DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: With regard to the content of rhenium and only rhenium “awt. %” is used and the meaning of this is not specified.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 25 and 32, the term “awt.% rhenium” is used whereas the rest of the time “wt.%” is used and it is unclear if Applicant intends a different unit for the rhenium relative to the other elements or the same unit for rhenium relative to the other elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-28 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czech (US 5,939,204).
In regard to claims 25 and 32, Czech (‘204) discloses iron, cobalt and/or nickel based alloys comprising 0 to 20 weight percent rhenium and 10 to 40 weight percent chromium, which overlap the ranges of the instant invention, thereby establishing prima facie evidence of obviousness (column 4). MPEP 2144.05 I.
In regard to claims 26 and 33, Czech (‘204) discloses 0 to 20 weight percent, which is less than 35 weight percent as claimed (column 4).
In regard to claims 27 and 34, Czech (‘204) discloses 0 to 20 weight percent, which is less than 25 weight percent as claimed (column 4).
With respect to the recitation “wherein said metal alloy has a) an increase of at least 10% in ductility as compared to said metal alloy that is absent rhenium, and/or b) an increase of at least 10% in tensile strength as compared to said metal alloy that is absent rhenium” in claims 28 and 35, Czech (‘204) discloses substantially similar compositions. Therefore, the claimed properties would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-31 and 36-38 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claims 29-31 and 36-38, Czech (‘204) teaches wherein the alloys would be applicable to heat resistant and corrosion resistant articles for transporting a hot, oxidizing gas (column 1) and thus teaches away from applying the alloys to medical implants and therefore these claims would distinguish from Czech (‘204).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Furst et al. (WO ‘282) discloses molybdenum-rhenium alloys for stents (abstract).
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759