Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/29/2025 are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 112353255 A) in view of Ball et al. (US 20200352382 A1; hereinafter Ball).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a cooking appliance (abstract, the kitchen appliance, which may be a steam oven), comprising: a casing (FIG. 1, water tank seat 7) having a tank chamber (FIG. 1, the volume within the water tank seat 7) disposed therein; a water tank (claim 1, the water tank) configured to be inserted into and withdrawn from the casing through an entrance (FIG. 1, the front entrance to the water tank seat 7) of the tank chamber, and having a water storage space therein (claim 1, the interior volume of the water tank); and a panel unit (FIG. 1, panel 1) disposed at the front of the casing with a height different from a height of the door (abstract, the assembly is to be placed above an appliance, and therefore above the door found below), wherein the panel unit is configured to be moved from a first position in which the entrance of the tank chamber is covered to a second position in which the entrance of the tank chamber is opened (FIG. 1, the panel 1 may be opened and closed), and wherein an upper end of the panel unit is rotated downward to move the panel unit from the first position to the second positions (FIGS. 5 and 6), wherein in a process in which the panel unit is moved from the first position to the second position, the panel unit is rotated on a connection portion (Zhu, FIG. 1, rod 33) connected to the casing and at a same time the connection portion is moved forward and downward with respect to the casing (FIGS. 5 and 6, the rod 33 rotates and moves forward and downward as the panel 1 opens), and wherein a lower end of the panel unit is moved forward and downward (FIGS. 4 and 6, the lower end of panel 1 moves forward and downward).
Zhu fails to teach a cavity; and a door disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
However, Ball teaches a cavity (FIG. 1, the interior of the oven); and a door (FIG. 1, door 6) disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by placing the assembly on the top of an oven, as taught by Ball, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Ball with the motivation of allowing the assembly to be employed for steaming in an oven.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that at least one of the casing or the panel unit comprises an opening device (Zhu, FIG. 3, motor 31) that partially protrudes towards the other one.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that in a process in which the panel unit is moved from the first position to the second position, the panel unit is rotated on a connection portion (Zhu, FIG. 1, rod 33) connected to the casing and at a same time the connection portion is moved downward with respect to the casing (FIGS. 5 and 6, the rod 33 rotates and moves downward as the panel 1 opens).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that the connection portion comprises a plurality of connection shafts (Zhu, FIG. 5, the rod 33 and first positioning protrusion 321), and wherein the plurality of connection shafts is connected to the panel unit at different heights from each other in the first position (Zhu, FIG. 5, the rod 33 and the first positioning protrusion 321 are connected to the panel 1 and rest with their bodies at different heights).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that a pair of hinge modules (Zhu, the circled hinges in FIG. A below) respectively connected to opposite portions of the panel unit is disposed at the casing, wherein the pair of hinge modules has a connection shaft (Zhu, the circled shaft in FIG. A below) serving as a rotational center of the panel unit, wherein an opening device (Zhu, FIG. 3, the assembly of the motor 41 and the sheet 4, which extend between the hinges) is disposed between the pair of hinge modules, and wherein the opening device is configured to move the panel unit along a first opening section starting from the first position.
FIG. A
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that in the second position, an upper surface of the panel unit has a height lower than or equal to a lower end of the entrance of the tank chamber (Zhu, FIG. 6, the upper surface of the panel 1 is lower than the lower surface of the water tank seat 7).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that in the second position, an upper surface of the panel unit extends in a direction parallel to a removal direction of the water tank (Zhu, FIG. 6, the panel 1 is parallel with the direction that the water tank is inserted or removed), or wherein in the second position, the panel unit is disposed at a position farther forward from the casing than a front surface of the door (Zhu, FIG. 6, the panel 1, when open, extends further than a closed door installed beneath it (e.g., the door of Ball)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that the opening device comprises: an opening housing (Zhu, FIG. 3, box body support 2) disposed inside of the casing; an opening motor (Zhu. FIG. 3, the motor 31) disposed in the opening housing; and a cam (Zhu, FIG. 3, driving rod 32) disposed in the opening housing, configured to be rotated by the opening motor, and configured to partially protrude outward from the casing in a rotational process, and wherein when the cam is rotated once, the cam is moved from a full storage position at which the cam does not protrude from the opening housing, passes through a maximum protrusion position where the cam maximally protrudes from the opening housing, and then is returned to the full storage position (Zhu, FIG. 3, the driving rod 32 rests within the box 2, and extends in different positions as the panel 1 opens and closes).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that the opening device comprises an opening sensor, wherein the opening sensor is configured to detect a rotated state of the cam, and wherein when the cam is returned to the full storage position where the cam is stored inside of the opening housing, the opening sensor detects a return state of the cam as the cam presses the opening sensor (Zhu, FIG. 5, positioning switch 5 detect the position of the first positioning protrusion 321).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that when the panel unit is moved to the second position, the entrance of the tank chamber is opened between an upper end of the casing and the panel unit (Zhu, FIG. 1, when the panel 1 opens, it releases an opening between the upper part of the frame and the panel 1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that a front frame having an entrance of the cavity is disposed in front of the casing (Zhu, FIG. 3, the water tank seat 7 extends far back, behind the front opening of Ball), and wherein the entrance of the tank chamber is formed above the front frame (in the above combination, the water tank seat 7 is placed above the oven frame).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that a front housing (FIG. 4, box body support 2) is disposed between a front surface of the front frame and a rear surface of the panel unit in the first position, wherein the entrance of the tank chamber is formed in the front housing, and wherein a cam protruding port (FIG. 4, the opening through which driving rod 32 extends) is formed by penetrating the front housing and a cam (FIG. 4, driving rod 32) of the opening device is inserted and protrudes through the cam protruding port.
