DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 03/04/2026. Claims 1-6 and 11-24 are now pending in the application. Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, and 18 have been amended. Claims 21-24 have been newly added and claims 7-10 have been canceled.
Examiner’s note: Newly added claims 21 and 24 are counted and examined as independent claims, despite their references to claims 1 and 16, due to the change in statutory category. Claims 1 and 16 are directed to a computer program, stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, while claims 21 and 24 are directed to a computer program product. These are treated as distinct claim types (e.g., method, system, product/manufacture), even if substance overlaps. A dependent claim must further limit and incorporate all limitations of another claim. While claims 21 and 24 reference claims 1 and 16, they do not merely add a further limitation—they define the inventions into a different category.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/04/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0375374; hereinafter “Ito”) in view of Maeda et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0274403; hereinafter as “Maeda”).
As per claim 1, Ito discloses a computer program, stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g. para. [0008] & [0033]), for causing a computer including a display unit (fig. 1: e.g. display 405 of informational terminal 400) to receive and display information on a power conditioner (fig. 1: a power management system 10 that includes a power conditioner 200 connected to a power generation device 70 and power storage device 100), the computer program causing the computer to execute:
requesting a communication connection to a communication device (fig. 1; para. [0033]: a communication interface I/F of the power conditioner 200 in communication with power storage device 100, operation terminal 300, and informational terminal 400 via 300) provided in the power conditioner (e.g. figs. 1-3; para. [0033]: the power conditioner 200 includes a computer comprising a processor (microprocessor), a communication interface (I/F); the communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, power generation device 70, power storage device 100, or operation terminal 300; also see para. [0038]: "controller 403 controls second communication unit 402 to receive management information (see FIG. 2) from power management system 10"; and para. [0048]-[0049]: "… the request information may be a request for pairing by Bluetooth®, or information for pairing (mutual authentication) […] where the mutual authentication in Step S11 is successful (Step S12), information terminal 400 and operation terminal 300 enter a wireless connection state … Alternatively, operation terminal 300 may receive management information from power conditioner 200 and transmit the management information to information terminal 400, after receiving the request information from information terminal 400");
receiving, from the communication device, screen display information, The computer in power conditioner 200, for example, manages the control states of power storage device 100 and power generation device 70, and records and sequentially updates management information in a storage medium such as memory, based on storage battery-related information received from power storage device 100 and the like […] The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time"), including When the first management information is received by management information receiver 420, information terminal 400 generates a display element representing storage battery information and the like based on the first management information and displays the display element on display 405, by display unit 430 (Step S14). FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a screen of display 405 in information terminal 400 displaying the display element in Step S14. Screen 510 illustrated in FIG. 5 represents the storage battery state that charging is being performed normally and the charge level is 70%, and includes buttons 501 to 504 as graphical user interface (GUI) components") and For example, button 501 is a user operation button for switching to a screen displaying changes in storage battery charge level in a graph based on the use history and the like in the first management information. Button 502 is a user operation button for instructing to transmit the management information (i.e. the second management information generated based on the first management information) of power management system 10 to server 30 and end. Button 503 is a user operation button for ending the storage battery information display process. Button 504 is a user operation button for instructing to perform other processes. In response to a user operation on any of these buttons, information terminal 400 performs a predetermined process"); and
displaying a screen including the state information of the power conditioner (see e.g. figs. 5 & 9; para. [0049]-[0051] & [0071]: "When the first management information is received by management information receiver 420, information terminal 400 generates a display element representing storage battery information and the like based on the first management information and displays the display element on display 405, by display unit 430 (Step S14)"; Given that the power management system 10 includes both the power storage device 100 and power conditioner 200, the information terminal 400 may be configured to display information for both components; also see para. [0033] & [0107]: the power generation device 70 and power storage device 100 are subcomponents of the power conditioner 200; Thus, the displayed information at the information terminal 400 related to the power generation device 70 or power storage device 100 reflect a relevant operational state of the power conditioner 200 or the power management system 10 as a whole) and the screen for receiving the operation for the power conditioner based on the received screen display information (see e.g. fig. 5; para. [0050]: "For example, button 501 is a user operation button for switching to a screen displaying changes in storage battery charge level in a graph based on the use history and the like in the first management information. Button 502 is a user operation button for instructing to transmit the management information (i.e. the second management information generated based on the first management information) of power management system 10 to server 30 and end. Button 503 is a user operation button for ending the storage battery information display process. Button 504 is a user operation button for instructing to perform other processes. In response to a user operation on any of these buttons, information terminal 400 performs a predetermined process"; para. [0051]: gathering battery data following a user request on the display 400).
