DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 17, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-17 and 20-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Thurber and RdobleV do not teach the limitation where the body is disposed around only a portion of the display, see Pages 7-8 of Remarks, filed December 17, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the independent claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of AccXpress (VR Glasses for Nintendo Switch 3D Virtual Reality Goggles Headset Adjustable Len).
Applicant's arguments listed below filed December 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues:
Thurber does not teach that the opening for the display extends through the entire body from the first to second sidewalls.
Thurber and RdobleV are not obvious to combine.
Regarding argument 1 listed above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that Thurber does not teach that the opening for the display extends through the entire body from the first to second sidewalls. Thurber discloses the inner surface defining a display opening extending entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0071 – “Support module 6 comprises one or more of a first side wall 16, second side wall 18, upper wall 32, lower wall 34, corners 36, edges 38, and covers 32a and 34a…Dock 14a can be a receptacle, an opening, a surface, one or more fasteners, or any other type of structure capable of temporarily holding two components together or positioning two components side-by-side…The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”; Note: as shown in modified screenshots of Fig. 16 and 14, there is an opening 14a that fits the mobile device 5, defined by the inner surface. As dock 14a is an opening connected to the walls of the body, it is implied that the opening extends from the top to bottom (first sidewall to second sidewall));
Modified screenshot of Fig. 16
Modified screenshot of Fig. 14
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine Thurber and RdobleV, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, to combine Thurber and RdobleV and reasonably make the VR device of Thurber become single-eye, Thurber’s device could be reduced from having two lenses and two lenses openings to having one lens and one lens opening, which would make the device smaller and weigh less. Additionally, the walls and surfaces of Thurber currently fit the shape and size for covering two eyes, so when the device is one-eyed, it could instead fit the shape and size of the single lens and lens opening. Thus, one eye can view the VR, while the other eye is open to the real world. Even with this configuration, the VR device could still be attached to the head, still hold a mobile device (smartphone) as a display, and still block out light for the single eye, as desired by Thurber. Because the VR device becomes smaller and lighter when it accommodates only one eye, portability and compactness are logically increased. Furthermore, users that fear being detached from the real world or users that have cybersickness would be able to better enjoy VR when only one eye is connected to the VR device and the other eye is open to the real world since it becomes easier to engage or disengage between either reality. Therefore, it would be possible to combine Thurber’s VR device with RdobleV to make it a single-eye VR device, and there is motivation to do so.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber et al. (US 20160011422 A1), hereinafter Thurber, in view of RdobleV (VR Monocle (TfCD)) and AccXpress (VR Glasses for Nintendo Switch 3D Virtual Reality Goggles Headset Adjustable Len), hereinafter RdobleV and AccXpress respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Thurber teaches a virtual reality adapter (Fig. 13-14, Paragraph 0070 – “a modular and convertible VR headset 10… the modular segments of a VR headset system 10 preferably include a headset 11 with a frame assembly comprising a device module 4 and a support module 6, a lens module 8, a comfort module 15, and a strap 19”; Note: the VR headset 10 is a virtual reality adapter), comprising:
a body configured to be disposed around a display screen (Fig. 13-14, 16; Paragraph 0070, 0072 – “a headset 11 with a frame assembly comprising a device module 4 and a support module 6, a lens module 8, a comfort module 15, and a strap 19…Device module 4 comprises a base 14, an optional seal 13, and a receptacle or dock 14a defined by or attached to base 14 with optional locks 9 for accommodating the mobile device case 12 or a mobile device 5 directly… Mobile devices include any personal electronic device or any mobile or handheld device that has a screen or display”; Note: The headset itself is equivalent to a body, and it is disposed around mobile device 5, as shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16. The mobile device is equivalent to the display), the body having an inner surface and an outer surface separated by a first sidewall and a second sidewall, (Fig. 14, 16 – see modified screenshots 1 and 2 below, which show the inner surface and outer surface, separated by sidewalls), the body defining a lens opening extending from the outer surface to the inner surface (Fig. 16, Paragraph 0082 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25”; Note: the lens opening is shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 below), the inner surface defining a display opening extending entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0071 – “Support module 6 comprises one or more of a first side wall 16, second side wall 18, upper wall 32, lower wall 34, corners 36, edges 38, and covers 32a and 34a…Dock 14a can be a receptacle, an opening, a surface, one or more fasteners, or any other type of structure capable of temporarily holding two components together or positioning two components side-by-side…The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”; Note: as shown in modified screenshots of Fig. 16 and 14, there is an opening 14a that fits the mobile device 5, defined by the inner surface. As dock 14a is an opening connected to the walls of the body, it is implied that the opening extends from the top to bottom (first sidewall to second sidewall));
