DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated February 10, 2026, new claims 23-30 were presented. Claims 1-4 and 6-30 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of the claims over Yogev have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “the cited portions of Yogev do not teach, for example, wherein the first structure has an innermost layer, an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer that is in between the innermost layer and the outermost layer; or wherein one of the interior protection layers is arranged on an inner mixing tank surface of the mixing tank and another of the interior protection layers is arranged on an inner gas tank surface of the gas tank. Instead, the asserted thermal isolation layer 1040 of Yogev is arranged on the outside of the asserted first structure 12a, 12b (i.e., between the walls of the borehole/cavity and the outer surface of the vessels)” (Remarks at p. 6), the examiner disagrees. The rejection below explains the examiner’s interpretation of “first structure,” “second structure,” “mixing tank,” and “gas tank.” The boreholes in the ground 13 are part of the first and second structures of Yogev (see annotated Fig. 2 below; see also paras. [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “Yogev clearly teaches that boreholes are not part of the vessels” (Remarks at p. 7) and “Yogev clearly teaches that the vessels are separate from the boreholes and the thermally isolated filling material. Yogev teaches that the first and second air compressing vessels 11a, 11b and the first and second air storage vessels 12a, 12b are mounted in the corresponding boreholes…In Paragraph 0060, Yogev teaches that the thermally isolated filling material 1040 fills the space between walls of the vessels and walls of the borehole. Yogev does not teach, for example, that the boreholes are within or part of the first and second air compressing vessels 11a and the first and second air storage vessels 12a, 12b” (Remarks at pp. 7-8), the examiner disagrees. The rejection below explains the examiner’s interpretation of “first structure,” “second structure,” “mixing tank,” and “gas tank.”
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “Within the Office Action, this revised rejection includes an annotated Figure 2 of Yogev, which illustrates the first structure and the second structure as including the ground around the vessels. This is counter to the teachings of Yogev. As described above and taught within Yogev, the vessels (structures) are mounted in the corresponding boreholes within the ground” (Remarks at p. 8), the examiner disagrees. Applicant has not provided any reason that a broadest reasonably interpretation of the claimed “structure” would preclude the ground of Yogev.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “Yogev does not teach, for example, that the boreholes are part of the first and second air compressing vessels 11a, 11b and the first and second air storage vessels 12a, 12b. Accordingly, Yogev does not teach, for example, wherein one of the interior protection layers is arranged within the mixing tank on an inner mixing tank surface of the mixing tank and another of the interior protection layers is arranged within the gas tank on an inner gas tank surface of the gas tank. As taught by Yogev, thermally isolated filling material 1040 is between the outer wall of the vessels and the wall of the borehole, which is not within the mixing tank, within the gas tank or on an inner surface’ (Remarks at pp. 9-10), the examiner disagrees. Yogev teaches both the mixing tank and the gas tank have an interior protection layer on an inner surface as claimed (see Yogev at Fig. 2; paras. [0060], [0063]-[0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the concrete layer" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this should read “a concrete layer,” or whether this claim should depend from claim 26.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites “the first structure is mounted above ground” and claim 24 recites “the first structure is mounted within the ground.” The specification does not mention the structure being “mounted.” The specification explains that the first structure may be “located below the ground level 280” or “located on the ground level” (p. 12, ll. 12-20; Fig. 6). The specification further notes that the system could be “installed in a mountain” or “underground” (p. 16, ll. 3-5; Fig. 10). However, being “located” is not the same as “mounted.” Nothing in the specification conveys that the inventor had possession of the claimed first structure mounted above/within the ground at the time the application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 11, 18, and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2021/0351615 to Yogev (hereinafter, “Yogev”).
