DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
In the response filed 20 November 2025, Applicant argues Gray’127 and Shank’086 fail to disclose an anti-migration feature which extends “longitudinally as well as radially-outwardly from an outermost surface of a retention member or elongate body”. Examiner expects this is a typographical error because the claims recite the anti-migration feature extends “longitudinally from a radially-outermost surface” of a retention member or elongate body. Examiner agrees that Gray’127’s anti-migration features 132, 142 do not extend from a radially-outermost surface of a retention member or elongate body. See Figure 1. However, upon further search and consideration, a new reference is relied upon to teach this limitation. See the updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Muvhar et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0256169) in view of Shank et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0179086).
Claim 1: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches an implantable medical device (1200; Figure 7b) comprising:
an elongate body (Figure 7b) having a proximal end (towards the left side of the figure) and a distal end (towards the right side of the figure) and defining a lumen extending therethrough (Figure 3c shows the device 1200 mounted on a catheter which shows there is a lumen passing through it);
a proximal retention member (flared portion on the left side of Figure 7b; labeled as 202 in Figure 2) along the proximal end of the elongate body;
a distal retention member (flared portion on the right side of Figure 7b; labeled as 200 in Figure 2) along the distal end of the elongate body;
a saddle region (central, narrow region in Figure 7b; labeled as 204 in Figure 2) defined between the proximal retention member and the distal retention member (Figure 7b); and
at least one anti-migration feature (1202, 1204) extending longitudinally from a radially outer-most surface of at least one of the retention members (Figure 7b and paragraph [0165] describes 1202 and 1204 as extending parallel to the blood vessel and catch on tissue of the blood vessel; 1202, 1204 need to be on the radially outer most surface of the retention members to perform this function).
wherein:
at least the saddle region has a wall with a coating formed of a material preventing flow of fluid therethrough (paragraph [0022]); and
Ben-Muvhar’169 does not specifically disclose the anti-migration feature (1202, 1204) is uncoated to promote tissue ingrowth therearound or that the anti-migration feature extends into a closed shape defining an opening.
Like Ben-Muvhar’169, Shank’086 teaches an implantable medical device (100) for placement in a tubular body cavity and providing the implant (100) with anti-migration features (110) that extend longitudinally along the vessel (paragraph [0028]: “Alternatively, the loop 112 may be formed such that the face 122 is parallel to the long axis of the struts 124. In this alternative orientation, the face 122 is near parallel to the lumen's long axis and near perpendicular to the lumen's cross section when implanted.”) The anti-migration features have a closed shape (112) and define an opening (112 is a loop) so tissue grows through the opening and around the anti-migration feature (110) to resist migratory forces on the implantable medical device (paragraph [0029]). Shank’086 teaches the closed shape (112) is advantageous over barbs because they promote tissue ingrowth and do not provoke tissue remodeling which eventually forces other projections out of the body lumen (paragraph [0029]). Shank’086 further teaches leaving the anti-migration feature uncoated to promote tissue ingrowth (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Ben-Muvhar’169 such that the anti-migration feature is in a closed shape, as taught by Shank’086, in order to provide the above stated advantages.
Claim 2: Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration member (110) is in the form of a loop (112).
Claim 3: Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration member (110) includes at least one retention portion extending transverse to an axis along which migratory forces impact the implantable medical device (note: in the specification, the “retention portion” 152 is the tip of the loop 150; Shank’086 also teaches a tip of a loop and this is considered the “retention portion”). The retention portion (tip of the loop 112) is transverse to an axis along which migratory forces impact the implantable medical device (Shank’086 and Ben-Muvhar’169 teach the anti-migration member is oriented in the same direction as applicant’s invention).
Claim 4: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the lumen of the elongate body extends through the saddle region (Figure 3c shows the device 1200 mounted on a catheter which shows there is a lumen passing through it).
In the device of modified Ben-Muvhar’169, the retention portion (tip of the loop 112) extends transverse to the longitudinal axis of the saddle region (both Ben-Muvhar’169 and Shank’086 disclose anti-migration members extend parallel with the vessel; therefore, their tips will be transverse to the longitudinal axis of the saddle region).
Claim 5: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the at least one anti-migration feature (1202) extends from the proximal retention member in a direction toward the saddle region (Figure 7b).
Claim 6: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the proximal retention member (flared portion on the left side of Figure 7b; labeled as 202 in Figure 2) and the distal retention member (flared portion on the right side of Figure 7b; labeled as 200 in Figure 2) extend radially outwardly from the saddle region (central, narrow region in Figure 7b; labeled as 204 in Figure 2) (see Figure 7b); and
the anti-migration feature (1202) extends from the proximal retention member and is transverse to the proximal retention member in a direction toward the saddle region (Figure 7b).
Claim 7: Ben-Muvhar’169’s saddle region (central, narrow region in Figure 7b; labeled as 204 in Figure 2) is configured to extend between a proximal tissue wall and a distal tissue wall (based on its size and shape and disclosed use for implantation within the body),
the proximal retention member (flared portion on the left side of Figure 7b; labeled as 202 in Figure 2) is configured to anchor the implantable medical device with respect to the proximal tissue wall (based on its size and shape and disclosed use for implantation within the body),
the distal retention member (flared portion on the right side of Figure 7b; labeled as 200 in Figure 2) is configured to anchor the implantable medical device with respect to the distal tissue wall (based on its size and shape and disclosed use for implantation within the body).
Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration feature (110) is configured to embed into the tissue wall (Figure 3a-3c; paragraph [0029]).