Modified screenshot 1 (taken from Fig. 16 of Thurber)
Modified screenshot 2 (taken from Fig. 14 of Thurber)
a VR lens removably coupled to the body (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0082-0083 – “Lens module 8 preferably comprises a lens plate 20, lens cups 23 and 25, lenses 22 and 24, a first shutter 27, a second shutter 28…Lens module 8 and lens plate 20 removably secure to either device module 4 or support module 6 or both. Lens module 8 and lens plate 20 can be removably secured to support module 6 and/or device module 4 with snaps, hook & loop closure, tongue and groove fasteners, magnets…”; Note: there are VR lenses 22 and 24, which are coupled to the body through the lens module, and are removably secured), the VR lens disposed within the lens opening (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0082, 0085 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25…First and second lens cups 23 and 25 are shaped and configured to house first and second lenses 22 and 24”; Note: the VR lenses 22 and 24 are inside the lens cups, which are inside the lens openings of lens plate 20), the VR lens configured to be positioned at a distance d1>0 in front of a portion of the display screen (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0082 – “lens plate 20 can be configured to position lenses 22 and 24 at a specific distance from dock 14a and the mobile device display”; Note: see modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 to see how the lenses 22 and 24 are in front of the display 5).
Thurber does not teach a single-eye virtual reality adapter. However, RdobleV teaches a single-eye virtual reality adapter (Page 1 – “This is a VR Monocle for a ‘one-eye’ VR experience”; Note: the VR Monocle is a single-eye VR adapter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of RdobleV to have a single-eye virtual reality adapter for the benefit of having a compact and portable VR device that can be experienced anywhere (RdobleV: Page 1). A single-eye virtual reality adapter would be smaller and lighter than a regular virtual reality adapter, making it easier to carry and use. Furthermore, users that fear being detached from the real world or users that have cybersickness would be able to better enjoy VR when only one eye is connected to the VR device and the other eye is open to the real world since it becomes easier to engage or disengage between either reality.
Thurber modified by RdobleV still does not teach that the body is disposed around only a portion of a display screen. However, AccXpress teaches a body configured to be disposed around only a portion of a display screen (1st Image on Page 5 – See modified screenshot 3 below).
Modified screenshot 3 (taken from AccXpress)
Modified screenshot 4 (taken from AccXpress)
In order for Thurber to incorporate the feature where the body is disposed around a portion of the display, the display opening of Thurber would have to be replaced with the display opening of AccXpress, as shown in modified screenshot 4. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the display opening of Thurber could have been substituted for the display opening of AccXpress because both display openings serve the purpose of holding a display and both extend entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (see modified screenshots 1-4). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of holding a display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the display opening of Thurber for the display opening of AccXpress according to known methods to yield the predictable result of securing and holding the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of AccXpress to have the body be disposed around only a portion of the display screen because in cases where the display is larger than the body, logically the body can only cover a portion of the display screen. As shown with AccXpress, the display screen is taller than the body, and especially with the configuration of Thurber combined with RdobleV, wherein the device is single-eyed, display devices would likely be larger than the body of the VR device. By substituting Thurber’s display opening for AccXpress’s display opening, there is increased usability since more display types and sizes can be accommodated to work with the VR device.
Regarding claim 2, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber further teaches a shield coupled to the outer surface at a fixed position opposite the lens opening (Fig. 20, 26; Paragraph 0071 – “FIGS. 19-26 illustrate a preferred lock 9 comprising a pull tension-type latch having a first latch arm 41 pivotally attached with a connector 48 to base 14 near its perimeter and a second latch arm 42 pivotally attached with a connector 48 to base 14 near its perimeter and on an opposite edge from where second latch arm 42 attaches to base 14. Second latch arm 42 further includes a spacer 49 pivotally attached with a connector 48 to latch arm 42 near its longitudinal center”; Note: the lock 9 acts as a shield. Fig. 20 shows the arm of the lock 41 at a position opposite to the lens opening; see modified screenshot 5 below), the shield being disposed at a distance d2>0 from the outer surface of the body (Fig. 26 – There is a distance greater than zero between the outer surface of the body and the shield; see modified screenshot 6 below), the shield having an inward-facing surface that faces the outer surface of the body, and an outward-facing surface that faces away from the body (Fig. 20 – On the shield, there is an outward-facing surface that faces away from the body, and it is inherent that there is an inward-facing surface that faces the outer surface of the body; see modified screenshot 5 below).