Regarding claim 1, Yogev discloses an energy storage apparatus (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a first structure (structure including air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b, annotated Fig. 2 below; para. [0058]) configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (see paras. [0082]-[0089]); and a second structure (structure including vessel 11a and/or 11b, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) configured to receive a first amount of a liquid from a liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b, Fig. 2; para. [0072]) so that a pressure level in the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) increases from the default pressure to an increased level associated with a space replacement in the second structure (see paras. [0082]-[0089]), wherein the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) has an innermost layer (wall of the vessel, see annotated Fig. 2 below; paras. [0060], [0063]), an outermost layer (wall of the borehole, see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]), and a thermal isolation layer (material 1040, Fig. 2; para. [0060]) that is in between the innermost layer and the outermost layer (see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]).
Yogev Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Yogev further discloses the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) is a concrete based structure (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Yogev further discloses the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) has a concrete layer (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Yogev discloses an energy storage device (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a liquid source (water inlets 19a and/or 19b, Fig. 2; para. [[0072]); a gas tank (structure including air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b, annotated Fig. 2; para. [0058]); a mixing tank communicated (structure including vessel 11a and/or 11b, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) with the liquid source and the gas tank (see e.g., paras. [0082]-[0088]); and a plurality of interior protection layers (wall of the vessels 11a, 11b, see annotated Fig. 2 above; paras. [0060], [0063]-[0064]), wherein one of the interior protection layers (wall of vessel 11a or 11b) is arranged within the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) on an inner mixing tank surface (see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]) of the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) and another of the interior protection layers (annotated Fig. 2) is arranged within the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2) on an inner gas tank surface (see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]) of the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2; paras. [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Yogev further discloses the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) or the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2) comprises a concrete layer (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Yogev further discloses a hydrogenator (hydro-electric power system 117, Fig. 2; para. [0107]) connected to the mixing tank (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Yogev further discloses at least one of the liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b), the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2), and the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) is located on ground level (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 21, Yogev further discloses at least one of the liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b), the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2), and the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) is located below ground level (paras. [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 22, Yogev further discloses at least one of the liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b), the gas tank (annotated Fig. 2), and the mixing tank (annotated Fig. 2) is partially located below ground level (since tanks may be underground, part of each vessel is below ground level, see paras. [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 23, Yogev further discloses the first structure is mounted above ground (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 24, Yogev further discloses the first structure is mounted within the ground (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 25, Yogev further discloses an energy storage apparatus (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b and surrounding borehole, annotated Fig. 2 above; para. [0058]) configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (see paras. [0082]-[0089]); and a second vessel (vessel 11a and/or 11b and surrounding borehole, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) configured to receive a first amount of a liquid from a liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b, Fig. 2; para. [0072]) so that a pressure level in the first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b) increases from the default pressure to an increased level associated with a space replacement in the second vessel (see paras. [0082]-[0089]), wherein the first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b and surrounding borehole) has an innermost layer (wall of the vessel, see annotated Fig. 2 above; paras. [0060], [0063]), an outermost layer (wall of the borehole, see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]), and a thermal isolation layer (material 1040, Fig. 2; para. [0060]) that is in between the innermost layer and the outermost layer (see annotated Fig. 2; para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 26, Yogev further discloses the first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b and surrounding borehole) comprises a concrete layer (para. [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yogev as applied to claims 1, 10, and 25 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0412511 to Weisenberg (hereinafter, “Weisenberg”).
Regarding claim 3, Yogev does not expressly disclose the first structure has a graphene layer. Yogev does teach that the first and second structures can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Weisenberg teaches a similar structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the structure includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A). Weisenberg teaches that the structure includes a concrete layer (para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches that the structure includes a graphene layer (paras. [0185]-[0186]). Weisenberg teaches that the structure includes a fiber reinforced plastic layer that encapsulates the graphene layer (paras. [0189]-[0190]). Weisenberg further teaches that this material arrangement provides efficient, safe, and reliable gas storage and increases design life and versatility (paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first structure with a graphene layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of improving safety, reliability, and design life, as recognized by Weisenberg (see paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 14, Yogev does not expressly disclose the mixing tank or the gas tank further comprises a graphene layer. Yogev does teach that the mixing tank and gas tank can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Weisenberg teaches a similar energy storage device including a tank configured to store a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the tank includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a concrete layer (para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a graphene layer (paras. [0185]-[0186]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a fiber reinforced plastic layer that encapsulates the graphene layer (paras. [0189]-[0190]). Weisenberg further teaches that this material arrangement provides efficient, safe, and reliable gas storage and increases design life and versatility (paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first structure with a graphene layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of improving safety, reliability, and design life, as recognized by Weisenberg (see paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 15, Yogev further discloses a concrete layer (para. [0044]). However, Yogev does not expressly disclose the interior protection layer comprises a concrete layer.