Regarding claim 20, Zhu teaches a cooking appliance (abstract, the kitchen appliance, which may be a steam oven), comprising: a casing (FIG. 1, water tank seat 7) having a tank chamber (FIG. 1, the volume within the water tank seat 7) disposed therein; a water tank (claim 1, the water tank) configured to be inserted into and withdrawn from the casing through an entrance (FIG. 1, the front entrance to the water tank seat 7) of the tank chamber, and having a water storage space (claim 1, the interior volume of the water tank) therein; and a panel unit (FIG. 1, panel 1) disposed at the front of the casing with a height different from a height of the door (abstract, the assembly is to be placed above an appliance, and therefore above the door found below), wherein the panel unit is configured to be moved from a first position in which the entrance of the tank chamber is covered to a second position in which the entrance of the tank chamber is opened (FIG. 1, the panel 1 may be opened and closed), and when the panel unit is rotated between the first position and the second position, an upper end of a control panel which is gradually moved away from the entrance of the tank chamber is moved in a direction lowering a height thereof (FIGS. 5 and 6), wherein in a process in which the panel unit is moved from the first position to the second position, the panel unit is rotated on a connection portion (Zhu, FIG. 1, rod 33) connected to the casing and at a same time the connection portion is moved forward and downward with respect to the casing (FIGS. 5 and 6, the rod 33 rotates and moves forward and downward as the panel 1 opens), and wherein a lower end of the panel unit is moved forward and downward (FIGS. 4 and 6, the lower end of panel 1 moves forward and downward).
Zhu fails to teach a cavity; and a door disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
However, Ball teaches a cavity (FIG. 1, the interior of the oven); and a door (FIG. 1, door 6) disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by placing the assembly on the top of an oven, as taught by Ball, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Ball with the motivation of allowing the assembly to be employed for steaming in an oven.
Regarding claim 21, Zhu teaches a cooking appliance (abstract, the kitchen appliance, which may be a steam oven), comprising: a casing (FIG. 1, water tank seat 7) having a tank chamber (FIG. 1, the volume within the water tank seat 7) disposed therein; a water tank (claim 1, the water tank) configured to be inserted into and withdrawn from the casing through an entrance (FIG. 1, the front entrance to the water tank seat 7) of the tank chamber, and having a water storage space (claim 1, the interior volume of the water tank) therein; and a panel unit (FIG. 1, panel 1) disposed at the front of the casing above the door (abstract, the assembly is to be placed above an appliance, and therefore above the door found below), wherein the panel unit is configured to be moved from an upright position in which position a front surface of the panel unit extends in a vertical direction and the entrance of the tank chamber is covered to a laid-out position in which position the front surface of the panel unit extends in a horizontal direction and the entrance of the tank chamber is opened (FIGS. 5 and 6), wherein in a process in which the panel unit is moved from the first position to the second position, the panel unit is rotated on a connection portion (Zhu, FIG. 1, rod 33) connected to the casing and at a same time the connection portion is moved forward and downward with respect to the casing (FIGS. 5 and 6, the rod 33 rotates and moves forward and downward as the panel 1 opens), and wherein a lower end of the panel unit is moved forward and downward (FIGS. 4 and 6, the lower end of panel 1 moves forward and downward).
