DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Long (US 20160181659 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7 , Long discloses a secondary battery comprising ([0032]-[0041][0052]-[0059]):
a positive electrode (cathode [0052]-[0053]);
a negative electrode (anode [0054]-[0055]); and
an electrolytic solution ([0047]-[0049] and Table 1 in Fig. 1, components of electrolyte in [0047]), wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material layer (LiCoO2 covering Al [0053]) and a film (electrolyte solution deposited in same manner as indicated in instant specification-see more detail provided below, [0058]) , the film covering a surface of the positive electrode active material layer (covers cathode material as indicated above [0058]),
the film includes cobalt, carbon, nitrogen, boron, and oxygen (see Table 1, SN included in many samples, LiBF4 also included in many samples and will bond to cobalt in LiCoO2).
Furthermore, Long discloses samples where the dinitrile compound includes succinonitrile and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt may include lithium tetrafluoroborate (see Fig. 1 Table 1 and [0047]) and the content of the dinitrile compound in the electrolytic solution may be within the range from 3 wt % to 10 wt % (claim 1) and the content of the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt in the electrolytic solution may be within the range from 0.5 wt % to 1 wt % (see claim 1) and specific examples in Table 1 where SN is 3 wt% and LiBF4 is at 0.3 wt%.
Long discloses an electrolyte solution is formed by adding electrolyte salts, to a solvent and furthermore the dinitrile compound and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt to the electrolyte solution ([0048]) and discloses that the electrolyte containing the dinitrile compound and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt is applied through an electrolyte solution to the positive electrode active material layers ([0058]).
For ease, Applicant's specification will refer to document US 20230378434 A1.
Applicant's specification indicates in para [0121] "Further, the dinitrile compound may include succinonitrile, adiponitrile, or both, and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt may include lithium tetrafluoroborate. This makes it sufficiently easier for the film 21C to be formed on the surface of the positive electrode active material layer 21B. Accordingly, it is possible to achieve higher effects. In this case, the content of the dinitrile compound in the electrolytic solution may be within the range from 3 wt % to 10 wt % both inclusive, and the content of the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt in the electrolytic solution may be within the range from 0.5 wt % to 1.3 wt % both inclusive. "
Applicant's specification indicates an electrolyte solution is formed by adding electrolyte salts, to a solvent and furthermore the dinitrile compound and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt to the electrolyte solution ([0154]-[0156]). The specification discloses that the electrolyte solution containing the dinitrile compound and the boron- and fluorine-containing lithium salt is applied to the positive electrode active material layers [0161].
Therefore with regards to the property of “a first peak derived from CoC2N2- and a second peak derived from BOx - are detectable based on a negative ion analysis of the film by time-of-flight secondary ion mass spectrometry, and a ratio of an intensity of the second peak to an intensity of the first peak is greater than or equal to 0.19 and less than or equal to 1.00” will be present in Long since the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20160181659 A1) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7 above and in further view of Kim (US 20150140395 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Long discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Long discloses that the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the electrolytic solution are housed in an external package to form the lithium secondary battery ([0058]).
However, Long does not disclose that the external package has flexibility.
Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery external package can be a variety of types including a pouch package which has flexibility ([0069]-[0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the external packaging of Long by using the flexible packaging as disclosed by Kim because Kim discloses that it is an appropriate and well-known type of external packaging for a lithium secondary battery external package.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726