DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/02/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 21-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2025 was filed after the mailing date of 10/02/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 21, 26, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819).
Regarding claim 1, Van der Mee discloses a microphone comprising: a microphone element (Van der Mee; Fig 1; microphone 1); a user interface (Van der Mee; Para [0017]; LED visuals on the housing interpreted as user interface) a housing (Van der Mee; Para [0017]) comprising the microphone element and the user interface; and a connection port (Van der Mee; Fig 1; connection port 11), but do not expressly disclose a user interface that is selectively operable in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode wherein in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display a first audio meter indicating a combined level of both a first audio signal based on sound detected by the microphone element and a second audio signal received via the connection port, and wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter indicating a level of the second audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kasai et al disclose a device wherein: a user interface that is selectively operable in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode (Kasai et al; Para [0238]) wherein in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to determine a first audio meter indicating a combined level of both a first audio signal and a second audio signal (Kasai et al; Para [0238]-[0239]), and wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to determine a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter indicating a level of the second audio signal (Kasai et al; Para [0238]-[0239]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Kasai et al to display the level of the audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to widen the dynamic range and achieve an optimized compromise with the signal-to-noise ratio (Kasai et al; Para [0098]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a device wherein: a user interface that is selectively operable in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; selection display of sum of left and right or left and right separately) wherein in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display a first audio meter indicating a combined level of both a first audio signal and a second audio signal (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; summed stereo mode selection display of sum of left and right), and wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter indicating a level of the second audio signal (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; display of mono left and right signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 7, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter simultaneously with the third audio meter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough disclose a device wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter simultaneously with the third audio meter (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45; col 6; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 10, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, wherein the microphone further comprises: a controller at least partially enclosed by the housing (Van der Mee; Para [0017]) but do not expressly disclose and configured to selectively cause the user interface to display the first audio meter in the first audio meter mode, and the second audio meter and the third audio meter in the second audio meter mode. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a device further comprises a controller and configured to selectively cause the user interface to display the first audio meter in the first audio meter mode, and the second audio meter and the third audio meter in the second audio meter mode (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 21, Van der Mee discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a microphone, a first digital signal from a device external to the microphone (Van der Mee; Fig 1; digital signal from port 11): and providing, by the microphone, during both the first audio meter mode and the second audio meter mode, a second digital signal based on the first audio signal and the second audio signal selectively operating, based on the first digital signal, a user interface of the microphone in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode (Van der Mee; Para [0017]);but do not expressly disclose selectively operating, based on the first digital signal, a user interface of the microphone in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode; in the first audio meter mode, causing the user interface to display a first audio meter indicating a combined level of both of a first audio signal based on sound detected by a microphone element of the microphone or and a second audio signal received from an audio source external to the microphone; in the second audio meter mode, causing the user interface to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter associated with indicating a level of the second audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kasai et al disclose a method comprising selectively operating, based on the first digital signal, a user interface of the microphone in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode (Kasai et al; Para [0238]) in the first audio meter mode, causing the user interface to display a first audio meter indicating a combined level of both of a first audio signal and a second audio signal (Kasai et al; Para [0238]-[0239]), in the second audio meter mode, causing the user interface to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter associated with indicating a level of the second audio signal (Kasai et al; Para [0238]-[0239]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Kasai et al to display the level of the audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to widen the dynamic range and achieve an optimized compromise with the signal-to-noise ratio (Kasai et al; Para [0098]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a method comprising selectively operating, based on the first digital signal, a user interface of the microphone in a first audio meter mode and in a second audio meter mode (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; selection display of sum of left and right or left and right separately) in the second audio meter mode, causing the user interface to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter associated with indicating a level of the second audio signal (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; summed stereo mode selection display of sum of left and right), and wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display a second audio meter indicating a level of the first audio signal and a third audio meter indicating a level of the second audio signal (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; display of mono left and right signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 26, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein displaying the second audio meter comprises displaying the second audio meter simultaneously with the third audio meter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough disclose a device wherein in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter simultaneously with the third audio meter (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45; col 6; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 29, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first audio channel is a left audio channel and the second audio channel is a right audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a device wherein the first audio channel is a left audio channel and the second audio channel is a right audio channel (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Claim(s) 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Bennett (US 2011/0311083 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connection port comprises an analog connection port, the microphone further comprising a digital connection port configured to output a digital audio signal based on the first audio signal and the second audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennett discloses a device wherein the connection port comprises an analog connection port (Bennett; Fig 6; port 116), the microphone further comprising a digital connection port configured to output a digital audio signal based on the first audio signal and the second audio signal (Bennett; Fig 10; port 115). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Bennett et al to receive external audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provides a standard of performance that is otherwise offered by systems with separate components (Bennett; Para [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a second connection port, wherein the microphone is configured to select, based on a digital signal received via the second connection port, between the first audio meter mode and the second audio meter mode. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennett discloses a device wherein the microphone is configured to receive a digital signal via the second connection port (Bennett; Fig 10; Para [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Bennett et al to receive external audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provides a standard of performance that is otherwise offered by systems with separate components (Bennett; Para [0004]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a device wherein the microphone is configured to select, between the first audio meter mode and the second audio meter mode (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50; display of mono left and right signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45).