Ito does not explicitly disclose the screen display information is based on screen data stored in the communication device, and include a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner and a menu for displaying a screen for receiving an operation for the power conditioner.
However, in the same field of energy management system, Maeda teaches: receiving, from the communication device, screen display information, which is based on screen data stored in the communication device (see e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request; Even though the device is not labeled as a “power conditioner”, a power conditioner (e.g., inverter, power control device) is just another electrical device in a power system. The system already monitors branch circuits and connected devices. Thus, substituting monitored appliance with power conditioner is a predictable variation and it would be obvious to monitor a power conditioner’s state using the same technique), including a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner and a menu for displaying a screen for receiving an operation for the power conditioner (see e.g., para. [0087]-[0091]: teaches providing screen display information including menu screens and selectable menu options that enable a user to navigate to and view device state information (e.g., usage state of electrical appliances)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Maeda to provide screen display information, which is based on screen data stored in the communication device, including a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner and a menu for displaying a screen for receiving an operation for the power conditioner. Doing so enables remote visualization of the power conditioner’s state and related information, improving user accessibility and monitoring convenience.
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Ito discloses: wherein the screen display information includes information for displaying an object (para. [0043]: a display element (e.g. a character string, an image, etc. indicating the state of the storage battery)) corresponding to a power supply-related device connected to the power conditioner (e.g. figs. 1-2 and 9: the display element may include information related to the power generation device 70 or the storage battery 100), and
the object includes information for displaying information on the power conditioner and a power supply-related device connected to the power conditioner (e.g. see figs. 1-2, 5, 9; para. [0033], [0043], [0050], [0061] & [0071]).
As per claim 3, Ito discloses a power conditioner (fig. 1: a power management system 10 that includes a power conditioner 200 connected to a power generation device 70 and power storage device 100) including a communication unit (fig. 1; para. [0033]: a communication interface I/F of the power conditioner 200) that communicates with a first device (e.g., fig. 1; para. [0033]: the communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, an operation terminal 300) and a second device (see e.g., fig. 1: information terminal 400; para. [0048]), the power conditioner comprising:
a storage unit (fig. 1: power storage device 100) that stores (para. [0033]: "storage medium such as memory") screen data for providing a screen for display (e.g., para. [0033]-[0034]: "The computer in power conditioner 200, for example, manages the control states of power storage device 100 and power generation device 70, and records and sequentially updates management information in a storage medium such as memory, based on storage battery-related information received from power storage device 100 and the like […] The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time.");
a processor (para. [0033]: the computer in power conditioner 200) that is configured to:
when having received a transmission request from the first device, transmit information including a device state of the power conditioner from the communication unit to the first device (e.g., para. [0033]-[0034]: the operation terminal 300 can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time; Given that the power management system 10 includes both the power storage device 100 and power conditioner 200, the operation terminal 300 may be configured to display information for both components; also see para. [0033] & [0107]: the power generation device 70 and power storage device 100 are subcomponents of the power conditioner 200; Thus, the displayed information at the operation terminal 300 related to the power generation device 70 or power storage device 100 reflect a relevant operational state of the power conditioner 200 or the power management system 10 as a whole));
when having received a connection request ("request information from information terminal 400") from the second device (e.g. [0049]: "Alternatively, operation terminal 300 may receive management information from power conditioner 200 and transmit the management information to information terminal 400, after receiving the request information from information terminal 400."), acquire information including the device state, and The computer in power conditioner 200, for example, manages the control states of power storage device 100 and power generation device 70, and records and sequentially updates management information in a storage medium such as memory, based on storage battery-related information received from power storage device 100 and the like.") and for receiving an operation for the power conditioner (see e.g., para. [0034]: "Operation terminal 300 is a terminal (e.g. remote control) having a function of receiving an operation of a user (e.g. power consumer) and transmitting instruction information corresponding to the operation to power conditioner 200. Operation terminal 300 includes a user I/F such as an input device and a display…The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time."; and para. [0042]: "The reception of the first management information is based on the precondition that, for example in response to a user operation, pairing (mutual authentication) is made between information terminal 400 and operation terminal 300 via Bluetooth®."); and
transmit the created from information received by 200 and stored in the memory of 200) from the communication unit to the second device (see e.g., para. [0042]: "Management information receiver 420 has a function of receiving the first management information (see FIG. 2) from power management system 10, by second communication unit 402. Management information receiver 420 may receive the first management information from any device included in power management system 10. It is assumed here that management information receiver 420 causes second communication unit 402 to perform near field communication with operation terminal 300, to receive the first management information from operation terminal 300.").