Modified screenshot 5 (taken from Fig. 20 of Thurber)
Modified screenshot 6 (taken from Fig. 25 and 26 of Thurber)
Regarding claim 3, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 2. Thurber further teaches wherein the outer surface of the body includes one or more protrusions extending towards the inward-facing surface of the shield (Fig. 25, Paragraph 0071 – “First arm 41 further pivotally attaches with a hinge mechanism 43 to second arm 42, as shown in FIGS. 25-26”; Note: see modified screenshot 6 above, wherein 43 is a protrusion on the outer surface of the body that extends toward the inner surface of the shield).
Regarding claim 8, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber further teaches one or more electronic components (Paragraph 0095 – “VR headset 11 may further include motion detection sensors 53, head tracking technology 54 and/or eye movement tracking technology 55 such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, integrated depth sensors, computer vision technology, lasers, light detection and ranging (LiDAR) technology, and Wi-Fi triangulation technology. Hand movement sensors or trackers or other body movement sensors or tracker may also communicate electronically or wirelessly with cooperative technology 56 included in headset 11, the attached mobile device, or both”; Note: the VR headset further comprises electronic components, like sensors).
Regarding claim 9, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 8. Thurber further teaches wherein the one or more electronic components include a battery (Paragraph 0044 – “The active shutter system 220 preferably connects to a battery or power source 210 that can also be positioned on or in the headset as needed”), sensor (Paragraph 0095 – “VR headset 11 may further include motion detection sensors 53”), a microphone (Paragraph 0094 – “VR headset system 10 can further include a microphone 51”), a display screen (Paragraph 0096 – “VR headset 11 optionally may comprise a camera 57 and additional displays 58 such as an integrated, permanently attached, or removably attached external display”), and/or a camera (Paragraph 0096 – “VR headset 11 optionally may comprise a camera 57”).
Regarding claim 11, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber does not teach wherein a portion of the body defining the lens opening has a first thickness that is greater than a thickness of the body at a second location, the thickness being defined as a shortest distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall at that location. However, RdobleV teaches wherein a portion of the body defining the lens opening has a first thickness that is greater than a thickness of the body at a second location (Page 4, 3rd image on the side – The thickness of the body defining the lens opening is greater than the thickness at another location; see modified screenshot 7 below).
Modified screenshot 7 (taken from RdobleV)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of RdobleV to have greater thickness at the lens opening for the benefit of having better lens protection and accommodating the shape of the lens opening.
Regarding claim 12, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber further teaches wherein at least a portion of the outer surface has flat cross-section (Fig. 14 – The outer surface 18 has a flat cross-section; see modified screenshot 2 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of RdobleV, AccXpress, and Samsung (Samsung 1 - Gear VR Mobile Device User Manual, Samsung 2 - Which Galaxy smartphones are compatible with which Gear VRs?, Samsung 3 - Galaxy S8+ 64GB (Unlocked)).
Regarding claim 4, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber does not teach wherein the inner surface defines a set of sockets, each socket opposing the other across the display opening, each socket defining a recess configured to slidably receive the display screen. However, Samsung teaches wherein the inner surface defines a set of sockets, each socket opposing the other across the display opening (Page 5 – The device holders are the equivalent to the sockets, and they are opposite each other across the display opening; see modified screenshot 8 below), each socket defining a recess configured to slidably receive the display screen (Page 5-6 – Each socket has a recess, where the display device can slide into; see modified screenshot 8 below).
Modified screenshot 8 (taken from Samsung 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Samsung to have sockets and a recess for each socket for the benefit of having a user-friendly way to insert the mobile device into the virtual reality headset and securely hold it.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of RdobleV, AccXpress, Samsung, and Yoovee (YOOVEE Car Phone Holder - Upgraded 360° Rotatable for Dashboard, Windshield & Air Vent Mount for 4.0"-7.0" Phones).
