DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-22, 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kompa (US 9,909,636).
Regarding claim 16: Kompa teaches a coil spring comprising a longitudinal component located within the coil spring (see Fig. 22), wherein the longitudinal component runs generally along the direction of a longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Fig. 22), and the longitudinal component is closed or configured for being closed, wherein the longitudinal component has at least one straight section (see Fig. 22, Col. 5, lines 26-36 and Col. 12, lines 26-29).
Regarding claim 17: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component has at least two straight sections (see Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 18: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component has the general shape of a trapezium, a parallelogram or a rectangle (see Fig. 22), wherein the corners may be rounded.
Regarding claim 19: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein
wherein the longitudinal component is a simple loop (see Fig. 22 for loop).
Regarding claim 20: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component biases the coil spring into a shape different from the coil spring's natural shape (see Figs. 17-22 and Col. 12, lines 30-42).
Regarding claim 21: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component comprises a first end and a second end which are connected to or connectable with each other (Col. 5, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 22: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the first end and the second end and the longitudinal component are in the same plane throughout the entire length of the longitudinal component (see Fig. 22 for same plane).
Regarding claim 25: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the first end and the second end are materially connected to each other (see Claim 1).
Regarding claim 26: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component is a metal wire (Col. 5, lines 26-38).
Regarding claim 27: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal component is formed as a single piece (see Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 28: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches a connector part configured for being connected with a mating connector part (see Figs. 11-12), wherein the connector part comprises a coil spring according to claim 16 (see Col. 9, lines 16-25).
Regarding claim 29: Kompa teaches a connector part configured for being connected with a mating connector part (see Figs. 11-12), wherein the connector part has a coil spring, the coil spring comprising a longitudinal component located within the coil spring (Figs. 11-12), wherein the longitudinal component runs generally along the direction of a longitudinal axis of the coil spring and wherein the connector part comprises a groove in which the coil spring is accommodated (Figs. 11-12) and the longitudinal component of the coil spring is closed or configured for being closed and has at least one straight section (see Figs 21-22).
Regarding claim 30: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 28 and further teaches a connector comprising a connector part according to claim 28 and a mating connector part (see Figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 31: Kompa teaches a method of shaping a coil spring, the method comprising locating a longitudinal component within the coil spring, wherein the longitudinal component runs generally along the direction of a longitudinal axis of the coil spring, wherein the longitudinal component is closed or configured for being closed and has at least one straight section (see Fig. 22, Col. 5, lines 26-36 and Col. 12, lines 26-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kompa (US 9,909,636), in view of Ivanov (US 2021/0344153).
Regarding claim 24: Kompa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the longitudinal component 14.
Kompa does not explicitly teach wherein at least the first locking element comprises a recess and at least the second locking element comprises a protrusion, wherein the recess accommodates the protrusion or is configured for accommodating the protrusion.
Ivanov teaches at least the first locking element comprises a recess and at least the second locking element comprises a protrusion, wherein the recess accommodates the protrusion or is configured for accommodating the protrusion (see Figs. 2B-2C of Ivanov).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with at least the first locking element comprises a recess and at least the second locking element comprises a protrusion, wherein the recess accommodates the protrusion or is configured for accommodating the protrusion as taught by Ivanov into the coil spring of Kompa in order to achieve the advantage of ensuring the longitudinal components locks with each other and maintains the desired shape and location.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 29, and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Reference Kompa (US 9,909,636) teaches a coil spring comprising a longitudinal component located within the coil spring (see Fig. 22), wherein the longitudinal component runs generally along the direction of a longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Fig. 22), and the longitudinal component is closed or configured for being closed, wherein the longitudinal component has at least one straight section (see Fig. 22, Col. 5, lines 26-36 and Col. 12, lines 26-29).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896