DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed on 9/30/2025 have been entered. Claims 11, 12, 16-19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sathyamurthi (US 2019/0162455 A1), in view of An (CN 112033208 A).
Claim 1: Sathyamurthi discloses a condenser tube (i.e., FIG.1) comprising:
a tube (i.e., 110) having a first end (i.e., inherent), a second end (i.e., inherent) opposite the first end, an interior surface (i.e., inherent), and an exterior surface (i.e., inherent; to clarify, the tube has interior surface which refrigerant flows and includes exterior surface and both ends); a longitudinal bore (i.e., inherent) defined by the interior surface (i.e., inherent) and extending from the first end to the second end (i.e., inherent) and configured to transport a coolant (i.e., paragraph [23]: refrigerant used as coolant);
Sathyamurthi discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a cylindrical tube having an exterior surface; wherein the exterior surface comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface located above a horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube; and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface located below the horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube, and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements, and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface comprises a plurality of self-draining surface enhancements extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements are configured to shed a condensate due to gravity.
However, An teaches a cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe 1 is cylindrical shape having a diameter) having an exterior surface (i.e., inherent; to clarify, the tube has interior surface which refrigerant flows and includes exterior surface and both ends); the exterior surface (i.e., exterior surface of pipe 1) comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., annotated FIG.4; pipe 1 is cylindrical shape having a diameter) located above a horizontal midplane (i.e., annotated FIG.4) of the cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe1); and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., bottom portion where fin root 41 extends) located below the horizontal midplane (i.e., annotated FIG.4) of the cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe1), and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., annotated FIG.4) comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements (i.e., fins 4 are enhancements; there are no fins on top surface), and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., bottom portion where fin root 41 extends; to clarify, outer surface of pipe has fins 4) comprises a plurality of surface self-draining enhancements (i.e., paragraph [21]: guide groove gathers condensed liquid and drain it downward ensure sharp part of fin always in thin liquid film; to clarify outer surface interpreted to have top portion and bottom portion, further inner surface of pipe has spiral inner tooth) extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end (i.e., see annotated FIG.4), wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (i.e., 4) are configured to shed a condensate due to gravity (i.e., to clarify, natural force gravity enhances the drain of condensed liquid downward from surface of fin) for the purpose of improving the heat transfer efficiency of the tubes (paragraph [5]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sathyamurthi to include a cylindrical tube having an exterior surface; the exterior surface comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface located above a horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube; and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface located below the horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube, and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements, and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface comprises a plurality of self-draining surface enhancements extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements are configured to shed a condensate due to gravitas taught by An in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency of the tubes.
Claim 2: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (An i.e., 4) extend radially from the bottom semi-cylindrical surface (An i.e., annotated FIG.4).
Claim 3: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements comprise a plurality of fins (An i.e., 4).
Claim 4: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (An i.e., 4) each extend either horizontally (An i.e., see FIG.4) or downward from the exterior surface.
Claim 5: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (An i.e., 4) each extend downward from the exterior surface (An i.e., see figure below; to clarify, figure 4 is a cross section of pipe, pipe is circular shape therefore top and bottom are relative to the position of the pipe).
Claim 6: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (An i.e., 4) each extend horizontally from the exterior surface (An i.e., see FIG.4).
Claim 7: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements comprise a plurality of fins (An i.e., fins 4 used as enhancements) extending from the first end to the second end (Sathyamurthi i.e., inherent).
Claim 8: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (An i.e., 4) extend in a parallel configuration (An i.e., see FIG.4) and where a first surface enhancement (An i.e., surface is inherent) is recessed relative to a second surface enhancement (An i.e., surface is inherent) that is above and adjacent to the first surface enhancement (An i.e., see FIG.4).
Claim 9: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the condenser tube is part of a condenser (i.e., 401).
Claim 10: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the condenser is part of a two-phase immersion cooling system (i.e., paragraph [31]: HVAC system using condenser for cooling process using refrigerant in liquid/gas phase).
