DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 07/31/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 14 – 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear for phrase “a number of and device identifiers of client devices” at the end of claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
3. FIG. 2 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “202” has been used to designate both “Antennas” and “Power source”. “Antennas” should be changed to reference character “204” (see Specification, [0036]).
FIG. 2 is also wrong label for reference character “206” and “208”, which used to designate to “Software-define radio” and “Transceivers”. “Software-define radio” should be changed to reference character “208”, and “Transceivers” should be changed to reference character “206” (see Specification, [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlport et al. (hereinafter “Ahlport”) (Pub # US 2018/0351826 A1) in view of Drummond et al. (hereinafter “Drummond”) (Pub # US 2019/0190942 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20, Ahlport discloses a data collection platform (see 250 in FIG. 2 for a ground station/ an operator console collect information), comprising:
one or more processors (see 252 in FIG. 2, [0043]); and
memory (see 254 in FIG. 2, [0043]) including a plurality of computer-executable components that are executable by the one or more processors to perform a plurality of actions (see [0007], [0094]), the plurality of actions comprising:
receiving signal intelligence data (i.e., information related to the signals 112, 122) on one or more radio signal emission devices (see user equipment (UE) 110, 120 in FIG. 1) from one or more radio signal surveillance (RSS) devices (see 150/radio sensor 200 in FIG. 1, FIG. 2) (see [0018] – [0021], [0020], [0032] – [0034], [0038], [0042] for the radio sensor transmits information about the RF signals to the ground station via a data link);
presenting the signal intelligence data on the one or more radio signal emission devices for analysis (see [0020], [0025], [0042], [0048], [0049], [0087]);
receiving instructions to activate or deactivate one or more radio transceivers (see 210 in FIG. 2) of at least one of the one or more RSS devices; commanding the at least one RSS device to activate or deactivate the one or more radio transceivers according to the instructions (see [0049] for the processor can adjust which signals are decoded, demodulated, and buffered such that communicated to the radio sensor to only signals of interest identified by the RF spectral data and the metadata, see [0015], [0020], [0042], [0049], [0055], [0058] discussing the radio sensor receives commands from the ground station such as activating / deactivating the radio sensor to optimize which radio frequencies are the priorities for collection signals); and
receiving additional signal intelligence data from the one or more RSS devices following activation or deactivation of the one or more radio transceivers of the at least one RSS device (see [0020] for the radio sensor based upon commands from the ground station, select one or more channels, each capturing a signal for relay to the ground station).
Ahlport teaches that a large set of potential or active frequencies that need to be tracked, and the signal type with the identifiable characteristics can be defined by a standard protocol.
Ahlport does not disclose specifically that that activate or deactivate one or more radio transceivers of at least one wireless communication technology type on at least one of the one or more RSS devices.
In an analogous art, Drummond discloses that activate or deactivate one or more radio transceivers of at least one wireless communication technology type on at least one of the one or more RSS devices (see Drummond, FIG. 2, [0041] for monitoring and threat assessment system accepts the collected data from the sensors 204-1 to 204-4, which listen on communication channels in the P25 network and collect the data communicated, see [0025], [0043] – [0047] for monitoring and threat assessment system determines that the communication involves in the use of cloned radios that mimic authorized connections or jamming of the RF communication/voice communication, the activities are reported to the network to allow dispatch and control console unit to automatically change the current frequency channel to another pre-defined channel, see [0054] – [0055] for a communication link manager that establishes and maintains the communication capability of wireless communication links with sensors and antennas in P25 network, wherein communication link manager includes a wireless transceiver and/or a network interface card (NIC), and the wireless transceiver is a WiFi transceiver, an infrared transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a WiMax transceiver, a wireless cellular telephony transceiver, a satellite transceiver (e.g., a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver), or other radio frequency (RF) transceivers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Ahlport, and have activate or deactivate one or more radio transceivers of at least one wireless communication technology type on at least one of the sensors (which are RSS devices in electronic surveillance (ES) systems was taught by Ahlport), so that the users may continue communicating while further action is taken to disable the jammer and take it out of action, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0044]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose receive additional instructions to initiate or terminate monitoring of radio signals of one or more radio frequencies by at least one software-defined radio of the one or more RSS devices (see Drummond, [0024] for using software-defined radios (SDRs) in the number of sensors 204-1 to 204-4 that establish radio sessions with the centralized dispatch control are monitored); commanding the at least one software-defined radio of the one or more RSS devices to initiate or terminate the monitoring of the radio signals of the one or more frequencies according to the additional instructions; and receiving additional signal intelligence data from the one or more RSS devices following initiation or termination of the monitoring of the radio signals of the one or more radio frequencies by the at least one software-defined radio of the one or more RSS devices (see Drummond, [0031], [0043] – [0044], [00890] – [0086] for providing acts and expedient corrective action and/or provide alternate solutions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the acts further comprise: receiving additional instructions for the one or more RSS devices to jam a radio signal used by a radio signal emission device or emulate the radio signal emitted by the radio signal emission device; and commanding the one or more RSS devices to jam the radio signal or emulate the radio signal via one or more radio transceivers or one or more software-defined radios of the one or more RSS devices according to the additional instructions (see Drummond, [0025], [0026], [0044] for jammers are detected over a used frequency band, the corrective actions include intimating and causing automatic change over from the used frequency band to an alternate communication frequency band to provide continued communication capability to the users). