Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoichoro JP2002315379 in view of Yamada et al. US Publication no.: US 2014/02117941 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Yoichoro teaches, An energy recovering circuit system (see figure 1), comprising: a power source (see AC power supply, figure 1 and paragraph 19); a switching circuit (inverter circuit 24, figure 1 and paragraph 18) defining an electrical path; a storage device (DC link circuit 23 which has a smoothing capacitor, figure 1); and a motor (PM motor 27, figure 1 and paragraph 21) comprising a coil and a magnet, the coil electrically connected to the power supply and the switching circuit (see paragraph 18), wherein at least one of the magnet and the coil is movable relative to the other of the coil or the magnet; wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a first position relative to one another, the storage device has a voltage (see paragraph 20 where it is explained that a capacitor has a voltage); wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a second position relative to one another, the switching circuit activates the electrical path to direct current from the power source through the coil (see figure 6, where the current value follows the current command value); and wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a third position relative to one another, the switching circuit deactivates the electrical path to substantially decrease current from the power source to the coil (see paragraph 53, when the predetermined value is set to 60 degrees and the current value follows the current command value),
Yoichoro is silent on specifically teaching: a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device.
However, Yamada et al. is in the same field of art and teach: a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device (see paragraph 58).
In view of Yamada et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro et al. to include; a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device, for the purpose of improving the control of the drive system.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Yoichoro teaches, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the magnet is movable and the coil is substantially stationary (see figure 3 and paragraph 28).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Yamada et al. teach, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein charging the storage device when the coil and the magnet are at the third position relative to one another increases the voltage of the storage device (see paragraph 58, where charging the battery would increase the voltage of the battery).
Regarding claim 5 and 19, Yamada et al. teach The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein energy is returned from the storage device to the power source through a recovery conversion system (see converter 20, figure 1 and paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada et al. teach, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 5, wherein energy is returned through the recovery conversion system when the coil and the magnet are at the first position relative to one another (see paragraph 58 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada et al. teach, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 5, wherein energy is returned through the recovery conversion system when the coil and the magnet are at the second position relative to one another (see paragraph 58 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada et al. teach, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 5, wherein energy is returned through the recovery conversion system when the coil and the magnet are at the third position relative to one another (see paragraph 58 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada et al. teach, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 5, wherein when energy is returned through the recovery conversion system, the voltage of the storage device decreases (see step-up operation, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada et al. teach, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the recovery conversion system is selected from the group consisting essentially of: the motor, a step-down resistor, a step-down DC-to-DC converter (see paragraph 58, figure 1), an electric motor, a light bulb, a series of one or more capacitors, a linear regulator, an inductor, and a transformer.
Regarding claim 11, Yoichoro teaches, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the motor comprises more than one magnet (see figure 3; four permanent magnet 42-1 to 42-4; paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 12, Yoichoro teaches, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the motor comprises more than one coil (see coils 44u-44w, figure 3 and paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 13, Yoichoro is silent on specifically teaching, the energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the switching circuit comprises a PNP transistor and an NPN transistor.
However, selecting a NPN or a PNP transistor is one of the obvious choices of transistors and would’ve been easily configured by one with the ordinary skills in the art, with the teachings of Yoichoro as seen in figure 1.
Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro to include; wherein the switching circuit comprises a PNP transistor and an NPN transistor, for the providing a variant power switcher.
Regariding claim 14, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the switching circuit comprises one or more metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors.
However, selecting a MOSFET transistor is one of the obvious choices of transistors and would’ve been easily configured by one with the ordinary skills in the art, with the teachings of Yoichoro as seen in figure 1.
Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro to include; wherein the switching circuit comprises one or more metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors, for the providing a variant power switcher.
Regarding claim 15, Yoichoro is silent on specifically teaching, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the motor is configured to receive a pulse width modulated signal having a series of pulses controlled by the switching circuit.
However, Yamada et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the motor is configured to receive a pulse width modulated signal having a series of pulses controlled by the switching circuit (see figure 4 and paragraph 76).
In view of Yamada et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro et al. to include; wherein the motor is configured to receive a pulse width modulated signal having a series of pulses controlled by the switching circuit, for the purpose of improving the control of the drive system.