Weisenberg teaches a similar energy storage device including a tank configured to store a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the tank includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a concrete layer (para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches that the concrete layer permits the tank to be accessed during operation for maintenance, inspection, or intervention, and permits the tank to be located underground to provide above ground surface area utilization (para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to have the interior protection layer comprise a concrete layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of permitting the tank to be accessed during operation for maintenance, inspection, or intervention, and permitting the tank to be located underground to provide above ground surface area utilization (para. [0067]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 16, Yogev does not expressly disclose the interior protection layer further comprises a fiber-reinforced plastic layer encapsulated by a concrete layer.
Weisenberg teaches a similar energy storage device including a tank configured to store a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the tank includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes an outer concrete layer (para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a graphene layer (paras. [0185]-[0186]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a fiber reinforced plastic layer that encapsulates the graphene layer (paras. [0189]-[0190]). Weisenberg further teaches that this material arrangement provides efficient, safe, and reliable gas storage and increases design life and versatility (paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the interior protection layer to have a concrete layer encapsulating a fiber-reinforced plastic layer encapsulating a graphene layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of improving safety, reliability, and design life, as recognized by Weisenberg (see paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 17, Yogev as modified by Weisenberg already includes the interior protection layer further comprises a graphene layer (Weisenberg, paras. [0185]-[0186]) encapsulated by the fiber-reinforced plastic layer (Weisenberg, paras. [0189]-[0190]).
Claims 4, 6, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yogev as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2015/0267866 to Varrassi (hereinafter, “Varrassi”).
Regarding claim 4, Yogev does not expressly disclose the first structure has a fiberglass layer. Yogev does teach that the first and second structures can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Varrassi teaches a similar structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (tank 1, Figs. 1, 4; para. [0041]). Varrassi teaches that the structure is formed from a plurality of layers (see Fig. 2). Varrassi teaches at least one of the layers is a fiberglass layer (paras. [0018], [0048], [0052]). Varrassi further teaches that this composite structure of the wall permits satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first structure having a fiberglass layer as taught by Varrassi for the purpose of permitting satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength, as taught by Varrassi (para. [0057]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, Yogev does not expressly disclose the thermal isolation layer comprises polyurethane.
Varrassi teaches a similar structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (tank 1, Figs. 1, 4; para. [0041]). Varrassi teaches that the structure is formed from a plurality of layers (see Fig. 2). Varrassi teaches that the structure includes a thermal isolation layer (para. [0052]) that comprises polyurethane (para. [0052]). Varrassi further teaches that this composite structure of the wall permits satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to have the thermal isolation layer comprise polyurethane as taught by Varrassi for the purpose of permitting satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength, as taught by Varrassi (para. [0057]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 30, Yogev does not expressly disclose the thermal isolation layer of the first vessel comprises polyurethane.
Varrassi teaches a similar structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (tank 1, Figs. 1, 4; para. [0041]). Varrassi teaches that the structure is formed from a plurality of layers (see Fig. 2). Varrassi teaches that the structure includes a thermal isolation layer (para. [0052]) that comprises polyurethane (para. [0052]). Varrassi further teaches that this composite structure of the wall permits satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to have the thermal isolation layer comprise polyurethane as taught by Varrassi for the purpose of permitting satisfactory thermal insulation, good leak tightness, and good mechanical strength, as taught by Varrassi (para. [0057]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 8, 12, 13, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yogev as applied to claims 7, 11, and 25 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. 4,206,608 to Bell (hereinafter, “Bell”).
