DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are pending.
Claim 1, -3, 5-7 are amended.
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP-1964767-A2 to Takachi (“Takachi”), and further in view of DE-202016106746-U1 to Buder (“Buder”) .
Examiner Note: the rejection in Para 14, relies on third embodiment of Takachi, which shares some elements with first embodiment, thus reference characters for each are included, where first embodiment of 0## correspond to 2## of the and second embodiment, i.e. part 40 corresponds to 240.
Regarding Claim 1, Takachi (second embodiment of Fig 23-35 [Para 107-110] some common parts with of first embodiment of Figs 1-19 [para 74-106], except at first end 40a/240a) discloses a quick release (Fig 2) with bidirectional length adjustability (via 66 and 60; and via 50 of 42/242 in 30/230), comprising: a shaft (30/230 “outer axle” Fig 23), defining an axial hole (240d) that passes therethrough wherein the axial hole has a wall (with Inner diameter ID 40D, Fig 4) formed with a first-end (240a “second end portion”) internally threaded segment (40c/240c) at one end (near 50 “set screws” in holes allowing axial adjustability of 42/242 in 30/320 , Fig 3, 4) of the shaft; a movable sleeve (44 “radial expansion part”, Fig 3, 23) , defining therein a channel (43c “spring receiving recess”, Fig 3, 23), and having one end (left end in Fig 3) thereof formed with an opening (44d “”axle receiving hole”, Para 82) and an opposite end (right end in Fig 3) formed with a through hole (44c “spring receiving recess”, Para 82) communicated with the channel, wherein, a ringlike spring (46 “biasing member” ) is inthe channel, and the movable sleeve mounted around the end of the shaft (Para 79, lines 55-56, para 73, lines 15-16) away from the adjusting bolt through the opening (Fig 3, 23), such that the ringlike spring has one end abutting against the shaft and an opposite end abutting against the movable sleeve (Para 79, lines 51-55 Para 82, Fig 3, 4, 23); and an eccentric screwing component (34/36, Fig 2, 23), having a quick-release lever (34a, 36a) that is eccentrically rotatable and a screwing rod (42/242 “inner axle”), wherein the screwing rod has a periphery formed with an external threaded segment (Para 77 lines 26-28) away from the eccentric screwing component, a slide segment close to the eccentric screwing component, and a retaining flange located between the external threaded segment and the slide segment, the external threaded segment of the screwing rod passes through the through hole of the movable sleeve and the ringlike spring screwed into the second-end internally threaded segment of the axial hole, wherein the shaft has at least one side hole that positionally corresponds to the slide segment and is communicated with the axial hole, in which the side hole receives a retaining pin that protrudes out of the axial hole, and the retaining flange is capable of being screwedly displaced to abut against an edge of the retaining pin (bolded stricken through limits are “product by process limits”, thus are not limiting; method limit in product claim, not limiting: “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production., MPEP 2113. Examiner suggests deleting the bolded stricken through limits).
Takachi does not disclose the shaft axial hole passing therethrough, a second-end internally threaded segment at an opposite end of the shaft; an adjusting bolt, having an external threaded segment relatively remote from the eccentric screwing component and being provided at one end with a plug head, wherein the external threaded segment of the adjusting bolt is made to be screwedly engaged with the first-end internally threaded segment of the axial hole.