Regarding claim 5, Thurber in view of RdobleV, AccXpress, and Samsung teach the single-eye VR adapter of claim 4. Thurber does not teach wherein a compressible material is disposed in each recess, each compressible material having a coefficient of friction that is higher than a coefficient of friction of a material forming another portion of the body. However, Yoovee teaches a compressible material disposed in each recess, each compressible material having a coefficient of friction that is higher than a coefficient of friction of a material forming another portion of the body (Page 1 – “Constructed from heat-resistant ABS and PC materials, our holder fits phones ranging from 4 to 7 inches. The thick silicone rubber on the grip arms enhances durability and ensures universal compatibility”; Note: the grip arms, which have recesses, have silicone rubber. The rest of the body is made of ABS and PC. The coefficient of friction of silicone rubber is greater than the coefficient of friction of ABS and PC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Yoovee to have a compressible material in each recess with a greater coefficient of friction for the benefit of securely gripping and holding the device so that it does not fall while it is being used.
Regarding claim 6, Thurber in view of RdobleV, AccXpress, Samsung, and Yoovee teach the single-eye VR adapter of claim 5. Thurber does not teach wherein a width of the recess is no more than 25 mm, where the width is a direction parallel to a central axis of the lens opening. However, Samsung teaches wherein a width of the recess is no more than 25 mm (Pages 8 and 10 – The largest device that the Gear VR SM-R324 is compatible with is Galaxy S8 plus, which has a depth of 0.32in (8.128 mm). In order to keep the device secure, it is common sense that the recess cannot be more than 25 mm), where the width is a direction parallel to a central axis of the lens opening (Page 4 – The width of the recess is parallel to the central axis of the lens opening; see modified screenshot 9 below).
Modified screenshot 9 (taken from Samsung 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Samsung to have a recess width less than 25mm and parallel to the central axis of the lens opening for the benefit of properly securing the display device and orienting the display device in a way that can be viewed by the user through the lens opening.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of RdobleV, AccXpress, and Chen et al. (US 20210011291 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 7, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber does not teach wherein d1 is less than or equal to the effective focal length of the VR lens. However, Chen teaches wherein d1 is less than or equal to the effective focal length of the VR lens (Paragraph 0032 – “a distance between the center point of the display panel and a center point of the Fresnel surface of the second lens is smaller than an effective focal length of the VR lens structure”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have the distance between the lens and the display be less than the effective focal length of the lens for the benefit of ensuring that the user can clearly see what is displayed on the screen.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of RdobleV. AccXpress, and Li et al. (CN 106814844 A), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 10, Thurber in view of RdobleV and AccXpress teaches the single-eye VR adapter of claim 1. Thurber does not teach a watch. However, Li teaches a watch (Paragraph 0020-0021 – “a virtual reality interaction system, comprising: Smart watches, used to collect user interaction information from the wearer”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Li to have a watch as part of the virtual reality system for the benefit of solving “the problem that there are generally only one or a few interaction modes due to technical and cost limitations,” and achieving “a rich variety of interaction modes” (Li: Paragraph 0018).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of AccXpress and Brilliant Promos (Foldable Silicone VR Glasses Virtual Reality Headset), hereinafter Promos.
Regarding claim 13, Thurber teaches a VR adapter body configured to be disposed around a display screen (Fig. 13-14, 16; Paragraph 0070, 0072 – “the modular segments of a VR headset system 10 preferably include a headset 11 with a frame assembly comprising a device module 4 and a support module 6, a lens module 8, a comfort module 15, and a strap 19…Device module 4 comprises a base 14, an optional seal 13, and a receptacle or dock 14a defined by or attached to base 14 with optional locks 9 for accommodating the mobile device case 12 or a mobile device 5 directly… Mobile devices include any personal electronic device or any mobile or handheld device that has a screen or display”; Note: The headset itself is equivalent to a body, and it is disposed around mobile device 5, as shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16. The mobile device is equivalent to the display), each VR adapter body having an inner surface and an outer surface, separated by a first sidewall and a second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16 – see modified screenshots 1 and 2 above, which show the inner surface and outer surface, separated by sidewalls), each VR adapter body defining a lens opening extending from the outer surface to the inner surface (Fig. 16, Paragraph 0082 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25”; Note: the lens opening is shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 above, and it extends from the outer surface to the inner surface), the inner surface defining a display opening extending entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0071 – “Support module 6 comprises one or more of a first side wall 16, second side wall 18, upper wall 32, lower wall 34, corners 36, edges 38, and covers 32a and 34a…Dock 14a can be a receptacle, an opening, a surface, one or more fasteners, or any other type of structure capable of temporarily holding two components together or positioning two components side-by-side…The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”; Note: as shown in modified screenshots of Fig. 16 and 14, there is an opening 14a that fits the mobile device 5, defined by the inner surface. As dock 14a is an opening connected to the walls of the body, it is implied that the opening extends from the top to bottom (first sidewall to second sidewall)); and one or more VR lenses, each configured to be disposed within the lens opening (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0082, 0085 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25…First and second lens cups 23 and 25 are shaped and configured to house first and second lenses 22 and 24”; Note: the VR lenses 22 and 24 are inside the lens cups, which are inside the lens openings of lens plate 20).
