DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 15, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“based on attestation” in claims 7, 15, and 20 should read “based on the attestation”.
“executed by one or more processors” in line 2 of claim 15 should read “executed by the one or more processors”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the host system” and “the at least one network interface device” in line 3. However, it’s unclear whether these refer to “a host system” and “a least one network interface device” in line 2 of claim 8 or last two lines of claim 1. For examination purposes, “the host system” and “the at least one network interface device” in line 3 have been interpreted as referring to line 2 of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites based on detection of multiple management controllers, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers, wherein: the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller, the primary management controller comprises a baseboard management controller (BMC), the secondary management controller comprises a BMC, and the multiple management controllers are positioned in at least one programmable network interface device and a host system.
The limitation of based on detection of multiple management controllers, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers, wherein: the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller, the primary management controller comprises a baseboard management controller (BMC), the secondary management controller comprises a BMC, and the multiple management controllers are positioned in at least one programmable network interface device and a host system as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, other than reciting “circuitry, coupled to the interface, the circuitry, when operational to”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “circuitry, coupled to the interface, the circuitry, when operational to” language, “select” in the context of this claim encompasses the user choosing a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers. Note that the “wherein: the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller, the primary management controller comprises a baseboard management controller (BMC), the secondary management controller comprises a BMC, and the multiple management controllers are positioned in at least one programmable network interface device and a host system” language is not positively recited in the claim and is not part of the apparatus.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of “an interface” and “circuitry, coupled to the interface, the circuitry, when operational to” perform the selection. However, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-10 further clarify the concept recited in claim 1 however this clarification still falls under the concept recited in claim 1 and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Dependent claims 2-10 are rejected for at least the reasons stated above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11 recites determine if one or multiple management controllers are operating in a platform; based on a determination that one management controller is operating in the platform, permit outputs from the one management controller; and based on a determination that multiple management controllers are operating in the platform, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers and permit at least one output from the primary management controller but disallow at least one output from the secondary management controller.
The limitation of determine if one or multiple management controllers are operating in a platform as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “determine” in the context of this claim encompasses the user finding out if one or multiple management controllers are operating in a platform.
The limitation of based on a determination that one management controller is operating in the platform, permit outputs from the one management controller as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “permit” in the context of this claim encompasses the user allowing outputs from the one management controller based on a determination that one management controller is operating in the platform.
The limitation of based on a determination that multiple management controllers are operating in the platform, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers and permit at least one output from the primary management controller but disallow at least one output from the secondary management controller as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “select” in the context of this claim encompasses based on a determination that multiple management controllers are operating in the platform, the user choosing a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers, “permit” in the context of this claim encompasses the user allowing at least one output from the primary management controller, and “disallow” in the context of this claim encompasses the user disallowing at least one output from the secondary management controller.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 11 recites the additional elements of a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps. However, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 12-15 further clarify the concept recited in claim 11 however this clarification still falls under the concept recited in claim 11 and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Dependent claims 12-15 are rejected for at least the reasons stated above with respect to claim 11.
Claim 16 although not using the exact claim language, contains similar elements as recited in claim 11 and is also rejected for similar reasons. Dependent claims 17-20 further clarify the concept recited in claim 16 however this clarification still falls under the concept recited in claim 16 and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Dependent claims 17-20 are rejected for at least the reasons stated above with respect to claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 112162887 A).
1. Zhang discloses An apparatus comprising:
an interface and (e.g. fig. 1, page 5: BMC of the plurality of main board through communication link, such as IIC (Inter-Integrated Circuit, integrated circuit bus) link are respectively connected to the machine frame sharing component, such as PSU/BBU/ back board EEPROM (Electrically ErasableProgrammable read only memory, electrically erasable programmable read only memory); the BMC are combined and connected together through IIC. Aiming at the IIC link only serial access characteristic, a plurality of BMC through software arbitration can negotiate a main BMC, responsible for the access of the frame sharing component.)
circuitry, coupled to the interface, the circuitry, when operational, to: (e.g. fig. 1, page 11: As shown in FIG. 1, the frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, such as main board 0, main board 1, main board 2, main board 3, each main board corresponding to a BMC, such as BMC0 main board 0, BMC1 main board 1, BMC2 main board 2, main board 3 BMC3…The skilled person may further appreciate that the unit and algorithm steps of the examples described in the embodiments disclosed herein can be used in electronic hardware; computer software, or a combination of both…The steps of the method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein may be implemented directly with hardware, software modules executed by the processor, or a combination of both.)
