Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piva US 9808049.
Regarding claim 1, Chen Piva discloses a fastening device, comprising:
a case (2);
a spool (3) disposed in the case and configured for a lace to be wound therearound;
a plurality of ratchet teeth (331) inside the case;
a ratchet element (5) pivotally disposed at the case and located at one side of the ratchet teeth along a radial direction, the ratchet element being free from moving along an axial direction, the ratchet element comprising a ratchet arm (51) selectively engaged with at least one of the ratchet teeth; and
a knob (4) disposed at the case;
wherein as the ratchet arm is engaged with at least one of the ratchet teeth, the spool is prohibited to rotate in a releasing direction, and as the knob is rotated in a tensioning direction, the ratchet arm is disengaged from at least one of the ratchet teeth to allow the spool to tension the lace (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen 2011/0191992 in view of Piva US 9808049.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a fastening device, comprising:
a case (3);
a spool (33) disposed in the case and configured for a lace to be wound therearound;
a plurality of ratchet teeth (12) inside the case;
a ratchet element (23), the ratchet element comprising a ratchet arm (231) selectively engaged with at least one of the ratchet teeth; and
a knob (21) disposed at the case;
wherein as the ratchet arm is engaged with at least one of the ratchet teeth, the spool is prohibited to rotate in a releasing direction, and as the knob is rotated in a tensioning direction, the ratchet arm is disengaged from at least one of the ratchet teeth to allow the spool to tension the lace (annotated Fig 2).
Chen does not disclose wherein a ratchet element pivotally disposed at the case and located at one side of the ratchet teeth along a radial direction, the ratchet element being free from moving along an axial direction
Piva discloses a ratchet element (Piva, 5) pivotally disposed at the case (Piva, 2) and located at one side of the ratchet teeth along a radial direction, the ratchet element being free from moving along an axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet element of Chen to be pivotally disposed at the case and located at one side of the ratchet teeth along a radial direction, the ratchet element being free from moving along an axial direction as taught by Piva to reduce the overall vertical dimension of the device (Piva para 42-43)
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Piva discloses further comprising a plurality of knob teeth (Chen, 24) connected to the knob (Chen, 21), wherein the ratchet element (Chen, 23) further comprises a sliding portion (Chen, 222) located above the ratchet arm (Chen, 231) and corresponding to at least one of the knob teeth, and as the knob is rotated in the releasing direction, at least one of the knob teeth pushes the sliding portion to rotate the ratchet element, and the ratchet element is disengaged from at least one of the ratchet teeth, thereby allowing the lace to be incrementally released (annotated Chen Fig 2, para 24).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Piva discloses wherein the case comprises:
a main-space (annotated Piva Fig 2); and
a sub-space (annotated Piva Fig 2) communicated with the main-space;
wherein the spool is in the main-space, the ratchet element is located in the sub-space, and the ratchet arm extends into the main-space (Piva Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chen on view of Piva discloses a wheel (Chen, 1) disposed within the main-space and selectively coupled to the spool (Chen, 33), the ratchet teeth (Chen 12) being located at the wheel;
wherein the knob is operated to drive the wheel, and the ratchet teeth (Chen, 12) are lifted to allow the spool to rotate in the releasing direction for fully releasing the lace (annotated Chen Fig 2, Para 25).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Piva discloses further comprising a connecting set (Chen, 11) penetrating the spool and coupled to the knob, wherein the spool comprises a positioning portion (annotated, Fig 2), the connecting set penetrates and is coupled to the positioning portion, pulling the knob upward causes the ratchet teeth and the connecting set to move along the axial direction, thereby allowing the spool to rotate in the releasing direction for fully releasing the lace, and the connecting set is positioned by the positioning portion (annotated Fig 2, Para 25).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Piva discloses wherein the case comprises:
an annular wall (annotated Chen Fig 2) surrounding a main-space (annotated Chen Fig 2);
a partition (Chen 32) protruding inward from the annular wall;
and an upper opening (Chen 321) communicated with the main-space;
wherein the spool comprises an upper ring portion (annotated Chen Fig 2), and the partition axially restricts the upper ring portion to prohibit the spool from leaving the main-space from the upper opening (Chen Fig 3),
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the case
comprises:
an annular wall (annotated Chen Fig 2) surrounding a main-space (annotated Chen Fig 2);
an inner ring groove (annotated Chen Fig 2) located at the annular wall and communicated with the main-space; and
an upper opening (Chen 321) communicated with the main-space;
wherein the spool comprises a lower ring portion (annotated Chen Fig 2), and the lower ring portion is received in the inner ring groove to prohibit the spool from leaving the main-space from the upper opening (annotated Chen Fig 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677