Thurber does not teach a kit comprising one or more VR adapter bodies nor that the bodies are disposed around only a portion of a display screen. However, Promos teaches a kit comprising one or more VR adapter bodies (Image on page 1 – there are multiple VR adapter bodies that are purchased together as a kit; see modified screenshot 10 below).
Modified screenshot 10 (taken from Promos)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Promos to have a VR kit so that multiple users can use the VR devices at the same time in one place. Thurber modified by Promos still does not teach that the bodies are disposed around only a portion of a display screen. However, AccXpress teaches a body configured to be disposed around only a portion of a display screen (1st Image on Page 5 – See modified screenshot 3 above). In order for Thurber to incorporate the feature where the body is disposed around a portion of the display, the display opening of Thurber would have to be replaced with the display opening of AccXpress, as shown in modified screenshot 4. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the display opening of Thurber could have been substituted for the display opening of AccXpress because both display openings serve the purpose of holding a display and both extend entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (see modified screenshots 1-4). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of holding a display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the display opening of Thurber for the display opening of AccXpress according to known methods to yield the predictable result of securing and holding the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of AccXpress to have the body be disposed around only a portion of the display screen because in cases where the display is larger than the body, logically the body can only cover a portion of the display screen. As shown with AccXpress, the display screen is taller than the body. By substituting Thurber’s display opening for AccXpress’s display opening, there is increased usability since more display types and sizes can be accommodated to work with the VR device.
Regarding claim 14, Thurber in view of AccXpress and Promos teaches the kit of claim 13. Thurber does not teach wherein the kit comprises a plurality of VR adapter bodies and a plurality of VR lenses. However, Promos teaches wherein the kit comprises a plurality of VR adapter bodies and a plurality of VR lenses (Image on page 1 – There are multiple VR adapter bodies with lenses on them; see modified screenshot 10 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Promos to have a kit with a plurality of VR adapter bodies and lenses so that multiple users can use the VR devices at the same time in one place. Additionally, most VR devices already come with lenses.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of AccXpress, Promos, and Pop-tech (Biconvex Lens Set, Pop-Tech Optical Glass Lens Bi-Convex 34mm Diameter 45mm Focal Length Lenses for Google Cardboard VR).
Regarding claim 15, Thurber in view of AccXpress and Promos teaches the kit of claim 14. Thurber does not teach wherein the plurality of VR lenses includes a lens for each VR adapter body in the kit, and one or more replacement lens. However, Promos teaches wherein the plurality of VR lenses includes a lens for each VR adapter body in the kit (Image on page 1 – Each VR device comes with lenses on them; see modified screenshot 10 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Promos to have lenses for each VR device because in the state of the art, most VR devices already come with lenses. Thurber modified by Promos still does not teach one or more replacement lens. However, Pop-tech teaches one or more replacement lens (Image on page 1 – Replacement lenses for VR device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Pop-tech to have one or more replacement lenses for the benefit of being able to easily replace the lenses in the VR device if it gets damaged.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurber in view of RdobleV, Promos, and AccXpress.