Claim 13: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements comprise a plurality of pointed fins (An i.e., fins 4) that taper in a direction from a base (An i.e., inherent) to a tip (An i.e., inherent) of each fin (An i.e., see FIG.4).
Claim 14: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the interior surface is substantially smooth (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, inner surface is substantially smooth).
Claim 15: Sathyamurthi as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein each fin has a maximum fin length greater than a minimum distance between adjacent fins (An i.e., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of An to include each fin has a maximum fin length greater than a minimum distance between adjacent fins in order to enhance the heat transfer efficiency of the pipe, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 20: Sathyamurthi discloses a condenser for a two-phase immersion cooling system (i.e., preamble/intended use), the condenser (i.e., FIG.1) comprising:
an inlet manifold (i.e., 140) comprising an inlet (i.e., 191); an outlet manifold (i.e., 141) comprising an outlet (i.e., 192); a plurality of condenser tubes (i.e., 110) fluidly connecting the inlet manifold (i.e., 140) to the outlet manifold (i.e., 141); wherein at least one of the plurality of condenser tubes (i.e., 110) comprises: a tube having a first end (i.e., inherent), a second end (i.e., inherent) opposite the first end, an interior surface (i.e., inherent), and an exterior surface (i.e., inherent; to clarify, the tube has interior surface which refrigerant flows and includes exterior surface and both ends); a longitudinal bore (i.e., inherent) defined by the interior surface (i.e., inherent) and extending from the first end to the second end (i.e., inherent) and configured to transport a heat transfer fluid (i.e., paragraph [23]: refrigerant used as heat transfer fluid); wherein the interior surface is substantially smooth (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, inner surface is substantially smooth);
Sathyamurthi discloses the claimed limitations in claim 20, but fails to disclose a cylindrical tube having an exterior surface; wherein the exterior surface comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface located above a horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube; and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface located below the horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube, and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements, and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface comprises a plurality of self-draining surface enhancements extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements are configured to shed a condensate due to gravity.
However, An teaches a cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe 1 is cylindrical shape having a diameter) having an exterior surface (i.e., inherent; to clarify, the tube has interior surface which refrigerant flows and includes exterior surface and both ends); the exterior surface (i.e., exterior surface of pipe 1) comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., annotated FIG.4; pipe 1) located above a horizontal midplane (i.e., annotated FIG.4) of the cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe1); and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., bottom portion where fin root 41 extends) located below the horizontal midplane (i.e., annotated FIG.4) of the cylindrical tube (i.e., pipe1), and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., annotated FIG.4) comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements (i.e., fins 4 are enhancements; there are no fins on top surface), and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface (i.e., bottom portion where fin root 41 extends; to clarify, outer surface of pipe has fins 4) comprises a plurality of surface self-draining enhancements (i.e., paragraph [21]: guide groove gathers condensed liquid and drain it downward ensure sharp part of fin always in thin liquid film; to clarify outer surface interpreted to have top portion and bottom portion, further inner surface of pipe has spiral inner tooth) extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end (i.e., see annotated FIG.4), wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements (i.e., 4) are configured to shed a condensate due to gravity (i.e., to clarify, natural force gravity enhances the drain of condensed liquid downward from surface of fin) for the purpose of improving the heat transfer efficiency of the tubes (paragraph [5]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sathyamurthi to include a cylindrical tube having an exterior surface; the exterior surface comprises: a top semi-cylindrical surface located above a horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube; and a bottom semi-cylindrical surface located below the horizontal midplane of the cylindrical tube, and wherein the top semi-cylindrical surface comprises a substantially smooth region free of surface enhancements, and the bottom semi-cylindrical surface comprises a plurality of self-draining surface enhancements extending longitudinally from the first end to the second end, wherein the plurality of self-draining surface enhancements are configured to shed a condensate due to gravitas taught by An in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency of the tubes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 9/30/2025, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments to new features and amendments are addressed in this office action. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made in response to the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763