DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment and argument received in an RCE on 05/11/2026 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington et al (US 2020/0372760) in view of Saunders et al (US 2017/0256128).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 13, and 15: Washington et al discloses a method for operating an electronic game, the method comprising: executing, by a gaming system, a skills-based electronic game, wherein the skills- based electronic game includes a game of chance element (see figures 1 and 4; abstract; paragraphs [0024]-[0027], showing an electronic game with a hybrid skill and wager game base); determining, by the gaming system, a geographic location at which the gaming system is currently located (see paragraph [0559], showing configuring functionality based on determined geographic location); identifying, by the gaming system, a host system of a plurality of host systems of a distributed random number generator infrastructure based on the determined geographic location (see paragraphs [0544], [1151], showing random number generator and location based criteria); conducting, by the gaming system, a session of the game of chance within the skills-based game (see figures 1 and 4; abstract; paragraphs [0024]-[0027], [0112], showing an electronic game with a hybrid skill and wager game base); receiving, by the gaming system, a random number from the identified host system of the plurality of host systems of the distributed random number generator infrastructure (see paragraphs [0034], [0258], showing generating random values using RNG); determining, by the gaming system, a result of the session of the game of chance based on the received random number (see paragraph [0258], showing random value generated by number generator outcome using RNG); and providing, by the gaming system, within the skills-based game, an indication of the determined result of the session of the game of chance (see figures 1 and 4; abstract; paragraphs [0024]-[0027], showing an electronic game with a hybrid skill and wager game base).
In an analogous invention, Saunders et al teaches identifying, by the gaming system, a selected host system of a plurality of host systems wherein the plurality of host systems comprise a distributed random number generator, and wherein the selected host system is identified from the plurality of host system (see paragraphs [0048], [0049], [0053], showing one or more host gaming devices 160, 161, 162 are licensed gaming devices. Although three host gaming devices are shown on FIG. 1, the gaming system 100 may employ any number of host gaming devices ranging from one to thousands. One of the plurality of host devices, host gaming device 160 is connected to a data network. Wherein the host gaming device 160 provides a legally regulated random number generator), geographic location at which the gaming system is currently located, conducting as game session while in communication with the identified host system based on the determined geographic location at which the gaming system is currently location (see paragraph [0061], showing to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements, a gaming system 100 may identify the geographic location of a remote player device 110. As discussed above, a network 120 may be a closed-loop network 120 whose devices are thereby identified in geographic location by the location of that network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Washington et al’s game as taught by Saunder et al’s geographical location identification for the purpose of ensuring compliance with regulatory requirement. This yields the expected result of increasing the gaming provider’s security and improving legal compliance associated with game play and thereby increasing user’s satisfaction.
Regarding claims 2, 9, 11, and 12: Washington et al discloses wherein receiving the random number from the identified host system of the plurality of host systems of the distributed random number generator infrastructure and determining the result of the session of the game of chance based on the received random number are performed in real time while conducting the session of the game of chance within the skills-based game (see paragraphs [0261]-[0264]).
Regarding claim 3: Washington et al disclose further comprising: providing, by the gaming system, to a gaming host, a set of credentials for a player of the skills-based game and the determined geographic location; and receiving, by the gaming system, from the gaming host, an indication of age verification for the player of the skills-based game (see paragraphs [0544]-[0557]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16: Washington et al discloses wherein conducting the session of the game of chance within the skills-based game comprises conducting a wagering session of the game of chance in response to the received indication of age verification for the player of the skills-based game indicates the player is verified for wagering based on the determined geographic location (see paragraphs [0544]-[0557], showing one or more different types of criteria, including player identity, profile criteria, and location based criteria, for defining set of events condition).
Regarding claim 5: Washington et al discloses wherein the result of the wagering session of the game of chance comprises a voucher to a gaming venue selected from a plurality of gaming venues based on the determined geographic location (see paragraphs [0807]-[0812]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 17-20: Washington et al discloses wherein conducting the session of the game of chance within the skills-based game comprises conducting a non-wagering session of the game of chance in response to the received indication of age verification for the player of the skills-based game indicates the player is not verified for wagering based on the determined geographic location (see paragraphs [0544]-[0557], showing one or more different types of criteria, including player identity, profile criteria, and location based criteria, for defining set of events condition).
Regarding claim 7: Washington et al discloses wherein the result of the non-wagering session of the game of chance affects the skills-based game (see figures 1 and 4; abstract; paragraphs [0024]-[0027], showing an electronic game with a hybrid skill and wager game base).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the prior arts do not individually or in combination teach the limitation of selecting a host system from a plurality of host systems, wherein the host systems comprise random number generator infrastructure. The Examiner disagrees. The Examiner points out that Saunders et al explicitly teaches or at least suggests this limitation as disclosed in the above office action and as shown in paragraphs [0048], [0049], and [0053]:
“[0048] An embodiment of a gaming system according to the present invention allows a licensed host gaming device to be used by one or more remote player devices geographically separated from the host gaming device, but still located within the jurisdiction of a gaming authority. FIG. 1 depicts a simplified block diagram of an embodiment of a gaming system 100 according to the invention. One or more host gaming devices 160, 161, 162 are licensed gaming devices. Although three host gaming devices are shown on FIG. 1, the gaming system 100 may employ any number of host gaming devices ranging from one to thousands. For convenience of discussion, set forth below is a description of certain aspects of the host gaming device 160. It is to be appreciated that the other gaming devices may contain the following or different aspects.
[0049] A host gaming device may be any device, comprised of electronic, mechanical, or a combination of electronic and mechanical components, which is used for gaming and which affects the result of a wager by determining win or loss. A host gaming device 160 is connected to a data network 150. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the data network of gaming system 100 is comprised of three logical segments. Gaming network 150 connects each host gaming device 160 and related elements such as the database 170 and central gaming controller 180. Remote network 120 connects remote player devices 110, 111, 112 to the system. Backbone network 140 provides interconnection between the gaming network 150 and the remote network 120.
[0053] Each host gaming device 160 may be located in any location approved by a gaming agency, such as a casino gaming floor. A host gaming device 160 provides a legally regulated random number generator. Once generation of random number has been performed, a game result is determined. Any further interaction through the game's user interface is for the benefit of a user. For example, in one embodiment of a gaming system, the host gaming device may be a slot machine. After payment is made, through a coin, token, credit device, etc., the player pulls a lever arm to execute play. In a mechanical game, for example, a slot machine, a game result may be determined by the interaction of spinning wheels. In a host gaming device 160 of an embodiment of the present invention, however, pulling the arm triggers generation of a random number which determines the game result. Thus any spinning wheels or its electronic equivalent is purely for entertainment of the user. A host gaming device 160 plays at least one game of chance, including, but not limited to, Slots, Blackjack, Poker, Keno, Bingo, or Lotteries. ”,
which the examiner provides to show a plurality of host devices 160, 161, and 162, wherein host device 160 was selected and used. Saunders et al also shows the host device having a regulated random number generator.
Conclusion
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715