DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re pages 13-15, applicants present the central argument that the prior art of Wu does not teach two separate displays and that the adjustment for the two regions are based on the analysis of both the first display mode of the first display region and the second display mode of the second display region.
As a first way of interpretation, if the “first display region” and “second display region” are separate displays in claim 1 (which appears to the argument by the applicants in re pages 14-15 of the latest remarks filed 8/8/25), then the first and second regions 1202 and 1204 in the prior art meets the claimed since 1204 has a portion of it illuminated with ambient light and 1202 does not. Alternatively, if a single display device/screen is to be interpreted, image region 1204 has a first region 1212 that has ambient light and the remaining portions of image 1210 does not have illumination. Therefore, examiner expresses caution in which direction the claims are headed if the applicants do indeed want to capture a single display screen having both the first display region and the second display region, or whether the first display region is to be treated as a separated entire display screen and the second display region is treated as a separate second entire display screen and a separate display device from the first display device. Since the applicants discussed the two separate display devices, the interpretation for claims 1 and 8 were given accordingly, however, in light of claim 6, the language appears to insinuate a single display screen with first and second display regions within it. In light of the prior art of Wu, Wu appears to teach both version in Fig. 12. Since 1202 and 1204 reflect two separate display devices and 1204 include a first region 1212 and the remaining area as a second region unaffected by ambient light.
Furthermore, paragraphs 71-80 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed for each of the displays 306 and 308 and outputs them to the displays for adjusting the display parameters. The image 1201 includes the analysis of both the displays captured in region 1202 and region 1204, respectively, and is analyzed to check for any glare information as taught in paragraphs 71-72 and 75 and 78-80. Therefore, both the first display mode of the first display region and the second display mode of the second display region are analyzed to generate adjustments for the first and second display regions if glare is present in either of the two display areas 1202 and 1204.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2023/0129320).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a display control system for controlling a first display region and a second display region arranged in a vehicle (Fig. 3 and paragraph 38 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308), the display control system comprising:
an analyzer which obtains captured images of the first display region which displays a first video and the second display region which displays a second video, and analyzes, based on the captured images, a first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and a second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region (paragraphs 12-14 and 71-80 teaches detecting the display devices in the cabin on which glare is detected based on the captured image by camera 211. Fig. 3 and paragraphs 36-38 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308 are detected and the location of them (see paragraph 43). Each of the first display 308 and second display 306 are detected in a captured image 1201 and checked to see if there’s any glare information associated with the two displays); and
an information generator which generates, for each of the first display mode and the second display mode, display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode and the second display mode, based on at least a result of analysis by the analyzer and outputs the display adjustment information generated (at least paragraphs 71-80 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed for each of the displays 306 and 308 and outputs them to the displays for adjusting the display parameters. The image 1201 includes the analysis of both the displays captured in region 1202 and region 1204, respectively, and is analyzed to check for any glare information as taught in paragraphs 71-72 and 75 and 78-80).
the information generator:
generates first display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region, based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region; outputs the first display adjustment information (paragraph 71 teaches, wherein “image 1201 may comprise regions 1202 and 1204 respectively corresponding to images of display 308 and 306 of vehicle 200”. Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices);
generates second display adjustment information for adjusting the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region, based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region; and outputs the second display adjustment information (paragraph 71 teaches, wherein “image 1201 may comprise regions 1202 and 1204 respectively corresponding to images of display 308 and 306 of vehicle 200”. Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the claimed wherein each of the first display mode and the second display mode includes at least one of a position, a posture, or a size of a corresponding one of the first display region or the second display region, color information about or luminance of a corresponding one of the first video displayed in the corresponding one of the first display region or the second video displayed in the second display region, or a presence or an absence of a failure in the corresponding one of the first display region or the second display region (paragraphs 43 and 71-80 at least teaches position and size of the displays being detected, their corresponding coordinates as compared to the image 1201 and the respective areas of the first and second displays 308 and 306 on which glare information is identified).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the vehicle includes a plurality of display regions, which includes the first display region and the second display region (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 71-72, 75 and 78-80, displays 306 and 308),