Ito does not explicitly disclose create, based on the screen data, display information for displaying the screen including the acquired information, and transmit the created display information from the communication unit to the second device.
However, in the same field of energy management system, Maeda teaches: creating, based on the screen data, display information for displaying the screen including the acquired information, and transmitting the created display information from the communication unit to the second device (see e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request; Even though the device is not labeled as a “power conditioner”, a power conditioner (e.g., inverter, power control device) is just another electrical device in a power system. The system already monitors branch circuits and connected devices. Thus, substituting monitored appliance with power conditioner is a predictable variation and it would be obvious to monitor a power conditioner’s state using the same technique).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Maeda to provide creating display information for displaying the screen including the acquired information based on the stored screen data, and transmitting the created display information upon request. Doing so enables remote visualization of the power conditioner’s state and related information, improving user accessibility and monitoring convenience.
As per claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and Ito discloses: wherein the display information includes information for displaying an object (e.g., para. [0043]: a display element (e.g. a character string, an image, etc. indicating the state of the storage battery)) corresponding to a connected power conditioner (e.g. figs. 1-2 and 9: the display element may include information related to the storage battery or the power generation device), and the object includes information for displaying information on the power conditioner and the connected power conditioner (see e.g. figs. 1-2, 5, 9; para. [0033], [0043] & [0061]).
As per claim 5, claim 3 is incorporated and Ito in view of Maeda discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to create control information based on the operation received on the screen and transmit the control information to a control unit that controls the power conditioner and a connected power conditioner (see Ito, e.g., figs. 1 & 2; para. [0031], [0033] & [0137]: "The communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, power generation device 70, power storage device 100, or operation terminal 300. Power conditioner 200 is capable of such control that allows power generated by power generation device 70 to be output to the power system via distribution board 40 or block (suppress) the output, according to a predetermined algorithm as an example."; and Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]).
As per claim 6, claim 3 is incorporated and Ito discloses: the power conditioner, which receives, via the screen, setting of output control schedule and setting of cooperation information with a power server (e.g. para. [0038], [0044], [0075]-[0076] & [0090]).
As per claim 11, claim 3 is incorporated and Ito discloses: the power conditioner further comprising a connection to an energy storage device (see e.g., fig. 1; para. [0028]-[0033]: the power management system 10 includes a power conditioner 200 connected to a power generation device 70 and power storage device 100).
As per claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and Ito discloses: wherein the power conditioner communicates with a first device (e.g., fig. 1; para. [0033]: the communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, an operation terminal 300) and a second device (see e.g., fig. 1: information terminal 400; para. [0048]), further comprising, when having received a transmission request from the first device, transmitting information including the state of the power conditioner to the first device (e.g., para. [0033]-[0034]: the operation terminal 300 can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time).
As per claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and Ito discloses: the computer program further comprising storing the screen display information for screen display in a memory (e.g., para. [0033]-[0034] & [0037]-[0038]: "The computer in power conditioner 200, for example, manages the control states of power storage device 100 and power generation device 70, and records and sequentially updates management information in a storage medium such as memory, based on storage battery-related information received from power storage device 100 and the like […] The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time").
Ito discloses the terminal device receiving the message that may include information indicating an address of a specific web page (see para. [0083]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the screen comprises a web screen, and screen data comprises web screen data.