Regarding claim 20, Thurber teaches a system (Paragraph 0070 – “a VR headset system”) comprising: a display screen (Paragraph 0070, 0072 – “Device module 4 comprises a base 14, an optional seal 13, and a receptacle or dock 14a defined by or attached to base 14 with optional locks 9 for accommodating the mobile device case 12 or a mobile device 5 directly… Mobile devices include any personal electronic device or any mobile or handheld device that has a screen or display”); a VR adapter (Paragraph 0070 – “VR headset 10”) comprising: a body defining a lens opening extending from an outer surface of the body to an inner surface of the body (Fig. 16, Paragraph 0082 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25”; Note: the lens opening is shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 above), separated by a first sidewall and a second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16 – see modified screenshots 1 and 2 above, which show the inner surface and outer surface, separated by sidewalls) the body having an inner surface defining a display opening extending entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0071 – “Support module 6 comprises one or more of a first side wall 16, second side wall 18, upper wall 32, lower wall 34, corners 36, edges 38, and covers 32a and 34a…Dock 14a can be a receptacle, an opening, a surface, one or more fasteners, or any other type of structure capable of temporarily holding two components together or positioning two components side-by-side…The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”; Note: as shown in modified screenshots of Fig. 16 and 14, there is an opening 14a that fits the mobile device 5, defined by the inner surface. As dock 14a is an opening connected to the walls of the body, it is implied that the opening extends from the top to bottom (first sidewall to second sidewall)), the body being disposed around a display screen extending through the display opening (Fig. 13-14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0072 – “a headset 11 with a frame assembly comprising a device module 4 and a support module 6, a lens module 8, a comfort module 15, and a strap 19…Device module 4 comprises a base 14, an optional seal 13, and a receptacle or dock 14a defined by or attached to base 14 with optional locks 9 for accommodating the mobile device case 12 or a mobile device 5 directly… The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14…Mobile devices include any personal electronic device or any mobile or handheld device that has a screen or display”; Note: The headset itself is equivalent to a body, and it is disposed around mobile device 5, as shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16. The mobile device is equivalent to the display, and it extends through the display opening); a VR lens disposed within the lens opening (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0082, 0085 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25…First and second lens cups 23 and 25 are shaped and configured to house first and second lenses 22 and 24”; Note: the VR lenses 22 and 24 are inside the lens cups, which are inside the lens openings of lens plate 20), the VR lens configured to be positioned at a distance d1>0 mm in front of a portion of the display screen (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0082 – “lens plate 20 can be configured to position lenses 22 and 24 at a specific distance from dock 14a and the mobile device display”; Note: see modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 to see how the lenses 22 and 24 are in front of the display 5).
Thurber does not teach a plurality of single-eye virtual reality (VR) adapters, including a first single-eye VR adapter and a second single-eye VR adapter; a body disposed around a portion of the display screen; nor wherein the first single-eye VR adapter is separated from the second single-eye VR adapter. However, RdobleV teaches a single-eye virtual reality adapter (Page 1 – “This is a VR Monocle for a ‘one-eye’ VR experience”; Note: the VR Monocle is a single-eye VR adapter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of RdobleV to have a single-eye virtual reality adapter for the benefit of having a compact and portable VR device that can be experienced anywhere (RdobleV: Page 1). A single-eye virtual reality adapter would be smaller and lighter than a regular virtual reality adapter, making it easier to carry and use. Furthermore, users that fear being detached from the real world or users that have cybersickness would be able to better enjoy VR when only one eye is connected to the VR device and the other eye is open to the real world since it becomes easier to engage or disengage between either reality.