Regarding claim 20, Yoichoro teaches, An energy capturing circuit, comprising: a power source supplying electricity to the energy capturing circuit, the power source having a positive side and a negative side (AC power supply, figure 1) ; a coil (PM motor 27, figure 1 and paragraph 21) with a first side and a second side, the first side electrically connected to the positive side of the power source; a storage device (DC link circuit 23 which has a smoothing capacitor, figure 1) with a positive side electrically connected to the second side of the coil and a negative side electrically connected to the negative side of the power source, wherein energy released by the coil is captured by the storage device; wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a first position relative to one another, the storage device has a voltage(see paragraph 20 where it is explained that a capacitor has a voltage); wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a second position relative to one another, the switching circuit activates the electrical path to direct current from the power source through the coil(see figure 6, where the current value follows the current command value); wherein when the coil and the magnet are at a third position relative to one another(see paragraph 53, when the predetermined value is set to 60 degrees and the current value follows the current command value)
Yoichoro is silent on specifically teaching:
1) a PNP transistor having a base, a collector, and an emitter and an NPN transistor having a base, a collector, and an emitter; wherein the emitter of the PNP transistor is electrically connected to the positive side of the power source, the collector of the PNP transistor is electrically connected to the base of the NPN transistor, and the base of the PNP transistor is electrically connected to the second side of the coil and the collector of the NPN transistor; and wherein the emitter of the NPN transistor is electrically connected to the negative side of the storage device and the negative side of the power source.
2) and a recovery conversion system electrically connected between a positive side of the storage device and a positive side of the power source; the switching circuit deactivates the electrical path to substantially decrease current from the power source to the coil, a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device; and wherein recovered energy stored in the storage device returns to the power source by running through the recovery conversion system.
1) However, selecting a NPN or a PNP transistor is one of the obvious choices of transistors and the configuration step of the NPN and PNP is something easiy derived by one with the ordinary skilled in the art and would’ve been easily configured, with the teachings of Yoichoro as seen in figure 1.
Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro to include; wherein the switching circuit comprises a PNP transistor and an NPN transistor, for the providing a variant power switcher.
2) However, Yamada et al. is in the same field of art and teach: a recovery conversion system (see converter 20, figure 1); electrically connected between a positive side of the storage device (capacitor 18, figure 1) and a positive side of the power source (battery 11, figure 1); the switching circuit deactivates the electrical path to substantially decrease current from the power source to the coil, a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device; and wherein recovered energy stored in the storage device returns to the power source by running through the recovery conversion system (see paragraph 58).
In view of Yamada et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro et al. to include; a recovery conversion system electrically connected between a positive side of the storage device and a positive side of the power source; the switching circuit deactivates the electrical path to substantially decrease current from the power source to the coil, a magnetic field induced in the coil at least partially collapses and energy from the at least partially collapsing magnetic field is captured in the storage device, charging the storage device; and wherein recovered energy stored in the storage device returns to the power source by running through the recovery conversion system, for the purpose of improving the control of the drive system.
Regarding claim 21, Yamada et al. teach, The energy capturing circuit of claim 20, further comprising: a diode with an anode side electrically connected to the second side of the coil and a cathode side electrically connected to the positive side of the storage device, wherein the diode allows current to flow from the second side of the coil to the positive side of the storage device and substantially prevents current from flowing from the positive side of the storage device to the second side of the coil (see converter 20, figure 1 and paragraph 58).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoichoro JP2002315379 in view of Yamada et al. US Publication no.: US 2014/02117941 A1 and further in view of Vig et al. US publication no.: US 2009/0224718 A1.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Yoichoro as modified is sileont on specifically teaching, The energy recovering circuit system of claim 1, wherein the coil is movable and the magnet is substantially stationary.
However, Vig et al. teach: wherein the coil is movable and the magnet is substantially stationary (see paragraph 24).
In view of Vig et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yoichoro to include; wherein the coil is movable and the magnet is substantially stationary, for the purpose of increasing magnetic field strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicants argue that
Neither Yoichiro nor Yamada Disclose a Magnetic Field Collapse and Energy Recovery as recited in the claims and
further argue that Neither Yoichiro nor Yamada Disclose the Switching Circuit or Position Dependent Switching
However, Office contends that the Yamada et al. teach this reference. Applicants argue that the teaching of Yamada is fundamentally different and doesn’t “collapse” the magnetic field in the coils. However, during the regenerative braking process in paragraph 58 of Yamada et al., when the step-down operation is performed, the current isn’t going to the motor, thereby collapsing the magnetic field induced. The process is essentially providing the same function.
Examiner further cites Gorski US publication no.: US 2022/0385182 A1, a similar teaching to Yamada et al. in which it can be further seen that during the boost operation, as seen in paragraph 69, the converter charges the capacitor at the same time magnetic field collapses in the coils. Thereby, further proving that Yamada essentially performs the same functions as claimed.
Furthermore, it can be seen in paragraph 53 of Yoichiro that the switching is performed based on the position of the motor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846