DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “the claim invention would NOT have been obvious at least because the claim range of (a) a minimum clearance between the stirrer and a lowest part of the tightly sealed vessel in a gravity direction, being set in the range of 0 mm to 4 mm, is critical.
In this connection, the Examiner's attention is respectfully directed to Tables 1 and 2 of the subject specification, reproduced below. Test Examples 1 - 4 having a clearance of 0 - 4mm, which is a height ratio of 77 to 100%, have reaction yield of 92.9% - 95.1%. In contrast, Comparative Example 1 having a clearance of 5mm, which is a height ratio of 72%, has a reaction yield of 1.6%. Superiority of a property is evidence of nonobviousness. “ Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the reaction yield is not claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. ,reaction yield) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, after further consideration Sugita Fig. 10B teaches a J stirrer that is flush to the vessel and thus it is the position of the Office meets the claimed limitation of 0-4 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220274832) in view of Ibrahim et al. (Macromixing study for various designs of impellers in a stirred vessel; Chemical Engineering & Processing: Process Intensification 148; 107794; 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Sugita et al. teaches a sodium borohydride production method according to the first embodiment, a sodium borate, aluminum powder and fluoride powder are mixed together in a hermetic vessel filled with hydrogen gas, and the mixture is reacted at not less than 410° C. and not more than 560° C which meets the limitation of method for producing sodium borohydride, the method comprising at a time when a sodium borate, an aluminum powder, and a fluoride powder are mixed and caused to react in a tightly sealed vessel filled with a hydrogen gas at a temperature of 560*C or lower (paragraph 42). Sugita et al. teaches a hard shell is stable even when stirring is performed using a medium, and thus the above reactions proceed toward the inside of the aluminum particles (paragraph 76). Sugita et al. teaches stirring with a medium offers a high degree of mixing of the offshore materials, and high reaction efficiency may be achieved (paragraph 91). Sugita et al. teaches stirring is performed using a stirring medium, the acceptable stirring rate may range from a low rotational speed where the stirrer's circumferential velocity is about 13 cm/sec to a high rotational speed where the stirrer has a circumferential velocity of 90 cm/sec or above and the medium gains a collision energy that can deform, and roll and mill the aluminum (paragraph 109). Sugita et al. teaches if, however, the circumferential velocity is 90 cm/sec or above, the aluminum is rolled and ground to thin and elongated shapes, which tend to stick to the vessel walls together with the ingredients and the products. As a result, less material is mixed and the reaction yield is lowered (paragraph 109). Sugita et al. teaches thus, the stirring rate is preferably such that the circumferential velocity of the stirrer is not more than 70 cm/sec, which does not cause a deformation of aluminum (paragraph 109). Sugita et al. teaches a J stirrer that is flush to vessel and therefore meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of 0 mm to 4 mm (Fig. 10B). Sugita et al. does not wherein a stirring height ratio (X) expressed by a following formula (I) is 75% or more, in which (a) is a minimum clearance between the stirrer and a lowest part of the tightly sealed vessel in a gravity direction, and(b) is a raw material charged height when a raw material is charged into the tightly sealed vessel: X = [(b - a)/b] x 100 Formula (I).
Ibrahim et al. teaches mechanical agitation is widely employed in chemical process industries for heat and mass transfer applications or chemical reactions applications (page 1, paragraph 1). Ibrahim et al. teaches the efficiency of the mixing process is dependent on different internal parameters such as agitation speed, impeller type, tank geometry, geometrical ratios such as impeller to tank diameter (D/T), off-bottom clearance to tank diameter (C/T), liquid height to tank diameter (H/D), dispersed phase hold-up and fluid physical properties (page 1, paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an impeller at an optimized height to stir the raw materials in the hermetic tank taught by ‘583 to efficiently mix the raw material because mixing increases the efficiency of the chemical reaction.
Regarding claim 2, Sugita et al. teaches sodium metaborate (paragraph 120).
Regarding claim 3, Sugita et al. teaches sodium fluoride (NaF) (paragraph 118).
Regarding claim 4, Sugita et al. teaches wherein a mole ratio of aluminum in the aluminum powder to boron in the sodium borate is 4/3 or more (paragraph 97).
Regarding claim 5, Sugita et al. teaches the molar ratio of any alkali metal plus sodium in the sodium borate becomes 1 or more relative to boron in the sodium borate (hereinafter, the ratio will be referred to as Na/B (by mol)), and Na/B (by mol) is preferably in the range of more than 1 and not more than 4 which meets the limitation wherein an alkali metal oxide or an alkali earth metal oxide is further added, and a mole ratio of a total mole amount of an alkali metal and an alkaline earth metal, and an alkali metal and an alkali earth metal that are included in the sodium borate to a mole amount of boron included in the sodium borate is 1.0 or more and 1.4 or less (paragraphs 118 and 119).
Regarding claim 6, Sugita et al. teaches heated at 280 ̊C or higher and 560 ̊C or lower (paragraph 113).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,583 (hereinafter ‘583) in view of Ibrahim et al. (Macromixing study for various designs of impellers in a stirred vessel; Chemical Engineering & Processing: Process Intensification 148; 107794; 2020).
Both the pending application and ‘583 claim “A sodium borohydride production method comprising: mixing a sodium borate, aluminum powder and powder of a fluoride together in a hermetic vessel filled with hydrogen gas, and reacting the mixture at not less than 410° C. and not more than 560° C”. ‘583 does not teach carrying out stirring using a stirrer in the tightly sealed vessel, wherein a stirring height ratio (X) expressed by a following formula (I) is 75% or more, in which (a) is a minimum clearance between the stirrer and a lowest part of the tightly sealed vessel in a gravity direction, and(b) is a raw material charged height when a raw material is charged into the tightly sealed vessel: X = [(b - a)/b] x 100 Formula (I).
Ibrahim et al. teaches mechanical agitation is widely employed in chemical process industries for heat and mass transfer applications or chemical reactions applications (page 1, paragraph 1). Ibrahim et al. teaches the efficiency of the mixing process is dependent on different internal parameters such as agitation speed, impeller type, tank geometry, geometrical ratios such as impeller to tank diameter (D/T), off-bottom clearance to tank diameter (C/T), liquid height to tank diameter (H/D), dispersed phase hold-up and fluid physical properties (page 1, paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an impeller at an optimized height to stir the raw materials in the hermetic tank taught by ‘583 to efficiently mix the raw material because mixing increases the efficiency of the chemical reaction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 06/27/2026