGS. 3, 4. The base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE, Para. 97. FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches the updated polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIGS. 3, 4. The base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE, Para. 97. FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame) including instructions to the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. The mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches the updated polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIGS. 3, 4. The base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE, Para. 97. FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame) including instructions to the second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit of a second selected number of second wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations, Para. 46. The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations to the base station, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4) during second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) in a second data packet communication frame (The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4).
Although Cho teaches A collision free wireless input/output (IO) device network joining system, Cho fails to teach a system of a wireless communication dongle at an information handling system, and although Cho teaches the wireless radio system, Cho fails to teach a system of the wireless communication dongle, and although Cho teaches a second, updated polling packet, Cho fails to teach a packet with an acknowledgement of received data packets.
Mai teaches a system of a wireless communication dongle (The wireless transmitter (e.g. Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (e.g. Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device. The portable device may be a dongle with USB/micro USB connector, Para. 124) at an information handling system (The portable device may be communicatively coupled with the object using a wired connection (e.g. through USB, microUSB), Para. 124).
Mai teaches system of the wireless communication dongle (The wireless transmitter (e.g. Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (e.g. Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device. The portable device may be a dongle with USB/micro USB connector, Para. 124).
Mai teaches a polling packet with an acknowledgement (The packet may be a poll frame, acknowledgement frame, block acknowledgement frame, and/or synchronization frame, Para. 56) of received data packets (each candidate wireless signal is associated with at least one of: a data frame, a data packet, Para. 233).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mai with the teachings of Cho since Mai provides a technique for wireless communications of data and acknowledgements through a USB dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho to permit certain user devices to obtain wireless communication capabilities through a dongle that permits wireless communications of data packets and corresponding polling messages with acknowledgement information.
In regard to Claim 8, Cho teaches A method for collision free joining of a second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to a wireless input/output (IO) device network (a general wideband radio access system, Para. 14) comprising: transmitting, via a wireless radio system, an initial polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, the base station (serving BS) transmits the UL-MAP messages including UL-MAP_IE to the first mobile station (MS #1) and the second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to instruct transmission by a first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) of a first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+1 frame. FIG. 4 also shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) at initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Table 1 shows an example of a UL-BR_IE format. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1).
Cho teaches allot additional time for a reserved provisional time slot (since the period is 2 frames, the base station may allocate the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) after the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets in a first data packet communication frame (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+1 frame) for orchestrating collision-free transmission of a new connection request (Each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area received by each UL-MAP message, Para. 45, FIG. 4) by a second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #2 transmitting a request in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches receiving, via the wireless radio system, during the first data packet communication frame (FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+1 frame) the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+1 frame) at the initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) from the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches receiving, via the wireless radio system, during the reserved provisional time slot (the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) the new connection request (Each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area received by each UL-MAP message, Para. 45, FIG. 4) from the second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #2 transmitting a request in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches transmitting, via the wireless radio system, a second, updated polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIGS. 3, 4. The base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE, Para. 97. FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame) instructing the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. The mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) during updated first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) and instructing the second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit a second selected number of second wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations, Para. 46. The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations to the base station, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4) during second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) of a second data packet communication frame (The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4).
Although Cho teaches a wireless input/output (IO) device network, Cho fails to teach a network at a wireless communication dongle of an information handling system, and although Cho teaches a wireless radio system, Cho fails to teach a system for the wireless communication dongle operatively coupled to the information handling system.
Mai teaches a network at a wireless communication dongle (The wireless transmitter (e.g. Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (e.g. Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device. The portable device may be a dongle with USB/micro USB connector, Para. 124) of an information handling system (The portable device may be communicatively coupled with the object using a wired connection (e.g. through USB, microUSB), Para. 124).
Mai teaches a system for the wireless communication dongle (The wireless transmitter (e.g. Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (e.g. Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device. The portable device may be a dongle with USB/micro USB connector, Para. 124) operatively coupled to the information handling system (The portable device may be communicatively coupled with the object using a wired connection (e.g. through USB, microUSB), Para. 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mai with the teachings of Cho since Mai provides a technique for wireless communications of data and acknowledgements through a USB dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho to permit certain user devices to obtain wireless communication capabilities through a dongle that permits wireless communications of data packets and corresponding polling messages with acknowledgement information.
