DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to objection to the specification and rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous Objection of para [0065] and rejection of claims 1 and 3-18 under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections of claims 1 and 3-18 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Please note, regarding the comparison diagram on page 9 of the remarks, that the digital file wrapper does not appear in color; an annotated Fig. 10 of the instant application is attached below for convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUA (CN 201197094: previously cited) in view of PETERSON (WO 2012149067: previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, HUA discloses a noise reduction and shock absorption structure for a tubular motor, comprising a motor casing (2), a motor body (1), an output support (4), an output shaft (3), a fixing seat (8), a first damping assembly (6), and a second damping assembly (9) (see Fig. 1);
the motor body (1) is provided inside the motor casing (2); a front end of the motor body (1) is connected to a transmission shaft (13) to transmit motions (see Fig. 2);
the output support (4) is embedded at a front end of the motor casing (2);
the output shaft (3) is rotatable and passes through the output support (4);
the fixing seat (8) is embedded within the motor casing (2);
the first damping assembly (6) is provided between the transmission shaft (13) and the output shaft (3); the second damping assembly (9) is provided between a rear end of the motor body (1) and the fixing seat (8);
the first damping assembly (6) comprises a first connecter (51) and a second connecter (31) both made of metals or high-strength plastics (steel), and a first buffer piece (61) and a second buffer piece (61) both made of rubber or silicone (rubber); the transmission shaft (13), the first connecter (51), the second connecter (31), and the output shaft (3) are connected coaxially in sequence (see Figs. 1 and 3); the first buffer piece (61) is provided at a connecting portion between the transmission shaft (13) and the first connecter (51), and the second buffer piece (61) is provided at a connecting portion between the first connecter (51) and the second connecter (31) (see Figs. 1 and 3);
the second damping assembly (9) comprises a third connecter (71) and a fourth connecter (81) both made of metals or high-strength plastics, and a third buffer piece (91) and a fourth buffer piece (91) both made of rubber or silicone; the rear end of the motor body (1), the third connecter (71), the fourth connecter (81), and the fixing seat (8) are connected coaxially in sequence (see Fig. 3);
the third buffer piece (91) is provided at a connecting portion between the third connecter (71) and the fourth connecter (81), and the fourth buffer piece (91) is provided at a connecting portion between the fourth connecter (81) and the fixing seat (8) (see Fig. 4).
However, HUA does not teach an input end of the first connecter sleeves the first buffer piece; the second buffer piece sleeves a circumferential surface and an end surface of an output end of the first connecter; the second connecter sleeves the second buffer piece.
PETERSON teaches a noise reduction and shock absorption structure for a tubular motor with a first connecter 25a that sleeves a first buffer piece 25b; a second buffer piece 24 sleeves a circumferential surface and an end surface of an output end of the first connecter 25a; and a second connecter 49 sleeves the second buffer piece 24. (para [0060]; see annotated Fig. 2a/b, below where square outlines denote ABS plastic or metal and circles denote rubber, plastic, or urethane).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the structure of HUA with an input end of the first connecter sleeves the first buffer piece; the second buffer piece sleeves a circumferential surface and an end surface of an output end of the first connecter; the second connecter sleeves the second buffer piece, similar to PETERSON.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to reduce the transmission of vibration and sound while maintaining a compact assembly by reducing overall length, as taught by PETERSON (para [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1.
HUA teaches an input end of the first connecter (51) is a first spline hole, and a circumferential surface of the transmission shaft (13) is sleeved by a fifth connecter (14) made of metals or high-strength plastics (steel); an outer shape of the first buffer piece (61) matches with a shape of the first spline hole (see Fig. 3); an outer shape of the fifth connecter (14) matches with a shape of an inner cavity of the first buffer piece (61) (i.e. both are round), and an inner cavity of the fifth connecter (14) matches with a shape of the transmission shaft (13) (see Fig. 2).
HUA does not teach the fifth connector is inserted into the first buffer piece (that has the sleeved relationship of claim 1.)
PETERSON teaches a fifth connecter 26 made of metals or high-strength plastics is inserted into the first buffer piece 25b.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the structure of HUA in view of PETERSON with a fifth connector is inserted into the first buffer piece, similar to PETERSON.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to reduce the transmission of vibration and sound while maintaining a compact assembly by reducing overall length, as taught by PETERSON (para [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches an output end of the first connecter (51) is a first spline head (52), and a first spline groove corresponding to the first spline head (52) is formed on the second buffer piece (61) (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 4, wherein HUA teaches an end surface of the second connecter (31) facing towards the first connecter (51) is recessed to form a second spline groove (42) (see Fig. 2); an end of the second spline groove (42) away from the first connecter (51) is stepped to form a through hole in communication with the second spline groove (42) for the output shaft (3) to pass through (see Fig. 2); a limiting plate is provided at an end of the output shaft (3) to abut against an end surface of the second buffer piece (61) (see Fig. 2); first limiting grooves (42) on which the limiting plate is slidable along an axial direction of the second spline groove (42) are formed on side walls of the second spline groove (42); the first limiting grooves (42) extend to the end of the second spline groove (42) away from the first connecter (51) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 4, wherein HUA teaches a length of the first spline groove is greater than a length of the first spline head (52) (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a shaft rotation hole is formed in the output support (4) extending along an axis of the output support (4); the output shaft (3) passes through the shaft rotation hole and is rotatable inside the shaft rotation hole;
However, HUA does not disclose a plurality of damping rings are provided between a circumferential surface of the output shaft and an inner wall of the shaft rotation hole.