based on detection of multiple management controllers, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers, wherein: (e.g. pages 3-4, 7-8: according to the preset master-slave switching rule, determining a new master BMC in a plurality of slave BMC, comprising: numbering the main board according to the machine frame; selecting one from the plurality of BMC from the BMC; and determining the selected slave BMC as the new master BMC…the machine frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, the machine frame for each main board will be corresponding number, such as d0, d0, d1, d2, d3 and so on. The master-slave switching rule can set the number of the main board according to the frame. The number of the main board according to the machine frame, can select one from the BMC in a plurality of BMC. Specifically, can be selected according to the order of the d0, d1, d2, d3, d0. For example, if the main board number of the current main BMC is d0, then can select the number is the main board of the BMC of the BMC, if the main board number of the current main BMC is a d2, then can select the number is the BMC of the main board of the board d3. Alternatively, can be selected according to the order of the board0, the board3, the board2, the boardd1, the board0. Each time the selection is based on the same master-slave switching rule.)
the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller, (e.g. pages 6-8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC. the main BMC performs information collection to the frame sharing part of the storage device through the communication link; after obtaining the collection result, the collection result is distributed to each secondary BMC…the main BMC can initiate an access request to the machine frame sharing component according to the set time interval…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
the primary management controller comprises a baseboard management controller (BMC), (e.g. fig. 1, page 5: As shown in FIG. 1, the frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, such as main board 0, main board 1, main board 2, main board 3, each main board corresponding to a BMC, such as BMC0 main board 0, BMC1 main board 1, BMC2 main board 2, main board 3 BMC3. multiple BMC negotiation can obtain the main BMC, other BMC is the slave BMC. In FIG. 1, the BMC0 is the main BMC, and the other is the BMC.)
the secondary management controller comprises a BMC, and (e.g. fig. 1, page 5: As shown in FIG. 1, the frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, such as main board 0, main board 1, main board 2, main board 3, each main board corresponding to a BMC, such as BMC0 main board 0, BMC1 main board 1, BMC2 main board 2, main board 3 BMC3. multiple BMC negotiation can obtain the main BMC, other BMC is the slave BMC. In FIG. 1, the BMC0 is the main BMC, and the other is the BMC.)
the multiple management controllers are positioned in at least one programmable network interface device and a host system. (e.g. fig. 1, page 5: As shown in FIG. 1, the frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, such as main board 0, main board 1, main board 2, main board 3, each main board corresponding to a BMC, such as BMC0 main board 0, BMC1 main board 1, BMC2 main board 2, main board 3 BMC3. multiple BMC negotiation can obtain the main BMC, other BMC is the slave BMC. In FIG. 1, the BMC0 is the main BMC, and the other is the BMC. BMC of the plurality of main board through communication link, such as IIC (Inter-Integrated Circuit, integrated circuit bus) link are respectively connected to the machine frame sharing component, such as PSU/BBU/ back board EEPROM (Electrically ErasableProgrammable read only memory, electrically erasable programmable read only memory); the BMC are combined and connected together through IIC. Aiming at the IIC link only serial access characteristic, a plurality of BMC through software arbitration can negotiate a main BMC, responsible for the access of the frame sharing component.)
2. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the host system comprises a management controller among the multiple management controllers and wherein the circuitry is to provide the host system with a signal that the management controller of the host system is the primary management controller. (Zhang, e.g. page 8: after selecting one from the BMC from the BMC, can be selected from the BMC is determined as the new main BMC. Specifically, the selected from the BMC initiates board communication data frame, actively transfers the main BMC identity to the selected from the BMC, after receiving the confirmation data frame returned from the BMC, determining the slave BMC as the new main BMC, negotiation is completed)
3. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the programmable network interface device comprises a management controller among the multiple management controllers and wherein the circuitry is to provide the programmable network interface device with a signal that the management controller of the programmable network interface device is the primary management controller. (e.g. page 8: after selecting one from the BMC from the BMC, can be selected from the BMC is determined as the new main BMC. Specifically, the selected from the BMC initiates board communication data frame, actively transfers the main BMC identity to the selected from the BMC, after receiving the confirmation data frame returned from the BMC, determining the slave BMC as the new main BMC, negotiation is completed)
4. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller comprises disallow the secondary management controller to output a command that is also output by the primary management controller. (e.g. pages 6, 8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
5. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller comprises disallow the secondary management controller to output at least one particular command. (e.g. pages 6, 8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
6. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the primary management controller is to perform at least one different operation than that of the secondary management controller comprises allow the primary management controller and the secondary management controller to output particular commands and forward the output particular commands from the primary management controller to a target device but do not forward particular commands from the second management controller to the target device. (e.g. pages 6, 8: Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component…the main BMC under the condition of monitoring the communication failure with the machine frame sharing component, after determining the new main BMC in the plurality of BMC, can output the first alarm information of the link control unit fault itself, reporting the hardware fault, prompting the user to replace the link control unit.)
7. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to attest the multiple management controllers and based on attestation of the multiple management controllers, the circuitry is to select the primary management controller and the secondary management controller. (e.g. pages 3-4, 7-8: according to the preset master-slave switching rule, determining a new master BMC in a plurality of slave BMC, comprising: numbering the main board according to the machine frame; selecting one from the plurality of BMC from the BMC; and determining the selected slave BMC as the new master BMC…the machine frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, the machine frame for each main board will be corresponding number, such as d0, d0, d1, d2, d3 and so on. The master-slave switching rule can set the number of the main board according to the frame. The number of the main board according to the machine frame, can select one from the BMC in a plurality of BMC. Specifically, can be selected according to the order of the d0, d1, d2, d3, d0. For example, if the main board number of the current main BMC is d0, then can select the number is the main board of the BMC of the BMC, if the main board number of the current main BMC is a d2, then can select the number is the BMC of the main board of the board d3. Alternatively, can be selected according to the order of the board0, the board3, the board2, the boardd1, the board0. Each time the selection is based on the same master-slave switching rule.)
8. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the primary management controller is to perform one or more of: configure frequency of operation of cores of a host system and at least one network interface device, power management of the host system and the at least one network interface device, memory management of the host system and the at least one network interface device, control of platform updates of the host system and the at least one network interface device, or control of firmware updates of the host system and the at least one network interface device. (e.g. page 2: The chassis management function is implemented by a BaseboardManagement Controller (BMC) on the mainboard. the storage device machine frame is provided with a public FRU (FieldReplace Unit, field changeable unit), such as PSU (Power Supply Unit, power supply unit), BBU (BatteryBackup Unit, spare battery unit); back plate and so on, these also called machine frame sharing component. At present, BMC negotiation of a plurality of main boards can obtain the main BMC, the main BMC can access the machine frame sharing component through the communication link, other BMC except the main BMC is from the BMC, each slave BMC realizes the management of the machine frame sharing component through the main BMC.)
10. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is positioned in a host system or in a server in a datacenter. (e.g. fig. 1, page 11: The skilled person may further appreciate that the unit and algorithm steps of the examples described in the embodiments disclosed herein can be used in electronic hardware; computer software, or a combination of both…The steps of the method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein may be implemented directly with hardware, software modules executed by the processor, or a combination of both.)
11. Zhang discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine if one or multiple management controllers are operating in a platform; (e.g. pages 3-4, 7-8, 10: according to the preset master-slave switching rule, determining a new master BMC in a plurality of slave BMC, comprising: numbering the main board according to the machine frame; selecting one from the plurality of BMC from the BMC; and determining the selected slave BMC as the new master BMC…the machine frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, the machine frame for each main board will be corresponding number, such as d0, d0, d1, d2, d3 and so on. The master-slave switching rule can set the number of the main board according to the frame. The number of the main board according to the machine frame, can select one from the BMC in a plurality of BMC. Specifically, can be selected according to the order of the d0, d1, d2, d3, d0. For example, if the main board number of the current main BMC is d0, then can select the number is the main board of the BMC of the BMC, if the main board number of the current main BMC is a d2, then can select the number is the BMC of the main board of the board d3. Alternatively, can be selected according to the order of the board0, the board3, the board2, the boardd1, the board0. Each time the selection is based on the same master-slave switching rule… As shown in FIG. 1, the main board 0 BMC0 is BMC, the main board 1 of BMC1; the BMC2 of the main board 2 and the BMC3 of the main board 3 are from the BMC, the memory set in the main board 0 is stored with the computer program; the BMC0 as the main BMC can realize the step of the access method of the shared component of the machine frame when executing the computer program. Of course, the number of the main board shown in FIG. 1 is only an example, in the actual application, may be provided with less or more of the main board.)