In regard to Claim 15, Cho teaches A collision free wireless input/output (IO) device network joining system (a general wideband radio access system, Para. 14) agent of a second wireless input/output (IO) device (second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4) comprising: a controller to execute code instructions of the collision free wireless IO device network joining system agent to receive with a wireless radio system an initial polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, the base station (serving BS) transmits the UL-MAP messages including UL-MAP_IE to the first mobile station (MS #1) and the second mobile station (MS #2), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to instruct transmission by a first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) of a first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 also shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) at initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Table 1 shows an example of a UL-BR_IE format. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) in a first data packet communication frame (at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches to allot additional time for a reserved provisional time slot (In FIG. 4, the base station (serving BS) transmits the UL-MAP messages including UL-MAP_IE to the first mobile station (MS #1) and the second mobile station (MS #2) at the Nth frame. At this time, the UL-MAP_IE specifies the resource area for requesting the uplink bandwidth, Para. 43, FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, since the period is 2 frames, the base station may allocate the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) in the first data packet communication frame (at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4) when the first data packet communication frame is a designated data packet communication frame having the reserved provisional timeslot (In FIG. 4, since the period is 2 frames, the base station may allocate the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4) on a duty cycle of a plurality of data packet communication frames (FIG. 4 is a view showing a resource allocating method according to the sequence of frames if the number of mobile stations which receive the rtPS is two and a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches the controller to detect, during the first data packet communication frame (at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4), transmission of the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. The mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) at the initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) from the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4).
Cho teaches the controller to switch the wireless radio system to a transmit mode to transmit during the reserved provisional time slot (the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4. OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) a new connection request (Each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area received by each UL-MAP message, Para. 45, FIG. 4) after detection of the first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. In addition, the mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths at the N+1th frame, Para. 46. FIG. 4 also shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame).
Cho teaches the controller to execute code instructions to receive with the wireless radio system a second, updated polling packet (a polling period is 2, Para. 42, FIGS. 3, 4. The base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE, Para. 97. FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame) and instructing the first wireless IO device (first mobile station (MS #1), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit a first selected number of data packets from the wireless IO device (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations. The mobile stations may transmit data to the base station via the allocated uplink bandwidths, Para. 46. FIG. 4 shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to the base station in the N+2 frame) and instructing the second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) to transmit a second selected number of second wireless IO device data packets (generating data packets having variable lengths, Para. 9. The base station recognizes the bandwidths required by the mobile stations via the BR headers and allocates the bandwidths to the mobile stations, Para. 46. The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations to the base station, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4) during second wireless IO device (second mobile station (MS #2)), Para. 43, FIG. 4) allotted data packet transmission time slots (Duration, In OFDMA slots, Para. 98, Table 1) in a second data packet communication frame (The uplink data which will be transmitted from the mobile stations, the process of transmitting the data at an N+3th frame, Para. 47, FIG. 4).
Although Cho teaches an initial polling packet, Cho fails to teach a packet from a wireless communication dongle operatively connected to an information handling system, and although Cho teaches a second, updated polling packet, Cho fails to teach a packet with an acknowledgement.
Mai teaches a packet from a wireless communication dongle (The wireless transmitter (e.g. Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (e.g. Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device. The portable device may be a dongle with USB/micro USB connector, Para. 124) operatively connected to an information handling system (The portable device may be communicatively coupled with the object using a wired connection (e.g. through USB, microUSB), Para. 124).
Mai teaches a packet with an acknowledgement (The packet may be a poll frame, acknowledgement frame, block acknowledgement frame, and/or synchronization frame, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mai with the teachings of Cho since Mai provides a technique for wireless communications of data and acknowledgements through a USB dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho to permit certain user devices to obtain wireless communication capabilities through a dongle that permits wireless communications of data packets and corresponding polling messages with acknowledgement information.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Mai, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210318762 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first wireless IO device is a mouse.
