DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of embodiments A1 and B3 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 4 and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Therefore claims 1-3 and 6-14 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the scanner monitor signal" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that the antecedent basis for this limitation is recited in claim 13, however claim 14 is not dependent on claim 13. To fix this issue, the examiner recommends amending claim 13 to be dependent from 10 and making claim 14 dependent on 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0131653 to Huang in view of US 2008/0015553 to Zacharias.
[Claim 1] Huang discloses an ophthalmological laser device (ophthalmic laser surgery apparatus, Fig. 1; Abstract and Pars 0010-11) comprising:
a base station (main cabinet 9) comprising:
a treatment laser source (femtosecond laser 14) configured to generate a treatment laser beam (Pars 0021 and 0025),
a scanner (galvanometer XY-Scanner 17) arranged in a beam path of the treatment laser beam downstream from the treatment laser source (Pars 0020-21 and 0025), and
a control module (computer 12) connected to the treatment laser source and the scanner (as seen in Fig. 1, the controller 12 is connected to the laser 13 and scanner 17 by lines. “In FIG. 4 the trajectory of overlapping circular scanning pattern 18 of laser beam spots 32 is moved around in concentric circles to ablate the area being focused on under control of the computer 12” Par 0029. See also Par 0025);
an application head (hand piece 25; Par 0023); and
an arm (mirror arm represented by elements 22, 23 and 24 in Fig. 1) arranged between the base station and the application head, wherein the arm is configured to provide the beam path for the treatment laser beam (“The ophthalmological apparatus has a main cabinet and a hand piece connected thereto with an articulated arm.” Par 0011; see also Par 0025).
Huang fails to explicitly teach a deflecting element pivotable about a first axis and a second axis, wherein the first and second axes lie in a virtual plane arranged substantially parallel to a deflecting plane of the deflecting element and the first and second axes are arranged orthogonal to each other. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zacharias discloses a similar laser ophthalmic device including a scanner (dual-axis electrostatic beam steering element 730; Fig. 6B and Par 0102 OR dual-axis beam steering mechanism 550; Figs. 8A-C and Par 0104) comprising a deflecting element (mirror 732, Fig. 6B or lens 572, Fig 8C) pivotable about a first axis and a second axis (734 and 736, Fig. 6B and Par 0102 OR axes defined by actuators 580 and 590, Fig. 8C and Par 0104. Although the axes are not explicitly shown in Fig. 8C, it’s abundantly clear that they would exist in the same manner shown in Figs. 5A-6B) that lie in a virtual plane arranged substantially parallel to a deflecting plane of the deflecting element (Fig. 5B illustrates this best, showing pivot axis 704, i.e. dashed line D to D1, located in virtual plane behind and parallel to the deflecting element 702.) and the first and second axes are arranged orthogonal to each other (Fig. 6B and Par 0102 OR Fig. 8C and Par 0104 which makes it clear that the actuators are perpendicular to each other.). Regarding the virtual plane, while Zacharias is technically silent to a virtual plane, the examiner takes the position that this is the same structure/scanner as disclosed by applicant, and therefore this is an inherent characteristic/property of such a scanner (see Par 86 and Fig. 7 of applicant’s specification; see also MPEP 2112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the scanner taught by Huang for the scanner taught by Zacharias as a simple substitution of one known scanner for another to obtain predictable results, specifically provide effective beam deflection for laser ophthalmic surgery procedures.
[Claims 2, 3 and 6] It’s clear from Pars 0101-104 and Figs. 5A-8C that the scanner can comprise at least two piezoelectric actuators (e.g. 580 and 590 in Fig. 8C OR 708 in Fig. 7C) coupled to the deflecting element that are configured to cause pivoting of the deflecting element about the first and second axis by linear extension (at least Par 0103 discloses how piezoelectric actuators operate via displacement, i.e. linear extension); These are interpreted as “two-axis scan drive”. Additionally or alternatively, it’s clear from Zacharias that piezoelectric actuators or alternative equivalents/substitutes for electrostatic actuators (“An alternative to piezoelectric actuated steering mechanisms is the use of electrostatic actuated steering mechanisms” Par 0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the two electrostatic actuators shown/described in relation to Fig. 6B with two piezoelectric actuators, as this is a simple substation of one known actuator for another to obtain predictable results, i.e. effective scanning/beam-deflection.
[Claim 7] Huang discloses an articulated arm with internal mirrors arranged in the beam path (“The laser beam overlapping circular scanning pattern 18 then passes through a system of relay lenses 19 and 21 and is deflected by mirrors 22, 23 and 24 which connect the laser beam overlapping circular scanning pattern 18 from the main cabinet 9 to a remote hand piece 25 with an articulated arm holding the mirrors and relay lens” Par 0025).