Regarding claim 8, Yogev further teaches the utilized materials include steel and concrete (para. [0044]). However, Yogev does not expressly disclose the concrete layer comprises steel reinforce bars.
Bell teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (high-pressure storage tanks 36, 136, Figs. 1-3). Bell teaches the first structure has a concrete layer (concrete 140, Fig. 3) comprising steel reinforce bars (steel rods 142, 144, 146, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 13-24). Bell further teaches that this arrangement of a concrete layer with steel reinforce bars provides a large capacity and safe storage facility for storing pressurized gas under high pressurization (col. 6, ll. 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to add steel reinforce bars to the concrete layer as taught by Bell for the purpose of providing safe storage for the pressurized gas under high pressurization, as recognized by Bell (see col. 6, ll. 13-30).
Regarding claim 12, Yogev further teaches the utilized materials include steel and concrete (para. [0044]). However, Yogev does not expressly disclose the mixing tank or the gas tank further comprises a metallic wall encapsulated by the concrete layer.
Bell teaches a similar energy storage device comprising a gas tank configured to contain a pressurized gas (high-pressure storage tanks 36, 136, Figs. 1-3). Bell teaches the first structure has a concrete layer (concrete 140, Fig. 3) comprising steel reinforce bars (steel rods 142, 144, 146, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 13-24) and a metallic wall encapsulated by the concrete layer (tanks 136 are formed by steel tubes, see Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 13-24). Bell further teaches that this arrangement of a metallic wall encapsulated by the concrete layer provides a large capacity and safe storage facility for storing pressurized gas under high pressurization (col. 6, ll. 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to be formed with a metallic wall encapsulated by the concrete layer as taught by Bell for the purpose of providing safe storage for the pressurized gas under high pressurization, as recognized by Bell (see col. 6, ll. 13-30).
Regarding claim 13, Yogev further discloses the mixing tank or the gas tank further comprising a heat conservative layer (material 1040 is a thermally isolated material, para. [0060]). Yogev does not expressly disclose the heat conservative layer is encapsulated by the concrete layer.
Bell teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (high-pressure storage tanks 36, 136, Figs. 1-3). Bell teaches the gas tanks are encapsulated by a concrete layer (concrete 140, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 7-15). Bell further teaches that this arrangement of encasing the tanks in a concrete layer provides a large capacity and safe storage facility for storing pressurized gas under high pressurization (col. 6, ll. 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to have the heat conservative layer be encapsulated by the concrete layer as taught by Bell for the purpose of providing safe storage for the pressurized gas under high pressurization, as recognized by Bell (see col. 6, ll. 13-30).
Regarding claim 27, Yogev further teaches the utilized materials include steel and concrete (para. [0044]). However, Yogev does not expressly disclose the concrete layer comprises steel reinforce bars.
Bell teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (high-pressure storage tanks 36, 136, Figs. 1-3). Bell teaches the first structure has a concrete layer (concrete 140, Fig. 3) comprising steel reinforce bars (steel rods 142, 144, 146, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 13-24). Bell further teaches that this arrangement of a concrete layer with steel reinforce bars provides a large capacity and safe storage facility for storing pressurized gas under high pressurization (col. 6, ll. 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to add steel reinforce bars to the concrete layer as taught by Bell for the purpose of providing safe storage for the pressurized gas under high pressurization, as recognized by Bell (see col. 6, ll. 13-30).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yogev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weisenberg and Bell.
Regarding claim 9, Yogev further discloses the second structure (annotated Fig. 2) has a concrete layer (para. [0044]).
Yogev does not expressly disclose the second structure has a graphene layer, a fiberglass layer, and steel reinforce bars.