Zhu fails to teach a cavity; and a door disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
However, Ball teaches a cavity (FIG. 1, the interior of the oven); and a door (FIG. 1, door 6) disposed at a front of the casing and configured to open and close the cavity.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by placing the assembly on the top of an oven, as taught by Ball, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Ball with the motivation of allowing the assembly to be employed for steaming in an oven.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Zhu and Ball teaches that an upper end of the panel unit is rotated downward to move the panel unit from the upright position to the laid-out position (Zhu, FIGS. 5 and 6).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Ball as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15-18, and 20-22 above, and further in view of.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhu and Ball fails to teach that the panel unit is configured to be moved through a first opening section starting from the first position, by the opening device, and wherein the panel unit is configured to be moved through a second opening section extending from an end of the first opening section to the second position by gravity or an external force applied by a user.
However, Heier teaches that the panel unit is configured to be moved through a first opening section starting from the first position, by the opening device, and wherein the panel unit is configured to be moved through a second opening section extending from an end of the first opening section to the second position by gravity or an external force applied by a user (column 2, ll. 17-24, a motor begins the opening process, but after a certain point the motor is shut off and gravity and momentum complete the process).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by having the motor 31 begin opening the panel 1, but having gravity complete the motion, as taught by Heier, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Heier with the motivation of conserving electricity.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhu, Ball, and Heier teaches that a rotational angle of the panel unit in the second opening section is larger than a rotational angle of the panel unit in the first opening section (Zhu, the point at which gravity begins to open the panel 1 comprises a much larger angle than the angle needed to be opened by the motor 31).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Ball as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15-18, and 20-22 above, and further in view of Mao (CN 112438581 A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhu and Ball fails to teach that the casing comprises a damper connected to the panel unit, and wherein the panel unit is adjusted in rotational speed between the first position and the second position by the damper, or wherein the casing comprises an elastic member connected to the panel unit, and wherein the panel unit isadjusted in tension between the first position and the second position by the elastic member.
However, Mao teaches that the casing comprises a damper connected to the panel unit, and wherein the panel unit is adjusted in rotational speed between the first position and the second position by the damper (“In the prior art, the damping structure comprises an air pressure (or hydraulic) damper and a spring; the air pressure (or hydraulic) damper and spring are matched with each other to generate damping when the water tank door is opened, reducing the impact of the water tank door to the rotating shaft of the water tank door.”), or wherein the casing comprises an elastic member connected to the panel unit, and wherein the panel unit is adjusted in tension between the first position and the second position by the elastic member.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by having the panel 1 open using one or more dampers, but having gravity complete the motion, as taught by Mao, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Mao with the motivation of preventing damage when opening or closing panel 1.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Ball as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15-18, and 20-22 above, and further in view of Jiang (CN 115075693 A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhu and Ball fails to teach that each of the pair of hinge modules comprises: a hinge housing; a plurality of links disposed in the hinge housing; at least one drive arm connected to the plurality of links, wherein a portion of the at least one drive arm protrudes outwards with respect to the hinge housing; and a connection block connected to the at least one drive arm to be rotatable on the connection shaft, and fixed to the panel unit.
However, Jiang teaches that each of the pair of hinge modules comprises: a hinge housing (FIG. 5, linings 2 and 3, which enclose the hinge assembly); a plurality of links (FIG. 5, the portions of the hinge that surround the axel) disposed in the hinge housing; at least one drive arm (FIG. 5, the axel of upper hook 51) connected to the plurality of links, wherein a portion of the at least one drive arm protrudes outwards with respect to the hinge housing (FIG. 5, upper hook 51); and a connection block (FIG. 5, the wall material that the upper hook 51 is connected to) connected to the at least one drive arm to be rotatable on the connection shaft, and fixed to the panel unit.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by having the hinge of Zhu look like the hinge of Jiang, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Jiang with the motivation of ensuring a sturdy hinge.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Ball as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15-18, and 20-22 above, and further in view of Kyong (WO 2018084462 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhu and Ball fails to teach that in the first position, a lower end of the panel unit is disposed higher than an upper end of the door, and in the second position, the lower end of the panel unit is disposed lower than the upper end of the door.
However, Kyong teaches that in the first position, a lower end of the panel unit is disposed higher than an upper end of the door, and in the second position, the lower end of the panel unit is disposed lower than the upper end of the door (FIGS. 1 and 14, when the water tank holder assembly 222 extends out fully, it drops low to extend beneath the uppermost portion of the oven door).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zhu by having a portion of the panel 1 extend low under the topmost portion of the door of Ball when the panel is opened, as taught by Kyong, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhu with these aforementioned teachings of Kyong with the motivation of making the water tank easier to take out by having it angle downward, so that gravity assists the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 11-13, the applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the amendments to the independent claims. However, the Examiner respectfully notes that, as articulated above, the cited references do teach the recitations of the claims, including that a lower portion of a panel moves forward and down in an opening movement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762