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the acts further comprise: identifying at least one of a hardware vulnerability or a software vulnerability of a radio signal emission device based at least on the signal intelligence data; and presenting the at least one of the hardware vulnerability or the software vulnerability of the radio signal emission device (see Drummond, FIG. 5, [0024], [0063], [0067] for created a number of vulnerabilities related to security within the P25 system implementation, i.e., clone first responder's radio devices, jam radio signals and interrupt the mission critical communications, and see FIG. 5, [0046] for display the information on its graphical user interface (GUI) when any set threshold for system degradation or threat level is crossed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose presenting at least one of information on one or more exploits that take advantage of the hardware vulnerability or the software vulnerability or user interface controls for initiating the exploits on the radio signal emission device with the hardware vulnerability or the software vulnerability (see Drummond, FIG. 5, [0063], [0074], [0075], [0083] for display alerts or notification messages when any set threshold for system degradation or threat level is crossed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the receiving includes receiving the instructions via an online user interface portal by an authorized user (see Ahlport, [0015], [0021], [0048], [0055] for remote interface (290 in FIG. 1) can allow a remote operator to access and review the signal information remotely, and communicatively coupled to the radio sensor while permitting the operator to adjust the operations and other features).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the at least one wireless communication technology type includes at least one of cellular, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or military radio band (see Drummond, [0054] – [0055] for a communication link manager that establishes and maintains the communication capability of wireless communication links with sensors and antennas in P25 network, wherein communication link manager includes a wireless transceiver and/or a network interface card (NIC), and the wireless transceiver is a WiFi transceiver, an infrared transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a WiMax transceiver, a wireless cellular telephony transceiver, a satellite transceiver (e.g., a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver), or other radio frequency (RF) transceivers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein an RSS device is a handheld portable device, a body-worn device, a device that is mounted to a non- airborne vehicle, or a device that is mounted to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (see Ahlport, FIG. 1 for the radio sensors 200 in a UAV, airplane, helicopter, or other airborne asset).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the signal intelligence data collected for a radio signal emission device includes at least one of an identifier of the radio signal emission device, a device type of the radio signal emission device, a MAC address of a radio signal emission device, a signal strength measurement of the radio signal emitted by the radio signal emission device, a signal frequency of the radio signal emitted by the radio signal emission device, a communication encryption protocol used by the radio signal emission device, or a number of and device identifiers of client devices that are wirelessly connected to the radio signal emission device (see Ahlport, FIG. 1, FIG. 4, [0034], [0060] – [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the receiving the signal intelligence data includes receiving the signal intelligence data at the data collection platform via a network path that includes a software-defined mesh network (see Ahlport, FIG. 1, [0020], [0034], [0042] for the radio sensor is communicatively coupled to the ground station by the datalink, which can carry information related to the signals 112, 122 including the metadata and recorded versions of the signals 112, 122 themselves to the ground station for review and analysis, and see Drummond, FIG. 4 for a SDRs at the sensors 204-1 to 204-4, thus mesh network).
Regarding claim 12, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the receiving the signal intelligence data includes receiving specific signal intelligence data collected by a first RSS device that is relayed to the data collection platform by a second RSS device (see Ahlport, FIG. 1, [0020], [0034], [0042] for the radio sensor is communicatively coupled to the ground station by the datalink, which can carry information related to the signals 112, 122 including the metadata and recorded versions of the signals 112, 122 themselves to the ground station, and see [0056] for the ground station can function as a relay or server for supplying multiple remote users information related to the collected signal data).
Regarding claim 13, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the receiving includes receiving the signal intelligence data at the data collection platform via a network path that includes a network access node that is a military band radio access node, a cellular network access node, a Wi-Fi network access node, or a Bluetooth network access node (see Drummond, FIG. 3, FIG. 4, [0054] for communication link manager include a wireless transceiver and/or a network interface card (NIC), the wireless transceiver is a WiFi transceiver, an infrared transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, a WiMax transceiver, a wireless cellular telephony transceiver, a satellite transceiver (e.g., a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver), or other radio frequency (RF) transceivers, and the NIC is an Ethernet card). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made in order to providing timely alerts to the operators of wireless network performance failures and security breaches within a wireless network, as discussed by Drummond (see Drummond, [0002]).
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlport et al. (hereinafter “Ahlport”) (Pub # US 2018/0351826 A1) in view of Drummond et al. (hereinafter “Drummond”) (Pub # US 2019/0190942 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Baxley et al. (hereinafter “Baxley”) (Pub # US 2016/0127931 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ahlport in view of Drummond disclose wherein the instructions are inputted via the online user interface portal by the authorized user (see Ahlport, [0015], [0021], [0048], [0055] for remote interface (290 in FIG. 1) can allow a remote operator to access and review the signal information remotely, and communicatively coupled to the radio sensor while permitting the operator to adjust the operations and other features).
Ahlport in view of Drummond do not disclose specifically that the operator using an account that is associated with a virtual persona.
In an analogous art, Baxley discloses that the operator using an account that is associated with a virtual persona (see Baxley, [0186], [0188], [0190] for technology presented provide an augmented reality type informational display of personas, known and unknown, based on detected electromagnetic personas, and security personnel is provided, as part of the console functionality, with an augmented reality device such as a virtual reality head mount display with an overlay providing information of the identity of a person within a field of view of the personnel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Ahlport/ Drummond, and have the operator using an account that is associated with a virtual persona such that identifying potential wireless network security threats and improve security when authorizing, as discussed by Baxley (see Baxley, [0007], [0188]).
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645