DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 10/03/2025 have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim objection(s), Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the objection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant argues that DePena does not explicitly/inherently disclose the limitation “the fusing agent converts the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy” because DePena does not explicitly/inherently disclose a coalescing agent converting any type of electromagnetic radiation into thermal energy.
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. P00079 in pg. 22 of DePena reads:
“The temporary application of energy may cause portions of the build material on which coalescing agent 504 has been delivered or has penetrated to heat up above the melting point of the build material and to coalesce.” P00078 in pg. 22 of DePena explicitly discloses that the applied energy is electromagnetic radiation. Thus, P00078-00079 in pg. 22 of DePena explicitly/implicitly teaches to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the coalescing agent of DePena converts the applied electromagnetic radiation into thermal energy to be able to heat up the build material. Furthermore, according to [0066-0067] and [0186] of Applicant’s published application, fusing agent comprising carbon black or ink CM997A is the disclosed fusing agent for absorbing electromagnetic radiation and converting the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy (e.g. [0012] and [0082] of Applicant’s published application). The coalescing agent of DePena comprises carbon black or ink CM997A (P00026 in pg. 6). Thus, the coalescing agent of DePena is patentably indistinct in terms of composition from the claimed/disclosed fusing agent, and therefore, it inherently has the properties/capabilities of absorbing electromagnetic radiation and converting the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy. See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Last but not least, since carbon black is well-known to inherently have the properties/capabilities of absorbing electromagnetic radiation and converting the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy, the coalescing agent of DePena comprising carbon black (P00026 in pg. 6) inherently has the properties/capabilities of absorbing electromagnetic radiation and converting the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy. For at least the reasons set forth above, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by DePena (WO 2015/108555 A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, DePena (WO 2015/108555 A1 – of record) discloses a method for controlling a mechanical property of a layer (P00016, Fig. 3), the method comprising:
applying a build material (P00037, block 304 in Fig. 3);
selectively applying a fusing agent (coalescing agent) on a first portion of the build material (P00075-0076, Fig. 3);
exposing the build material to electromagnetic radiation in a plurality of heating events (exposing the build material to electromagnetic radiation in a pre-heating event, at least one heating event at block 324, and in at least one more heating event at block 330: P00023, 00059, 0063, 00071, 00074, 00078-00079, Fig. 3);
wherein:
during at least one of the plurality of heating events, for the first portion of the build material exposed to the electromagnetic radiation and in contact with the fusing agent, the fusing agent absorbs the electromagnetic radiation and the fusing agent converts the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy (the coalescing agent of DePena converts applied electromagnetic radiation into heat to be able to heat up the build material: P00078-00079 in pg. 22; wherein the coalescing agent comprises an electromagnetic radiation absorber such as carbon black or ink CM997A which is inherently/expected to be capable of absorbing the electromagnetic radiation and converting the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to heat: P00026 in pg. 6 of DePena, [0066-0067] and [0186] of Applicant’s published application, and MPEP § 2112.01 II), where the first portion of the build material in contact with the fusing agent fuses to form a region of the layer (P00016 in pg. 9, P00022 in pg. 10, P00079 in pg. 22); and
controlling an order of a plurality of printing passes (the printing of the coalescing agent can comprise multiple events/passes: P00011 in pg. 8, P00058, 00074; wherein the order/pattern of the printing events/passes is controlled via the agent delivery control data: P00036, 00076; and the agent delivery control data/processes controls the mechanical properties: P00011-00012, 00033), the selective application of the fusing agent (the agent delivery control data controls the selective application of the coalescing agent: P00036, 00076; and the agent delivery control data/processes controls the mechanical properties such as strength: P00011-00012, 00033), and the plurality of heating events to control the mechanical property of the layer (controlling the order/processes and/or temperature of the plurality of the heating events to control the mechanical properties of the formed layer such as strength: P00011-00012, 00016, Fig. 3). Furthermore, since DePena (WO 2015/108555 A1 – of record) discloses/suggests the relationship of the agent delivery control data and temperature of the build material in the succession of the plurality of heating events during printing (the process parameters) to the properties of the formed layer (P00011-00012, 00016, 00033, Fig. 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of DePena by controlling an order of the plurality of printing passes/events, the selective application of the fusing agent, and the plurality of heating events to control the mechanical property of the layer as suggested/predicted by DePena.