the analyzer identifies a predetermined display region and another display region other than the predetermined display region from among the plurality of display regions (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 36-38 and 71-72, 75 and 78-80 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308 are detected in separate image regions 1202 and 1204 and the location of them (see paragraph 43)), and
the information generator generates, for each of the predetermined display region and the another display region, the display adjustment information (at least paragraphs 56 and 71-72, 75 and 78-80 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed for each of the displays 306 and 308 and outputs them to the displays for adjusting the display parameters).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the first display region is a first display screen for displaying a video, the second display region is a second display screen for displaying a video (Fig. 3, displays 306 and 308),
the analyzer analyzes based on the captured images, the first display mode of the first video displayed on the first display screen and the second display mode of the second video displayed on the second display screen ((paragraphs 12-14 teaches detecting the display devices in the cabin on which glare is detected based on the captured image by camera 211. Fig. 3 and paragraphs 36-38 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308 are detected and the location of them (see paragraph 43). Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices),
and the information generator: generates the first display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode of the first video displayed on the first display screen, based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video displayed on the first display screen and the second display mode of the second video displayed on the second display screen (paragraph 71 teaches, wherein “image 1201 may comprise regions 1202 and 1204 respectively corresponding to images of display 308 and 306 of vehicle 200”. Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices), and outputs the first display adjustment information generated; and
generates the second display adjustment information for adjusting the second display mode of the second video displayed on the second display screen, based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video displayed on the first display screen and the second display mode of the second video displayed on the second display screen (paragraph 71 teaches, wherein “image 1201 may comprise regions 1202 and 1204 respectively corresponding to images of display 308 and 306 of vehicle 200”. Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices), and outputs the second display adjustment information generated (at least paragraph 56 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed for each of the displays 306 and 308 and outputs them to the displays for adjusting the display parameters. paragraph 71 teaches, wherein “image 1201 may comprise regions 1202 and 1204 respectively corresponding to images of display 308 and 306 of vehicle 200”. Further, in paragraphs 71-72, both areas 1202 and 1204 are analyzed to check for glare information, and while in the example illustrated in Fig. 12, the glare is only present on first display 308 in the image region 1204, glare is also possible on the second display 306 in image region 1202. Therefore, subsequent image adjust parameters sent to the display device is therefore applicable for both the display devices).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the first display region is of a display screen for displaying the first video, which is irradiated with ambient light, the second display region is of the display screen for displaying the second video, which is not irradiated with ambient light, the analyzer: identifies the first display region and the second display region based on the captured images (paragraphs 12-13, 38 and 63-65 and 71-80 detects parts of displays 306 and 308 in an image 1201 that do or do not have any ambient light irradiating, such as light glare from an outside light source. As a first way of interpretation, if the “first display region” and “second display region” are separate displays in claim 1 (which appears to the argument by the applicants in re pages 14-15 of the latest remarks filed 8/8/25), then the first and second regions 1202 and 1204 in the prior art meets the claimed since 1204 has a portion of it illuminated with ambient light and 1202 does not. Alternatively, if a single display device/screen is to be interpreted, image region 1204 has a first region 1212 that has ambient light and the remaining portions of image 1210 does not have illumination);
analyzes the first display mode of the video displayed in the first display region based on the captured images (paragraphs 12-14 and 71-80 teaches detecting the display devices in the cabin on which glare is detected based on the captured image by camera 211. Fig. 3 and paragraphs 36-38 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308 are detected and the location of them (see paragraph 43)); and
analyzes the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region based on the captured images (paragraphs 12-14 and 71-80 teaches detecting the display devices in the cabin on which glare is detected based on the captured image by camera 211. Fig. 3 and paragraphs 36-38 teaches display devices in cabin of vehicle, e.g. first display 306 and second display 308 are detected and the location of them (see paragraph 43)), and
the information generator:
generates first partial display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region based on the result of analysis by the analyzer performed regarding the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region, and outputs the first partial display adjustment information generated; and generates second partial display adjustment information for adjusting the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region based on the result of analysis by the analyzer performed regarding the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region, and outputs the second partial display adjustment information generated (at least paragraph 56 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed for each of the displays 306 and 308 and outputs them to the displays for adjusting the display parameters).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the claimed further comprising:
an obtainer which obtains the captured images, wherein the obtainer is a camera capable of imaging inside the vehicle (Fig. 2, Camera 211 within the cabin of the vehicle).
