FINAL ACTION
This action is in response to communication(s):
This Final office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 3/27/2026.
Application filed on 7/31/2023 with priority date of 4/8/2023 based on Foreign application CN202310487832.X with priority date 4/8/2023.
The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application, of which claims 11-12, 18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 13, and 19-20 are independent claims.
In the amendment, claims 1-4, 8, 13-16, 19-20 are amended.
The claim objections to claim 19-20 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
The rejections to claims 8 and 19 based on 35 USC § 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
The rejection to claim 19 based on 35 USC § 101 is respectfully withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the amendment made to claim(s) 1-4, 8, 13-16, and 19-20 in the amendment filed on 3/27/2026.
The claim objections to claim 19-20 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
The rejections to claims 8 and 19 based on 35 USC § 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
The rejection to claim 19 based on 35 USC § 101 is respectfully withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are directed to the newly amended limitations which is addressed with a new ground of rejection using prior cited art Ogawa.
The applicant argued on pages 8-12 for claim 1 on the newly amended limitations, that the prior cited art Ogawa does not teach the amended limitation of “determining whether to display the stroke on the touch display screen based on additional information under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status; wherein the additional information comprises at least one of a preset pressure, a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status, a stylus sensing amount, or a second signal”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant argued in section (i) that Ogawa does not teach “… wherein the additional information comprises … a preset value …”. The examiner respectfully disagree, and note that the newly amended limitation recited above requires only at least one of 1) a preset pressure, 2) a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status, 3) a stylus sensing amount, or 4) a second signal to teach the limitation. Ogawa ([0078-0079] Fig. 9) still teaches a stylus sensing amount – where the displacement amount of the pen tip classified into different graduated levels can be assigned to different functions/processes, i.e. level 2 for selection of an object without displaying a stroke, level 5 for determination of an operation. Accordingly, the additional information of the displacement amount of the pen tip (the stylus sensing amount) is used to determine, when the pen tip is in contact with the touch panel (first status information indicates the first status), whether to display the stroke based on the function/process associated with the graduated level of the displacement amount of the pen tip.
The applicant argued in section (ii) that Ogawa does not teach “… wherein the additional information comprises … a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status …”. The examiner respectfully disagree, and note that the newly amended limitation recited above requires only at least one of 1) a preset pressure, 2) a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status, 3) a stylus sensing amount, or 4) a second signal to teach the limitation. Ogawa ([0078-0079] Fig. 9) still teaches a stylus sensing amount – where the displacement amount of the pen tip classified into different graduated levels can be assigned to different functions/processes, i.e. level 2 for selection of an object without displaying a stroke, level 5 for determination of an operation. Accordingly, the additional information of the displacement amount of the pen tip (the stylus sensing amount) is used to determine, when the pen tip is in contact with the touch panel (first status information indicates the first status), whether to display the stroke based on the function/process associated with the graduated level of the displacement amount of the pen tip.
The applicant argued in section (iii) that Ogawa does not teach “… wherein the additional information comprises … a stylus sensing amount …”, specifically, Ogawa only teaches using the pen tip displacement amount to adjust the line thickness of the stroke being display, which is not the same as determining whether to display the stroke on the display screen. The examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Ogawa ([0078-0079] Fig. 9) teaches the displacement amount of the pen tip (stylus sensing amount) can be classified into graduated levels, and each level can be assigned to different processes/functions; i.e. level 2 is for selection of a displayed object, where no stroke will be displayed, level 5 is for determination of an operation. The graduated levels additionally can be assigned different properties of the line drawn, such as varying thickness of the line, or type of line such as solid, broken line, dashed line, etc. Thus the additional information of the displacement amount of the pen tip (stylus sensing amount) is clearly used, in addition to the first status information of whether the pen tip is in contact with the touch panel, to decide whether to display the stroke on the display screen or not. Since besides from displaying a line/stroke with different properties, the pen tip displacement amount can also be used to perform a process such as selection of an object. Accordingly, Ogawa still teaches the amended claim 1.