However, in the same field of energy management system, Maeda teaches: wherein the screen comprises a web screen (see e.g., para. [0060]: “screen data such as web contents (webpage) displayed on a terminal device”; para. [0088]-[0089]: “transmits a webpage for displaying the screen”), and screen data comprises web screen data (see e.g., para. [0059]: “information…is screen data such as web contents (webpage)”; para. [0060]: “generating the screen data…and transmit (send) the generated screen data to the terminal device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Maeda to provide a web screen and web screen data. Doing so enables remote visualization of the power conditioner’s state and related information, improving user accessibility and monitoring convenience.
As per claim 14, claim 12 is incorporated and Ito discloses: the computer program further comprising, when having received a connection request from the second device, acquiring information including the state of the power conditioner (e.g. [0049]: "Alternatively, operation terminal 300 may receive management information from power conditioner 200 and transmit the management information to information terminal 400, after receiving the request information from information terminal 400.").
As per claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated and Ito in view of Maeda discloses: the computer program further comprising creating, based on the screen display information, the display information for displaying a screen including the acquired information, and for receiving an operation for the power conditioner; and transmitting the created display information from the communication device to the second device (see Ito, e.g., para. [0033]-[0034] & [0042]; and Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request);
wherein the screen comprises a web screen, and screen data comprises web screen data (see Ito, e.g., para. [0083]; Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060] & [0088]-[0089]: “screen data such as web contents (webpage) displayed on a terminal device”; “transmits a webpage for displaying the screen”).
As per claim 16, Ito discloses a computer program, stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g. para. [0008] & [0033]), for causing a computer (fig. 1: informational terminal 400) to execute:
requesting a communication connection to a communication device (fig. 1; para. [0033]: a communication interface I/F of the power conditioner 200 in communication with power storage device 100, operation terminal 300, and informational terminal 400 via 300) provided in a power conditioner (e.g. figs. 1-3; para. [0033]: the power conditioner 200 includes a computer comprising a processor (microprocessor), a communication interface (I/F); the communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, power generation device 70, power storage device 100, or operation terminal 300; also see para. [0038]: "controller 403 controls second communication unit 402 to receive management information (see FIG. 2) from power management system 10"; and para. [0048]-[0049]: "… the request information may be a request for pairing by Bluetooth®, or information for pairing (mutual authentication) […] where the mutual authentication in Step S11 is successful (Step S12), information terminal 400 and operation terminal 300 enter a wireless connection state … Alternatively, operation terminal 300 may receive management information from power conditioner 200 and transmit the management information to information terminal 400, after receiving the request information from information terminal 400");
receiving, from the communication device, screen display information (e.g., para. [0033]-[0034] & [0037]-[0038]: "The computer in power conditioner 200, for example, manages the control states of power storage device 100 and power generation device 70, and records and sequentially updates management information in a storage medium such as memory, based on storage battery-related information received from power storage device 100 and the like […] The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time") When the first management information is received by management information receiver 420, information terminal 400 generates a display element representing storage battery information and the like based on the first management information and displays the display element on display 405, by display unit 430 (Step S14). FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a screen of display 405 in information terminal 400 displaying the display element in Step S14. Screen 510 illustrated in FIG. 5 represents the storage battery state that charging is being performed normally and the charge level is 70%, and includes buttons 501 to 504 as graphical user interface (GUI) components"); and
displaying a screen comprising the state of the power conditioner based on the received screen display information (see e.g. figs. 5 & 9; para. [0049]-[0051] & [0071]: "When the first management information is received by management information receiver 420, information terminal 400 generates a display element representing storage battery information and the like based on the first management information and displays the display element on display 405, by display unit 430 (Step S14)"; Given that the power management system 10 includes both the power storage device 100 and power conditioner 200, the information terminal 400 may be configured to display information for both components; also note para. [0033] & [0107]: the power generation device 70 and power storage device 100 are subcomponents of the power conditioner 200; Thus, the displayed information at the information terminal 400 related to the power generation device 70 or power storage device 100 reflect a relevant operational state of the power conditioner 200 or the power management system 10 as a whole).
Ito does not explicitly disclose the screen display information includes a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner.