based on a determination that one management controller is operating in the platform, permit outputs from the one management controller; and (e.g. pages 8, 10: after selecting one from the BMC from the BMC, can be selected from the BMC is determined as the new main BMC. Specifically, the selected from the BMC initiates board communication data frame, actively transfers the main BMC identity to the selected from the BMC, after receiving the confirmation data frame returned from the BMC, determining the slave BMC as the new main BMC, negotiation is completed. The original master BMC can automatically degrade to the slave BMC, and the new master BMC starts the access management of the shared component of the frame. applying the method provided by the embodiment of the invention; the main BMC of the storage device in the normal working process, the machine frame sharing component of the storage device for collecting information, the collecting result is distributed to each secondary BMC, receiving the configuration command of each slave BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
based on a determination that multiple management controllers are operating in the platform, select a primary management controller and a secondary management controller from among the multiple management controllers and (e.g. pages 3-4, 7-8: according to the preset master-slave switching rule, determining a new master BMC in a plurality of slave BMC, comprising: numbering the main board according to the machine frame; selecting one from the plurality of BMC from the BMC; and determining the selected slave BMC as the new master BMC…the machine frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, the machine frame for each main board will be corresponding number, such as d0, d0, d1, d2, d3 and so on. The master-slave switching rule can set the number of the main board according to the frame. The number of the main board according to the machine frame, can select one from the BMC in a plurality of BMC. Specifically, can be selected according to the order of the d0, d1, d2, d3, d0. For example, if the main board number of the current main BMC is d0, then can select the number is the main board of the BMC of the BMC, if the main board number of the current main BMC is a d2, then can select the number is the BMC of the main board of the board d3. Alternatively, can be selected according to the order of the board0, the board3, the board2, the boardd1, the board0. Each time the selection is based on the same master-slave switching rule.)
permit at least one output from the primary management controller but disallow at least one output from the secondary management controller. (e.g. pages 6, 8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
13. Zhang discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the permit at least one output from the primary management controller but disallow at least one output from the secondary management controller comprises disallow the secondary management controller from output of at least one particular command. (e.g. pages 6-8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC …Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC)
14. Zhang discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the primary management controller and the secondary management controller are to provide at least one different command. (e.g. pages 6-8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC. the main BMC performs information collection to the frame sharing part of the storage device through the communication link; after obtaining the collection result, the collection result is distributed to each secondary BMC…the main BMC can initiate an access request to the machine frame sharing component according to the set time interval…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
15. Zhang discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: attest the multiple management controllers and based on attestation of the multiple management controllers, select the primary management controller and the secondary management controller. (e.g. pages 3-4, 7-8: according to the preset master-slave switching rule, determining a new master BMC in a plurality of slave BMC, comprising: numbering the main board according to the machine frame; selecting one from the plurality of BMC from the BMC; and determining the selected slave BMC as the new master BMC…the machine frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, the machine frame for each main board will be corresponding number, such as d0, d0, d1, d2, d3 and so on. The master-slave switching rule can set the number of the main board according to the frame. The number of the main board according to the machine frame, can select one from the BMC in a plurality of BMC. Specifically, can be selected according to the order of the d0, d1, d2, d3, d0. For example, if the main board number of the current main BMC is d0, then can select the number is the main board of the BMC of the BMC, if the main board number of the current main BMC is a d2, then can select the number is the BMC of the main board of the board d3. Alternatively, can be selected according to the order of the board0, the board3, the board2, the boardd1, the board0. Each time the selection is based on the same master-slave switching rule.)
16. Rejected for similar reasons as in claim 11.
18. Rejected for similar reasons as in claim 13.
19. Rejected for similar reasons as in claim 14.
20. Rejected for similar reasons as in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112162887 A) in view of Luciani (US 20220188468).