Thurber modified by RdobleV still does not teach a plurality of single-eye virtual reality (VR) adapters, including a first single-eye VR adapter and a second single-eye VR adapter; a body disposed around a portion of the display screen; nor wherein the first single-eye VR adapter is separated from the second single-eye VR adapter. However, Promos teaches a plurality of virtual reality (VR) adapters, including a first VR adapter and a second VR adapter (Image on page 1 – There are a plurality of VR devices, and there is a first and second VR device; see modified screenshot 10 above); wherein the first VR adapter is separated from the second VR adapter (Image on page 1 – All of the VR devices are separated from one another; see modified screenshot 10 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Promos to have a plurality of virtual reality adapters because it is common for multiple users to use the VR devices at the same time in one place. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of Promos to have the virtual reality devices be separated because virtual reality devices are already usually separated since only one person operates a virtual reality device at a time. Thurber modified by RdobleV and Promos still does not teach a body disposed around a portion of the display screen. However, AccXpress teaches a body configured to be disposed around only a portion of a display screen (1st Image on Page 5 – See modified screenshot 3 above). In order for Thurber to incorporate the feature where the body is disposed around a portion of the display, the display opening of Thurber would have to be replaced with the display opening of AccXpress, as shown in modified screenshot 4. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the display opening of Thurber could have been substituted for the display opening of AccXpress because both display openings serve the purpose of holding a display and both extend entirely through the body from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (see modified screenshots 1-4). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of holding a display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the display opening of Thurber for the display opening of AccXpress according to known methods to yield the predictable result of securing and holding the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thurber to incorporate the teachings of AccXpress to have the body be disposed around only a portion of the display screen because in cases where the display is larger than the body, logically the body can only cover a portion of the display screen. As shown with AccXpress, the display screen is taller than the body, and especially with the configuration of Thurber combined with RdobleV, wherein the device is single-eyed, display devices would likely be larger than the body of the VR device. By substituting Thurber’s display opening for AccXpress’s display opening, there is increased usability since more display types and sizes can be accommodated to work with the VR device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable for disclosing wherein at least a portion of first single-eye VR adapter in a first orientation is configured to be slidably received by the second single-eye VR adapter such that the lens opening of the first single-eye VR adapter faces a first direction, and the lens opening of the second single-eye VR adapter faces a second direction different from the first direction.
Regarding claim 16, Thurber in view of AccXpress, and Promos teaches the kit of claim 14. However, none of the prior art teaches the claim limitation of wherein at least a portion of first single-eye VR adapter in a first orientation is configured to be slidably received by the second single-eye VR adapter such that the lens opening of the first single-eye VR adapter faces a first direction, and the lens opening of the second single-eye VR adapter faces a second direction different from the first direction. Thurber teaches a VR adapter being configured to slidably receive a mobile device (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0071 – “The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”), and Promos teaches a first and second VR adapter (Image on page 1 – There are multiple VR devices), but they do not teach the first VR adapter slidably receive the second VR adapter such that they face different directions. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify Thurber to have a VR adapter slidably receive a second VR adapter and to have them face different directions. Therefore, the combination of features is considered allowable.
Claim 17 would be allowable for disclosing wherein when the first single-eye VR adapter is coupled to the second single-eye VR adapter, a user's hand, wrist, or arm can extend through the display opening on the first single-eye VR adapter and the display opening of the second single-eye VR adapter.
Regarding claim 17, none of the prior art teaches the kit of claim 16 nor the claim limitation of wherein when the first single-eye VR adapter is coupled to the second single-eye VR adapter, a user's hand, wrist, or arm can extend through the display opening on the first single-eye VR adapter and the display opening of the second single-eye VR adapter. Li teaches a VR adapter coupled to a smart watch, and a user’s hand, wrist, or arm being able to extend through the smart watch (Paragraph 0013, 0059-0061 – “A smartwatch is a wrist watch equipped with an embedded system to enhance functions such as timekeeping…the virtual reality interaction system as described above is provided, comprising: Smart watches collect user interaction information from the wearer; The host receives the user interaction information and analyzes and identifies it…sends the audio signals and video signals to the head mounted device”), but it does not teach two virtual reality devices being coupled nor being able to extend a user’s hand, wrist, or arm through the display opening of the devices. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify Thurber to couple VR adapters and have a user’s hand, wrist, or arm extend through them. One of ordinary skill would instead be drawn to the configuration of Li wherein a VR adapter is coupled to a watch wherein a user can extend their hand, wrist, or arm through the watch. Therefore, the combination of features is considered allowable.
Claims 21-22 are allowed.
Claim 21 would be allowable for disclosing wherein at least a portion of first single-eye VR adapter in a first orientation is configured to be slidably received by the second single-eye VR adapter such that the lens opening of the first single-eye VR adapter faces a first direction, and the lens opening of the second single-eye VR adapter faces a second direction different from the first direction.