PETERSON teaches a plurality of damping rings 76a, 76b, 76c are provided between a circumferential surface of an output shaft and an inner wall of a shaft rotation hole [0041].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of HUA in view of PETERSON with the plurality of damping rings are provided between a circumferential surface of the output shaft and an inner wall of the shaft rotation hole, similar to PETERSON.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to minimize the contact area between the motor mount and outer housing, as taught by PETERSON (see para [0041])
Regarding claim 8, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a speed reduction device is provided on an output end of the motor body (1); an input end of the speed reduction device is connected with a rotating shaft of the motor body (1) to achieve motion transmission; an output end of the speed reduction device is connected with the transmission shaft (13) to achieve motion transmission (HUA teaches a “speed reducing transmission component”).
Regarding claim 9, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a plurality of first limiting plates (82) are provided around a peripheral edge of an end surface of the rear end of the motor body (1); second limiting grooves (72) corresponding to the first limiting plates (82) are formed circumferentially around an end portion of the third connecter (71) facing towards the motor body (1); the first limiting plates (82) are inserted into the second limiting grooves (71) respectively.
Regarding claim 10, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a second spline head (82) is provided at one end of the third connecter (71) facing towards the fourth connecter (81); a second spline hole is formed at one end of the third buffer piece (91) facing towards the third connecter (71), and a third spline head is provided at another end of the third buffer piece (91) facing towards the fourth connecter (81); and the second spline hole extends through an end surface of the third spline head (see Fig. 4); a third spline hole is formed at one end of the fourth connecter (81) facing towards the third connecter (71) (see Fig. 2); the second spline head (82) is sleeved by the second spline hole (see Fig. 3), and the third spline head is sleeved by the third spline hole (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 10, wherein HUA teaches a first stepped platform is provided on a circumferential surface of the third buffer piece (91) (i.e., an inner circumferential surface; see Fig. 4), the third spline head protrudes from an end surface of the first stepped platform, and an end surface of the fourth connecter (81) abuts against the first stepped platform (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 10, wherein HUA teaches a plurality of second limiting plates (i.e. the surfaces around holes 72; see Fig. 4) are provided on a circumferential surface of the third connecter (71) (see Fig. 4); third limiting grooves corresponding to the second limiting plates (72) are formed on an end surface of the third buffer piece (91) facing towards the third connecter (71); the second limiting plates (72) are inserted into the third limiting grooves respectively.
Regarding claim 13, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a fourth spline head (82) is provided at one end of the fourth connecter (81) facing towards the fixing seat (8); a fourth spline hole (i.e., the interior of tube 9) and a fifth spline head (i.e., the end of rib 91) are provided at two ends of the fourth buffer piece (91) respectively (see Fig. 4); the fourth spline hole extends through an end surface of the fifth spline head; a fifth spline hole (see Fig. 2) is formed at one end of the fixing seat (8) facing towards the fourth connecter (81) (see Fig. 4); the fourth spline head (82) is sleeved by the fourth spline hole, and the fifth spline head is sleeved by the fifth spline hole.
Regarding claim 14, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 13, wherein HUA teaches a second stepped platform is provided on a circumferential surface of the fourth connecter (81)(see Fig. 4), and the fourth spline head (82) protrudes from an end surface of the second stepped platform; a third stepped platform is provided on a circumferential surface of the fourth buffer piece (91) (see Fig. 4), and the fifth spline head protrudes from an end surface of the third stepped platform; an end surface of the fourth buffer piece (91) abuts against the second stepped platform, and an end surface of the fixing seat (8) abuts against the third stepped platform (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a circumferential surface of the fixing seat (8) is sleeved with a first damping sleeve (12), and the first damping sleeve is elastically fitted between the fixing seat (8) and an inner wall of the motor casing (2) (via the second damping assembly see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 1, wherein HUA teaches a third damping assembly is provided between a circumferential surface of the motor body (1) and an inner wall of the motor casing (2); the third damping assembly comprises a sealing tube (14) sleeving around the circumferential surface of the motor body (1), and a plurality of second damping sleeves (12) sleeving around a circumferential surface of the sealing tube 14; the second damping sleeves (12) are elastically fitted between the circumferential surface of the sealing tube (14) and the inner wall of the motor casing (2) (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 16, wherein HUA teaches fourth limiting grooves accommodating the second damping sleeves respectively are formed on the circumferential surface of the sealing tube (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, HUA in view of PETERSON teaches the noise reduction and shock absorption structure of claim 16, wherein HUA teaches a plurality of stripes oriented along an axial direction of the tubular motor are formed on a circumferential surface of each of the second damping sleeves (12) (see Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20100279779-A1 ANTHOINE discloses a multi-layer sleeved damping system in a tubular drive (Fig. 4); US-20120100919-A1 ROTHE discloses a multi-layer sleeved damping system in a tubular drive (Fig. 7 and 26); US-20200099271-A1 LEMAITRE discloses a multi-layer sleeved damping system in a tubular drive (Fig. 5); AU-2008100304-A4 SHEU discloses a multi-layer sleeved damping system in a tubular drive (Fig. 1); JP-6273767-B2 discloses a multi-layer damping system in a tubular drive (Fig. 4-5).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834