Claim(s) 9, 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Radin et al (US 2013/0201398 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Radin et al disclose a device wherein the connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector (Radin et al; Para [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Radin as connector in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide integrated tablet computer connectivity (Radin et al; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 27, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the second audio signal comprises audio received via an analog connection port of the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Radin et al disclose a device wherein: the second audio signal comprises audio received via an analog connection port of the microphone (Radin et al; Para [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Radin as connector in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide integrated tablet computer connectivity (Radin et al; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 28, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Radin et al disclose the method of claim 27, do not expressly disclose wherein the connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Radin et al disclose a device wherein the connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector (Radin et al; Para [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Radin as connector in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide integrated tablet computer connectivity (Radin et al; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 2, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of in view of Mototsugu et al (JPS5620344B2).
Regarding claim 2, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the user interface comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes, in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the first audio meter using the plurality of light-emitting diodes, and in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter using a first subset of the plurality of light-emitting diodes and the third audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the plurality of light-emitting diodes. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mototsugu et al disclose a device wherein: the user interface comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 2; diodes 4-5-6), in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the first audio meter using the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 5-6; monaural mode diodes 5 or diode 6 display left or right audio meter), and in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter using a first subset of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 7; diodes 4 is a first subset of group of diodes 4-5-6 displaying left signal) and the third audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 7; diodes 5 is a second subset of group of diodes 4-5-6 displaying right signal). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Mototsugu et al as meter in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a plurality of meters arrangement to the user (Mototsugu et al; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the user interface comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes, in the first audio meter mode, displaying the first audio meter comprises displaying the first audio meter using the plurality of light-emitting diodes, and in the second audio meter mode, displaying the second audio meter comprises displaying the second audio meter using a first subset of the plurality of light-emitting diodes and displaying the third audio meter comprises displaying the third audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the plurality of light-emitting diodes. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mototsugu et al disclose a device wherein: the user interface comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 2; diodes 4-5-6), in the first audio meter mode, displaying the first audio meter comprises displaying the first audio meter using the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 5-6; monaural mode diodes 5 or diode 6 display left or right audio meter), in the second audio meter mode, displaying the second audio meter comprises displaying the second audio meter using a first subset of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 7; diodes 4 is a first subset of group of diodes 4-5-6 displaying left signal) and displaying the third audio meter comprises displaying the third audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Mototsugu et al; Fig 7; diodes 5 is a second subset of group of diodes 4-5-6 displaying right signal). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Mototsugu et al as meter in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a plurality of meters arrangement to the user (Mototsugu et al; Para [0003]).
Claim(s) 3, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of in view of Seiji (JP 2004-015461 A).