Buder (Figs 1-7) discloses a second-end internally threaded segment (11 axial “through hole” with 41 “interior threaded section “ Fig 4) at an opposite end (right end Fig 4) of the shaft (right end of 1”rod member”, right side of Fig 4); an adjusting bolt (32 “engaging member”) having an external threaded segment (42a, Fig 2)(relatively remote from the eccentric screwing component and being provided at one end with a plug head (323 “communicating portion/hole” for turning with a tool such as a hex key, [i.e. a head socket opening outward], to receive a tool, Para 23, lines 8-22, Fig 1-5), wherein
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability and the bolt with an external threaded segment and a plug head, with in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of Takachi and the teaching of the bolt with an external threaded segment and a plug head of Buder, to modify the shaft, such that it has internally threaded opening at the first end (like Buder), such that the axial hole is a through hole, the second end of which receives a bolt with external threads and a plug head (like Buder) with the motivation to allow for axial adjustment the end opposite the quick disconnect, and to allow for use of the quick disconnect with different dimensioned forks, and to enable tightening/loosening with a hand tool capable to applying high torque (Buder Para 21, lines 5-9, Para 23, lines 8-22, Fig 1-5 [Note: Buder typo Para 21 line 9 “second form arm” should be “second fork arm” as in para 17 line 8]), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Takachi and Buder discloses the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of claim 1, wherein a tightening torque between the first-end internally threaded segment (applied by rotating quick disconnect and screwing rod) and the adjusting bolt is greater the second end torque (torque applies by hex tool upon head of bolt as described in paragraph 8 and 9 of this document, torque applied by a tool is known in the art to be greater than torque applied by hand turning of a lever)), than a tightening torque between the second-end internally threaded segment and the screwing rod.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Takachi and Buder discloses the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of claim 4, wherein the retaining pin is a countersunk screw (50, Para 78, Fig 4), and the side via is a threaded hole defined by a wall that is formed with internal threads.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Takachi and Buder discloses the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of claim 1, wherein the plug head is provided with a head socket that is open outward (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Takachi and Buder discloses the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of claim 1, Takachi further discloses wherein the shaft (30/230) has an end flange (Annotated Figure 4 “AF4”) axially facing end formed at the end where the second-end internally threaded segment is formed, and the channel has an inner diameter (44d ID AF4) that is larger than an inner diameter (44c ID AFD) of the through hole, such that a ledge (AF4) is formed between the channel and the through hole and the ringlike spring (46) has one end abutting against the end flange and an opposite end abutting against the ledge (as shown AF4, Takachi Page 82).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takachi and further in view of Buder , and further in view of CN-101545508-A to Liu (“Liu”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Takachi and Buder discloses the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the external threaded segment of the adjusting bolt is coated with a coating that forms a lock like grip on threads.
Liu discloses a bolted connection wherein the external threaded segment of the adjusting bolt is coated with a coating that forms a lock like grip on threads of a bolt (English Translation, Page 2, Para 4 beginning “To achieve the purpose…”, lines 1-6, Para 6 beginning “As shown in FIG. 1….”, lines 1-9, Claim 2).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the quick release with bidirectional length adjustability and the a coating that forms a lock like grip on threads of a bolt coating of Liu, with in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the buckle-type quick release with bidirectional length adjustability of the combination of Takachi and Buder and the teaching of a coating that forms a lock like grip on threads of a bolt of Liu, to modify the bolt such that the threads thereon are coated with a coating that forms a lock like grip, with the motivation to increase the combining force between the threads, (Liu, Page 2, Para 6, beginning “As shown in FIG. 1..”, lines 6-7) having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to rejection of Claims 1-7 under 35 USD §112 (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in part, in light of amendments thereto. The rejection of Claims 1-7 under 35 USD §112 (b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 10/23/2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for reasons described in the following paragraphs. The rejection relying in part on Takachi, is maintained and included herein, with updated amended claim limits.
In response to applicant's argument that the reference Takachi, fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Remarks, filed 10/23/2025), on pages 8-10, applicant clearly states Takachi discloses the structure recited in claim 1 of issue: Notes added to Figure 5 of instant application and Figure 4 of Takachi detail the structure; but Applicants argument states Takachi does not disclose the intent or effect achieved by that structure is the same as those described in instant application specification paragraphs 21 and 22. Specifically to limit the screwing rod 32 to slide in the range defined by the slide segment”, and “prevents the screwing rod 32 from wrongly coming off the shaft”).
Examiners responds to the arguments stating the limits of claim 1 are disclosed in the structure of Takachi. Applicants arguments focus on the intent and effects thereof, which are not included in the limits of claim 1, but instead are in the specification. Furthermore, Takachi’s disclosed structure can have any claimed function (MPEP 2112.01). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615