Method claims 8, medium claim 9 and system claim 17 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above and furthermore Wu also teaches the medium and processors executing a program (paras. 34 and 51).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the information generator generates the first display adjustment information and the second display adjustment information such that the first video displayed in the first display region and the second video displayed in the second display region become substantially identical, based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region (paragraphs 71-80, wherein the brightness of the affected second region 1212 (Fig. 12) is increased to counteract the effect of the ambient light causing glare at the display devices. In counteracting the glare, which generally means to neutralize or make ineffective, the effects of the glare, the affected region’s brightness, contrast, colors, etc. are adjusted to be similar to the non affected regions thereby meeting the claimed “substantially identical” given the term’s broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the predetermined display region is any one of: a first display screen closest to a head or eyes of an occupant among the plurality of display regions, a second display screen most frequently viewed by the occupant, a third display screen displaying safety-related information, a pre-configured display screen, a fourth display screen displaying predetermined video content, a fifth display screen designated by the occupant, or an arbitrarily set display screen (Fig. 3, displays 306 and 308 meet the claimed) and
the information generator generates the display adjustment information for the another display region such that the second display mode thereof becomes similar to the first display mode of the predetermined display region (paragraphs 71-80, wherein the brightness of the affected second region 1212 (Fig. 12) is increased to counteract the effect of the ambient light causing glare at the display devices. In counteracting the glare, which generally means to neutralize or make ineffective, the effects of the glare, the affected region’s brightness, contrast, colors, etc. are adjusted to be similar to the non affected regions thereby meeting the claimed “substantially identical” given the term’s broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the information generator outputs the first display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video and the second display mode of the second video, and outputs the second display adjustment information for adjusting the second display mode based on the result of analysis by the analyzer of both the first display mode of the first video and the second display mode of the second video so that a difference between the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region becomes small (paragraphs 71-80, wherein the brightness of the affected second region 1212 (Fig. 12) is increased to counteract the effect of the ambient light causing glare at the display devices. In counteracting the glare, which generally means to neutralize or make ineffective, the effects of the glare, the affected region’s brightness, contrast, colors, etc. are adjusted to be similar to the non affected regions thereby meeting the claimed “small” given the term’s broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the display adjustment information includes brightness, contrast, gamma values, and color information (paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the first display adjustment information and the second display adjustment information each include brightness information, contrast information, gamma values, and color information for individually adjusting the first display mode and the second display mode (paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the information generator generates the first display adjustment information and the second display adjustment information to adjust a luminance of the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region so that an occupant of the vehicle can see the first video and the second video as having a same brightness when viewing the first display region and the second display region (paragraphs 71-80, wherein the brightness of the affected second region 1212 (Fig. 12) is increased to counteract the effect of the ambient light causing glare at the display devices. In counteracting the glare, which generally means to neutralize or make ineffective, the effects of the glare, the affected region’s brightness, contrast, colors, etc. are adjusted to be similar to the non affected regions. Therefore, a passenger in the vehicle is able to see the display screen with the two regions at a perceived same brightness because of the negation of the glare. The language of the claim also potentially leaves room for confusion/indefiniteness since if the image adjustments include increasing brightness/contrast/color in the affected area so that the region becomes visible to the passenger, the brightness of the affected area is different than the unaffected area. Therefore, the examiner has treated the term “same brightness” as a perceived brightness from the point of view of the passenger).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the claimed wherein the information generator generates the first display adjustment information and the second display adjustment information based on ambient light incident on the first display region and the second display region (paragraphs 71-80 discusses ambient light in the form of glare being present on the display devices and their respective first and second regions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20230129320) in view of Boss et al. (US 2017/0136877).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the claimed wherein each of the captured images obtained further includes a head or eyes of an occupant who is in the vehicle,
the information generator generates the first display adjustment information for adjusting the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display adjustment information for adjusting the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region, based on (i) the first display mode of the first video displayed in the first display region and the second display mode of the second video displayed in the second display region (at least paragraph 56 teaches generating an adjustment based on the image being processed), and
However, while Wu teaches capturing images of the cabin including the area of the driver’s seat where the head is located (see paragraphs 71-77), fails to explicitly teach, however, Boss teaches the claimed:
the analyzer further analyzes a position of the head or positions of the eyes of the occupant based on the captured images obtained (Claims 5, 7 and paragraphs 88 and 89), and
(ii) a second result of analysis by the analyzer obtained based on the position of the head or the positions of the eyes of the occupant (claims 5, 7 and paragraphs 88, 89, 97 and 103 teaches adjusting a display mode to accommodate the driver based on their head and eye position. First display 200 and secondary displays 1102 are equally adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to incorporate the teachings of Boss into the system of Wu because said incorporation allows for the benefit of improving safety by making sure critical information is always visible to the user (Boss: abstract and paragraph 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GELEK W TOPGYAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481