Weisenberg teaches a similar energy storage device including a tank configured to store a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the tank includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes an outer concrete layer (para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a graphene layer (paras. [0185]-[0186]). Weisenberg teaches that the tank includes a fiberglass layer that encapsulates the graphene layer (paras. [0189]-[0190]). Weisenberg further teaches that this material arrangement provides efficient, safe, and reliable gas storage and increases design life and versatility (paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the second layer to have a concrete layer, a graphene layer, and a fiberglass layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of improving safety, reliability, and design life, as recognized by Weisenberg (see paras. [0023], [0090], [0258]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Bell teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (high-pressure storage tanks 36, 136, Figs. 1-3). Bell teaches the first structure has a concrete layer (concrete 140, Fig. 3) comprising steel reinforce bars (steel rods 142, 144, 146, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 13-24). Bell further teaches that this arrangement of a concrete layer with steel reinforce bars provides a large capacity and safe storage facility for storing pressurized gas under high pressurization (col. 6, ll. 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev/Weisenberg to add steel reinforce bars to the concrete layer as taught by Bell for the purpose of providing safe storage for the pressurized gas under high pressurization, as recognized by Bell (see col. 6, ll. 13-30).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yogev as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2012/0305411 to Elazari-Volcani (hereinafter, “Elazari”).
Regarding claim 19, Yogev does not expressly disclose the gas tank and the mixing tank are in the liquid source.
Elazari teaches a similar energy storage device comprising a liquid source, a gas tank (air 35, Figs. 1-2), and a mixing tank (tank 10, Figs. 1-2). Elazari teaches that the gas tank and the mixing tank are located underwater within the liquid source (water body 50, Figs. 1-2; para. [0110]). Elazari further teaches that when such a storage device is underwater in a sea, lake, or reservoir, the water body provides the liquid source to the device (para. [0108]). Elazari teaches that it is known to place such energy storage devices underwater to reduce costs (para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to position the gas tank and the mixing tank in a body of water such that they are in the liquid source as taught by Elazari for the purpose of providing a convenient liquid source, and to reduce costs, as recognized by Elazari (see paras. [0003], [0108]).
Claims 23 and 24 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yogev in view of U.S. Pub. 2012/0012276 to Von Herzen et al. (hereinafter, “Von Herzen”).
Regarding claim 23, Yogev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as follows: An energy storage apparatus (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a first structure (structure including air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b, annotated Fig. 2 above; para. [0058]) configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (see paras. [0082]-[0089]); and a second structure (structure including vessel 11a and/or 11b, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) configured to receive a first amount of a liquid from a liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b, Fig. 2; para. [0072]) so that a pressure level in the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) increases from the default pressure to an increased level associated with a space replacement in the second structure (see paras. [0082]-[0089]). Yogev further discloses the first structure is mounted above ground (para. [0058]).
To the extent it could be argued that the first structure of Yogev when mounted above ground has the claimed innermost layer, outermost layer, and thermal isolation layer arrangement, it would be obvious in view of Von Herzen.
Yogev does teach that the first and second structures can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Von Herzon teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (paras. [0006]-[0008], [0040]-[0041]). Von Herzon teaches that the first structure has an innermost layer, an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer between the innermost and outermost layers (para. [0069]). Von Herzon further teaches that the three layer structure resists heat and moisture, and UV resistance, external waterproofing, and sufficient strength and stiffness (para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first structure with an innermost layer, an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer between the innermost and outermost layers as taught by Von Herzon for the purpose of having a structure that resists heat and moisture, and has UV resistance, external waterproofing, and sufficient strength and stiffness, as recognized by Von Herzon (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 24, Yogev discloses all of the features of claim 1 as follows: An energy storage apparatus (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a first structure (structure including air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b, annotated Fig. 2 above; para. [0058]) configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (see paras. [0082]-[0089]); and a second structure (structure including vessel 11a and/or 11b, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) configured to receive a first amount of a liquid from a liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b, Fig. 2; para. [0072]) so that a pressure level in the first structure (annotated Fig. 2) increases from the default pressure to an increased level associated with a space replacement in the second structure (see paras. [0082]-[0089]). Yogev further discloses the first structure is mounted within the ground (para. [0058]).
