DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are currently pending
Claims 1-7 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 01/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 5 states “a patient’s vein for returning blood to” and instead should state “a patient’s vein for returning the blood to” for further clarity. ALSO, lines 8-9 states “and said venous blood line for transporting blood from” and instead should state “and said venous blood line for transporting the blood from” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 12 states “and said dialyzer for transporting dialysate from said reservoir” and instead should state “and said dialyzer for transporting the dialysate from said reservoir” for further clarity. ADDITIONALLY, line 13 states “for pumping dialysate through” and instead should state “for pumping the dialysate through” for further clarity. ALSO, line 14 states “for pumping blood through” and instead should state “for pumping the blood through” for further clarity. IN ADDITION, lines 15-16 states “flow rate of dialysate through” and instead should state “flow rate of the dialysate through” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “and wherein low flow rate” and instead should state “and wherein the low flow rate” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “increasing the dialysate flow rate” and instead should state “increasing the dialysate flow rates” to maintain consistency and for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 states “wherein dialysate flow rates” and instead should state “wherein said dialysate flow rates” to maintain consistency and for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “causes said dialysate pump to pump dialysate through” and instead should state “causes said at least one dialysate pump to pump the dialysate through” to maintain consistency and for further clarity. ALSO, lines 3-4 states “causes said dialysate pump to pump dialysate through” and instead should state “causes said at least one dialysate pump to pump the dialysate through” to maintain consistency and for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 2 and 3 each state “dialysate flow rates” and instead should each state “said dialysate flow rates” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the flow rate of dialysate” on lines 15-16, and “the time period” on line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. ALSO, claim 1 recites the limitation “a patient” on lines 5-6, line 9 (x2), line 19 and line 21. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a patient’ as recited on line 4 of claim 1, or a different patient? Claims 2-7 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a patient” on lines 3 and 5. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a patient’ as recited on line 4 of claim 1, or a different patient? FURTHERMORE, claim 7 recites the limitation “a patient’s treatment” on line 4. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a patient’s treatment’ as recited on line 20 of claim 1, or a different patient’s treatment?
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending Application No. 17/827506 (reference application), and unpatentable over claims 1-9 of co-pending Application No. 17/087383 (currently allowed, still waiting for patent number) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broad enough and further disclosed by the claims of the following co-pending Applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,904,078 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,819 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,517,653 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,260,155 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,625,008 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,980,929 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,078 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,801,992 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,649,419 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,649,420 B2, unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,550 B2, and unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,172,989 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broad enough and further disclosed by the claims of the following patented cases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GIORDANO et al. (U.S. 2019/0117866 A1) (hereinafter “Giordano”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate (see FIG. 1, a hemodialysis system 1) (see paragraphs 2, 18-21 and 67-69) comprising:
a machine housing (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
an arterial blood line for connecting to a patient's artery for collecting blood from a patient (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a venous blood line for connecting to a patient's vein for returning blood to a patient (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a dialyzer (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a blood flow path connected to said arterial blood line and said venous blood line for transporting blood from a patient to said dialyzer and back to a patient (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a reservoir for storing dialysate (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a dialysate flow path, isolated from the blood flow path, connected to said reservoir and said dialyzer for transporting dialysate from said reservoir to said dialyzer (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
at least one dialysate pump for pumping dialysate through said dialysate flow path (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a blood pump for pumping blood through said blood flow path (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a dialysate flow sensor in said dialysate flow path which measures the flow rate of dialysate through said dialysate flow path (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70);
a control processor connected to said dialysate flow sensor and said at least one dialysate pump (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, one may broadly interpret that Giordano does not explicitly teach said control processor possessing memory for storing a patient treatment plan by which a patient is treated, said patient treatment plan includes dialysate flow rates during a patient's treatment wherein the dialysate flow rates increase over the time period "T(total)" for treating a patient, as recited in independent claim 1. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 2:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein said dialysate flow rates include a high flow rate and a low flow rate, and wherein low flow rate is less than 75% of said high flow rate (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 3:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein said patient treatment plan includes increasing the dialysate flow rate in a linear manner (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 4:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein said dialysate flow rates increase incrementally in a stepped manner, and include a high flow rate and a low flow rate (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 5:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein dialysate flow rates include a high flow rate between 400 to 800 ml/min and a low flow rate between 100 to 400 ml/min (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 6:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein said control processor causes said dialysate pump to pump dialysate through said dialysate flow path at between 400 to 800 ml/min for at least 0.5 hours and said control processor causes said dialysate pump to pump dialysate through said dialysate flow path at between 100 to 400 ml/min for at least 0.5 hours (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Regarding Claim 7:
Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system with variable flow rate of claim 1 wherein said patient treatment plan includes dialysate flow rates wherein the dialysate flow rates increase over the time period "T(total)" for treating a patient and said patient treatment plan includes dialysate flow rates during a patient's treatment wherein the dialysate flow rates decrease over the time period "T(total)" for treating a patient (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120). Although Giordano teaches a hemodialysis system including a control processor capable and configured to control all sensors, valves, structural components and adjust parameters/characteristics of the hemodialysis system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the control processor of Giordano to be capable of storing a treatment plan containing dialysate flow rates and to further adjust the flow rate based on patient needs and for optimization purposes (see paragraphs 18-36 and 67-70) (see paragraphs 72, 76, 92-94, 117 and 120).
Other References Considered
Kelly et al. (U.S. 2011/0009797 A1) (hereinafter “Kelly”) teaches a dialysis system including blood and dialysate cassette.
Robertson et al. (U.S. 2022/0040390 A1) (hereinafter “Robertson”) teaches a dialysis system and method for modulating flow of a dialysate during dialysis.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773