However, in the same field of energy management system, Maeda teaches: wherein the screen display information includes a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner (see e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request; Even though the device is not labeled as a “power conditioner”, a power conditioner (e.g., inverter, power control device) is just another electrical device in a power system. The system already monitors branch circuits and connected devices. Thus, substituting monitored appliance with power conditioner is a predictable variation and it would be obvious to monitor a power conditioner’s state using the same technique; and para. [0087]-[0091]: teaches providing screen display information including menu screens and selectable menu options that enable a user to navigate to and view device state information (e.g., usage state of electrical appliances)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Maeda to provide display information including a menu for displaying a state of the power conditioner. Doing so enables remote visualization of the power conditioner’s state and related information, improving user accessibility and monitoring convenience.
As per claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated and Ito discloses: wherein the power conditioner (fig. 1: a power management system 10 that includes a power conditioner 200 connected to a power generation device 70 and power storage device 100) communicates with a first device (e.g., fig. 1; para. [0033]: the communication I/F is a communication circuit for communicating with, for example, an operation terminal 300) and a second device (see e.g., fig. 1: information terminal 400; para. [0048]), further comprising, when having received a transmission request from the first device, transmitting information including the state of the power conditioner to the first device (see e.g., para. [0034]: "Operation terminal 300 is a terminal (e.g. remote control) having a function of receiving an operation of a user (e.g. power consumer) and transmitting instruction information corresponding to the operation to power conditioner 200. Operation terminal 300 includes a user I/F such as an input device and a display…The operation terminal can obtain management information from power conditioner 200 and display, for example, part (e.g. information relating to storage battery 109) of the management information on a display at any time."; and para. [0042]: "The reception of the first management information is based on the precondition that, for example in response to a user operation, pairing (mutual authentication) is made between information terminal 400 and operation terminal 300 via Bluetooth®.").
As per claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated and Ito in view of Maeda discloses: further comprising, when having received a connection request from the second device, acquiring information including the state of the power conditioner, and creating, based on data of the screen, display information for displaying a screen including the acquired information and for receiving an operation for the power conditioner (see Ito, e.g., para. [0033]-[0034] & [0042]; and Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request),
wherein the screen comprises a web screen, and screen data comprises web screen data (see Ito, e.g., para. [0083]; Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060] & [0088]-[0089]: “screen data such as web contents (webpage) displayed on a terminal device”; “transmits a webpage for displaying the screen”).
As per claim 19, claim 17 is incorporated and Ito discloses: further comprising transmitting the screen display information from the communication device to the second device (see e.g., para. [0042]: "Management information receiver 420 has a function of receiving the first management information (see FIG. 2) from power management system 10, by second communication unit 402. Management information receiver 420 may receive the first management information from any device included in power management system 10. It is assumed here that management information receiver 420 causes second communication unit 402 to perform near field communication with operation terminal 300, to receive the first management information from operation terminal 300.").
As per claim 20, claim 17 is incorporated and Ito discloses: wherein the screen display information includes information for displaying an object (para. [0043]: a display element (e.g. a character string, an image, etc. indicating the state of the storage battery)) corresponding to a connected power conditioner (e.g. figs. 1-2 and 9: the display element may include information related to the power generation device 70 or the storage battery 100), and the object includes information for displaying information on the power conditioner and the connected power conditioner (e.g. see figs. 1-2, 5, 9; para. [0033], [0043], [0050], [0061] & [0071]).
As per claim 23, claim 3 is incorporated and Ito in view of Maeda discloses: wherein the processor is configured to when having received the connection request from the second device, acquire information including the device state, and create, based on the screen data, display information for displaying the screen including the acquired information, and displaying a screen for receiving the operation for the power conditioner (see Ito, e.g., para. [0033]-[0034] & [0042]; and Maeda, e.g., para. [0059]-[0060]: teaches generating screen data (e.g., web page/image data) representing device-related information (such as electricity usage and device operating state) on the basis of the designation information stored in the data storage unit 3 d, and transmitting that data to a terminal device in response to a request), and
wherein storage unit comprises a non-transitory computer readable medium (see Ito, e.g., para. [0033] & [0113]: "storage medium such as memory").
Claims 21-22 (computer program product) are rejected as obvious for the same reasons as claim 1, as they recite similar limitations and are similar in scope.
Claim 24 (computer program product) is rejected as obvious for the same reasons as claims 16-18, as it recites similar limitations and is similar in scope.
Conclusion
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 adnan.aziz@uspto.gov