Regarding claim 21, Thurber teaches a VR adapter body configured to be disposed around a display screen (Fig. 13-14, 16; Paragraph 0070, 0072 – “the modular segments of a VR headset system 10 preferably include a headset 11 with a frame assembly comprising a device module 4 and a support module 6, a lens module 8, a comfort module 15, and a strap 19…Device module 4 comprises a base 14, an optional seal 13, and a receptacle or dock 14a defined by or attached to base 14 with optional locks 9 for accommodating the mobile device case 12 or a mobile device 5 directly… Mobile devices include any personal electronic device or any mobile or handheld device that has a screen or display”; Note: The headset itself is equivalent to a body, and it is disposed around mobile device 5, as shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16. The mobile device is equivalent to the display), each VR adapter body having an inner surface and an outer surface, separated by a first sidewall and a second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16 – see modified screenshots 1 and 2 above, which show the inner surface and outer surface, separated by sidewalls), each VR adapter body defining a lens opening extending from the outer surface to the inner surface (Fig. 16, Paragraph 0082 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25”; Note: the lens opening is shown in modified screenshot 1 of Fig. 16 above, and it extends from the outer surface to the inner surface), defining a display opening from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0070-0071 – “Support module 6 comprises one or more of a first side wall 16, second side wall 18, upper wall 32, lower wall 34, corners 36, edges 38, and covers 32a and 34a…Dock 14a can be a receptacle, an opening, a surface, one or more fasteners, or any other type of structure capable of temporarily holding two components together or positioning two components side-by-side…The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”; Note: as shown in modified screenshots of Fig. 16 and 14, there is an opening 14a that fits the mobile device 5, defined by the inner surface. As dock 14a is an opening connected to the walls of the body, it is implied that the opening extends from the top to bottom (first sidewall to second sidewall)); and a plurality of VR lenses, each configured to be disposed within the lens opening (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0082, 0085 – “Lens plate 20 is a support or plate that defines two openings (not labeled). Each of the openings defined by plate 20 accommodates lens cups 23 and 25…First and second lens cups 23 and 25 are shaped and configured to house first and second lenses 22 and 24”; Note: the VR lenses 22 and 24 are inside the lens cups, which are inside the lens openings of lens plate 20). Promos teaches a kit comprising a plurality of VR adapter bodies (Image on page 1 – there are multiple VR adapter bodies that are purchased together as a kit; see modified screenshot 10 above). However, none of the prior art teaches the claim limitation of wherein at least a portion of first single-eye VR adapter in a first orientation is configured to be slidably received by the second single-eye VR adapter such that the lens opening of the first single-eye VR adapter faces a first direction, and the lens opening of the second single-eye VR adapter faces a second direction different from the first direction. Thurber teaches a VR adapter being configured to slidably receive a mobile device (Fig. 14, 16; Paragraph 0071 – “The mobile device 5 or case 12 can slide into the dock 14a formed by base 14 through an opening on one edge or side of base 14”), and Promos teaches a first and second VR adapter (Image on page 1 – There are multiple VR devices), but they do not teach the first VR adapter slidably receive the second VR adapter such that they face different directions. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify Thurber to have a VR adapter slidably receive a second VR adapter and to have them face different directions. Therefore, the combination of features is considered allowable.
Claim 22 would be allowable for disclosing wherein when the first single-eye VR adapter is coupled to the second single-eye VR adapter, a user's hand, wrist, or arm can extend through the display opening on the first single-eye VR adapter and the display opening of the second single-eye VR adapter.
Regarding claim 22, none of the prior art teaches the kit of claim 21 nor the claim limitation of wherein when the first single-eye VR adapter is coupled to the second single-eye VR adapter, a user's hand, wrist, or arm can extend through the display opening on the first single-eye VR adapter and the display opening of the second single-eye VR adapter. Li teaches a VR adapter coupled to a smart watch, and a user’s hand, wrist, or arm being able to extend through the smart watch (Paragraph 0013, 0059-0061 – “A smartwatch is a wrist watch equipped with an embedded system to enhance functions such as timekeeping…the virtual reality interaction system as described above is provided, comprising: Smart watches collect user interaction information from the wearer; The host receives the user interaction information and analyzes and identifies it…sends the audio signals and video signals to the head mounted device”), but it does not teach two virtual reality devices being coupled nor being able to extend a user’s hand, wrist, or arm through the display opening of the devices. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify Thurber to couple VR adapters and have a user’s hand, wrist, or arm extend through them. One of ordinary skill would instead be drawn to the configuration of Li wherein a VR adapter is coupled to a watch wherein a user can extend their hand, wrist, or arm through the watch. Therefore, the combination of features is considered allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanijiri et al. (US 20010038361 A1) teaches an apparatus that can attach to eye glasses and display a virtual image to a user.
/MICHELLE HAU MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617