Claim 8: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the one anti-migration feature includes at least one anti-migration feature (1202) extending from the proximal retention member toward the saddle region (Figure 7b) and at least one anti-migration feature (1204) extending from the distal retention member toward the saddle region (Figure 7b).
Claim 9: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the implantable medical device (Figure 7b) is shiftable between an elongated delivery configuration and a foreshortened deployed configuration (paragraph [0133]);
the proximal retention member (202) and the distal retention member (200) are defined upon the implantable medical device shifting to the deployed configuration and a portion of the elongate body extending radially outward (Figure 3 shows the device in the collapsed configuration and the retention members are not defined; Figure 7b shows the device in the expanded configuration and the retention members are defined);
and in the foreshortened configuration, the length of the saddle region and the configuration of the proximal retention member and the distal retention member are selected to draw together tissues across which the elongate body is extended (this is directed towards the intended use of the device; the surgeon will choose the size of the implant based on the desired implant location. Ben-Muvhar’169’s saddle region inherently has a length and the proximal and distal retention members inherently have a configuration and the combination of these features, in some situation, will aid in drawing tissue together) with the at least one anti-migration feature anchoring into the tissues (1202, 1204; paragraph [0165]).
Claim 11: Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration feature (110) is separately formed from and coupled to the device (via a crimp 116).
Claim 12: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches an implantable medical device (1200; Figure 7b) comprising:
an elongate body (Figure 7b) having a proximal end (towards the left side of the figure) and a distal end (towards the right side of the figure) and defining a lumen extending therethrough (Figure 3c shows the device 1200 mounted on a catheter which shows there is a lumen passing through it);
at least one anti-migration feature (1202, 1204) extending longitudinally from a radially outer-most surface of at least one of the retention members (Figure 7b and paragraph [0165] describes 1202 and 1204 as extending parallel to the blood vessel and catch on tissue of the blood vessel; 1202, 1204 need to be on the radially outer most surface of the retention members to perform this function);
wherein:
the elongate body (Figure 7b) is formed from a plurality of filaments forming a wall of the elongate body with interstices therethrough (paragraph [0140]);
at least a portion of the wall of the elongate body is coated to prevent flow fluid therethrough and to resist tissue ingrowth (paragraph [0022]);
Ben-Muvhar’169 does not specifically disclose the anti-migration feature (1202, 1204) is uncoated to promote tissue ingrowth therearound or that the anti-migration feature extends into a closed shape defining an opening.
Like Ben-Muvhar’169, Shank’086 teaches an implantable medical device (100) for placement in a tubular body cavity and providing the implant (100) with anti-migration features (110) that extend longitudinally along the vessel (paragraph [0028]: Alternatively, the loop 112 may be formed such that the face 122 is parallel to the long axis of the struts 124. In this alternative orientation, the face 122 is near parallel to the lumen's long axis and near perpendicular to the lumen's cross section when implanted.) The anti-migration features have a closed shape (112) and define an opening (112 is a loop) so tissue grows through the opening and around the anti-migration feature (110) to resist migratory forces on the implantable medical device (paragraph [0029]). Shank’086 teaches the closed shape (112) is advantageous over barbs because they promote tissue ingrowth and do not provoke tissue remodeling which eventually forces other projections out of the body lumen (paragraph [0029]). Shank’086 further teaches leaving the anti-migration feature uncoated to promote tissue ingrowth (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Ben-Muvhar’169 such that the anti-migration feature is in a closed shape, as taught by Shank’086, in order to provide the above stated advantages.
Claim 13: Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration member (110) is in the form of a loop (112).
Claim 14: Shank’086 teaches the anti-migration member (110) includes at least one retention portion extending transverse to an axis along which migratory forces impact the implantable medical device (note: in the specification, the “retention portion” 152 is the tip of the loop 150; Shank’086 also teaches a tip of a loop and this is considered the “retention portion”). The retention portion (tip of the loop 112) is transverse to an axis along which migratory forces impact the implantable medical device (Shank’086 and Ben-Muvhar’169 teach the anti-migration member is oriented in the same direction as applicant’s invention).
Claim 15: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the implantable medical device (Figure 7b) further comprises:
a proximal retention member (flared portion on the left side of Figure 7b; labeled as 202 in Figure 2) along the proximal end of the elongate body;
a distal retention member (flared portion on the right side of Figure 7b; labeled as 200 in Figure 2) along the distal end of the elongate body;
a saddle region (central, narrow region in Figure 7b; labeled as 204 in Figure 2) defined between the proximal retention member and the distal retention member (Figure 7b); and
the anti-migration member (1202 or 1204) extends from the retention members towards the saddle region (Figure 7b).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Muvhar’169 in view of Shank’086, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Gray et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0361127).
Claim 10: Ben-Muvhar’169 teaches the proximal retention member (202) and the distal retention member (204) is formed from woven filaments (paragraph [0140]). The anti-migration feature (1202, 1204) is formed from an extension of the device (Figure 7b).
Ben-Muvhar’169 does not explicitly show the anti-migration feature is formed from an extension of the woven device.
Gray’127 teaches a similar device (100) that is woven (paragraph [0026]) and has anti-migration features (132, 142). Gray’127 teaches the anti-migration feature can be attached to the device or formed as extensions of the woven filament (paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Ben-Muvhar’169 in view of Shank’086, such that the anti-migration features are extensions of the woven device, as taught by Gray’127, because this is a known method of manufacturing the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to choose forming the anti-migration features as extensions of the woven device in order to create a single unitary product that is safer for implantation in the body because parts of the implant are less likely to break off when the implant is a single unitary device with no connectors.
Conclusion
Lindsey Bachman
/L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 25 March 2026
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771