Lee teaches the first wireless IO device is a mouse (The data transmission system 150 makes use of a single USB dongle 158 to communicate with the wireless mouse 156, Para. 31, FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first wireless IO device is a keyboard.
Lee teaches the first wireless IO device is a keyboard (The data transmission system 150 makes use of a single USB dongle 158 to communicate with the wireless keyboard 154, Para. 31, FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first wireless IO device is a mouse.
Lee teaches the first wireless IO device is a mouse (The data transmission system 150 makes use of a single USB dongle 158 to communicate with the wireless mouse 156, Para. 31, FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first wireless IO device is a gaming headset.
Lee teaches the first wireless IO device is a gaming headset (A human interface device (HID) is a type of computer device usually used by humans that takes input from humans and gives output to humans. Common human interface devices may include gamepad, Para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first wireless IO device is a mouse.
Lee teaches the first wireless IO device is a mouse (The data transmission system 150 makes use of a single USB dongle 158 to communicate with the wireless mouse 156, Para. 31, FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the second wireless IO device.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the second wireless IO device is a keyboard.
Lee teaches the second wireless IO device is a keyboard (The data transmission system 150 makes use of a single USB dongle 158 to communicate with the wireless keyboard 154, Para. 31, FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Lee provides a technique for wireless communications with a peripheral device through a dongle, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit allocations of bandwidths in a general wideband radio access system to accommodate wireless peripheral devices.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Mai, and further in view of Jin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100046413 A1), hereafter referred to as Jin.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the first selected number of data packets.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the allotted additional time for the reserved provisional time slots occurs after the first selected number of data packets in the first data packet communication frame.
Jin teaches the allotted additional time for the reserved provisional time slots (Referring to FIG. 4, slots allocated to respective mobile subscriber stations are defined by a two-dimensional data region, Para. 8, FIG. 4. A portion marked by `RS UL` is a relay station uplink region, Para. 116, FIG. 17A) [the examiner notes that the relay station uplink region `RS DL` includes a Ranging subchannel] occurs after the first selected number of data packets (FIG. 17A shows a UL burst #1 preceding RS UL) in the first data packet communication frame (FIG. 17A illustrates a structure of an nth frame, Para. 115, FIG. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jin with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Jin provides a technique for a ranging region in a frame after an UL burst of data, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit certain mobile stations to request bandwidth after transmissions of other mobile stations.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches the second data packets.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach a second reserved provisional time slot occurs after the second data packets in the second data packet communication frame.
Jin teaches a second reserved provisional time slot occurs after the second data packets in the second data packet communication frame (FIG. 17A illustrates a structure of an nth frame, Para. 115, FIG. 17A. Referring to FIG. 4, slots allocated to respective mobile subscriber stations are defined by a two-dimensional data region, Para. 8, FIG. 4. A portion marked by `RS UL` is a relay station uplink region, Para. 116, FIG. 17A. FIG. 17A shows a UL burst #1 preceding RS UL) [the examiner notes that the relay station uplink region `RS DL` includes a Ranging subchannel].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jin with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Jin provides a technique for a ranging region in a frame after an UL burst of data, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit certain mobile stations to request bandwidth after transmissions of other mobile stations.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Mai, and further in view of Xin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230199847 A1), hereafter referred to as Xin.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the reserved provisional time slot.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the reserved provisional time slot is less than two hundred microseconds.
Xin teaches the reserved provisional time slot is less than two hundred microseconds (FIG. 19 depicts a HE Trigger-based (TB) PPDU format used for uplink multi-user transmission. The HE-STF field is 8 microseconds in length, Para. 86, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Xin provides a technique for a resource for an uplink field to be several microseconds in length, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit efficient usage of time resources in transmitting uplink messages.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches the reserved provisional time slot.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the reserved provisional time slot is one hundred microseconds or less.