The applicant argued in section (iv) that Ogawa does not teach “… wherein the additional information comprises … a second signal …”. The examiner respectfully disagree, and note that the newly amended limitation recited above requires only at least one of 1) a preset pressure, 2) a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status, 3) a stylus sensing amount, or 4) a second signal to teach the limitation. Ogawa ([0078-0079] Fig. 9) still teaches a stylus sensing amount – where the displacement amount of the pen tip classified into different graduated levels can be assigned to different functions/processes, i.e. level 2 for selection of an object without displaying a stroke, level 5 for determination of an operation. Accordingly, the additional information of the displacement amount of the pen tip (the stylus sensing amount) is used to determine, when the pen tip is in contact with the touch panel (first status information indicates the first status), whether to display the stroke based on the function/process associated with the graduated level of the displacement amount of the pen tip.
The applicant additionally argues for the other independent claim 13, and all dependent claims that they are allowable for the same reason argued for claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees and counter asserts the same rationale set forth above.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to claims 19-20 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
Claim(s) 5, 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Per claim 5, claim 5 depend from claim 1, and recites “… acquiring a second signal sent by the stylus …”, where a second signal is already mentioned in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the term is interpreted as either referring to a second signal from claim 1, or a different second signal.
Claim 17 recites similar limitation as claim 5, and is likewise objected and interpreted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections to claims 8 and 19 based on 35 USC § 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection to claim 19 based on 35 USC § 101 is respectfully withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 13-14, 16-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US Pub 20110169756, hereinafter Ogawa).
Per claim 1, Ogawa teaches:
An information input method applied to a touch display screen, comprising: (abstract: electronic pen transmitting information to a controller corresponding to a detection of a touch condition; [0047] Fig. 1 shows a display device 5, which can be a LCD provided on the rear side of the touch panel body that are made of a transparent material (touch display screen));
acquiring a first signal sent by a stylus, wherein the first signal carries first status information, and the first status information is configured to indicate whether a tip of the stylus is in contact with the touch display screen; and ([0064-0065] Fig. 3 shows a flowchart of steps of communication between the electronic pen 1 and controller device 6 shown in Fig. 1; at step ST202, the controlling device receive/acquire “pen information”(first status information) from pen/stylus, where “pen information” is sent from the pen after the pen tip is in contact with the touch surface, so “pen information” indicates the tip of the pen is in contact with the touch display screen);
displaying a stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the first status information indicates a first status, the first status being that the tip of the stylus is in a contact status with the touch display screen. ([0064-0065, 0069] Fig. 3-4: Fig. 4 shows a flowchart for pen input processing, where drawing process with designated color is displayed at step ST302, under the condition that at steps ST202-ST207, it was determined that pen tip press to the touch surface was detected, and that information was received at the processing device at step ST202).
wherein displaying the stroke on the touch display screen under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status comprises: ([0064-0065] Fig. 3 shows a precondition of pen in contact with screen which is transmitted to the controlling device at step ST102-ST103, before the pen input processing at ST208 is able to display a stroke at ST302 from Fig. 4);
determining whether to display the stroke on the touch display screen based on additional information under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status; wherein the additional information comprises at least one of a preset pressure value, a number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status, a stylus sensing amount, or a second signal. ([0078] Fig. 9: additional information can be included as part of the pen information transmitted in step ST103 from Fig. 3, which include displacement amount (stylus sensing amount) of the pen tip portion detected by position sensor 91 from Fig. 9; [0079] the displacement amount may be classified into graduated levels, and assigned to different process/function such as selection of object in level 2, in which case there would not be a display of stroke, or assigned to draw a line/stroke with certain property, i.e. solid line, dotted line, etc.; thus display of the stroke/line is determined based on the displacement amount/levels (stylus sensing amount) and associated function for the displaced level).
Per claim 2, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein displaying a stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the first status information indicates a first status comprises:
displaying the stroke on the touch display screen according to the preset pressure value when it is detected that the first status information indicates the first status. ([0069, 0079-0080]: Fig. 9 shows an embodiment of the electronic pen where tip pressure can be measured and transmitted to the controlling device; where without this embodiment a default/preset pressure value is associated with the contact of the pen to the touch panel, and displayed at step ST302 from Fig. 4 accordingly).
