Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a second hold part" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to whether a first hold part is implied when a “second hold part” has been introduced without the clear prior introduction of a “first hold part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 11-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imashige (7,134,519).
Consider Claim 1, Imashige discloses a work machine comprising: a vehicle body frame (21); an engine chamber (interior of 22) that is provided on the vehicle body frame and that receives a prime mover (38) and a device (32); and a plurality of exterior covers (37, 42) that covers the engine chamber, wherein the work machine includes: a first frame part (opening perimeter of 22) that is provided along a front-back direction of the vehicle body frame in plan view, and a second frame part (body of 37) that is, at a base end thereof, connected to the first frame part and, at another end thereof, connected to a lateral face cover (42) which is of the exterior covers and which covers a lateral face of the engine chamber.
Consider Claim 2, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein the second frame part (body of 37) is rotatably supported to the first frame part (opening perimeter of 22).
Consider Claim 3, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein an upper face cover (42) which is of the plurality of exterior covers and which covers an upper face of the engine chamber is rotatably supported to the first frame part (opening perimeter of 22).
Consider Claim 4, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses a first hinge part (40) having a first pivot shaft (Fig. 2) by which a base end of the second frame part (body of 37) is pivotally supported, and a second hinge part (43) having: a cover attaching part that connects the upper face cover (42), and a second pivot shaft (Fig. 5) by which the cover attaching part is pivotally supported.
Consider Claim 8, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein the second frame (body of 37) part has a first hold part (45) that holds a rotary angle of the second frame part at a given angle.
Consider Claim 9, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein the second frame part has a second hold part (41) that holds a rotary angle of the upper face cover (42) at a given angle.
Consider Claim 11, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein the second frame part has a first link part (40) and a second link part (47) which are so placed on the first frame part as to be spaced apart from each other, and each of the first link part and the second link part connects the first frame part with the lateral face cover (42).
Consider Claim 12, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein the first frame part (opening perimeter of 22) is connected via a pillar (vertical shaft of 21 C2, L 48-50) to the vehicle body frame (21).
Consider Claim 16, Imashige discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above, and further discloses wherein a storage tank (32) capable of storing a liquid is placed in the engine chamber, and the first frame part (opening perimeter of 22) has an attaching part (22) to which the storage tank is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imashige (7,134,519) in view of Umizaki (11,313,101).
Claim 10 (original): The work machine according to claim 2, wherein the second frame part has a bias part that biases a rotation of the second frame part.
Umizaki discloses wherein the second frame part (29A) has a bias part (32) that biases a rotation of the second frame part (29A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Imashige by further comprising a bias part to bias rotation of the second frame part in order to prevent the frame from unexpectedly rotating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Although the prior art discloses a work machine comprising: a swing frame (22); a cabin (operator’s cab, Claim 1) placed on a left side on the swing frame; and an engine chamber (interior of 22) placed on a right side on the swing frame, wherein the work machine includes: a right exterior cover (37) that covers a right lateral face of the engine chamber, and an upper face cover (42) that covers an upper part of the engine chamber, the upper face cover is so provided above the right exterior cover as to be rotatable with a left end edge side of the upper face cover (42) as a pivot point, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with wherein the right exterior cover is so provided as to be rotatable integrally with the upper face cover with the left end edge side of the upper face cover as the pivot point as required by Claim 17.
Claims 18 and 19 depend from Claim 17.
Claims 5-7, 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Although the prior art discloses all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with the second pivot shaft is provided on a base end side of the second frame part as required by Claim 5, wherein the first pivot shaft and the second pivot shaft are provided in the first frame part as required by Claim 6 or wherein the first pivot shaft and the second pivot shaft are provided on a same axial line as required by Claim 7.
Although the prior art discloses all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims the prior art does not disclose or render obvious, absent impermissible hindsight, these limitations in combination with wherein the pillar includes a first pillar and a second pillar, the first pillar has a linear shape and supports the first frame part from below, and the second pillar has a bent shape and supports the first frame part from side as required by Claim 13.
Claims 14 and 15 depend from Claim 13.
Conclusion
/BRYAN A EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613