9. Zhang discloses The apparatus of claim 1, comprising: the host system comprising at least one core and a management controller of the multiple management controllers and the at least one programmable network interface device communicatively coupled to the host system via at least one host interface, wherein the at least one programmable network interface device comprises a management controller of the multiple management controllers, a circuitry, and a network interface. (e.g. fig. 1, page 5: As shown in FIG. 1, the frame of the storage device is provided with a plurality of main board, such as main board 0, main board 1, main board 2, main board 3, each main board corresponding to a BMC, such as BMC0 main board 0, BMC1 main board 1, BMC2 main board 2, main board 3 BMC3. multiple BMC negotiation can obtain the main BMC, other BMC is the slave BMC. In FIG. 1, the BMC0 is the main BMC, and the other is the BMC. BMC of the plurality of main board through communication link, such as IIC (Inter-Integrated Circuit, integrated circuit bus) link are respectively connected to the machine frame sharing component, such as PSU/BBU/ back board EEPROM (Electrically ErasableProgrammable read only memory, electrically erasable programmable read only memory); the BMC are combined and connected together through IIC. Aiming at the IIC link only serial access characteristic, a plurality of BMC through software arbitration can negotiate a main BMC, responsible for the access of the frame sharing component.)
Although Zhang discloses a circuitry (see above), Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose but Luciani discloses a direct memory access (DMA) circuitry (e.g. ¶22).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features described by Luciani into the invention of Zhang for the purpose of enabling the BMC to perform protection of information stored in a system memory (Luciani, ¶22).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112162887 A) in view of Ong (US 9805775).
12. Zhang discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the permit at least one output from the primary management controller but disallow at least one output from the secondary management controller comprises resolve among commands from the primary management controller and the secondary management controller. (e.g. pages 6, 8: Each slave BMC accesses the frame sharing component through the main BMC…Each slave BMC has a configuration request for the machine frame sharing component, and can transmit the configuration command to the main BMC. the main BMC receives each configuration command from the BMC to the machine frame sharing component, sending to the machine frame sharing component)
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose but Ong discloses resolve conflicts among commands (e.g. col. 14, ll. 63-66).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features described by Ong into the invention of Zhang for the purpose of enabling conflict resolution among memory commands (Ong, col. 14, ll. 65-66).
17. Rejected for similar reasons as in claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Parthasarathy (US 20230269126) discloses FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example arrangement that includes a rack 102 in which are mounted server computers 104-1, 104-2, . . . , 104-N (N≥2)…a “management processor” can also refer to a node controller in a server computer or another type of electronic device. For example, a node controller can perform power control and/or capping (capping the amount of power that can be used by a server computer). The node controller can also collect measurement data that is accessible by a remote entity…where the management processor 108-2 has been elected as the primary management processor, the remaining management processors (108-1, 108-N) are referred to as “member management processors” to which the primary management processor can assign management tasks…Each management processor can include a network interface to connect to the management network 112…The management processors 108-1 to 108-N in the cluster can perform a distributed election process by which one (or more than one) management processor is elected as a primary management processor. The distributed election process is performed based on cooperation of multiple management processors in the cluster. The election of the primary management processor can be based on any one or some combination of the following criteria: a current processing load of a management processor (e.g., a given management processor with a lower processing load than other management processors in the cluster may be favored to be elected as the primary management processor); a network status of the management processor (e.g., a communication bandwidth of a management processor, where a given management processor with a higher communication bandwidth than other management processors in the cluster may be favored to be elected as the management primary management processor); a health status of a management processor (e.g., based on faults detected in each management processor, where a given management processor that is healthier (has less faults) than other management processors in the cluster may be favored to be elected as the primary management processor); a random criterion (in which a primary management processor is randomly selected from among the cluster of management processors); and so forth…the primary management processor 108-2 can assign management tasks to respective member management processors 108-1, 108-N to perform, and each respective member management processor can coordinate with a corresponding BMC to perform the respective management operation.
Lambert (US 20230074345) discloses an information handling system includes a secondary baseboard management controller that may transmit a first set of data via an external interface, and transmit a second set of data via an internal interface. A primary baseboard management controller includes a data traffic manager that may transmit a first signal for the current data to be transmitted if the current data is of the first set of data, or transmit a second signal if the current data is of the second set of data.
Hsu (US 20140344431) discloses the baseboard management system comprises: a plurality of baseboard management controller (BMC) node respectively located on the servers; and, a main BMC coupled to a network and to the BMC nodes through a communication link for executing a management software; wherein each BMC node is connected with a corresponding host processor and with server board peripherals individually on a corresponding server; and wherein the main BMC in cooperation with the BMC nodes is used to manage the servers remotely.
/TRONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436