Regarding claim 4, DePena further discloses wherein selectively applying the fusing agent and exposing the build material to electromagnetic radiation in the plurality of heating events occur prior to an application of additional build material (P00080, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, DePena further discloses cooling the build material to a threshold temperature after the at least one of the plurality of heating events and prior to at least one other of the plurality of heating events (cooling after preheating/overheating/iterating and before the last heating event: P0059-0061, 00071-00073, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, DePena further implicitly discloses wherein the build material is selected from a group consisting of a polymeric build material (Nylon 12), a ceramic build material, a metallic build material, or a composite build material (P00021 in pg. 4); and wherein the threshold temperature ranges from about 10°C to about 100°C below a melting point of the build material (P00057, 00079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DePena (WO 2015/108555 A1 – of record) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Donovan (WO 2016/053312 A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, DePena further discloses wherein: the first portion of the build material is less than all of the build material (P00022 in pg. 10; P00075-00076, Fig. 6b), and selectively applying the fusing agent on a second/another portion of the build material to form a remaining region of the layer (P00022 in pg. 10; P00075-00076); ); however, DePena fails to disclose the step of selectively applying a detailing agent on the second/another portion.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for three-dimensional printing (P0012 and Fig. 6), Donovan discloses the technique of applying a detailing agent (coalescence modifier agent) and fusing agent (coalescing agent) in a portion intended to be fused and adjusting amount/type of the detailing agent (coalescence modifier agent) so as to increase degree of the degree of coalescence/fusing, wherein the detailing agent (coalescence modifier agent) controls a temperature that the portions of the build material achieves such that the portions of build material in contact with the detailing agent (coalescence modifier agent) fuse for the benefits of optimizing degree/temperature of fusing (P0026, 0068-0075).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of DePena in view of Donovan by including the step of applying a detailing agent on the second/another portion of the build material, the second/another portion of the build material in contact with the fusing agent fuses to form a remaining region of the layer during at least another of the plurality of heating events, and the detailing agent controls a temperature at which the second/another portion of the build material fuses for the benefit(s) of preventing overheating of the build material during fusing and optimizing degree/temperature of fusing in the second/another portion of build material as suggested by Donovan. See MPEP §§ 2143 I D, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Regarding claim 7, DePena further discloses wherein the selectively applying of the fusing agent is accomplished in at least one of the plurality of printing passes by thermal or piezoelectric inkjet printing (P0003 in pg. 6; P00011 in pg. 8, P00058, 00074) while Donovan further discloses/suggests wherein each of the selectively applying of the fusing agent and the selectively applying of the detailing agent is accomplished in at least one of the plurality of passes by thermal inkjet printing, piezoelectric inkjet printing, or continuous inkjet printing (P0011, 0053, 0070).
Regarding claim 8, DePena further discloses at least one of the plurality of heating events is accomplished prior to the selectively applying of the fusing agent; and at least one other of the plurality of heating events is accomplished subsequent to the at least one of the plurality of printing passes (the plurality of heating events include pre-heating the build material before depositing a coalescing agent and heating/sintering the build material after the deposition of the fusing agent: P00059, 00071, 00078-00079, P00011 in pg. 8, and Fig. 3 of De Pena).
Regarding claim 9, Donovan further discloses wherein the detailing agent is tinted with a colorant (coalescence modifier agent comprises an ink: P0071, 0073).
Claims 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DePena (WO 2015/108555 A1 – of record) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Giller (US 20070241482 – of record).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, DePena further discloses wherein: the first portion of the build material is less than all of the build material (P00022 in pg. 10; P00075-00076, Fig. 6b), but DePena fails to disclose the step of selectively applying a detailing agent.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for three-dimensional printing (abstract), Giller further discloses the technique of incorporating a step of selectively applying a detailing agent (quenching agent) on a second/another portion of the build material; the detailing agent controls a temperature that the second/another portion of the build material achieves; and the second/another portion of the build material in contact with the detailing agent does not fuse for the benefit(s) of creating a sharp edge between sintered and unsintered areas (P0064-0065). Giller further discloses the technique of performing at least one heating event with a printing pass of a liquid agent and before the final/sintering heating event for the benefit(s) of drying/pre-heating the build material prior to sintering, optimizing/lowering sintering temperature, and/or decreasing shrinkage/warping (P0070-0071). Decreasing shrinkage/warping in the printed object implies/suggests to a skilled artesian improving its mechanical properties. Thus, Giller discloses/suggests the technique of controlling an order of a plurality of heating events to control mechanical properties of the printed object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of DePena in view of Giller by incorporating the step of selectively applying a detailing agent on a second/another of the build material; the detailing agent controls a temperature that the other portion of the build material achieves; and the other portion of the build material in contact with the detailing agent does not fuse for the benefit(s) of creating a sharp edge between fused and unfused areas as suggested by Giller. See MPEP §§ 2143 I D, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Baldez (WO 2015106816A1 – of record) discloses to control order/timing of a plurality of printing passes and the selective application of a fusing agent to control a mechanical property of a layer/object (P0061, 0079-0086).
Zhao (WO 2015108544 A1 – of record) discloses a method comprising: applying build material (P0054, Fig. 3A); selectively applying a fusing agent on a portion of the build material (P0059-0060, Fig. 3C); exposing the build material to electromagnetic radiation in a plurality of heating events (P0057-0058, 0062-0063, Figs. 3B and 3D); wherein: during at least one of the plurality of heating events (Fig. 3D), the fusing agent absorbs the electromagnetic radiation and converts the absorbed electromagnetic radiation to thermal energy, and the portion of the build material in contact with the fusing agent fuses to form a region of a layer (P0053, 0063-0064, Fig. 3D); and controlling an order of a plurality of passes (controlling a plurality of passes of the fusing agent: P0071-0072, 0081), the selective application of the fusing agent (P0071), and the plurality of heating events (P0057, 0063, 0069).
Potter (US 20170015065 – of record) discloses to control a selective application of a fusing agent in order to control a mechanical property of a layer (P0060-0061).
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743