Xin teaches the reserved provisional time slot is one hundred microseconds or less (FIG. 19 depicts a HE Trigger-based (TB) PPDU format used for uplink multi-user transmission. The HE-STF field is 8 microseconds in length, Para. 86, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Xin provides a technique for a resource for an uplink field to be several microseconds in length, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit efficient usage of time resources in transmitting uplink messages.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 51, Cho in view of Mai teaches the reserved provisional time slot.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the reserved provisional time slot is less than two hundred microseconds.
Xin teaches the reserved provisional time slot is less than two hundred microseconds (FIG. 19 depicts a HE Trigger-based (TB) PPDU format used for uplink multi-user transmission. The HE-STF field is 8 microseconds in length, Para. 86, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Xin provides a technique for a resource for an uplink field to be several microseconds in length, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit efficient usage of time resources in transmitting uplink messages.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Mai, and further in view of Saito (Pub. No.: US 20060153132 A1), hereafter referred to as Saito.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the controller.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the controller to select the second selected number of data packets for the second wireless IO device in the second data packet communication frame based on a stored profile associated with the second wireless IO device indicating a standard data packet transmission rate for the second wireless IO device.
Saito teaches the controller to select the second selected number of data packets for the second wireless IO device in the second data packet communication frame based on a stored profile associated with the second wireless IO device indicating a standard data packet transmission rate for the second wireless IO device (The subscriber station SS1-1 sends a RNG-REQ message to the relay station RS1 during contention period. The RNG-REQ message is transmitted after backoff period, such as CSMA/CA method. The RNG-REQ message includes burst profile, which indicates modulation type and coding rate to be used between the relay station RS and the subscriber station SS1-1. (Step S216). The subscriber station SS1-2 also sends a RNG-REQ message, which has a burst profile, to the relay station RS1 during contention period (Step S217), Para. 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Saito with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Saito provides a technique for network devices to utilize profiles of wireless devices indicating coding rates, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a serving network device to obtain profile information from wireless devices and conduct communications based on those profiles.
Claim(s) 7, 13-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Mai, and further in view of Himayat et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160119939 A1), hereafter referred to as Himayat.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cho in view of Mai teaches the controller.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the controller to select the second selected number of data packets for the second wireless IO device based on a requested second wireless IO device second selected number of data packets identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device.
Himayat teaches the controller to select the second selected number of data packets for the second wireless IO device based on a requested second wireless IO device second selected number of data packets identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device (an X2-W interface may be used to send notifications of transmission opportunities on the WLAN link, packet/data requests for a number of packets and/or number of bytes, etc. from the WLAN AP to the LAT at the eNB. The X2-W interface may be used to send requested packet data, an indication of the proportion of requested data to be transferred, and/or the like from the LAT at the eNB to the WLAN AP, Para. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Himayat with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Himayat provides a technique to make requests for a number of data packets to be transferred between network devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a wireless device to manage data transfers through requests for a number of packets to be transferred.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches a controller.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach selecting, via a controller for the wireless communication dongle, the second selected number of second wireless IO device data packets based on a request identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device.
Himayat teaches selecting, via a controller for the wireless communication dongle, the second selected number of second wireless IO device data packets based on a request identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device (an X2-W interface may be used to send notifications of transmission opportunities on the WLAN link, packet/data requests for a number of packets and/or number of bytes, etc. from the WLAN AP to the LAT at the eNB. The X2-W interface may be used to send requested packet data, an indication of the proportion of requested data to be transferred, and/or the like from the LAT at the eNB to the WLAN AP, Para. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Himayat with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Himayat provides a technique to make requests for a number of data packets to be transferred between network devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a wireless device to manage data transfers through requests for a number of packets to be transferred.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cho in view of Mai teaches a controller.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach selecting, via a controller, the updated first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots and the initial second wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots based on a requested second wireless IO device number of data packet transmission slots identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device and on the initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots.