[Claim 8] As seen in Fig. 1, the length of the beam path in the arm (distance travelled by the beam from lenses 19 to 21, as this defines the length of the arm), is longer than the length of the scanner and arm (distance from element 17 to 19, which is very short compared to the length of the arm) and the beam path in the application head (distance from 21 to eye 30, which is also very short compared to the length of the arm). Therefore, the examiner contends that the limitation is met when considering Fig. 1 of Huang, as well as the reference as a whole and standard knowledge within art. If applicant disagrees, then such a design is obvious. Specifically, while these relative lengths are clearly shown in Fig. 1, it’s not clear if the drawings in Huang are drawn to scale. But it would be obvious to design the system of Huang to have the relatives length as claimed, and shown in Fig. 1, as this is a common design/configuration, specifically to have a long(er) articulated arm for positioning the application head onto a patient’s eye. Additionally or alternatively, it has been held that changes in size/proportion are obvious; In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04)
[Claim 9] Fig. 9 of Zacharias discloses the possible spacing for the treatment spots achieved by the scanner. Specifically, it’s clear that the spacing can be “0 to 300 percent of location width” and the location width can be “5 to 1000 microns”. Therefore, at the very least the scanner is inherently capable of producing a minimum linear distance between treatment points less than 20 micrometers; see MPEP 2112 and 2114. Additionally or alternatively, such an angular resolution would be obvious based on the disclosed spacing of Zacharias. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.
[Claim 11-12] The examiner takes the position that the scanners taught by Zacharias are inherently capable of functioning in the claimed manner; see MPEP 2114. Specifically, Zacharias discloses the same type and configuration of scanners as disclosed by applicant and therefore they can operate in the same manner. These limitations seemingly relate to how the scanner is initially oriented/positioned. Under BRI, any orientation of the deflecting element can be considered the “zero position”
[Claim 13] Zacharias discloses a scanner monitor including a pilot light source (aiming beam 106) and a scanner monitor sensor (beam position sensor 142), wherein the pilot light source is configured to generate a pilot light which is deflected by the deflecting element and incident on the scanner monitor sensor, wherein the scanner monitor is connected to the control module and configured to transmit to the control module a scanner monitor signal for monitoring the scanner (Pars 0090 and 0096). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang to include the scanner monitor taught by Zacharias, as this is a known monitoring/safety mechanism that provides real time information and control of a scanner in similar laser ophthalmic surgery devices.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Zacharias as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2004/0068161 to Couvillon Jr.
Zacharias discloses a scanner controller (motion/position controller circuit 62 and microprocessor 300), and at least two sensors (actuator position sensor 712; Figs. 5B and 7C OR equivalent sensors 584 and 594 in Fig. 8C) each connected to the control module and the at least two actuators, wherein the scanner controller is configured to: receive, from the control module, a scan signal and receive, from the at least two sensors, at least two sensor signals from the at least two sensors, respectively, generate a control signal using a scan signal received from the control module, the sensor signals, and closed loop control, and transmit, to the at least two actuators, the control signal for pivoting the deflecting element about the first and second axes (Pars 0097, 0101, 0103 and 0112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang to include the scanner controller taught by Zacharias to provide a known safety/monitoring/control mechanism to ensure the accurate position of the scanner and scanner actuators.
Huang and Zacharias are discussed above, but fail to explicitly teach that that actuator position sensor is a strain gauge. However, it is known in the art of medical laser devices that strain gauges are used to measure/determine/sense the position, i.e. spatial orientation of actuators; See Pars 0013, 0058, 0093 and 0099 of Couvillon. Specifically, Couvillon discloses “a number of strain gauges can be employed to provide electronic feedback concerning the orientation of the actuators and structural elements within the assembly. This electronic feedback will also provide a number of additional advantages, including compensation for physiologic changes, greater stability, error correction, and immunity from drift” (Par 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the generic position sensor taught by Zacharias for the specific position sensor, i.e. strain gauge, taught by Couvillon as this is a simple substation of one known position sensor for another to obtain predictable results, specifically to determine the position/orientation of actuators.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
It is noted that the 112b rejection for claim 14, prevents this claim from being indicated as allowable. However, if applicant fixes this indefiniteness issue by amending claim 13 to be dependent on 10 and amending claim 14 to be dependent on 13, as well as rewriting claim 14 in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (specifically claims 2, 10, 13), then this claim would be allowable. Specifically, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed digital model of the scanner, the modelled dynamic motion of the scanner or any comparison between actual dynamic motion and modelled dynamic motion, as recited in claim 14, in combination with the rest of the limitations recited in claims 1, 2, 10 and 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Similar laser ophthalmic devices are known: US 2007/0010804 to Rathjen (Figs. 1 and 4) and US 2013/0085483 to Rathjen (Figs. 1-2).
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796