Per claim 4, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
acquiring the stylus sensing amount according to the first signal, wherein the stylus sensing amount is configured to reflect a degree of contact between the stylus and the touch display screen; and ([0078-0079] Fig. 9: a displacement (stylus sensing amount) of the pen tip can be measure to degree of pressure between the pen tip and the touch panel);
wherein displaying a stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the first status information indicates a first status comprises: displaying the stroke on the touch display screen when the stylus sensing amount is greater than or equal to a sensing threshold, under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status. ([0064, 0069, 0078-0079] Fig. 3: when there is pressure on the pen tip at step ST 102 from Fig. 3, and the pen tip portion 32 is connected to the displacement sensor 91 from Fig. 9 – when the sensing amount is greater than 0, the pen information including the displacement amount/pressure amount is passed from the stylus to the controlling device at step ST202, and these two factors determine if a stroke is displayed on the touch display screen, based partly on the graduated level of the displacement amount and assigned process with the pressure level).
Per claim 5, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
acquiring a second signal sent by the stylus, wherein the second signal carries a tip pressure value of the stylus; and displaying the stroke on the touch display screen according to the first signal and the second signal. ([0078-0080] Fig. 9: the electronic pen can detect displacement amount of the pen tip portion corresponding to pressing the pen tip onto the touch surface, the value corresponding to the pressure of the pen tip (second signal) along with pen information received at ST 202 from Fig. 3 indicating contact of the pen with touch surface (first signal) together can be used to display different line thickness, or whether to display a stroke or select an object).
Per claim 6, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claims 5, and further teaches:
wherein displaying the stroke on the touch display screen according to the first signal and the second signal comprises:
displaying the stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the tip pressure value is greater than zero; and ([0064, 0069, 0079-0080] Fig. 3: at step ST102 when the pen is pressed on the touch panel, and pen information including displacement amount of the pen tip (tip pressure value), which is greater than 0 when connected to position sensor 91, is sent to the controlling device 6, the stroke/draw is displayed at the corresponding coordinates at ST302 from Fig. 4);
determining a width of the stroke according to the tip pressure value. ([0079-0080] the line width can be determined based on the pressure of the pen tip).
Per claim 7, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 6, and further teaches:
wherein displaying the stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the tip pressure value is greater than zero comprises:
stopping displaying the stroke on the touch display screen when a number of information frames of the first status information indicating a second status in the first signal is greater than or equal to a frame number threshold, under the condition that the tip pressure value is greater than zero. ([0067-0068] Fig. 3 shows at step ST106-ST107, when the pen press is off for a predetermined time period of 2 sec, the pen tip connection is turned off at ST108, to prevent stroke display regardless of tip pressure info).
Per claim 8, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and further teaches:
wherein displaying the stroke on the touch display screen under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status comprises:
stopping displaying the stroke on the touch display screen when the stylus sensing amount is less than the sensing threshold, under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status. ([0067-0068] Fig. 3 shows that at step ST106-ST107, when the pen press is off, the pen tip connection is turned off at ST 108, to prevent stroke display even if pen information is still being received).
Per claim 9, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein the first status information indicates pressure status information of the tip of the stylus. ([0078-0079] Fig. 9: pen tip displacement amount can be added into the transmitted pen information to indicate writing pressure, which in turn controls line thickness).
Per claim 13, claim 13 is a system claim of a touch display screen device, comprising a touch display screen (Fig. 1 [0047] display device 5 can be LCD behind the touch panel body 3), a memory (Fig. 1 [0050] controller device 6 can be a personal computer with memory), and a processor (Fig. 1 [0050] controller device 6 can be a personal computer with processor), that executes the same method as claim 1, and is likewise rejected as claim 1.
Per claim 14, 16-17, claims 14, 16-17 include limitations that are substantially the same as claims 2, 4-5 respectively, and are likewise rejected.