Regarding claim 3, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point, in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the first audio meter as a first bar that extends from the first point toward the second point by a length that depends on a level of both of the first audio signal and the second audio signal, and in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter as a second bar that extends in a first direction using a subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and by a length that depends on a level of the first audio signal; and the third audio meter as a third bar that extends in a second direction opposite the first direction using s second subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes by a length that depends on a level of the second audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a device further comprises a controller wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point, in the first audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the first audio meter as a first bar that extends from the first point toward the second point by a length that depends on a level of both of the first audio signal and the second audio signal, (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Seiji et al disclose a device wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]; LED sequence 72), in the second audio meter mode, the user interface is configured to display the second audio meter as a second bar that extends in a first direction using a subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and by a length that depends on a level of the first audio signal (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]); and the third audio meter as a third bar that extends in a second direction opposite the first direction using s second subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes by a length that depends on a level of the second audio signal (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Seiji as meter in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to prevent deterioration of sound quality (Seiji et al; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point, in the first audio meter mode, displaying the first audio meter comprises displaying a first bar that extends from the first point toward the second point by a length that depends on a level of both of the first audio channel and the second audio channel, and in the second audio meter mode, displaying the second audio meter and the third audio meter comprises: displaying the second audio meter as a second bar that extends in a first direction using a first subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes; and by a length that depends on a level of the first audio signal; and displaying the third audio meter as a third bar that extends in a second direction opposite the first direction using a second subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and by a length that depends on a level of the second audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough et al disclose a method wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point, in the first audio meter mode, displaying the first audio meter comprises displaying a first bar that extends from the first point toward the second point by a length that depends on a level of both of the first audio channel and the second audio channel (Dorrough et al; col 3; lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Seiji et al disclose a method wherein: the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes extending between a first point and a second point (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]; LED sequence 72), and in the second audio meter mode, displaying the second audio meter and the third audio meter comprises: displaying the second audio meter as a second bar that extends in a first direction using a first subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes; and by a length that depends on a level of the first audio signal (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]); and displaying the third audio meter as a third bar that extends in a second direction opposite the first direction using a second subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and by a length that depends on a level of the second audio signal (Seiji; Fig1; Para [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter taught by Seiji as meter in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to prevent deterioration of sound quality (Seiji et al; Para [0003]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further of Seiji (JP 2004-015461 A) and further in view of Griffin et al (US 2020/0350882 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Seiji disclose the microphone of claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the sequence of light-emitting diodes is curved to conform to a shape of the housing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Griffin et al disclose a device wherein the sequence of light-emitting diodes is curved to conform to a shape of the housing (Griffin et al; Fig 6; Para [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the housing taught by Griffin as housing in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been reducing vocal volume level fluctuations (Griffin et al; Para [0004])
Claim(s) 5-6, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Bennett (US 2011/0311083 A1) and further in view of Justin (US 2022/0159813 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein: the user interface is configured to display any of a plurality of colors, wherein the microphone further comprises a second connection port, the microphone is further configured to output, via the second connection port, a digital audio signal based on the first audio signal and the second audio signal, and the user interface is configured to display at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter, using a color that is based on a digital signal received from another device via the second connection port. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennett discloses a device wherein: the user interface is configured to display any of a plurality of colors, wherein the microphone further comprises a second connection port (Bennett; Para [0040]), the microphone is further configured to output, via the second connection port, a digital audio signal based on the first audio signal and the second audio signal, (Bennett; Para [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Bennett et al to receive external audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provides a standard of performance that is otherwise offered by systems with separate components (Bennett; Para [0004]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Justin discloses a device the user interface is configured to display at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter, using a color that is based on a digital signal received from another device via the second connection port (Justin et al; Para [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the communication module taught by Miura as connector in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a soothing effect (Justin; Para [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Bennett and further in view of Justin disclose the microphone of claim 5, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connection port. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennett discloses a device wherein the connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connection port (Bennett; Para [0040]-[0041]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Bennett et al to receive external audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provides a standard of performance that is otherwise offered by systems with separate components (Bennett; Para [0004]).
Regarding claim 24, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose further comprising receiving a third digital signal via a connection port, wherein providing the second digital signal comprises providing the second digital signal via the connection port, and wherein displaying at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter comprises displaying at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter using a color that is based on the third digital signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bennett discloses a method further comprising receiving a third digital signal via a connection port, (Bennett; Para [0040]), wherein providing the second digital signal comprises providing the second digital signal via the connection port (Bennett; Para [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Bennett et al to receive external audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provides a standard of performance that is otherwise offered by systems with separate components (Bennett; Para [0004]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Justin discloses a method comprising and wherein displaying at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter comprises displaying at least one of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, or the third audio meter using a color that is based on the third digital signal (Justin et al; Para [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the communication module taught by Miura as connector in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a soothing effect (Justin; Para [0009]).