Himayat teaches selecting, via a controller, the updated first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots and the initial second wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots based on a requested second wireless IO device number of data packet transmission slots identified within the new connection request received from the second wireless IO device and on the initial first wireless IO device allotted data packet transmission time slots (an X2-W interface may be used to send notifications of transmission opportunities on the WLAN link, packet/data requests for a number of packets and/or number of bytes, etc. from the WLAN AP to the LAT at the eNB. The X2-W interface may be used to send requested packet data, an indication of the proportion of requested data to be transferred, and/or the like from the LAT at the eNB to the WLAN AP, Para. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Himayat with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Himayat provides a technique to make requests for a number of data packets to be transferred between network devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a wireless device to manage data transfers through requests for a number of packets to be transferred.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Cho in view of Mai teaches the second selected number of data packets.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the first selected number of data packets or the second selected number of data packets instructed for the data packet communication frame is adjustable via the polling packet.
Himayat teaches the first selected number of data packets or the second selected number of data packets instructed for the data packet communication frame is adjustable via the polling packet (an X2-W interface may be used to send notifications of transmission opportunities on the WLAN link, packet/data requests for a number of packets and/or number of bytes, etc. from the WLAN AP to the LAT at the eNB. The X2-W interface may be used to send requested packet data, an indication of the proportion of requested data to be transferred, and/or the like from the LAT at the eNB to the WLAN AP, Para. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Himayat with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Himayat provides a technique to make requests for a number of data packets to be transferred between network devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a wireless device to manage data transfers through requests for a number of packets to be transferred.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Cho in view of Mai teaches the new connection request.
Cho in view of Mai fails to teach the new connection request includes a requested second wireless IO device second selected number of data packets.
Himayat teaches the new connection request includes a requested second wireless IO device second selected number of data packets (an X2-W interface may be used to send notifications of transmission opportunities on the WLAN link, packet/data requests for a number of packets and/or number of bytes, etc. from the WLAN AP to the LAT at the eNB. The X2-W interface may be used to send requested packet data, an indication of the proportion of requested data to be transferred, and/or the like from the LAT at the eNB to the WLAN AP, Para. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Himayat with the teachings of Cho in view of Mai since Himayat provides a technique to make requests for a number of data packets to be transferred between network devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cho in view of Mai to permit a wireless device to manage data transfers through requests for a number of packets to be transferred.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendment
Cho teaches in Para. 9, of generating data packets having variable lengths, and Cho teaches in Para. 46, that mobile stations may transmit data to the base station. FIG. 4 of Cho shows mobile station MS #1 transmitting data to a base station in N+2 frame. Data generated in a frame as variable length data packets from a transmitting mobile station of Cho, is substantively the same as a first selected number of first wireless IO device data packets transmitted of Claim 1.
Cho teaches in Para. 14, of a general wideband radio access system. Cho teaches in Para. 42 and FIG. 4, that a polling period is 2, Cho teaches in Para. 97 and FIG. 4, that a base station transmits UL-MAP messages including a UL-BR_IE, where FIG. 4 shows a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame. A general wideband radio access system of Cho causing transmission of an UL-BR_IE in a polling period of N+2 frame, is substantively the same as the collision free wireless IO device network joining system to instruct the wireless radio system to transmit a second, updated polling packet of Claim 1.
Cho teaches in Para. 97, UL-MAP messages including UL-BR_IE, and Cho shows in FIG. 4, a UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame. Cho teaches in Para. 43 and FIG. 4, a first mobile station (MS #1). A UL-MAP message including UL-BR_IE in N+2 frame for a first mobile station (MS #1) of Cho, is substantively the same as the updated polling packet including instructions to the first wireless IO device of Claim 1. Cho teaches in Para. 43 and FIG. 4, second mobile station (MS #2). A UL-MAP message including UL-BR_IE in N+2 frame for a second mobile station (MS #2) of Cho, is substantively the same as the updated polling packet including instructions to the second wireless IO device of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that For independent claims 1, 8, and 15, Examiner states that Cho teaches the claimed controller in a wireless communication dongle at an information handling system. This argument misapprehends the rejection of Claim 1, and is not persuasive. Although the rejection of Claim 1 presents Cho as teaching a controller of Claim 1, the rejection of Claim 1 presents secondary reference Mai as teaching a controller in a wireless communication dongle at an information handling system.
Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that Further, Examiner states Cho teaches that upon receiving the new connection request from the second wireless I/O device second at the dongle, the dongle transmits an updated polling packet to both the first wireless I/O device and the second wireless I/O device. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 recites: the wireless radio system to receive, during the reserved provisional time slot, a new connection request from a second wireless IO device (emphasis added). Although a wireless communication dongle of Claim 1 is associated with a collision free wireless input/output (IO) device network joining system, it is the wireless radio system that is to receive a new connection request from a second wireless IO device.
Cho teaches in Para. 45 and FIG. 4, that each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to a base station. A base station of Cho receiving requests for a data transmission bandwidth from mobile stations, is substantively the same as the wireless radio system to receive a new connection request from a second wireless IO device of Claim 1.
Claim 1 also recites: instruct the wireless radio system to transmit a second, updated polling packet (emphasis added). Although a wireless communication dongle of Claim 1 is associated with a collision free wireless input/output (IO) device network joining system, it is the wireless radio system that is to transmit a second, updated polling packet.
Cho teaches in Para. 97 and FIG. 4, that base station transmits UL-MAP messages including the UL-BR_IE in the N+2 frame (FIG. 4 of Cho) with respect to a polling period (Para. 42 of Cho). A base station of Cho transmitting UL-MAP messages including UL-BR_IE of Cho toward mobile stations with respect to a polling period, is substantively the same as the wireless radio system to transmit a second, updated polling packet of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, the system of Cho is a cellular base station and mobile user equipment uplink bandwidth contention system such as used with LTE or similar base stations. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not clearly exclude base stations and mobile stations related to contention techniques. If there are features in the specification that exclude base stations and mobile stations related to contention techniques, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that The polling of such systems includes uplink map transmissions to mobile stations MS 1 and MS2 among others who are communicating with a base station and requesting continuously varying levels of bandwidth for data/voice uplinks that require bandwidth request headers (e.g., S302a and S302b) and responsive bandwidth allocations (e.g., S303a and S303b) as shown in FIG. 3. This is not allocation of additional provisional additional time for a reserved provisional time slot in a first data packet communication frame to provide space for a dongle to receive a new connection request from a second wireless IO device. This argument is not persuasive. Cho teaches in Para. 43 and FIG. 4, a UL-MAP_IE specifies the resource area for requesting the uplink bandwidth, and Cho teaches in Para. 47 and FIG. 4, a base station may allocate the resource areas for requesting the uplink bandwidths to the mobile stations at an N+2th frame. Cho teaches in Para. 45 and FIG. 4, each mobile station may request a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area received by each UL-MAP message. A base station of Cho allocating resource areas for requesting uplink bandwidths by transmitting a UL-MAP_IE specifying the resource areas at an N+2th frame for requesting the uplink bandwidth, and each mobile station requesting a bandwidth for transmitting data to the base station via the uplink area at the N+2th frame received by a UL-MAP message, is substantively the same as allot additional time for a reserved provisional time slot in a first data packet communication frame; the wireless radio system to receive, during the reserved provisional time slot, a new connection request from a second wireless IO device of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Such an operation would not be contemplated in an uplink bandwidth contention cellular system for UL bandwidth access among plural mobile stations that are active with the base station and would not be contemplated for use with a wireless dongle on an information handling system for pairing, such as with BT, to plural wireless input/output devices such as wireless mouse or wireless keyboards. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not clearly exclude base stations and mobile stations related to contention techniques, and Claim 1 does not clearly require any aspect exclusive to Bluetooth. If there are features in the specification that exclude base stations and mobile stations related to contention techniques, and that require an aspect exclusive to Bluetooth, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Mai is cited for a dongle system, but fails to teach this allocation of additional provisional additional time for a reserved provisional time slot in a first data packet communication frame to provide space for a dongle to receive a new connection request from a second wireless IO device, such as a BT pairing request, during that reserved provisional time slod within the first data packet communication frame. This argument is not persuasive. As previously presented, Cho teaches allot additional time for a reserved provisional time slot in a first data packet communication frame; the wireless radio system to receive, during the reserved provisional time slot, a new connection request from a second wireless IO device of Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-30-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477