To the extent it could be argued that the first structure of Yogev when mounted within the ground has the claimed innermost layer, outermost layer, and thermal isolation layer arrangement, it would be obvious in view of Von Herzen.
Yogev does teach that the first and second structures can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Von Herzon teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first structure configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (paras. [0006]-[0008], [0040]-[0041]). Von Herzon teaches that the first structure has an innermost layer, an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer between the innermost and outermost layers (para. [0069]). Von Herzon further teaches that the three layer structure resists heat and moisture, and UV resistance, external waterproofing, and sufficient strength and stiffness (para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first structure with an innermost layer, an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer between the innermost and outermost layers as taught by Von Herzon for the purpose of having a structure that resists heat and moisture, and has UV resistance, external waterproofing, and sufficient strength and stiffness, as recognized by Von Herzon (para. [0069]).
Claims 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yogev in view of Weisenberg.
Regarding claim 25, Yogev discloses an energy storage apparatus (system 1, Fig. 2; para. [0053]), comprising: a first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b and surrounding borehole, annotated Fig. 2 above; para. [0058]) configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (see paras. [0082]-[0089]); and a second vessel (vessel 11a and/or 11b and surrounding borehole, annotated Fig. 2; para. [[0058]) configured to receive a first amount of a liquid from a liquid source (water inlets 19a, 19b, Fig. 2; para. [0072]) so that a pressure level in the first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b) increases from the default pressure to an increased level associated with a space replacement in the second vessel (see paras. [0082]-[0089]), wherein the first vessel (air storage vessel 12a and/or 12b and surrounding borehole) has a thermal isolation layer (material 1040, Fig. 2; para. [0060]).
Yogev further teaches that the first and second vessels can “be constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Weisenberg teaches a similar vessel configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (tube 5, Fig. 1A; para. [0067]). Weisenberg teaches the structure includes a plurality of layers (see Fig. 1A), including an innermost layer and an outermost layer, and a thermal isolation layer (para. [0312]). Weisenberg teaches that the vessel may include a graphene coating (paras. [0090], [0190], [0231]). Weisenberg further teaches that this material arrangement can reduce the potential for permeation, diffusion, solubility, leaks, rupture, and or failure, increasing safety and design life (para. [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the energy storage apparatus of Yogev to form the first vessel with an innermost layer and an outermost layer, and the outermost layer comprising a graphene layer as taught by Weisenberg for the purpose of improving safety and design life, as recognized by Weisenberg (see para. [0090]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 28, Yogev as modified by Weisenberg already includes the outermost layer of the first vessel comprises a graphene layer (Weisenberg, paras. [0090], [0190], [0231]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yogev as applied to claim 25 above, and in further view of Von Herzen.
Regarding claim 29, Yogev does not expressly disclose the innermost layer of the first vessel comprises a fiberglass layer. Yogev does teach that the innermost layer may be “constructed of a suitable metal, plastic or composite material appropriate to withstand the strain on the walls caused by the air-hydraulic pressure inside the vessels” (para. [0063]).
Von Herzon teaches a similar energy storage apparatus comprising a first vessel configured to contain a default pressure of a pressurized gas (paras. [0006]-[0008], [0040]-[0041]). Von Herzon teaches that fiberglass is a known material for use in such a vessel (para. [0059]). Von Herzon teaches that fiberglass is inexpensive and is widely used for its durability, reliability, and longevity (para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yogev to have the innermost layer comprise a fiberglass layer as taught by Von Herzon for the purpose of improving durability, reliability, and longevity while being inexpensive, as recognized by Von Herzon (para. [0059]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733