Per claim 19, claim 19 is a non-transitory medium (Fig. 1 [0050] controller device 6 can be a personal computer with memory) claim that stores instructions for the same method as claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
Per claim 20, claim 20 is a system claim of a chip comprising a processor (Fig. 1 [0050] main controller 19, controller device 6 can be a personal computer with processor) and an interface (Fig. 1 [0048] wireless communicator 16) that execute the same method according to claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa, in view of Ding et al. (US Pub 20180348938, hereinafter Ding).
Per claim 3, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches to wait for a predetermined time period after the stylus pen tip press is on (Fig. 3 step ST104-ST105, but before coordinates information can be processed (Fig. 3 ST206), to display the stroke on the touchscreen:
wherein displaying a stroke on the touch display screen under a condition that the first status information indicates a first status comprises:
displaying the stroke on the touch display screen, when the number of information frames ([0058, 0065-0066, 0103] Fig. 3: Fig. 3 shows at step ST104-ST105: a predetermined time of 500ms is waited (frame threshold) before the connecting switch is turned ON, which in turn enables coordinates detection that is used to display the stroke).
Ogawa does not explicitly teach the number of information frames to be waited is a part of the first signal sent by the stylus; “ … the number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status in the first signal …”. Ding, however, teaches a first signal comprising contact information for a duration to be detected by the touch panel “ … the number of information frames of the first status information indicating the first status in the first signal …” ([0077, 0082-0083] Fig. 4C, Fig. 5: the stylus may transmit the first signal only upon contact with the touch panel, and transmit the first signal for the duration of a first time period, for the touch panel to determine touch input position based on the first signal).
Ding and Ogawa are analogous art because Ding also teach method of communication between a stylus and a touch panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date, having the teachings of Ding and Ogawa before him/her, to modify the teachings of Ogawa to include the teachings of Ding so that the wait timer can be set based on a threshold number of frames of first signal indicating contact with the touch panel. One would be motivated to make the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide an alternative method of introducing a delay timer to ensure the pen information is processed before the coordinate information is received from the touch panel, making the algorithm more robust and enhancing user experiences.
Per claim 15, claim 15 includes limitations that is substantially the same as claim 3 , and is likewise rejected.
Per claim 10, Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
before displaying the stroke on the touch display screen, the information input method further comprises: ([0065] Fig. 3 shows step ST206 before the pen input processing is performed at step ST208);
acquiring the coordinate coding information ([0065] coordinate info is received after pen information is transmitted);
acquiring a contact coordinate of the stylus on the touch display screen according to the coordinate coding information; ([0065] Fig. 3 shows step 206 of receiving contact coordinate of the pen);
stopping displaying the stroke on the touch display screen in the event of failure in acquiring the contact coordinate; and ([0065] Fig. 3 shows if no coordinates is received – “No”, then the method will not proceed to display stroke in Fig. 4).
performing an operation of displaying the stroke on the touch display screen under the condition that the first status information indicates the first status, in the event of successful acquisition of the contact coordinate. ([0065, 0069] Fig. 3 shows if coordinates is received – “Yes”, then the method proceed to display stroke in Fig. 4).
But Ogawa does not explicitly teach “the first signal further comprises second status information that indicates coordinate coding information of the stylus”. However, Ding teaches “the first signal further comprises second status information that indicates coordinate coding information of the stylus” ([0068-0069] Fig. 4A: step 302-303 show that the stylus transmits the first signal to the touch panel, where the first signal is used to determine the position of the contact between the stylus and the touch panel).
Ding and Ogawa are analogous art because Ding also teach method of communication between a stylus and a touch panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date, having the teachings of Ding and Ogawa before him/her, to modify the teachings of Ogawa to include the teachings of Ding so that position information can be part of the signal sent from the stylus to the touch panel. One would be motivated to make the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide an alternative method of acquiring positional coordinates of a stylus, making the algorithm more robust and enhancing user experiences.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support by shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections, See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Contact Information
/PHOEBE X PAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179