Regarding claim 25, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Bennett and further in view of Justin disclose the method of claim 24, wherein receiving the first digital signal comprises receiving the first digital signal via connection port comprises-a universal serial bus (USB) connection port of the microphone (Van der Mee; Fig 1; USB port 11), and wherein providing the second digital signal comprises providing the second digital signal via the USB connection port (Van der Mee; Fig 1; USB port 11).
Claim(s) 30, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Moon (US 2015/0078584 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter are displayed using at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes; and a touch-sensitive layer overlaying the plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the microphone is configured to selectively adjust a level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to touch detected by the touch-sensitive layer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon disclose a device wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter are displayed using at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Moon; Para [0050]); and a touch-sensitive layer overlaying the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Moon; Para [0050]), wherein the microphone is configured to selectively adjust a level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to touch detected by the touch-sensitive layer (Moon; Para [0040][0050]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Moon et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide more compact and less expensive device (Moon; Para [0041]).
Regarding claim 33, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein causing each of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter to be displayed comprises causing at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes to be illuminated, and wherein the method further comprises selectively adjusting a level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to detecting touching of the user interface. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon disclose a method wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein causing each of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter to be displayed comprises causing at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes to be illuminated, (Moon; Para [0050]); and a touch-sensitive layer overlaying the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Moon; Para [0050]), and wherein the method further comprises selectively adjusting a level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to detecting touching of the user interface (Moon; Para [0040][0050]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Moon et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to provide more compact and less expensive device (Moon; Para [0041]).
Claim(s) 31, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Moon (US 2015/0078584 A1) and further in view of Aghaei et al (US 2011/0285554 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Moon disclose the microphone of claim 30, but do not expressly disclose wherein the microphone is configured to: adjust a level of the first audio signal in response to a first touch gesture; and adjust a level of the second audio signal in response to a second touch gesture. However, in the same field of endeavor, Aghaei et al disclose a device wherein the microphone is configured to: adjust a level of the first audio signal in response to a first touch gesture (Aghaei et al; Para [0046]-[0047]); and adjust a level of the second audio signal in response to a second touch gesture (Aghaei et al; Para [0046]-[0047]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the touch interface taught by Aghaei et al to as interface in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 34, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough and further in view of Moon disclose the method of claim 33, but do not expressly disclose wherein selectively adjusting the level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal comprises: adjusting a level of the first audio signal in response to a first touch gesture; and adjusting a level of the second audio signal in response to a second touch gesture. However, in the same field of endeavor, Aghaei et al disclose a method wherein selectively adjusting the level of at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal comprises: adjusting a level of the first audio signal in response to a first touch gesture (Aghaei et al; Para [0046]-[0047]); and adjusting a level of the second audio signal in response to a second touch gesture (Aghaei et al; Para [0046]-[0047]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the touch interface taught by Aghaei et al to as interface in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 32, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Mee (US 2020/0233633 A1) in view of Kasai et al (US 2014/0010374 A1) and further in view of Dorrough (US 5,751,819) and further in view of Aghaei et al (US 2011/0285554 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter are displayed using at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes; and a touch-sensitive layer overlaying the plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the microphone is configured to mute at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to touch detected by the touch-sensitive layer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough disclose a device wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter are displayed using at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45; col 6; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Aghaei et al disclose a device wherein the microphone is configured to mute at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to touch detected by the touch-sensitive layer (Aghaei et al; Para [0005];[0047][0063]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the touch interface taught by Aghaei et al to as interface in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 35, Van der Mee in view of Kasai and further in view of Dorrough disclose the method of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein causing each of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter to be displayed comprises causing at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes to be illuminated, and wherein the method further comprises muting at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to detecting touching of the user interface. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dorrough disclose a method wherein the user interface comprises: a plurality of light-emitting diodes, wherein causing each of the first audio meter, the second audio meter, and the third audio meter to be displayed comprises causing at least some of the plurality of light-emitting diodes to be illuminated (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45; col 6; lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the meter display taught by Dorrough et al to display the level of the first and second audio signal in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the design freedom (Dorrough; Fig 3A; col 3; lines 30-45). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Aghaei et al disclose a method and wherein the method further comprises muting at least one of the first audio signal or the second audio signal in response to detecting touching of the user interface (Aghaei et al; Para [0005];[0047][0063]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the touch interface taught by Aghaei et al to as interface in the device taught by Van der Mee. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692